Skip to content
Wool Watt

Heated throws / Roundup

Faux fur heated blankets

The heaviest pile in the category, the one fabric that sheds, and the five listings that tell you very different amounts about what you are buying.

By Scooter M.Updated October 3, 2026Scooter M. reads the manuals, compiles the published specs, and shows the arithmetic.

We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

A close-up of soft tan faux fur pile

The Bedsure Fluffy Bubble is the pick and it is not close on the numbers: 650 GSM of faux rabbit fur, the heaviest fabric figure anywhere in our registry, and a published 100 W, which makes it the only faux fur throw in the category you can cost before buying. The Westinghouse is the alternative that publishes GSM on both faces plus ETL and FCC. The MAXEVE is the one that states a temperature range. Two of the five publish no fabric weight at all.

The picks, with the numbers

Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.

Heated blanket picks compared by published wattage and computed cost per night
#ProductBest forWattsPer nightPrice
1
Bedsure Fluffy Bubble Faux Fur Heated Throw
Top pickBedsure Fluffy Bubble Faux Fur Heated Throw650 GSM of faux rabbit fur over a 200 GSM velvet back, and still a published 100 W. The thickest fabric we have recorded anywhere, from the only brand that prints a draw on everything.
The heaviest face fabric on the site, with a published wattage100 W15 cents$67.99 - See it on Amazon
2
Westinghouse Faux Fur and Sherpa Heated Throw
Westinghouse Faux Fur and Sherpa Heated Throw350 GSM faux fur over 180 GSM sherpa, ETL and FCC named, a 10-hour shut-off and a stated 20-minute warm-up. The best-documented faux fur throw here.
Published GSM on both faces, plus ETL and FCCNot publishedUncomputable$55.99 - See it on Amazon
3
MAXEVE Faux Rabbit Fur Heated Throw
MAXEVE Faux Rabbit Fur Heated ThrowEight heat levels stated as 86-113 F, UL and FCC, Oeko-Tex on the fabric and a 19-foot power cord. It also claims to resist shedding, which is the complaint about this fabric.
A published temperature range and a very long cordNot publishedUncomputable$35.99 - See it on Amazon
4
Beautyrest Zuri Reversible Faux Fur to Mink Electric Throw
Beautyrest Zuri Reversible Faux Fur to Mink Electric ThrowFifty by seventy inches, UL certified, faux fur one side and mink the other. It is also the thinnest listing here: no GSM, no heat-setting count, no timer duration.
A larger throw from a familiar nameNot publishedUncomputable$48.72 - See it on Amazon
5
Serta Shaggy Faux Fur Heated Throw
Serta Shaggy Faux Fur Heated ThrowLong shaggy faux fur, five heat levels, a 3-hour shut-off and a low-EMF claim. Its own listing warns you it will shed.
The most honest downside on any listing we have readNot publishedUncomputable$60.58 - See it on Amazon

Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.

#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026

1

The heaviest face fabric on the site, with a published wattage

Bedsure Fluffy Bubble Faux Fur Heated Throw

Bedsure Fluffy Bubble Faux Fur Heated Throw

Rated wattage

100 W

8 hours costs

15 cents

$67.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026

650 GSM of faux rabbit fur over a 200 GSM velvet back, and still a published 100 W. The thickest fabric we have recorded anywhere, from the only brand that prints a draw on everything.

Where the wattage comes fromThe listing states a power rating of 100 W on a standard 120 V AC, 60 Hz outlet. Bedsure publishes a figure on every product we track and this faux fur throw is no exception.

100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night

Size
Throw, 50" x 60"
Heat settings
6 levels
Auto shut-off
8 hours, with 6 time settings
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL certified; 74 safety tests stated by the brand
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
100 W
Face fabric
650 GSM bubble faux rabbit fur
Backing
200 GSM milk velvet
Heating wire
PTC/NTC, stated
Model
BS-TH01-S

What it does well

  • Publishes 100 W, so the running cost is knowable — nothing else in faux fur does
  • 650 GSM face, the heaviest fabric figure in our whole registry
  • ETL certified with the brand's 74-test figure stated
  • Six heat levels and six timer steps on a single controller

Where it falls short

  • No warranty term, which is true of every Bedsure product we track
  • The listing tells you not to sleep on top of it, which rules out one common use
  • A 650 GSM pile is a lot of blanket to get into a domestic washing machine
  • Eight hours is the shortest ceiling of the faux fur options here

Who this is forSomeone who wants the deepest pile available and still wants to know what it costs to run.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want to sleep under it all night. The maker says not to lie on top of it and the timer stops at eight hours.

