Skip to content
Wool Watt

Brands / Roundup

Serta heated blankets

The only brand we track whose warranty changes depending which product you pick: five years, three years, or nothing at all, inside one range.

By Scooter M.Updated September 21, 2026Scooter M. reads the manuals, compiles the published specs, and shows the arithmetic.

We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

A minimalist bedroom with two neatly made single beds

Serta's five products split into two tiers that share a brand and little else. The queen blanket gets two controllers, ten heat levels, a 1-12 hour shut-off and a 5-year warranty. The throws get five levels, a 3-hour shut-off and a 3-year warranty. The mattress pads get the finest timer control in the category and no warranty term at all. None of the five publishes a wattage.

The picks, with the numbers

Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.

Heated blanket picks compared by published wattage and computed cost per night
#ProductBest forWattsPer nightPrice
1
Serta Heated Blanket, Queen
Top pickSerta Heated Blanket, QueenTwo controllers at queen size, ten heat levels, a 1-12 hour shut-off and a 5-year limited warranty. No wattage, like everything Serta sells.
Dual controllers and five years in writingNot publishedUncomputable$72.07 - See it on Amazon
2
Serta Heated Mattress Pad, Queen
Serta Heated Mattress Pad, QueenMicrofiber top over bonded polyfill with a 15-inch skirt, sold explicitly as a protector as well as a warmer.
Doubling as a mattress protectorNot publishedUncomputable$85.77 - See it on Amazon
3
Serta Reversible Heated Throw
Serta Reversible Heated ThrowFleece one side, sherpa the other, five heat levels and a 3-hour shut-off. Both cord lengths published, and a 3-year warranty rather than Serta's usual five.
A short timer and both cord lengths publishedNot publishedUncomputable$45.62 - See it on Amazon
4
Serta Heated Mattress Pad, King
Serta Heated Mattress Pad, KingThe king version of Serta's protector-plus-warmer pad, with dual-zone control and an hour-by-hour shut-off.
Doubling as a mattress protectorNot publishedUncomputable$100.51 - See it on Amazon
5
Serta Shaggy Faux Fur Heated Throw
Serta Shaggy Faux Fur Heated ThrowLong shaggy faux fur, five heat levels, a 3-hour shut-off and a low-EMF claim. Its own listing warns you it will shed.
The most honest downside on any listing we have readNot publishedUncomputable$60.58 - See it on Amazon

Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.

#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026

1

Dual controllers and five years in writing

Serta Heated Blanket, Queen

Serta Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$72.07 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026

Two controllers at queen size, ten heat levels, a 1-12 hour shut-off and a 5-year limited warranty. No wattage, like everything Serta sells.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Serta publishes heat levels, timer ranges, certification and warranty terms across its range and a rated draw on none of it.

Size
Queen, 84" x 90"
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
1-12 hours
Controllers
2 on queen and larger
Certification
ETL certified
Warranty
5-year limited warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Fabric
Fleece, tri-rib texture
Model
ST54-0244

What it does well

  • Two controllers at queen size, so each side sets its own temperature
  • Ten heat levels and a 1-12 hour selectable shut-off
  • 5-year limited warranty stated
  • ETL certified
  • Machine washable

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage, so it cannot be costed
  • No published temperature range
  • No published temperature range, where Sealy and Beautyrest both give one

Who this is forA shared queen bed where a long warranty matters more than knowing the running cost.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want the draw. The Bedsure GentleSoft queen is also dual control and publishes 220 W.

2

Doubling as a mattress protector

Serta Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Serta Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$85.77 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026

Microfiber top over bonded polyfill with a 15-inch skirt, sold explicitly as a protector as well as a warmer.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published on the listing or in the technical details table.

Size
Queen, 60" x 80" plus 15" skirt, fits 18" mattresses
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
1-12 hours, in 1-hour increments
Controllers
2 (dual zone on queen and larger)
Certification
ETL certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Construction
Microfiber top, bonded polyfill, non-woven base
Skirt
15" with all-round elastic
Model
ST55-0275

What it does well

  • Sold as a protector as well as a warmer, so it earns its place in summer
  • Dual zone standard on queen and larger
  • Timer settable in single-hour increments up to 12
  • ETL certified and independently tested

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Polyfill adds loft you may not want on a soft mattress
  • No warranty term stated

Who this is forA bed that needs protecting from spills as much as it needs warming.

