Electric blankets / Roundup
Cheap electric blankets worth buying
Every product here is at the bottom of the price range. The question this page answers is which corner each one cut to get there, because they all cut one.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

At the bottom of this category you are buying a throw, not a bed blanket — that is the real trade, and it is a sizing decision more than a quality one. The Bedsure heated throw with preheat is the pick because it is the only cheap product here that publishes its wattage (100 W) and its preheat curve. Everything else on this page publishes no draw at all.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickBedsure Heated Throw with Preheat100 W published, a preheat cycle that steps itself down, and a 10-hour timer. The throw we would buy on the numbers. | The best-documented throw | 100 W | 15 cents | $36.98 - See it on Amazon |
| 2 | Homemate Heated ThrowOne of very few listings that names the specific standard it was tested to, UL 964, plus a published 86-122 F range. | A named safety standard | Not published | Uncomputable | $45.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 3 | Westinghouse Heated Throw, SherpaThe heaviest face fabric of the throws here at 240 GSM, with a 2-to-10-hour timer. No wattage published. | Thick 240 GSM chenille | Not published | Uncomputable | $39.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 4 | Sealy Heated ThrowPublishes the temperature its settings reach, 95 to 113 F, which is rarer than a wattage and more useful than a marketing adjective. | A published temperature range | Not published | Uncomputable | $43.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 5 | Bedsure GentleSoft Heated ThrowSame 100 W rating and 10-hour timer as the preheat throw, in a ribbed flannel finish. Bedsure states it "operates at just 100W". | The ribbed-flannel face | 100 W | 15 cents | $39.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 6 | Beautyrest Reversible Heated ThrowThree heat settings and a stated 85-105 F range, which is deliberately mild. Five-year warranty and OEKO-TEX certification. | The gentlest heat and a 5-year warranty | Not published | Uncomputable | $42.36 - See it on Amazon |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
The best-documented throw
Bedsure Heated Throw with Preheat

Rated wattage
100 W
8 hours costs
15 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
100 W published, a preheat cycle that steps itself down, and a 10-hour timer. The throw we would buy on the numbers.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states "a power rating of 100W" at 120V AC, 60Hz. Same figure as the brand's queen-size single controller, on a blanket a quarter the area, which is why a throw heats faster.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Up to 10 hours (1-2-4-6-8-10h)
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Warranty card included in packaging; term not stated online
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 220 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
- Model
- BS-100T
What it does well
- Published wattage, so an hour on the sofa has a computable price
- Preheat steps down automatically rather than holding peak
- Warm without power thanks to the sherpa backing
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- 6 heat levels
- Warranty term is only in the box, not on the listing
- 50" x 60" is a one-person throw
Who this is forAnyone who wants a sofa throw and wants to know what an evening under it costs.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want to cover two people. At 50 by 60 inches it is a personal throw, not a shared one.
A named safety standard
Homemate Heated Throw

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
One of very few listings that names the specific standard it was tested to, UL 964, plus a published 86-122 F range.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Homemate does name the specific test standard (UL 964, the standard for household electric heating pads and blankets) and a temperature range of 86-122 F, which is more specific than most.
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels, 86-122 F
- Auto shut-off
- 8 hours stated; a second bullet on the same listing says 10
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL certified; listing names UL 964 testing
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Temperature range
- 86-122 F
- Fabric
- 220 GSM double-sided flannel
- Heating wire
- 2.2 mm diameter, stated on the listing
- Power cord
- 144" / 201"
- Model
- DJ-5060B
What it does well
- Names UL 964 specifically instead of just saying it is certified
- 10 heat levels on a throw
- Publishes a temperature range, which most throws do not
- Publishes the heating wire diameter, 2.2 mm, which nothing else in our set does
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- No warranty term stated
- The "lower electro magnetic radiation" claim is unquantified
- The listing states 8 hours in one bullet and 10 hours in another for the same auto shut-off
Who this is forSomeone who reads certifications and wants the standard named rather than implied.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want the running cost. Naming a standard is good practice; it is still not a watt figure.
Thick 240 GSM chenille
Westinghouse Heated Throw, Sherpa

