Skip to content
Wool Watt

Heated throws / Roundup

The best heated throws

Seven 50-by-60 throws, ranked on what each maker actually publishes. Two state a wattage, three state a temperature range, and the two groups barely overlap.

By Scooter M.Updated August 31, 2026Scooter M. reads the manuals, compiles the published specs, and shows the arithmetic.

We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

A blanket draped over an armchair beside a reading lamp

The Bedsure heated throw with preheat is the pick: it publishes 100 W, which is about 1.8 cents an hour or seven cents for a four-hour evening, and its preheat cycle steps itself down instead of holding full heat. The Sealy throw is the alternative if you would rather know the temperature (95 to 113 F) than the wattage.

The picks, with the numbers

Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.

Heated blanket picks compared by published wattage and computed cost per night
#ProductBest forWattsPer nightPrice
1
Top pickBedsure Heated Throw with Preheat100 W published, a preheat cycle that steps itself down, and a 10-hour timer. The throw we would buy on the numbers.
The best-documented throw100 W15 centsCheck price
2
Sealy Heated ThrowPublishes the temperature its settings reach, 95 to 113 F, which is rarer than a wattage and more useful than a marketing adjective.
A published temperature rangeNot publishedUncomputableCheck price
3
Homemate Heated ThrowOne of very few listings that names the specific standard it was tested to, UL 964, plus a published 86-122 F range.
A named safety standardNot publishedUncomputableCheck price
4
Beautyrest Reversible Heated ThrowThree heat settings and a stated 85-105 F range, which is deliberately mild. Five-year warranty and OEKO-TEX certification.
The gentlest heat and a 5-year warrantyNot publishedUncomputableCheck price
5
Westinghouse Heated Throw, SherpaThe heaviest face fabric of the throws here at 240 GSM, with a 2-to-10-hour timer. No wattage published.
Thick 240 GSM chenilleNot publishedUncomputableCheck price
6
Westinghouse Heated Throw with Foot PocketTwo sewn-in foot pockets, six heat levels and a 5-year warranty. The listing claims low EMF without quantifying it.
Cold feet specificallyNot publishedUncomputableCheck price
7
Bedsure GentleSoft Heated ThrowSame 100 W rating and 10-hour timer as the preheat throw, in a ribbed flannel finish. Bedsure states it "operates at just 100W".
The ribbed-flannel face100 W15 centsCheck price

Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

1

The best-documented throw

Bedsure Heated Throw with Preheat

Rated wattage

100 W

8 hours costs

15 cents

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

100 W published, a preheat cycle that steps itself down, and a 10-hour timer. The throw we would buy on the numbers.

Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states "a power rating of 100W" at 120V AC, 60Hz. Same figure as the brand's queen-size single controller, on a blanket a quarter the area, which is why a throw heats faster.

100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night

Size
50" x 60"
Heat settings
6 levels
Auto shut-off
Up to 10 hours (1-2-4-6-8-10h)
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Warranty card included in packaging; term not stated online
Rated watts
100 W
Voltage
120 V AC, 60 Hz
Fabric
220 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
Preheat
Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
Model
BS-100T

What it does well

  • Published wattage, so an hour on the sofa has a computable price
  • Preheat steps down automatically rather than holding peak
  • Warm without power thanks to the sherpa backing
  • ETL and FCC certified

Where it falls short

  • 6 heat levels
  • Warranty term is only in the box, not on the listing
  • 50" x 60" is a one-person throw

Who this is forAnyone who wants a sofa throw and wants to know what an evening under it costs.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want to cover two people. At 50 by 60 inches it is a personal throw, not a shared one.

2

A published temperature range

Sealy Heated Throw

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

Publishes the temperature its settings reach, 95 to 113 F, which is rarer than a wattage and more useful than a marketing adjective.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Sealy does publish the delivered temperature range (95-113 F), which is a genuinely useful spec almost no competitor states, but it cannot be converted into a running cost.

Size
50" x 60"
Heat settings
6 levels, 95-113 F
Auto shut-off
2-10 hours
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Temperature range
95-113 F
Fabric
280 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
Model
KTHT-QBHVS-W

What it does well

  • Publishes the actual delivered temperature range
  • 280 GSM flannel is the heaviest single face here
  • Detachable controller cord for washing
  • ETL and FCC certified

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Top setting of 113 F is cooler than several rivals reach
  • No warranty term stated

Who this is forSomeone who wants to know how warm it actually gets before buying, and is happy with a gentle top end.

Skip it ifSkip it if you like a genuinely hot throw. 113 F at the top is mild next to blankets that reach into the 120s.

3

A named safety standard

Homemate Heated Throw

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

One of very few listings that names the specific standard it was tested to, UL 964, plus a published 86-122 F range.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Homemate does name the specific test standard (UL 964, the standard for household electric heating pads and blankets) and a temperature range of 86-122 F, which is more specific than most.