Skip it ifSkip it if your mattress is already soft. The bonded polyfill adds a layer you will feel.

3

A short timer and both cord lengths published

Serta Reversible Heated Throw

Serta Reversible Heated Throw

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$45.62 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026

Fleece one side, sherpa the other, five heat levels and a 3-hour shut-off. Both cord lengths published, and a 3-year warranty rather than Serta's usual five.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. The listing gives the cord lengths, the timer and the warranty instead.

Size
50" x 60"
Heat settings
5 levels
Auto shut-off
3 hours
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL certified
Warranty
3-year warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Fabric
Reversible fleece to sherpa
Cords
6 ft power cord, 3 ft controller cord
Model
ST54-0191

What it does well

  • Both cord lengths published, which most throws omit
  • Reversible fleece and sherpa faces
  • A 3-hour shut-off, which suits a sofa session
  • ETL certified and independently tested, per the listing
  • Machine washable

Where it falls short

  • Five heat settings, against ten on the better-specified throws
  • A 3-year warranty where Serta's queen blanket gets five
  • No published wattage
  • Three hours is short if you fall asleep under it

Who this is forAn evening on the sofa where the blanket switching itself off early is a feature.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want it to last the night. Three hours is the second-shortest ceiling in our set.

4

Doubling as a mattress protector

Serta Heated Mattress Pad, King

Serta Heated Mattress Pad, King

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$100.51 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026

The king version of Serta's protector-plus-warmer pad, with dual-zone control and an hour-by-hour shut-off.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published on the listing or in the technical details table.

Size
King, deep pocket
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
1-12 hours, in 1-hour increments
Controllers
2 (dual zone on queen and larger)
Certification
ETL certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Construction
Microfiber top over bonded polyfill
Doubles as
Mattress protector against spills and pet accidents
Model
ST55-0276

What it does well

  • Sold as a protector as well as a warmer, so it earns its place in summer
  • Dual zone standard at king size
  • Timer settable in single-hour steps up to 12
  • ETL certified and independently tested

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Bonded polyfill adds loft you may not want on a soft mattress
  • No warranty term stated

Who this is forA king bed that needs protecting from spills as much as it needs warming.

Skip it ifSkip it if your mattress is already soft. The polyfill layer is a real addition you will feel.

5

The most honest downside on any listing we have read

Serta Shaggy Faux Fur Heated Throw

Serta Shaggy Faux Fur Heated Throw

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$60.58 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026

Long shaggy faux fur, five heat levels, a 3-hour shut-off and a low-EMF claim. Its own listing warns you it will shed.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. The listing states low EMF without a measurement, as every low-EMF claim in our set does.

Size
50" x 60"
Heat settings
5 levels
Auto shut-off
3 hours
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL certified
Warranty
3-year warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Fabric
Long shaggy faux fur
Cords
6 ft power cord, 3 ft controller cord
Model
ST54-0198

What it does well

  • The listing states plainly that the fabric sheds in the first few washes, which is unusually candid
  • Both cord lengths published
  • Evenly spaced heating wires stated
  • ETL certified, 3-year warranty

Where it falls short

  • It sheds, on the maker's own account
  • Air-dry only; the listing says to keep it out of the dryer
  • Five heat settings and a 3-hour ceiling
  • No published wattage, and the low-EMF claim carries no measurement

Who this is forSomeone who wants the look of a fur throw and will accept shedding to get it.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want low maintenance. Air-dry only plus early shedding is more upkeep than any other throw here asks for.

How we ranked these

  • Stated warranty first, because Serta is the brand where it varies most and the variation is the finding.
  • Then controls: heat settings and the shut-off range, which split cleanly between the bed products and the throws.
  • Then what the listing publishes beyond the marketing: cord lengths, pocket depth, certification.
  • Not ranked on wattage, because Serta publishes none on any of its five products, or on warmth, because we have not handled these.

We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.