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
The heaviest face fabric of the throws here at 240 GSM, with a 2-to-10-hour timer. No wattage published.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published for this throw, although the same brand's queen-size blanket does state 100W. Within Westinghouse the disclosure is per-listing, not per-brand.
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 2-10 hours
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- Double-layered 240 g chenille
- Timer
- 2-10 hours auto-off
- Model
- KTHT-QCHSS-W
What it does well
- 240 g chenille traps heat on both faces
- Cycles through six presets on one button
- ETL certified with automatic overheat shut-off
- Machine washable on gentle, lukewarm
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Minimum timer is 2 hours, so no quick 30-minute warm-up
- One-button cycling means overshooting your setting and going round again
Who this is forSomeone who wants the thickest, most blanket-like throw of the group.
Skip it ifSkip it if you are comparing running costs. Bedsure's 100 W throw is the same money and tells you what it draws.
A published temperature range
Sealy Heated Throw

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Publishes the temperature its settings reach, 95 to 113 F, which is rarer than a wattage and more useful than a marketing adjective.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Sealy does publish the delivered temperature range (95-113 F), which is a genuinely useful spec almost no competitor states, but it cannot be converted into a running cost.
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels, 95-113 F
- Auto shut-off
- 2-10 hours
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Temperature range
- 95-113 F
- Fabric
- 280 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Model
- KTHT-QBHVS-W
What it does well
- Publishes the actual delivered temperature range
- 280 GSM flannel is the heaviest single face here
- Detachable controller cord for washing
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Top setting of 113 F is cooler than several rivals reach
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forSomeone who wants to know how warm it actually gets before buying, and is happy with a gentle top end.
Skip it ifSkip it if you like a genuinely hot throw. 113 F at the top is mild next to blankets that reach into the 120s.
The ribbed-flannel face
Bedsure GentleSoft Heated Throw

Rated wattage
100 W
8 hours costs
15 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Same 100 W rating and 10-hour timer as the preheat throw, in a ribbed flannel finish. Bedsure states it "operates at just 100W".
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states the blanket "operates at just 100W" on standard 120V AC at 60Hz. Identical rating to the brand's other 50x60 throw.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Up to 10 hours (6 timer settings)
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- Ribbed flannel with sherpa reverse
- Safety testing
- 74 in-house safety tests stated by the brand
- Model
- BS-100T
What it does well
- 100 W published
- Ribbed flannel face if you dislike flat microplush
- ETL and FCC certified
- Machine washable with the controller detached
Where it falls short
- Functionally the same blanket as the preheat model, without the preheat
- 6 heat levels
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forSomeone who prefers the ribbed texture and does not need the preheat cycle.
Skip it ifSkip it in favor of the preheat version. Same rating, same price bracket, one more useful feature.
The gentlest heat and a 5-year warranty
Beautyrest Reversible Heated Throw