2

Published GSM on both faces, plus ETL and FCC

Westinghouse Faux Fur and Sherpa Heated Throw

Westinghouse Faux Fur and Sherpa Heated Throw

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$55.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026

350 GSM faux fur over 180 GSM sherpa, ETL and FCC named, a 10-hour shut-off and a stated 20-minute warm-up. The best-documented faux fur throw here.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Westinghouse publishes a figure on exactly one of its eight products in our registry, and it is the flannel queen rather than this throw.

Size
Throw, 50" x 60"
Heat settings
6 levels
Auto shut-off
10 hours
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
A warranty is offered; no term stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Face fabric
350 GSM faux fur
Backing
180 GSM sherpa
Warm-up
20 minutes, the maker's own figure
Cord
72" plus 32"
Model
KTHT-QCHRS-W1

What it does well

  • Publishes GSM for both faces, which most faux fur listings do not
  • ETL and FCC both named
  • 10-hour shut-off, the longest in this group
  • Publishes its cord lengths and a 30 C wash temperature

Where it falls short

  • No rated wattage
  • States that a warranty exists without saying how long it lasts
  • Six heat settings, against eight on the MAXEVE
  • 350 GSM is mid-weight here; the Bedsure publishes nearly twice that

Who this is forSomeone who wants faux fur but still wants numbers on the listing to compare.

Skip it ifSkip it if a stated warranty term matters. The listing promises support without committing to a period.

3

A published temperature range and a very long cord

MAXEVE Faux Rabbit Fur Heated Throw

MAXEVE Faux Rabbit Fur Heated Throw

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$35.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026

Eight heat levels stated as 86-113 F, UL and FCC, Oeko-Tex on the fabric and a 19-foot power cord. It also claims to resist shedding, which is the complaint about this fabric.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. The listing does publish a delivered temperature range of 86-113 F, which only a handful of products in our registry do.

Size
Throw, 50" x 60"
Heat settings
8 levels, 86-113 F
Auto shut-off
1-8 hours
Controllers
1, with an LCD display
Certification
UL and FCC certified; Oeko-Tex on the fabric
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Temperature range
86-113 F, stated
Face fabric
380 GSM faux rabbit fur
Backing
220 GSM sherpa
Cord
19 feet
Model
ETMink-TH-Grey01

What it does well

  • Publishes a delivered temperature range, which most faux fur listings do not
  • UL and FCC named, plus an Oeko-Tex claim on the textile
  • A 19-foot power cord, the longest we have recorded
  • Eight heat levels on an LCD controller

Where it falls short

  • No rated wattage and no warranty term
  • 113 F at the top is mild next to the 122 F some blankets state
  • The shedding-resistance claim is the maker's own and carries no test behind it
  • An unfamiliar brand with no published model history

Who this is forSomeone whose outlet is nowhere near the sofa, and who wants the temperature stated in degrees.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want serious heat. Eight levels that top out at 113 F is a warm lap rather than a hot one.

4

A larger throw from a familiar name

Beautyrest Zuri Reversible Faux Fur to Mink Electric Throw

Beautyrest Zuri Reversible Faux Fur to Mink Electric Throw

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$48.72 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026

Fifty by seventy inches, UL certified, faux fur one side and mink the other. It is also the thinnest listing here: no GSM, no heat-setting count, no timer duration.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published, as on all eight Beautyrest products we track. This listing publishes less than any other faux fur product here: no fabric weight, no settings count and no shut-off duration.

