Electric blankets / Roundup
Is there a wool or cotton electric blanket?
Six catalog searches and 68 tracked products later, the answer is narrower than the search volume suggests - and the thing you can actually buy is not a blanket.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

There is no wool electric blanket and no 100% cotton electric blanket on the US shelf. Across the 68 products in our registry and six live catalog searches on 2026-10-23, every heated blanket and throw has a synthetic face. Cotton exists in heated bedding in exactly one format - the mattress pad - and the pick is the Beautyrest cotton quilted queen, which states a breathable 100% cotton cover, UL certification and a five-year warranty. If what you want is wool against your skin, the only route is a heated pad under your own wool or cotton bedding.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickBeautyrest Cotton Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, QueenThe only heated product we track whose cover the maker describes as breathable 100% cotton, with twenty heat settings, a UL mark and five years in writing. No wattage, as with everything Beautyrest sells. | Cotton against your skin | Not published | Uncomputable | $91.88 - See it on Amazon |
| 2 | Bedsure Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad, QueenA cotton top over a waterproof TPU layer, with the same dual-controller electronics as Bedsure's standard pad. | Kids, pets and spills | 200 W | 29 cents | $99.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 3 | Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, QueenDual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all. | The only pad with a published wattage | 200 W | 29 cents | $79.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 4 | Beautyrest Cotton Blend Heated Mattress Pad, California KingThe one Cal King pad here certified to UL rather than ETL, with a 1-hour preheat, a 10-hour shut-off and a 5-year warranty on five heat settings. | The only UL mark at this size | Not published | Uncomputable | $104.99 - See it on Amazon |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - price as of November 2, 2026
Cotton against your skin
Beautyrest Cotton Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of November 2, 2026
The only heated product we track whose cover the maker describes as breathable 100% cotton, with twenty heat settings, a UL mark and five years in writing. No wattage, as with everything Beautyrest sells.
Where the wattage comes fromNo rated wattage on the listing. That is true of all ten Beautyrest products in our registry, in every format and at every size.
- Size
- Queen, 60" W x 80" L plus an 18" skirt, elastic stated to fit up to 21" mattresses
- Heat settings
- 20 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-10 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 2 (dual zone at queen and larger); 1 below queen
- Certification
- UL certified and independently tested, per the listing
- Warranty
- 5 years, stated in the listing and in the manufacturer record
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Cover fabric
- Breathable 100% cotton
- Pocket depth
- 18" skirt, elastic stated to fit up to 21"
- Preheat
- Yes, stated
- Cords
- 12 ft controller, 6 ft power
- Model
- BR55-0900
What it does well
- Breathable 100% cotton cover, which almost nothing else heated offers
- Twenty heat settings, the finest control of any pad we track
- UL certified, named as a mark rather than implied
- 5-year warranty stated in the listing and in the manufacturer record
- Elastic stated to fit up to a 21-inch mattress, the deepest claim in our set
Where it falls short
- No rated wattage, so it cannot be costed before purchase
- Cotton holds more water than polyester, so it takes longer to dry completely after a wash
- Dual zone only at queen and above; smaller sizes ship one controller
- The listing's safety-test count is the brand's own claim, with no document linked
Who this is forAnyone who does not want to sleep against synthetic fabric and would rather heat the bed from below than buy a polyester blanket.
Skip it ifSkip it if the running cost is what decides your purchase. Beautyrest publishes no wattage on anything, and the Bedsure pads publish dual 100 W.
Kids, pets and spills
Bedsure Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage
200 W
8 hours costs
29 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of November 2, 2026
A cotton top over a waterproof TPU layer, with the same dual-controller electronics as Bedsure's standard pad.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 100W controllers, the same as its non-waterproof pad. Same model family (BS-HMQU-2), same electronics.
200 W x 8 h = 1.60 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.29 per night
- Size
- Queen, fits up to 18" deep
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 12 time settings
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 200 W (dual 100 W)
- Top fabric
- 100% cotton, quilted hourglass
- Waterproofing
- TPU layer
- Pocket depth
- Stretches to 18"
- Model
- BS-HMQU-2
What it does well
- Waterproof TPU layer under a cotton top
- Published wattage
- Dual control on the queen
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- Cotton over TPU sleeps warmer and less breathably than plain quilting
- No warranty term stated
- Waterproof layers add a crinkle you can sometimes hear
Who this is forA bed that has to survive a child, a dog, or a bedside glass of water.
Skip it ifSkip it if nothing is ever going to be spilled on the bed. The TPU layer is a real trade in breathability.
The only pad with a published wattage
Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage
200 W
8 hours costs
29 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of November 2, 2026
Dual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 100W controllers. Both sides at full is 200W; one side alone is 100W. This is the only heated mattress pad in our checks with any published wattage.