Size
50" x 60"
Heat settings
10 levels, 86-122 F
Auto shut-off
1/2/4/6/8 hours
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL certified; listing names UL 964 testing
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Temperature range
86-122 F
Fabric
220 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
Model
YZH-5060T

What it does well

  • Names UL 964 specifically instead of just saying it is certified
  • 10 heat levels on a throw
  • A 1-hour timer option, which most rivals do not offer
  • Publishes a temperature range

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • No warranty term stated
  • The "lower electro magnetic radiation" claim is unquantified

Who this is forSomeone who reads certifications and wants the standard named rather than implied.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want the running cost. Naming a standard is good practice; it is still not a watt figure.

4

The gentlest heat and a 5-year warranty

Beautyrest Reversible Heated Throw

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

Three heat settings and a stated 85-105 F range, which is deliberately mild. Five-year warranty and OEKO-TEX certification.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Beautyrest publishes a temperature range (85-105 F, depending on ambient temperature) and a count of safety tests, but no watt figure.

Size
50" x 60"
Heat settings
3 levels, 85-105 F
Auto shut-off
Stated on the listing
Controllers
1
Certification
OEKO-TEX certified; 78 independent safety tests stated by the brand
Warranty
5-year warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Temperature range
85-105 F, ambient-dependent
Fabric
200 GSM plush / 220 GSM sherpa
Model
BR54-4848

What it does well

  • 5-year warranty
  • Publishes its temperature range honestly, including the ambient caveat
  • OEKO-TEX certified for the textile itself
  • Warm without power thanks to the weight of the fabric

Where it falls short

  • Three heat settings only
  • 105 F at the top is the mildest here
  • No published wattage

Who this is forSomeone who finds most heated throws too hot, or is buying for a household where a gentler maximum is the point.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want serious heat. Three settings topping out at 105 F is a warm lap, not a hot one.

5

Thick 240 GSM chenille

Westinghouse Heated Throw, Sherpa

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

The heaviest face fabric of the throws here at 240 GSM, with a 2-to-10-hour timer. No wattage published.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published for this throw, although the same brand's queen-size blanket does state 100W. Within Westinghouse the disclosure is per-listing, not per-brand.

Size
50" x 60"
Heat settings
6 levels
Auto shut-off
2-10 hours
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Fabric
Double-layered 240 g chenille
Timer
2-10 hours auto-off
Model
KTHT-QCHSS-W

What it does well

  • 240 g chenille traps heat on both faces
  • Cycles through six presets on one button
  • ETL certified with automatic overheat shut-off
  • Machine washable on gentle, lukewarm

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Minimum timer is 2 hours, so no quick 30-minute warm-up
  • One-button cycling means overshooting your setting and going round again

Who this is forSomeone who wants the thickest, most blanket-like throw of the group.

Skip it ifSkip it if you are comparing running costs. Bedsure's 100 W throw is the same money and tells you what it draws.

6

Cold feet specifically

Westinghouse Heated Throw with Foot Pocket

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

Two sewn-in foot pockets, six heat levels and a 5-year warranty. The listing claims low EMF without quantifying it.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. The listing says the throw "emits low EMF energy" but gives no measurement, no unit and no test reference, so we treat it as a marketing claim rather than a spec.

Size
50" x 62"
Heat settings
6 levels
Auto shut-off
2-10 hours
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
5-year warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Feature
Two sewn-in foot pockets
Timer
2-10 hours
Model
KTHT-QCHVS-WF

What it does well

  • Foot pockets solve the problem a throw usually does not
  • 5-year warranty
  • ETL and FCC certified
  • Slightly longer than a standard throw at 62 inches

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • The "low EMF" claim carries no number behind it
  • Foot pockets make it awkward to use as a plain lap blanket

Who this is forPeople whose feet are the part that never warms up.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want a throw you can also drape over a bed. The foot pockets fix the orientation.

7

The ribbed-flannel face

Bedsure GentleSoft Heated Throw

Rated wattage

100 W

8 hours costs

15 cents

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

Same 100 W rating and 10-hour timer as the preheat throw, in a ribbed flannel finish. Bedsure states it "operates at just 100W".

Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states the blanket "operates at just 100W" on standard 120V AC at 60Hz. Identical rating to the brand's other 50x60 throw.

100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night

Size
50" x 60"
Heat settings
6 levels
Auto shut-off
Up to 10 hours (6 timer settings)
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
100 W
Voltage
120 V AC, 60 Hz
Fabric
Ribbed flannel with sherpa reverse
Safety testing
74 in-house safety tests stated by the brand
Model
BS-100T

What it does well

  • 100 W published
  • Ribbed flannel face if you dislike flat microplush
  • ETL and FCC certified
  • Machine washable with the controller detached

Where it falls short

  • Functionally the same blanket as the preheat model, without the preheat
  • 6 heat levels
  • No warranty term stated

Who this is forSomeone who prefers the ribbed texture and does not need the preheat cycle.

Skip it ifSkip it in favor of the preheat version. Same rating, same price bracket, one more useful feature.

How we ranked these

  • Published wattage first. Two throws here state one and both say 100 W, which makes an evening on the sofa cost about seven cents.
  • Published temperature range second. Rarer than a wattage in most of this category, and unusually common among throws. It answers the question a wattage does not: how hot does it actually get.
  • Then timer range, fabric weight, certification and warranty, all from the maker's listing.
  • Not ranked on softness or warmth. We have not handled these.