Size
Throw, 50" x 70"
Heat settings
Multiple settings stated; the count is not published
Auto shut-off
Auto shut-off stated; no duration published
Controllers
1
Certification
UL certified, stated in the listing title
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Face
Brushed faux fur, 100% polyester
Back
Solid mink, 100% polyester
Size
50" x 70", ten inches longer than a standard throw
Model
BR54-1371

What it does well

  • Ten inches longer than the standard 50 by 60 throw, which matters if you are tall
  • UL certified
  • Reversible faux fur to mink, so the look changes with the side
  • Machine washable

Where it falls short

  • Publishes no fabric weight, no heat-setting count and no shut-off duration
  • The virtually zero EMF claim carries no measurement in any unit at any distance
  • No wattage and no warranty term
  • The least informative listing of the five faux fur products we compared

Who this is forSomeone buying on looks and length who is content with a familiar brand and a UL mark.

Skip it ifSkip it if you compare on specifications. There is less published here than on any competing faux fur throw.

5

The most honest downside on any listing we have read

Serta Shaggy Faux Fur Heated Throw

Serta Shaggy Faux Fur Heated Throw

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$60.58 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026

Long shaggy faux fur, five heat levels, a 3-hour shut-off and a low-EMF claim. Its own listing warns you it will shed.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. The listing states low EMF without a measurement, as every low-EMF claim in our set does.

Size
50" x 60"
Heat settings
5 levels
Auto shut-off
3 hours
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL certified
Warranty
3-year warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Fabric
Long shaggy faux fur
Cords
6 ft power cord, 3 ft controller cord
Model
ST54-0198

What it does well

  • The listing states plainly that the fabric sheds in the first few washes, which is unusually candid
  • Both cord lengths published
  • Evenly spaced heating wires stated
  • ETL certified, 3-year warranty

Where it falls short

  • It sheds, on the maker's own account
  • Air-dry only; the listing says to keep it out of the dryer
  • Five heat settings and a 3-hour ceiling
  • No published wattage, and the low-EMF claim carries no measurement

Who this is forSomeone who wants the look of a fur throw and will accept shedding to get it.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want low maintenance. Air-dry only plus early shedding is more upkeep than any other throw here asks for.

How we ranked these

  • Published pile weight first. GSM is the only fabric figure anyone in this category prints, and on a fur-pile product it is the difference between plush and thin.
  • Then shedding, because it is the complaint about this fabric and exactly one listing in our whole registry volunteers it.
  • Then the ordinary specs: wattage where it exists, certification, heat settings and the shut-off ceiling.
  • Not ranked on softness. Every listing claims it, nobody can check it from a spec sheet, and we have not handled these.
  • Not assessed: how the pile holds up over a winter. No maker publishes a durability figure and we have not run one through a year of washes.

We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.

The pile weight ladder, and how wide it is

Faux fur is sold on feel, which is why most listings describe it with adjectives. Three of these five put a number on it instead, and the spread between them is larger than anything we have recorded in any other fabric.

Published fabric weights, face and back
Published fabric weights, face and back
ThrowFaceBackingRated wattsCertification
Bedsure Fluffy Bubble650 GSM faux rabbit fur200 GSM milk velvet100 WETL
MAXEVE faux rabbit fur380 GSM faux rabbit fur220 GSM sherpaNot publishedUL and FCC
Westinghouse faux fur350 GSM faux fur180 GSM sherpaNot publishedETL and FCC
Beautyrest ZuriNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedUL
Serta shaggy faux furNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedETL

Quoted from each listing's own feature bullets, read through the Amazon Creators API on 2026-10-03 (Serta on 2026-09-21). For scale, the heaviest flannel face we have recorded on a bed blanket is 290 GSM.

650 GSM is roughly twice the heaviest flannel in our set. That is the entire argument for this fabric: a heavy pile is warm before you switch it on and holds the heat the element produces, so it reaches a comfortable temperature at a lower setting. We are not going to put a number on that saving, because quantifying it would mean measuring throws we do not have, but the direction is not in question and it is the same argument we make on fleece, flannel, sherpa or plush.

The two listings that publish nothing are not necessarily thin — the Beautyrest Zuri in particular is a familiar brand at a larger 50 by 70 size. They are simply products you cannot compare on fabric, which on a page about fabric is the relevant fact.

