Heated mattress pads / Roundup
Waterproof heated mattress pads
Waterproof, water resistant and protector are three different claims and only one of them is a barrier. Here is which pads have one and what it trades away.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

Only one pad here has a named barrier: Bedsure's cotton-top pad, with a TPU layer. Sunbeam's is described as water resistant, which is a surface property rather than a barrier. Serta's is sold as a mattress protector, which is a positioning claim about coverage. All three are different things.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickBedsure Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad, QueenA cotton top over a waterproof TPU layer, with the same dual-controller electronics as Bedsure's standard pad. | Kids, pets and spills | 200 W | 29 cents | Check price |
| 2 | Serta Heated Mattress Pad, QueenMicrofiber top over bonded polyfill with a 15-inch skirt, sold explicitly as a protector as well as a warmer. | Doubling as a mattress protector | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
| 3 | Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, QueenWater-resistant, dual-zone, twelve heat settings, a backlit night display and a 5-year warranty. Still no wattage. | 12 settings and a 5-year warranty | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Kids, pets and spills
Bedsure Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad, Queen
A cotton top over a waterproof TPU layer, with the same dual-controller electronics as Bedsure's standard pad.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 100W controllers, the same as its non-waterproof pad. Same model family (BS-HMQU-2), same electronics.
200 W x 8 h = 1.60 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.29 per night
- Size
- Queen, fits up to 18" deep
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 12 time settings
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 200 W (dual 100 W)
- Top fabric
- 100% cotton, quilted hourglass
- Waterproofing
- TPU layer
- Pocket depth
- Stretches to 18"
- Model
- BS-HMQU-2
What it does well
- Waterproof TPU layer under a cotton top
- Published wattage
- Dual control on the queen
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- Cotton over TPU sleeps warmer and less breathably than plain quilting
- No warranty term stated
- Waterproof layers add a crinkle you can sometimes hear
Who this is forA bed that has to survive a child, a dog, or a bedside glass of water.
Skip it ifSkip it if nothing is ever going to be spilled on the bed. The TPU layer is a real trade in breathability.
Doubling as a mattress protector
Serta Heated Mattress Pad, Queen
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Microfiber top over bonded polyfill with a 15-inch skirt, sold explicitly as a protector as well as a warmer.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published on the listing or in the technical details table.
- Size
- Queen, 60" x 80" plus 15" skirt, fits 18" mattresses
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, in 1-hour increments
- Controllers
- 2 (dual zone on queen and larger)
- Certification
- ETL certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Construction
- Microfiber top, bonded polyfill, non-woven base
- Skirt
- 15" with all-round elastic
- Model
- ST55-0275
What it does well
- Sold as a protector as well as a warmer, so it earns its place in summer
- Dual zone standard on queen and larger
- Timer settable in single-hour increments up to 12
- ETL certified and independently tested
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Polyfill adds loft you may not want on a soft mattress
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forA bed that needs protecting from spills as much as it needs warming.
Skip it ifSkip it if your mattress is already soft. The bonded polyfill adds a layer you will feel.
12 settings and a 5-year warranty
Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, Queen
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Water-resistant, dual-zone, twelve heat settings, a backlit night display and a 5-year warranty. Still no wattage.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published for this pad, consistent with every other Sunbeam heated-bedding listing we checked.
- Size
- Queen, 60" x 80", fits to 18" depth
- Heat settings
- 12 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 2 (dual zone)
- Certification
- Not stated on the listing
- Warranty
- Limited 5-year warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Water resistance
- Water resistant, not stated as waterproof
- Display
- Backlit blue LED, readable at night
- Model
- MSU6SQS-T000-11A00
What it does well
- 12 heat settings and independent control per side
- 5-year limited warranty
- Backlit display you can actually read at 3am
- Built-in skirt stretches to 18 inches
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Water resistant, not waterproof, which is a real distinction with a child in the bed
- No certification named in the listing copy
Who this is forSomeone buying on warranty and control granularity from a brand they already know.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want a genuinely waterproof pad, or if running cost is the deciding number.
