Skip to content
Wool Watt

Hub / Heated mattress pads

Heated mattress pads

A pad goes under the fitted sheet and heats upward. Warmer to get into, invisible when made, and exactly one maker in six publishes what it draws.

Start with the best heated mattress pads. Deciding between a pad and a blanket? We compared them directly.

Top pick in this section: Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

A bare mattress with a fitted sheet pulled back at one corner

We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

A heated mattress pad fits like a fitted sheet, under your bedding, and warms the mattress rather than the air. Of the six we track, one publishes a wattage: Bedsure, at dual 100 W controllers. Eight hours with both zones on is 1.6 kWh, about 29 cents at the current US average rate.

Why people who dislike blankets like pads

The complaint about electric blankets is almost always the same: you can feel the wires, and the blanket adds weight on top of you. A pad removes both objections. It sits under the fitted sheet, so there is a layer of cotton between you and the element, and it adds nothing to the weight of your bedding.

It also warms differently. Heat rises, so a pad warms the whole bed from below rather than trapping air above you. In practice that means a pad is better at making a cold bed pleasant to get into, and a blanket is better at keeping a person warm who is already in one. Neither is superior; they solve different halves of the same problem, which is why the direct comparison is worth reading before you choose.

The four specs that decide it

What the six pads publish
What the six pads publish
BrandRated wattsAuto-offWaterproofing
Bedsure (standard)Dual 100 WUp to 12 hNone
Bedsure (cotton top)Dual 100 W12 settingsTPU layer
SunbeamNot published1-12 hWater resistant
SealyNot published1-9 hNot stated
SertaNot published1-12 hSold as a protector
ValthieNot published1-12 hNot stated

Quoted from each maker's own Amazon listing, checked 2026-08-31. Bedsure is the only brand in this category we found publishing any wattage at all.

Preheating, and why it is the feature that matters

Several pads here advertise a preheat function. It is worth understanding what it does, because it is the difference between a pad that costs you 29 cents a night and one that costs a good deal less.

A preheat cycle runs the element hard for a fixed period before bed, then steps down to a lower level for the rest of the night. Bedsure publishes its curve explicitly: two hours at level 6, then six hours at level 4. Because the element is only at its rated draw for part of the run, the actual overnight consumption is well below the rated-watts arithmetic. We publish the rated figure anyway, because it is the only number the maker stands behind and because we have not measured the duty cycle ourselves. We will not estimate one.

Questions people actually ask

How much does a heated mattress pad cost to run?
For the only pad with a published figure, Bedsure's dual 100 W controllers: eight hours with both zones on is 1.6 kWh, about 29 cents at the current US average rate. One zone alone is half that. Nobody else in this category publishes a wattage.
Does a heated mattress pad go over or under the fitted sheet?
Under the fitted sheet, directly on the mattress. That puts a layer of cotton between you and the heating element, which is exactly why pads feel less wire-y than blankets.
Can you use a heated mattress pad with a memory foam mattress?
Generally yes, with the pad on top of the foam, never underneath it. Memory foam insulates, so heat that has to travel up through it will not reach you well. We cover this in heated bedding on memory foam.
Do heated mattress pads have dual controls?
Usually from queen size up. Serta and Valthie both state that queen, king and California king ship with two controllers while twin and full ship with one. Check the size line, not just the brand.

Sources

Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.