Heated throws / Roundup
Fleece, flannel, sherpa or plush
Four words, used loosely, on almost every listing in the category. Two of them describe a construction, one describes a weight and one describes nothing at all.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

Flannel is a brushed woven face, usually the side you see. Sherpa is the pile backing that mimics fleece wool, usually the side you do not. Fleece is a knitted synthetic pile. Plush is not a construction at all — it is an adjective. The figure that lets you compare them is GSM, and it runs from 200 to 290 across the throws we track. Which blankets actually pair two different fabrics, and which only use the word, is on dual sided heated blankets.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickSealy Heated ThrowPublishes the temperature its settings reach, 95 to 113 F, which is rarer than a wattage and more useful than a marketing adjective. | A published temperature range | Not published | Uncomputable | $43.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 2 | Bedsure Heated Throw with Preheat100 W published, a preheat cycle that steps itself down, and a 10-hour timer. The throw we would buy on the numbers. | The best-documented throw | 100 W | 15 cents | $36.98 - See it on Amazon |
| 3 | Beautyrest Reversible Heated ThrowThree heat settings and a stated 85-105 F range, which is deliberately mild. Five-year warranty and OEKO-TEX certification. | The gentlest heat and a 5-year warranty | Not published | Uncomputable | $42.36 - See it on Amazon |
| 4 | Homemate Heated ThrowOne of very few listings that names the specific standard it was tested to, UL 964, plus a published 86-122 F range. | A named safety standard | Not published | Uncomputable | $45.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 5 | Westinghouse Heated Throw, SherpaThe heaviest face fabric of the throws here at 240 GSM, with a 2-to-10-hour timer. No wattage published. | Thick 240 GSM chenille | Not published | Uncomputable | $39.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 6 | Bedsure GentleSoft Heated ThrowSame 100 W rating and 10-hour timer as the preheat throw, in a ribbed flannel finish. Bedsure states it "operates at just 100W". | The ribbed-flannel face | 100 W | 15 cents | $39.99 - See it on Amazon |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
A published temperature range
Sealy Heated Throw

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Publishes the temperature its settings reach, 95 to 113 F, which is rarer than a wattage and more useful than a marketing adjective.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Sealy does publish the delivered temperature range (95-113 F), which is a genuinely useful spec almost no competitor states, but it cannot be converted into a running cost.
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels, 95-113 F
- Auto shut-off
- 2-10 hours
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Temperature range
- 95-113 F
- Fabric
- 280 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Model
- KTHT-QBHVS-W
What it does well
- Publishes the actual delivered temperature range
- 280 GSM flannel is the heaviest single face here
- Detachable controller cord for washing
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Top setting of 113 F is cooler than several rivals reach
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forSomeone who wants to know how warm it actually gets before buying, and is happy with a gentle top end.
Skip it ifSkip it if you like a genuinely hot throw. 113 F at the top is mild next to blankets that reach into the 120s.
The best-documented throw
Bedsure Heated Throw with Preheat

Rated wattage
100 W
8 hours costs
15 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
100 W published, a preheat cycle that steps itself down, and a 10-hour timer. The throw we would buy on the numbers.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states "a power rating of 100W" at 120V AC, 60Hz. Same figure as the brand's queen-size single controller, on a blanket a quarter the area, which is why a throw heats faster.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Up to 10 hours (1-2-4-6-8-10h)
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Warranty card included in packaging; term not stated online
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 220 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
- Model
- BS-100T
What it does well
- Published wattage, so an hour on the sofa has a computable price
- Preheat steps down automatically rather than holding peak
- Warm without power thanks to the sherpa backing
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- 6 heat levels
- Warranty term is only in the box, not on the listing
- 50" x 60" is a one-person throw
Who this is forAnyone who wants a sofa throw and wants to know what an evening under it costs.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want to cover two people. At 50 by 60 inches it is a personal throw, not a shared one.
The gentlest heat and a 5-year warranty
Beautyrest Reversible Heated Throw

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Three heat settings and a stated 85-105 F range, which is deliberately mild. Five-year warranty and OEKO-TEX certification.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Beautyrest publishes a temperature range (85-105 F, depending on ambient temperature) and a count of safety tests, but no watt figure.
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 3 levels, 85-105 F
- Auto shut-off
- 2 hours
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- OEKO-TEX certified; 78 independent safety tests stated by the brand
- Warranty
- 5-year warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Temperature range
- 85-105 F, ambient-dependent
- Fabric
- 200 GSM plush / 220 GSM sherpa
- Model
- BR54-4848
What it does well
- 5-year warranty
- Publishes its temperature range honestly, including the ambient caveat
- OEKO-TEX certified for the textile itself
- Warm without power thanks to the weight of the fabric
Where it falls short
- Three heat settings only
- 105 F at the top is the mildest here
- No published wattage
Who this is forSomeone who finds most heated throws too hot, or is buying for a household where a gentler maximum is the point.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want serious heat. Three settings topping out at 105 F is a warm lap, not a hot one.
A named safety standard
Homemate Heated Throw