We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.

Two kinds of disclosure, and almost no overlap

Something unusual happens in this sub-category. Across heated bedding generally, most makers publish nothing you can use. Among throws, most publish something, but they do not agree on what.

What each throw maker chooses to publish
What each throw maker chooses to publish
BrandRated wattsTemperature rangeTimer
Bedsure (both throws)100 WNot published1-2-4-6-8-10 h
SealyNot published95-113 F2-10 h
HomemateNot published86-122 F1/2/4/6/8 h
BeautyrestNot published85-105 F, ambient dependentStated, duration not given
Westinghouse (sherpa)Not publishedNot published2-10 h
Westinghouse (foot pocket)Not publishedNot published2-10 h

Quoted from each maker's own listing, checked 2026-08-31. Bedsure is the only brand publishing a wattage and it publishes no temperature; the three publishing temperatures publish no wattage.

Neither number substitutes for the other. Watts tell you what it costs; degrees tell you what it feels like. There is no honest conversion between them, because how hot a blanket gets depends on the element, the fabric, the room and what is on top of it. Anyone offering you a formula is guessing.

The 17-degree spread at the top end

Among the three throws that publish a temperature range, the maximum runs from 105 F to 122 F. That is a substantial difference and it is the single most useful thing on this page for anybody who has been disappointed by a heated throw before.

  • Beautyrest tops out at 105 F, and adds honestly that the delivered temperature depends on the room. This is a deliberately gentle product with three settings. If you found other throws too hot, this is the one.
  • Sealy tops out at 113 F across six settings, which is a moderate ceiling and a sensible default.
  • Homemate tops out at 122 F across ten settings, the hottest published figure here, with a one-hour timer option that none of the others offer.

For reference, normal skin temperature is around 91 F and a warm bath is about 100 F. A 122 F surface held against skin for a long period is where contact burn risk starts to become a real consideration for anyone with reduced sensation, which is covered on who should not use one.

What an evening costs

What 100 W costs: a 100 W heated throw
Cost of running 100 watts for various durations at $0.1834/kWh
Run timekWhCostWorking
1 hour0.102 cents100 x 1 / 1000 x 0.1834
4 hours (an evening)0.407 cents100 x 4 / 1000 x 0.1834
8 hours (a night)0.8015 cents100 x 8 / 1000 x 0.1834
30 nights at 8 hours24.00$4.40100 x 240 / 1000 x 0.1834
A 120-night winter at 8 hours96.00$17.61100 x 960 / 1000 x 0.1834

Rate: US Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 (June 2026): 18.34 cents per kWh, average US residential. Retrieved 2026-08-31.

Rated wattage is the ceiling, not the average. A thermostatic blanket cycles its element on and off once the bed is warm, so an all-night bill usually lands below the rated-watt figure. We publish the rated number because it is the only one the maker stands behind, and we do not estimate a duty cycle for a blanket we have not measured.

The comparison that makes this category worth taking seriously: four hours under a 100 W throw is about seven cents. Four hours of a 1,500 W space heater warming the same room is about $1.10. Same evening, same person, fifteen times the bill. We work that through properly on electric blanket versus a space heater.

Fabric weight, and why it is a running-cost lever

Throws are the one place in this category where makers reliably publish fabric weight in GSM. The range here is 200 to 280 GSM on the face, with 200 GSM sherpa backing on most.

A heavier throw is warm before you switch it on and holds the heat the element produces, which means it reaches a comfortable temperature at a lower setting. That is a genuine saving and we are not going to quantify it, because quantifying it would require measuring throws we do not have. But when two throws cost the same and one is 280 GSM and the other is 200, the heavier one is doing more of the work passively.

The foot-pocket variant

Worth singling out because it solves the actual complaint. Most people reaching for a throw are cold in their feet and hands, and a flat throw slides off feet the moment you move. The Westinghouse foot-pocket throw has two sewn-in pockets and is slightly longer at 50 by 62 inches.

The trade is that it fixes the orientation: you cannot casually drape it over a bed or wrap it round your shoulders. If cold feet are the specific problem, that trade is worth making, and we cover the options on heated throws for cold feet.

Questions people actually ask

What is the best heated throw blanket?
The Bedsure heated throw with preheat, on the evidence available: it is one of only two throws here that publishes a wattage (100 W), and its preheat cycle steps down automatically rather than holding peak heat all evening.
How much does a heated throw cost to run?
At the 100 W Bedsure publishes, about 1.8 cents an hour, seven cents for a four-hour evening, or $2.20 a month if you use it four hours every night. At $0.1834/kWh.
How hot do heated throws get?
Where makers publish it: Beautyrest 85 to 105 F, Sealy 95 to 113 F, Homemate 86 to 122 F. That is a 17-degree spread at the top end between the mildest and the hottest.
Can you sleep under a heated throw?
You can, though most are timed for sitting rather than sleeping: two to ten hours on the Westinghouse and Sealy models. A throw also only covers one seated adult, so as a bed blanket it will leave most of you uncovered.

Sources

Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.