Brands / Roundup
Bedsure heated blankets
Eight products, eight published wattages. Bedsure is the only brand in this category that tells you what every single item draws, and it is the reason its products lead several of our roundups.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

Bedsure publishes a rated wattage on all eight products we track: 100 W throws, 130 W full, dual 110 W controllers on the queen and king blankets, and dual 100 W on all three mattress pads. Nobody else in this category comes close. What it never publishes is a warranty term.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickBedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, QueenThe only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers. | Two sleepers who argue about heat | 220 W | 32 cents | $84.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 2 | Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, KingDual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. As with the queen, it is the only king-size pad we found that publishes any power figure at all. | The only king pad with a published wattage | 200 W | 29 cents | $99.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 3 | Bedsure Electric Blanket, King, Dual ControlThe only king-size blanket we found with a stated wattage. Dual 110 W controllers, 290 GSM flannel over sherpa. | A king that publishes its watts | 220 W | 32 cents | $99.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 4 | Bedsure GentleSoft Heated ThrowSame 100 W rating and 10-hour timer as the preheat throw, in a ribbed flannel finish. Bedsure states it "operates at just 100W". | The ribbed-flannel face | 100 W | 15 cents | $39.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 5 | Bedsure Heated Blanket, Full130 W published, the highest single-controller figure on this site, on a blanket smaller than the queen. Worth knowing before you buy. | A full bed with a published number | 130 W | 19 cents | $57.96 - See it on Amazon |
| 6 | Bedsure Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad, QueenA cotton top over a waterproof TPU layer, with the same dual-controller electronics as Bedsure's standard pad. | Kids, pets and spills | 200 W | 29 cents | $98.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 7 | Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, QueenDual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all. | The only pad with a published wattage | 200 W | 29 cents | $79.99 - See it on Amazon |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Two sleepers who argue about heat
Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage
220 W
8 hours costs
32 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
The only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure's listing states the blanket runs on 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 110W controllers. Two controllers at 110W each is 220W with both sides at full, or 110W if only one side is on, which is how most couples actually use it.
220 W x 8 h = 1.76 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.32 per night
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 8 hours (6 timer settings, 1-2-4-6-8-10h)
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 220 W (dual 110 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 240 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
- Model
- BS-400B-S
What it does well
- Publishes a wattage, which almost nothing else in the category does
- Two controllers, so one side of the bed can run cold
- ETL and FCC certified with an 8-hour default auto shut-off
- Preheat cycle steps itself down instead of holding full heat all night
Where it falls short
- 6 heat levels where Sunbeam and Sealy give 10 to 12
- No warranty term on the listing
- 220 W with both sides up is the highest published draw of any bed blanket here
Who this is forCouples with different thermostats, and anyone who wants to know what the thing actually draws before buying it.
Skip it ifSkip it if you sleep alone. You are paying for a second controller you will never plug in, and the single-control Westinghouse publishes a lower 100 W.
The only king pad with a published wattage
Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, King

Rated wattage
200 W
8 hours costs
29 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Dual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. As with the queen, it is the only king-size pad we found that publishes any power figure at all.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 100W controllers, the same rating as its queen pad. Both zones at full is 200W; one zone alone is 100W, which is how most couples use it.
200 W x 8 h = 1.60 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.29 per night
- Size
- King, fits up to 18" deep
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 12 time settings
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 200 W (dual 100 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Pocket depth
- Stretches to 18"
- Preheat
- Yes, with memory
- Model
- BS-HMKI-2
What it does well
- The only king pad in our set that publishes a wattage
- Dual control as standard at this size
- All-round elastic to 18" so it does not creep on a deep mattress
- ETL and FCC certified, with 74 in-house safety tests stated by the brand
Where it falls short
- No warranty term stated
- No waterproof layer on this version
- 200 W with both zones at full is the highest published draw on the site
Who this is forA king bed with two people in it who want the running cost on the table before buying.
Skip it ifSkip it if you need waterproofing. Bedsure's cotton-top pad has a TPU layer and this one does not.
A king that publishes its watts
Bedsure Electric Blanket, King, Dual Control

Rated wattage
220 W
8 hours costs
32 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
The only king-size blanket we found with a stated wattage. Dual 110 W controllers, 290 GSM flannel over sherpa.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 110W controllers. Both sides at full is 220W; one side alone is 110W. Notably that is the same figure Bedsure prints for its queen, so the king is bigger but the controllers are rated the same.
220 W x 8 h = 1.76 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.32 per night
- Size
- King, 90" x 100"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 8 hours (6 timer settings)
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 220 W (dual 110 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 290 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes
- Model
- BS-500B-S
What it does well
- Publishes a wattage on a king, which nothing else here does
- 290 GSM flannel is the heaviest face fabric in this roundup
- Dual control as standard on the king
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- Only 6 heat levels
- No warranty term on the listing
- Same controller rating as the queen, spread over a bigger blanket
Who this is forA king-size bed with two people in it who want the running cost on the table before they buy.
Skip it ifSkip it if you need fine heat control. Six levels on a king is coarse next to Westinghouse's ten or Sunbeam's twelve.
The ribbed-flannel face
Bedsure GentleSoft Heated Throw

