Skip to content
Wool Watt

Heated mattress pads / Roundup

Dual control heated mattress pads

Two zones under one fitted sheet. The specification that matters most is which sizes actually ship two controllers, and it is not always the one you would assume.

By Scooter M.Updated August 31, 2026Scooter M. reads the manuals, compiles the published specs, and shows the arithmetic.

We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

An empty bed with pillows on both sides

Dual control means two controllers driving two zones, left and right, each with its own temperature and timer. It is standard from queen size up and essentially unavailable below. Only Bedsure publishes a per-zone wattage: 100 W per side, about 15 cents for an eight-hour night on one side.

The picks, with the numbers

Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.

Heated blanket picks compared by published wattage and computed cost per night
#ProductBest forWattsPer nightPrice
1
Top pickBedsure Heated Mattress Pad, QueenDual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all.
The only pad with a published wattage200 W29 centsCheck price
2
Serta Heated Mattress Pad, QueenMicrofiber top over bonded polyfill with a 15-inch skirt, sold explicitly as a protector as well as a warmer.
Doubling as a mattress protectorNot publishedUncomputableCheck price
3
Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, QueenWater-resistant, dual-zone, twelve heat settings, a backlit night display and a 5-year warranty. Still no wattage.
12 settings and a 5-year warrantyNot publishedUncomputableCheck price
4
Valthie Heated Mattress Pad, QueenTwelve heat steps, a 1-to-12-hour shut-off and dual controllers on the queen and up. No wattage published.
Twelve settings with a long cordNot publishedUncomputableCheck price

Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

1

The only pad with a published wattage

Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage

200 W

8 hours costs

29 cents

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

Dual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all.

Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 100W controllers. Both sides at full is 200W; one side alone is 100W. This is the only heated mattress pad in our checks with any published wattage.

200 W x 8 h = 1.60 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.29 per night

Size
Queen, fits up to 18" deep
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
12 time settings, up to 12 hours
Controllers
2 (dual control)
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
200 W (dual 100 W)
Voltage
120 V AC, 60 Hz
Pocket depth
Stretches to 18"
Preheat
Yes, with memory
Model
BS-HMQU-2

What it does well

  • The only heated mattress pad here with a published wattage
  • Dual control, so two sleepers get separate zones
  • All-round elastic to 18" keeps it from shifting
  • ETL and FCC certified

Where it falls short

  • No warranty term stated
  • No waterproof layer on this version
  • 200 W with both zones at full is the highest published draw on this site

Who this is forTwo sleepers who want the bed warm before they get into it, and want the running cost on the table.

Skip it ifSkip it if you need waterproofing. Bedsure's cotton-top version has a TPU layer; this one does not.

2

Doubling as a mattress protector

Serta Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

Microfiber top over bonded polyfill with a 15-inch skirt, sold explicitly as a protector as well as a warmer.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published on the listing or in the technical details table.

Size
Queen, 60" x 80" plus 15" skirt, fits 18" mattresses
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
1-12 hours, in 1-hour increments
Controllers
2 (dual zone on queen and larger)
Certification
ETL certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Construction
Microfiber top, bonded polyfill, non-woven base
Skirt
15" with all-round elastic
Model
ST55-0275

What it does well

  • Sold as a protector as well as a warmer, so it earns its place in summer
  • Dual zone standard on queen and larger
  • Timer settable in single-hour increments up to 12
  • ETL certified and independently tested

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Polyfill adds loft you may not want on a soft mattress
  • No warranty term stated

Who this is forA bed that needs protecting from spills as much as it needs warming.

Skip it ifSkip it if your mattress is already soft. The bonded polyfill adds a layer you will feel.

3

12 settings and a 5-year warranty

Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

Water-resistant, dual-zone, twelve heat settings, a backlit night display and a 5-year warranty. Still no wattage.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published for this pad, consistent with every other Sunbeam heated-bedding listing we checked.

Size
Queen, 60" x 80", fits to 18" depth
Heat settings
12 levels
Auto shut-off
1-12 hours, selectable
Controllers
2 (dual zone)
Certification
Not stated on the listing
Warranty
Limited 5-year warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Water resistance
Water resistant, not stated as waterproof
Display
Backlit blue LED, readable at night
Model
MSU6SQS-T000-11A00

What it does well

  • 12 heat settings and independent control per side
  • 5-year limited warranty
  • Backlit display you can actually read at 3am
  • Built-in skirt stretches to 18 inches

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Water resistant, not waterproof, which is a real distinction with a child in the bed
  • No certification named in the listing copy

Who this is forSomeone buying on warranty and control granularity from a brand they already know.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want a genuinely waterproof pad, or if running cost is the deciding number.