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
One of very few listings that names the specific standard it was tested to, UL 964, plus a published 86-122 F range.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Homemate does name the specific test standard (UL 964, the standard for household electric heating pads and blankets) and a temperature range of 86-122 F, which is more specific than most.
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels, 86-122 F
- Auto shut-off
- 8 hours stated; a second bullet on the same listing says 10
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL certified; listing names UL 964 testing
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Temperature range
- 86-122 F
- Fabric
- 220 GSM double-sided flannel
- Heating wire
- 2.2 mm diameter, stated on the listing
- Power cord
- 144" / 201"
- Model
- DJ-5060B
What it does well
- Names UL 964 specifically instead of just saying it is certified
- 10 heat levels on a throw
- Publishes a temperature range, which most throws do not
- Publishes the heating wire diameter, 2.2 mm, which nothing else in our set does
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- No warranty term stated
- The "lower electro magnetic radiation" claim is unquantified
- The listing states 8 hours in one bullet and 10 hours in another for the same auto shut-off
Who this is forSomeone who reads certifications and wants the standard named rather than implied.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want the running cost. Naming a standard is good practice; it is still not a watt figure.
Thick 240 GSM chenille
Westinghouse Heated Throw, Sherpa

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
The heaviest face fabric of the throws here at 240 GSM, with a 2-to-10-hour timer. No wattage published.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published for this throw, although the same brand's queen-size blanket does state 100W. Within Westinghouse the disclosure is per-listing, not per-brand.
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 2-10 hours
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- Double-layered 240 g chenille
- Timer
- 2-10 hours auto-off
- Model
- KTHT-QCHSS-W
What it does well
- 240 g chenille traps heat on both faces
- Cycles through six presets on one button
- ETL certified with automatic overheat shut-off
- Machine washable on gentle, lukewarm
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Minimum timer is 2 hours, so no quick 30-minute warm-up
- One-button cycling means overshooting your setting and going round again
Who this is forSomeone who wants the thickest, most blanket-like throw of the group.
Skip it ifSkip it if you are comparing running costs. Bedsure's 100 W throw is the same money and tells you what it draws.
The ribbed-flannel face
Bedsure GentleSoft Heated Throw