The thing the fabric does that nobody wants to discuss

Long-pile faux fur sheds. Anyone who has owned one knows it; almost no listing says it. Across every product in our registry, exactly one volunteers it, and it is the Serta shaggy throw, whose own first bullet states that the fabric will naturally shed within the first few washes and tells you to air-dry rather than tumble.

The MAXEVE goes the other way and claims its design resists shedding. That is a claim rather than a measurement — there is no test, no standard and no figure attached to it — so we record it as what the maker says and no more. The other three say nothing in either direction. Our honest read: assume some shedding in the first washes on any long-pile product, follow whatever drying instruction the maker gives, and treat the Serta's candor as a reason to trust the rest of its listing rather than a reason to avoid the blanket.

One of the five publishes a wattage, and it is the heaviest one

The Bedsure states 100 W on a standard 120 V outlet, which works out at about 15 cents for an eight-hour run at the current US average rate, or under two cents an hour for a four-hour evening on the sofa. The other four publish nothing, so no running cost exists for them and we will not invent one.

That the thickest blanket here is also the one with the lowest-sounding draw is worth a sentence, because it is counter-intuitive. Rated wattage tracks the length and design of the heating element, not the fabric wrapped around it. A heavier pile does not cost more to run; if anything it lets you run a lower setting. The arithmetic is on what an electric blanket costs per night.

Washing a fur-pile blanket is where they differ most

All five detach the controller first, which is universal. After that the instructions diverge sharply: Westinghouse specifies a 30 C wash and no dry cleaning, bleaching or ironing. Bedsure and MAXEVE state machine washable with a gentle cycle, MAXEVE adding low-heat drying for the sherpa back. Serta says air dry rather than tumble, specifically to limit shedding.

Read that as a spec rather than boilerplate. A 650 GSM pile holds a great deal of water, and a blanket that must be air-dried is a blanket out of action for a day or two in midwinter. The general rules, including the one that destroys heated blankets, are on how to wash a heated blanket.

Where each pick is the wrong buy

  • Bedsure Fluffy Bubble — the heaviest pile and the only published wattage, on an 8-hour ceiling and with no warranty term stated.
  • Westinghouse — GSM on both faces plus ETL and FCC, and a warranty it mentions without ever naming a term.
  • MAXEVE — a published 86-113 F range and a 19-foot cord, from a brand with no model history and a shedding claim nobody has tested.
  • Beautyrest Zuri — ten inches longer than a standard throw and UL certified, on the least informative listing of the five.
  • Serta shaggy — the only maker honest about shedding, and it is air-dry only with five settings and a three-hour ceiling.

We have not handled any of these blankets, felt the pile or washed one. Everything above is quoted from what each maker publishes, which is the whole method and is written out on our methodology page.

Questions people actually ask

Do faux fur heated blankets shed?
Long-pile faux fur generally sheds in its first few washes, and one listing in our whole registry says so itself: the Serta shaggy throw states it plainly and recommends air drying rather than tumble drying. One other claims its design resists shedding, with no test behind the claim. The rest say nothing.
What is the thickest heated blanket you can buy?
Of everything we track, the Bedsure Fluffy Bubble faux fur throw publishes the heaviest face fabric at 650 GSM, roughly twice the heaviest flannel we have recorded on a bed blanket. Thickness is only comparable where a maker publishes GSM, and two of the five faux fur throws here publish none.
How much does a faux fur heated blanket cost to run?
Only one publishes the figure needed to answer that. The Bedsure states 100 W, which is about 15 cents for eight hours at the current US average rate. The other four state no wattage, so no honest running cost exists for them.
Can you wash a faux fur electric blanket?
Yes, with the controller detached first, but check the drying instruction before you buy. Westinghouse specifies a 30 C wash, Bedsure and MAXEVE state a gentle machine cycle, and Serta says to air dry rather than tumble in order to limit shedding.
Is faux fur warmer than flannel on a heated blanket?
A heavier pile holds heat better with the power off, and faux fur is the heaviest pile in the category. Nobody publishes a measurement comparing the two, so we will not claim a figure. What is checkable is weight: 650 GSM faux fur against a 290 GSM heaviest flannel.

Sources

Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.