How we ranked these
- A named barrier material is the entry requirement for the top spot. A TPU or equivalent membrane is a specification; water resistant is an adjective.
- Then published wattage, and one of these three has it.
- Then pocket depth and dual-zone control, as with any pad.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
The three claims, precisely
| Claim | Product | What it means | Stops a full accident? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Waterproof | Bedsure cotton top | A TPU membrane between the top fabric and the element | Yes, that is what a barrier is for |
| Water resistant | Sunbeam quilted | The surface will shed a splash | No |
| Mattress protector | Serta | Microfiber over polyfill, sold to keep spills and pet accidents off the mattress | Partly, by absorption and coverage rather than a barrier |
Quoted from each maker's listing, checked 2026-08-31.
Why this matters more on a heated pad
On an ordinary mattress pad a spill is a laundry problem. On a heated one there is an electrical element inside the same textile, and every manufacturer in our set says the same thing about the combination: do not use the pad while it is damp.
So an accident on an unprotected heated pad takes the bed out of service until the pad is washed and completely dry, which on a queen pad is not a same-evening operation. A barrier layer keeps the liquid on the surface where it can be wiped, and that is the practical argument for it rather than any concern about the mattress underneath.
What the barrier costs you
Three real trades, and it is worth being honest about all of them rather than selling the feature.
- 1It sleeps warmer. A TPU membrane does not breathe. On a pad that is also generating heat, that is a compounding effect, and people who already sleep hot notice it.
- 2It can be audible. A membrane between quilted layers makes a faint crinkle when you move. Some people never register it and some find it impossible to ignore.
- 3Cotton over TPU is a warmer top than plain quilting. Bedsure's waterproof version uses a 100% cotton top, which is pleasant against skin and adds to the warmth rather than offsetting it.
None of these is a reason not to buy it if you need it. They are reasons not to buy it if you do not, and the plain version of the same pad publishes the same dual 100 W wattage.
The one that publishes its wattage
Worth noting because it is unusual in this category: Bedsure's waterproof pad shares a model family with its standard pad (BS-HMQU-2) and publishes the same dual 100 W controllers at 120 V AC. So on this page you can have the barrier layer and the running-cost figure at the same time, which is not true anywhere else in our set.
| Run time | kWh | Cost | Working |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 hour | 0.20 | 4 cents | 200 x 1 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 4 hours (an evening) | 0.80 | 15 cents | 200 x 4 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 8 hours (a night) | 1.60 | 29 cents | 200 x 8 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 30 nights at 8 hours | 48.00 | $8.80 | 200 x 240 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| A 120-night winter at 8 hours | 192.00 | $35.21 | 200 x 960 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
Rate: US Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 (June 2026): 18.34 cents per kWh, average US residential. Retrieved 2026-08-31.
Rated wattage is the ceiling, not the average. A thermostatic blanket cycles its element on and off once the bed is warm, so an all-night bill usually lands below the rated-watt figure. We publish the rated number because it is the only one the maker stands behind, and we do not estimate a duty cycle for a blanket we have not measured.
Questions people actually ask
- Is there a waterproof heated mattress pad?
- Yes. Bedsure's cotton-top pad has a TPU barrier layer and publishes dual 100 W controllers. It is the only pad in our set with a named barrier material rather than a water-resistance adjective.
- What is the difference between waterproof and water resistant?
- Waterproof means a barrier layer that liquid cannot pass. Water resistant means the surface sheds a splash. For a child who wets the bed or an incontinent pet, only the barrier is relevant.
- Do waterproof mattress pads sleep hot?
- Warmer than plain quilting, yes, because a membrane does not breathe. On a pad that is also producing heat the effect compounds. It is a real trade and worth making only if you actually need the protection.
Sources
Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.
Read next
- The best heated mattress padsSix pads compared, and the single brand that tells you what its pad draws.
- Dual control heated mattress padsTwo zones under one sheet, and the size threshold where dual control starts.
- How to wash a heated blanketEight steps, the one rule that destroys blankets, and the dryer disagreement.
- Heated blankets, cats and dogsClaws through the element, teeth through the cord, and what to do.