Rated wattage
100 W
8 hours costs
15 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Same 100 W rating and 10-hour timer as the preheat throw, in a ribbed flannel finish. Bedsure states it "operates at just 100W".
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states the blanket "operates at just 100W" on standard 120V AC at 60Hz. Identical rating to the brand's other 50x60 throw.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Up to 10 hours (6 timer settings)
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- Ribbed flannel with sherpa reverse
- Safety testing
- 74 in-house safety tests stated by the brand
- Model
- BS-100T
What it does well
- 100 W published
- Ribbed flannel face if you dislike flat microplush
- ETL and FCC certified
- Machine washable with the controller detached
Where it falls short
- Functionally the same blanket as the preheat model, without the preheat
- 6 heat levels
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forSomeone who prefers the ribbed texture and does not need the preheat cycle.
Skip it ifSkip it in favor of the preheat version. Same rating, same price bracket, one more useful feature.
How we ranked these
- Published GSM first. Grams per square meter is the only fabric figure anyone in this category publishes, and it is comparable across brands. Heavier is not automatically better; it is simply known.
- Then whether the fabric name matches the published composition, because on one product in this set it does not.
- Then what the construction is for: a two-face throw behaves differently from a single-face one, and that is a use decision rather than a quality one.
- Not ranked on how anything feels. Softness is the single most subjective thing in this category and we have not handled any of these.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
What the four words actually mean
| Word | What it describes | What it tells a buyer |
|---|---|---|
| Flannel | A woven fabric brushed on one or both sides to raise a nap | The face side on most heated throws. Smoother and less bulky than sherpa |
| Sherpa | A knitted pile backing that imitates shearling | The reverse side on most heated throws. Bulkier, traps more air, feels warmer at the same temperature |
| Fleece | A knitted synthetic pile, cut and brushed | Usually a single-face fabric. Sunbeam uses it on bed blankets rather than throws |
| Plush / micro plush | Nothing specific. A texture adjective | On its own it is a marketing word. Paired with a GSM figure it becomes useful |
| Chenille | A yarn with a pile spun into it, woven into fabric | Rare in this category. One product in our set publishes it |
Definitions are of the textile terms. What each specific product is made of is quoted from its own listing in the table below.
The GSM ledger, which is the useful part
Most makers in this category publish grams per square meter for each face. It is the only fabric number available and it is directly comparable between brands, which makes it worth more than every adjective on the listing combined.
| Product | Face | Reverse |
|---|---|---|
| Sealy heated throw | 280 GSM flannel | 200 GSM sherpa |
| Bedsure throw with preheat | 220 GSM flannel | 200 GSM sherpa |
| Homemate throw | 220 GSM double-sided flannel | Same fabric both faces |
| Beautyrest reversible throw | 200 GSM plush | 220 GSM sherpa |
| Bedsure GentleSoft throw | Ribbed flannel | Sherpa reverse (no GSM published) |
| Westinghouse sherpa throw | Double-layered 240 g chenille | Not separately published |
| Westinghouse foot-pocket throw | Not published | Not published |
Quoted from each maker's own listing, checked 2026-09-13. Bed blankets run heavier: Bedsure's king publishes 290 GSM flannel over 200 GSM sherpa, the heaviest face in our whole set.
The finding: one product is named for a fabric it does not publish
The Westinghouse Heated Throw, Sherpa publishes its fabric as double-layered 240 g chenille. Sherpa is in the product name; chenille is in the specification.
Both can be true of a two-face throw — a chenille face over a sherpa reverse would be entirely ordinary — but the listing does not say that, and it is the only product in our set where the name and the published composition do not line up. We are not calling it a misdescription, because we have not handled it and cannot say what the reverse is made of. We are pointing out that the name is doing work the specification does not back up, which is exactly the kind of thing this site exists to notice.
Does the fabric change the warmth? Nobody has published an answer
This is the question every buyer has and it cannot be answered from published data. Heat output is a function of the element and the controller. Fabric affects how much of that heat is held against you rather than lost to the room, which is a real effect and one that nobody in this category measures.
What can be said: of the three throws that publish a temperature range, the differences do not track the fabric. Beautyrest tops out at 105 F on a 200 GSM plush face, Sealy at 113 F on a heavier 280 GSM flannel, and Homemate at 122 F on the same 220 GSM flannel Bedsure uses. The controller decides the temperature; the fabric decides how it feels getting there.
Where each pick is the wrong buy
- Sealy throw — the heaviest published face here at 280 GSM, and no published wattage. Sealy states one on a single product in its range, and it is not this one.
- Bedsure throw with preheat — publishes 100 W and its preheat curve, on a mid-weight 220 GSM face and only six heat levels.
- Beautyrest reversible throw — the mildest published ceiling at 105 F and only three heat levels, though it does carry a 5-year warranty.
- Homemate throw — ten levels and the hottest published range at 122 F, with no wattage and no warranty term stated.
- Westinghouse sherpa throw — the fabric name and the published composition do not match, and no wattage is stated.
- Bedsure GentleSoft throw — publishes 100 W but no GSM figure, so it is the one Bedsure throw you cannot compare on fabric weight.
Questions people actually ask
- What is the difference between flannel and sherpa on a heated blanket?
- Flannel is a woven fabric brushed to raise a nap, and it is usually the face side. Sherpa is a knitted pile backing that imitates shearling, and it is usually the reverse. Most heated throws in our set are flannel on one side and sherpa on the other.
- Is a higher GSM heated blanket better?
- It is heavier and bulkier, which some people want and some do not. Nobody in this category publishes data linking fabric weight to warmth or durability, so we are not going to claim higher is better. What GSM gives you is a real number to compare, which is more than the adjectives do.
- What does plush mean on an electric blanket?
- On its own, nothing specific — it is a texture adjective rather than a construction. It becomes useful only when a maker pairs it with a GSM figure, as Beautyrest does at 200 GSM.
- Which heated throw fabric is warmest?
- No published data supports an answer. The controller sets the temperature, and the three throws that publish a range top out at 105 F, 113 F and 122 F with no relationship to their fabric weight. Fabric changes how the heat feels, not how much of it there is.
Read next
- The best heated throwsSeven sofa throws ranked on published watts and the 17-degree temperature spread.
- How to choose a heated throwFive specs that separate throws, and the sizing mistake behind most complaints.
- Cheap electric blankets worth buyingThe lowest-priced picks, and the corner each one cut to get there.
- Heated throws for cold feetFoot pockets, flat throws and the trade between pockets and published watts.
- The most energy efficient heated blanketsThe six blankets whose makers publish a wattage, lowest draw first.