200 W x 8 h = 1.60 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.29 per night
- Size
- Queen, fits up to 18" deep
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 12 time settings, up to 12 hours
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 200 W (dual 100 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Pocket depth
- Stretches to 18"
- Preheat
- Yes, with memory
- Model
- BS-HMQU-2
What it does well
- The only heated mattress pad here with a published wattage
- Dual control, so two sleepers get separate zones
- All-round elastic to 18" keeps it from shifting
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- No warranty term stated
- No waterproof layer on this version
- 200 W with both zones at full is the highest published draw on this site
Who this is forTwo sleepers who want the bed warm before they get into it, and want the running cost on the table.
Skip it ifSkip it if you need waterproofing. Bedsure's cotton-top version has a TPU layer; this one does not.
The only UL mark at this size
Beautyrest Cotton Blend Heated Mattress Pad, California King

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of November 2, 2026
The one Cal King pad here certified to UL rather than ETL, with a 1-hour preheat, a 10-hour shut-off and a 5-year warranty on five heat settings.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Beautyrest publishes dimensions, pocket depth, both cord lengths, the preheat duration, the shut-off ceiling, a UL mark and a warranty term, and no rated draw. That is true of all six Beautyrest products we track.
- Size
- California king, 72" W x 84" L plus a 15" skirt, stated to fit up to 18" mattresses
- Heat settings
- 5 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 10 hours
- Controllers
- 2 (dual zone at queen and larger)
- Certification
- UL certified, stated on the listing
- Warranty
- 5 years
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Pocket depth
- 15" skirt, stated to fit up to 18"
- Preheat
- 1 hour, stated
- Cords
- 6 ft power, 12 ft controller
- Model
- BR55-0202
What it does well
- UL certified, where every other pad at this size names ETL
- The preheat is given a duration rather than a marketing word
- 5-year warranty, which Beautyrest states on all six products we track
- Cotton-blend quilted top rather than plain polyester
Where it falls short
- Five heat settings, the fewest at this size
- A 15-inch skirt claimed to fit an 18-inch mattress, which is a stretch on a deep bed
- The low-EMF claim has no measured figure behind it
- No rated wattage
Who this is forSomeone who wants the certification and the warranty in writing and does not need twelve steps of heat.
Skip it ifSkip it if your mattress is genuinely 18 inches or deeper. Two pads at this size publish a deeper pocket than this one.
How we ranked these
- Does the listing name the fiber against your skin? Not the filling, not the backing - the surface you touch. Most heated bedding names a fabric style (flannel, sherpa, plush) rather than a fiber, and where the fiber is named it is polyester.
- Is it actually purchasable today? Every product here was checked on the live catalog on 2026-10-23.
- Then the usual checkable specs: certification, shut-off, warranty, pocket depth and published wattage.
- Not ranked on how any of them feels. We have not handled these, and comfort is exactly the claim a natural-fiber buyer most wants and we are least able to give.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
What we actually looked for, and what came back
This is a question with real demand behind it and a thin shelf under it, so the method matters more than usual.
We ran six catalog searches on 2026-10-23 - wool, merino wool, wool-faced throws, cotton, 100% cotton and cotton mattress pads - and we re-read the fabric line on every one of the 68 products already in our registry. The wool searches returned unheated wool blankets - the heavy camping and military-style kind - alongside ordinary polyester heated throws that happened to match on a word. Not one result was a wool-faced heated product.
The cotton searches were different. Cotton heated products exist, they are purchasable, and every single one is a mattress pad.
| Product | Format | Fiber as stated | Where it sits |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beautyrest cotton quilted queen | Mattress pad | Breathable 100% cotton cover | Under the fitted sheet |
| Bedsure waterproof queen | Mattress pad | 100% cotton top, over a TPU layer | Under the fitted sheet |
| Beautyrest California king pad | Mattress pad | Cotton blend, quilted | Under the fitted sheet |
| Garvee weighted blanket, 15 lb | Weighted blanket | 210 GSM cotton fleece lining | Underside, not the face |
| Every blanket and throw we track | Blanket / throw | Polyester, where the fiber is named at all | Against your skin |
Fibers quoted from each maker's own listing, checked 2026-10-23. Where a listing names only a fabric style - flannel, sherpa, plush, microplush, faux fur - rather than a fiber, we record it as unnamed rather than assuming polyester; in practice every maker in our set that does name the fiber names polyester.
Why cotton is on the pads and not on the blankets
We do not know the industry's reason and we are not going to invent one. What is visible in the listings is a construction difference worth noticing.
On a heated blanket, the face fabric is the thing carrying the element: the wires run through the weave you are touching, and the fabric has to flex with them every night without snagging or abrading. On a heated mattress pad, the element sits inside a quilted shell and the cotton is a cover over it - the quilted top and the elasticated skirt of what is essentially a fitted sheet.
That is an observation about how the products are built, not an explanation from any manufacturer. No listing we read says anything about why it chose its fiber.
The route to wool, which is the good news
If the reason you searched for a wool electric blanket is that you do not want to sleep under polyester, there is a clean answer and it is not a compromise: put the heat underneath and keep your own bedding on top.