4

Twelve settings with a long cord

Valthie Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

Twelve heat steps, a 1-to-12-hour shut-off and dual controllers on the queen and up. No wattage published.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published on the listing or in the technical details.

Size
Queen
Heat settings
12 levels
Auto shut-off
1-12 hours
Controllers
2 on queen, king and California king; 1 on twin, twin XL and full
Certification
Overheating protection stated; no certification named
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Fabric
100% polyester, breathable
Controller
Upgraded, with long cord run
Model
DR-04

What it does well

  • 12 heat settings
  • Dual controllers from queen size up
  • Overheating protection and a full 12-hour timer range
  • Washable with the power cable detached

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • No named safety certification in the listing copy
  • No warranty term stated

Who this is forSomeone who wants fine control on a pad and is comparing on features.

Skip it ifSkip it if a named certification matters to you. Overheat protection is claimed; a UL or ETL listing is not stated.

How we ranked these

  • Two genuinely independent controllers, one per side, is the entry requirement.
  • Published per-zone wattage ranks first among those that qualify, because on a dual-zone pad the number that describes your bill is what one zone draws.
  • Then the size threshold: which sizes ship two controllers and which quietly ship one.
  • Then pocket depth, auto-off ceiling and stated certification.

We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.

The size threshold nobody reads

This catches people, because product names do not carry it and the marketing photograph always shows two controllers.

Which sizes ship two controllers
Which sizes ship two controllers
BrandDual control fromSingle control on
SertaQueen and largerTwin, twin XL, full
ValthieQueen, king, California kingTwin, twin XL, full
SunbeamQueen (dual zone stated)Not stated for smaller sizes
BedsureQueenNot stated for smaller sizes

From each maker's listing, checked 2026-08-31. The rule across the category is that dual control starts at queen.

Why zoning matters more on a pad than on a blanket

A blanket sits above you and warms the air trapped around your body. If your partner's side is too warm, the effect is diffuse and some of it dissipates upward before it reaches you.

A pad is directly under both of you, conducting into the mattress. Heat spreads laterally through the mattress core, so the boundary between zones is softer than the marketing diagram suggests, and a very warm zone on one side is genuinely noticeable on the other. Two zones therefore matter more here, and the sensible pattern is smaller differences between the two settings than you would use on a blanket.

The per-zone number

Bedsure states dual 100 W controllers, so 200 W with both zones at full. Most couples never run that. The realistic pattern is one zone on and one off, or both at a low setting, which is where the per-zone figure is the one that describes your bill.

What 100 W costs: one zone of a dual-control pad
Cost of running 100 watts for various durations at $0.1834/kWh
Run timekWhCostWorking
1 hour0.102 cents100 x 1 / 1000 x 0.1834
4 hours (an evening)0.407 cents100 x 4 / 1000 x 0.1834
8 hours (a night)0.8015 cents100 x 8 / 1000 x 0.1834
30 nights at 8 hours24.00$4.40100 x 240 / 1000 x 0.1834
A 120-night winter at 8 hours96.00$17.61100 x 960 / 1000 x 0.1834

Rate: US Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 (June 2026): 18.34 cents per kWh, average US residential. Retrieved 2026-08-31.

Rated wattage is the ceiling, not the average. A thermostatic blanket cycles its element on and off once the bed is warm, so an all-night bill usually lands below the rated-watt figure. We publish the rated number because it is the only one the maker stands behind, and we do not estimate a duty cycle for a blanket we have not measured.

The other three pads on this page publish nothing, so the same calculation cannot be done for them. That is not a small gap: it means that for three of the four dual-control pads here, the running cost of the product is unknowable from what the manufacturer chose to tell you.

Two controllers, two cables, one practical problem

Both controllers sit at the head of the bed and both need to reach power. On a queen or king that usually means a socket on each side, or one long enough run to cross behind the headboard.

Serta publishes a 6-foot power cord, which is the only explicit figure in this group, and adds the instruction that appears on every one of these products in capital letters: do not leave the controller covered while in use. It is the temperature-sensing part, and burying it under a duvet defeats the safety feature it exists to provide.

Questions people actually ask

What size heated mattress pads have dual controls?
Queen and larger, across every brand we checked. Serta and Valthie both state explicitly that twin, twin XL and full ship with a single controller.
How much does a dual control heated mattress pad cost to run?
For Bedsure, the only one publishing a figure: 100 W per zone, so about 15 cents for an eight-hour night on one side and 29 cents with both. At $0.1834/kWh.
Can you feel your partner's side of a dual zone mattress pad?
Somewhat. Heat conducts laterally through the mattress core, so the boundary is softer than the marketing suggests. It is a real effect and the practical answer is to keep the two settings closer together than you would on a blanket.

Sources

Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.