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Three heat settings and a stated 85-105 F range, which is deliberately mild. Five-year warranty and OEKO-TEX certification.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Beautyrest publishes a temperature range (85-105 F, depending on ambient temperature) and a count of safety tests, but no watt figure.
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 3 levels, 85-105 F
- Auto shut-off
- 2 hours
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- OEKO-TEX certified; 78 independent safety tests stated by the brand
- Warranty
- 5-year warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Temperature range
- 85-105 F, ambient-dependent
- Fabric
- 200 GSM plush / 220 GSM sherpa
- Model
- BR54-4848
What it does well
- 5-year warranty
- Publishes its temperature range honestly, including the ambient caveat
- OEKO-TEX certified for the textile itself
- Warm without power thanks to the weight of the fabric
Where it falls short
- Three heat settings only
- 105 F at the top is the mildest here
- No published wattage
Who this is forSomeone who finds most heated throws too hot, or is buying for a household where a gentler maximum is the point.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want serious heat. Three settings topping out at 105 F is a warm lap, not a hot one.
How we ranked these
- Published disclosure first, price second. A cheap product that tells you what it draws beats a cheap product that tells you nothing, because the second one cannot be costed or compared.
- Then certification. At the bottom of the market this is the specification that varies most, and it is the one that matters most.
- Then the timer and the heat steps, which are what you actually interact with every night.
- Prices are live and move constantly, so we do not print them in prose. The button on each pick reads the current retailer figure, or says Check price when there is not one. We are not going to anchor you to a number that was true last week.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
What cheap actually buys you in this category
Heated bedding is not an expensive category to begin with, so the bottom of it is not a wasteland. What changes as the price falls is not usually build quality you can see. It is documentation.
| Specification | Published at the bottom of the range? |
|---|---|
| Heat levels | Always |
| Auto shut-off exists | Always |
| Machine washable | Always |
| A named certification (ETL, UL, OEKO-TEX) | Usually, and it is worth checking rather than assuming |
| Auto-off duration in hours | Usually |
| Fabric weight in GSM | Sometimes |
| Temperature range in degrees | Rarely |
| Rated wattage | Almost never — one product on this page |
Compiled from each maker's own listing, checked 2026-09-13. The pattern is that cheap products publish the specifications that sound good and omit the one that lets you compute a running cost.
The size trap, which is the real reason things are cheap
The cheapest heated products are almost all 50 by 60 inch throws. That is a blanket for one seated adult on a sofa. It is not a small bed blanket, and buying one for a bed is the mistake behind most of the disappointment in this category.
A queen mattress is 60 by 80 inches before you allow for overhang. A 50 by 60 throw laid on it covers roughly half. If you want a bed blanket at the lowest price the category offers, the honest answer is that you are looking at roughly double the throw price, and the options are on twin and full electric blankets.
The one corner never worth cutting
Certification. Every pick on this page names a third-party mark — ETL on most, OEKO-TEX on the Beautyrest, and the Homemate listing names UL 964 testing specifically. That is the standard US heated bedding is tested against, and it is the difference between a cheap product and a risky one.
If a listing at this price will not name a mark, that is the point to walk away, and it is a far better filter than price. What the marks mean, and why ETL is not a lesser mark than UL, is on what the certification marks mean.
Where each pick is the wrong buy
- Bedsure throw with preheat — six heat levels is coarse if you adjust often, and there is no published temperature range.
- Homemate throw — publishes the hottest range here at up to 122 F and no wattage, and its own listing gives two different figures for the auto shut-off.
- Westinghouse sherpa throw — the listing names the product sherpa and publishes the fabric as 240 g chenille. Both may be true of different faces, but it is the one fabric description in this group that does not match its own product name.
- Sealy throw — a moderate 113 F ceiling, which is the right call for most people and the wrong one if you specifically want it hot.
- Bedsure GentleSoft throw — same 100 W and same size as the preheat model, without the published preheat curve.
- Beautyrest reversible throw — three heat levels only, and its published range tops out at 105 F, the mildest here.
What we did not do
We have not handled any of these, so nothing on this page is a judgment about how they feel, how they wash after a season, or whether the cheapest one falls apart first. Those are exactly the questions a price-tier page is expected to answer and we cannot answer them honestly. What we can do is show you which cheap product tells you the most about itself.
Questions people actually ask
- What is the cheapest electric blanket worth buying?
- Of the low-priced products we track, the Bedsure heated throw with preheat is the one we would pick, because it is the only one at this end of the range that publishes a rated wattage (100 W) and a stated preheat curve. Prices move, so the live figure is on the button rather than in this sentence.
- Are cheap electric blankets safe?
- A new, certified one is. Every pick here names a third-party mark, and the Homemate listing names UL 964 testing specifically. A listing at any price that will not name a certification is the one to avoid. Age matters far more than price: the main failure mode is cracked element insulation from years of flexing.
- Why are heated throws so much cheaper than heated blankets?
- Size. A throw is 50 by 60 inches for one seated adult; a queen blanket is 84 by 90. You are buying roughly a third of the heated area, which is also why a throw is not a substitute for a bed blanket.
- Do cheap electric blankets use more electricity?
- There is no evidence either way in the published data, because almost none of the cheap products states a wattage. One product on this page does, at 100 W, which is the same figure as the lowest-drawing bed blanket we track.
Read next
- The best heated throwsSeven sofa throws ranked on published watts and the 17-degree temperature spread.
- Twin and full electric blanketsTwin and full blankets, and the full-size one that draws more than a queen.
- What the certification marks meanUL 964, why ETL is not a lesser mark, and who names no certification at all.
- The most energy efficient heated blanketsThe six blankets whose makers publish a wattage, lowest draw first.
- How long do electric blankets last?Five-year warranties, ten-year replacement, and the wear you cannot see.