A heated mattress pad goes on the mattress, under the fitted sheet. Everything above it - sheets, wool blanket, cotton duvet, whatever you already own - stays exactly as it is. You are not touching the heated product at all. That makes the fiber question disappear, and it happens to be the format this site thinks is the better buy for most people anyway, for reasons that have nothing to do with fabric: it heats the mattress rather than the air gap, it cannot slide off, and it cannot be folded in use. The full comparison is on heated blanket vs heated mattress pad.
What the cotton actually gets you, and what it costs
Two honest trade-offs, both from the listings rather than from us.
Breathability. Beautyrest describes its cotton cover as breathable and soft, and breathability is the usual reason to want cotton against your skin. We have not measured it and nobody publishes a figure for it, so treat the word as a description of the fiber rather than as a specification.
The waterproof trade. Bedsure's cotton-top pad puts a TPU layer directly under that cotton. That is exactly what you want if a child, a dog or a bedside glass is in the picture - and it is a real cost to the breathability the cotton was there for. Bedsure's own standard queen pad has the same electronics and no TPU. The waterproof options are compared on waterproof heated mattress pads.
What about bamboo, linen and merino?
The same answer, with less demand behind it. Our searches surfaced no heated bedding with a bamboo, linen or merino face from any brand, and none of the 68 products in our registry names any of those fibers. If one appears we will add it; until then the honest report is an absence rather than a shortlist.
It is worth saying plainly that this is the right outcome rather than a failure of research. A category where four products out of 68 involve a natural fiber at all is a category with a narrow natural-fiber shelf, and padding this page with polyester products that happen to look like linen would be the dishonest version of answering the question.
Washing cotton heated bedding
The rules do not change because the fiber did. Detach the controller and the power cord before the pad goes anywhere near water; wash cool and gentle on a slow spin; never wring it; and make sure it is completely dry before it is powered again. Cotton holds more water than polyester, which makes the last of those rules more important rather than less. The full sequence is on how to wash a heated blanket, and which makers publish a real instruction is on machine washable electric blankets.
The short version
Search demand for wool and cotton electric blankets is real, and the shelf behind it mostly is not. There is no wool one. There is no 100% cotton blanket. There are three cotton or cotton-blend heated mattress pads worth buying, one of which also publishes its wattage, and there is the simpler route of heating from below and keeping whatever bedding you already own on top.
Questions people actually ask
- Is there such a thing as a wool electric blanket?
- Not on the US shelf as of 2026-10-23. Catalog searches for wool, merino and wool-faced heated throws returned unheated wool blankets and polyester heated throws, with no wool-faced heated product among them. None of the 68 products in our registry has a wool face either.
- Is there a 100% cotton electric blanket?
- Not as a blanket. Cotton appears in heated bedding only as a mattress pad cover: the Beautyrest cotton quilted queen states a breathable 100% cotton cover and the Bedsure waterproof queen states a 100% cotton top over a TPU layer. Every heated blanket and throw we track is synthetic-faced.
- What are heated blankets actually made of?
- Polyester, in one of several constructions: flannel, fleece, sherpa, plush, microplush or faux fur. Where a maker names the fiber rather than the fabric style - Sunbeam and Sealy both do on some listings - it says 100% polyester.
- How do I get natural fiber against my skin with a heated bed?
- Use a heated mattress pad under your own fitted sheet. The pad sits on the mattress and everything above it - your sheets, your wool blanket, your cotton duvet - is unchanged, so nothing synthetic touches you at all.
- Is a cotton heated mattress pad better than a polyester one?
- On breathability the makers say so and nobody publishes a figure, so we treat it as a fiber description rather than a specification. On everything we can check - certification, shut-off, warranty, published wattage - cotton is not an advantage. The Bedsure cotton-top pad is the only one here that publishes a wattage, and that is a Bedsure trait rather than a cotton one.
- Are there bamboo or linen heated blankets?
- None that we could find, and none in our registry. We would rather report the absence than assemble a shortlist out of products that only resemble those fabrics.
Sources
- Beautyrest Heated Mattress Pad Cotton Quilted Queen, model BR55-0900 (breathable 100% cotton, UL, 5-year warranty) - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (checked 2026-10-23)
- Bedsure Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad Queen (100% cotton top, TPU layer, dual 100 W) - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (checked 2026-10-23)
- Beautyrest Cotton Blend Heated Mattress Pad California King - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (checked 2026-10-23)
- Sunbeam Royal Luxe Microplush Heated Blanket Queen (crafted from 100% polyester) - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (checked 2026-10-23)
Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.
Read next
- Waterproof heated mattress padsWaterproof, water resistant and protector are three claims. Only one is a barrier.
- Fleece, flannel, sherpa or plushFour fabric words, one GSM ledger, and a product named for a fabric it does not publish.
- Heated blanket vs heated mattress padOver you or under you, with both running costs and the case each one wins.
- How to choose a heated mattress padFour specs in order, starting with the tape-measure question that returns pads.
- What size heated blanket do you need?A queen blanket is 84 x 90. A queen pad is 60 x 80. The published numbers, size by size.