The warranty changes inside the range

Across every brand we track, warranty terms come in two flavors: a stated term, almost always five years, or nothing. Serta is the first brand in our set to publish a third figure, and it publishes all three.

What Serta states, product by product
What Serta states, product by product
ProductHeat settingsShut-offCertificationWarranty
Heated blanket, queen101-12 hoursETL5 years, limited
Mattress pad, queen101-12 h, 1-hour incrementsETLNot stated
Mattress pad, king101-12 h, 1-hour incrementsETLNot stated
Reversible fleece throw53 hoursETL3 years
Shaggy faux fur throw53 hoursETL3 years
Rated wattage, all fiveNot published

Quoted from each listing's own feature bullets and manufacturer data, read through the Amazon Creators API on 2026-09-21.

There is nothing improper about tiering a warranty — a sofa throw and a queen bed blanket are different commitments, and they sit in different price brackets. What is useful is that Serta tells you, which lets you read the term as a signal. The products the brand will stand behind for five years are not the ones it will stand behind for three, and the ones it says nothing about are the pads. Why a warranty matters more here than in most categories is on how long do electric blankets last.

The throws shut off at three hours

Both Serta throws stop at three hours. Almost everything else in our set runs to eight, ten or twelve, and only the Beautyrest poncho and throw go shorter at two.

Read as a spec-sheet comparison that is a loss. Read as a design decision it is a sofa product behaving like one: three hours covers an evening, and it will not still be running when you wake up on the couch at two in the morning. If you want a throw that lasts the night, this is the wrong pair, and the ranges are compared on electric blankets with a timer.

The pads are the best-controlled products Serta makes

Both Serta mattress pads set the shut-off in one-hour increments across a 1-12 hour range, which is the finest timer control of any product we track — finer than Sunbeam's selectable hours and far finer than Bedsure's six presets. Both ship dual zones at queen and larger.

They are also the two Serta products with no stated warranty, which is an odd pairing: the best-engineered controls in the range on the products the brand commits to least. We cannot tell you why, and we are not going to guess.

The most honest sentence on any listing we have read

Serta's shaggy faux fur throw says this, in its own first bullet: the fabric will naturally shed within the first few washes.

We read a lot of these listings. Makers do not volunteer drawbacks. This one names the single most predictable complaint about a long-pile faux fur product, before you buy, in the copy that is trying to sell it to you. It also tells you to air-dry rather than tumble, for the same reason. That does not make it a better blanket than the reversible fleece next to it; it makes it a listing you can trust slightly more than most, and on a shelf where everything claims to be soft and safe that is worth something.

Where each pick is the wrong buy

  • Queen blanket — two controllers and five years in writing, and still no published draw and no temperature range.
  • Queen mattress pad — the finest timer control in the category, and no warranty term at all.
  • Reversible fleece throw — both cord lengths published and a 3-hour ceiling that is too short for a night.
  • King mattress pad — same controls as the queen at king size, same silence on the warranty.
  • Shaggy faux fur throw — admits it sheds, needs air drying, and gives five heat settings and three hours.

We have not handled any Serta product. Everything above is quoted from what Serta publishes, which is the whole method and is set out on our methodology page.

Questions people actually ask

Are Serta heated blankets any good?
We cannot answer that on build quality, because we have not handled one. What the listings show is a range that is well specified on controls — the mattress pads set their timer in one-hour increments, the finest we have found — and completely silent on wattage across all five products.
What is the warranty on a Serta heated blanket?
It depends which product. The queen blanket states a 5-year limited warranty, both throws state 3 years, and neither mattress pad states a term at all. Serta is the only brand we track that publishes three different answers inside one range.
How many watts does a Serta heated blanket use?
Serta publishes no rated wattage on any of the five products we track, so there is no honest running-cost figure for any of them and we will not estimate one.
Why do Serta heated throws turn off after three hours?
It is a design decision for a sofa product. Three hours covers an evening and means the throw is not still running hours after you fall asleep under it. If you want one that lasts a night, most competing throws run to eight or ten hours.
Does the Serta faux fur throw shed?
Yes, and the listing says so itself: the fabric will naturally shed within the first few washes. Serta also recommends air drying rather than tumble drying to reduce it. It is unusually candid for a product listing.

Sources

Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.