Rated wattage
100 W
8 hours costs
15 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Same 100 W rating and 10-hour timer as the preheat throw, in a ribbed flannel finish. Bedsure states it "operates at just 100W".
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states the blanket "operates at just 100W" on standard 120V AC at 60Hz. Identical rating to the brand's other 50x60 throw.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Up to 10 hours (6 timer settings)
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- Ribbed flannel with sherpa reverse
- Safety testing
- 74 in-house safety tests stated by the brand
- Model
- BS-100T
What it does well
- 100 W published
- Ribbed flannel face if you dislike flat microplush
- ETL and FCC certified
- Machine washable with the controller detached
Where it falls short
- Functionally the same blanket as the preheat model, without the preheat
- 6 heat levels
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forSomeone who prefers the ribbed texture and does not need the preheat cycle.
Skip it ifSkip it in favor of the preheat version. Same rating, same price bracket, one more useful feature.
A full bed with a published number
Bedsure Heated Blanket, Full

Rated wattage
130 W
8 hours costs
19 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
130 W published, the highest single-controller figure on this site, on a blanket smaller than the queen. Worth knowing before you buy.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states "a power rating of 130W" at 120V AC, 60Hz. It is a single-controller full, so 130W is the whole blanket. That it draws more than the same brand's 110W-per-side queen controller is a real quirk of the range, not an error on our part.
130 W x 8 h = 1.04 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.19 per night
- Size
- Full, 72" x 84"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Up to 10 hours (6 timer settings)
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified; Good Housekeeping Seal stated on the listing
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 130 W
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 220 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
- Model
- BS-100T
What it does well
- Publishes its wattage, so the running cost is computable
- Preheat cycle steps down instead of holding peak heat
- ETL and FCC certified
- Good Housekeeping Seal named on the listing
Where it falls short
- 130 W is the highest single-controller draw here
- 6 heat levels
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forA full-size bed, one sleeper, someone who wants the number rather than the marketing.
Skip it ifSkip it if running cost is what you are optimizing. The 100 W Westinghouse queen covers more bed for less draw.
Kids, pets and spills
Bedsure Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage
200 W
8 hours costs
29 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
A cotton top over a waterproof TPU layer, with the same dual-controller electronics as Bedsure's standard pad.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 100W controllers, the same as its non-waterproof pad. Same model family (BS-HMQU-2), same electronics.
200 W x 8 h = 1.60 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.29 per night
- Size
- Queen, fits up to 18" deep
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 12 time settings
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 200 W (dual 100 W)
- Top fabric
- 100% cotton, quilted hourglass
- Waterproofing
- TPU layer
- Pocket depth
- Stretches to 18"
- Model
- BS-HMQU-2
What it does well
- Waterproof TPU layer under a cotton top
- Published wattage
- Dual control on the queen
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- Cotton over TPU sleeps warmer and less breathably than plain quilting
- No warranty term stated
- Waterproof layers add a crinkle you can sometimes hear
Who this is forA bed that has to survive a child, a dog, or a bedside glass of water.
Skip it ifSkip it if nothing is ever going to be spilled on the bed. The TPU layer is a real trade in breathability.
The only pad with a published wattage
Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage
200 W
8 hours costs
29 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Dual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 100W controllers. Both sides at full is 200W; one side alone is 100W. This is the only heated mattress pad in our checks with any published wattage.
200 W x 8 h = 1.60 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.29 per night
- Size
- Queen, fits up to 18" deep
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 12 time settings, up to 12 hours
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 200 W (dual 100 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Pocket depth
- Stretches to 18"
- Preheat
- Yes, with memory
- Model
- BS-HMQU-2
What it does well
- The only heated mattress pad here with a published wattage
- Dual control, so two sleepers get separate zones
- All-round elastic to 18" keeps it from shifting
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- No warranty term stated
- No waterproof layer on this version
- 200 W with both zones at full is the highest published draw on this site
Who this is forTwo sleepers who want the bed warm before they get into it, and want the running cost on the table.
Skip it ifSkip it if you need waterproofing. Bedsure's cotton-top version has a TPU layer; this one does not.
How we ranked these
- Published wattage is the reason this brand page exists, so products are grouped by what they draw rather than ranked against each other.
- Then controllers, because on a shared bed that decides whether the product gets used.
- Then the format-specific specs: pocket depth on pads, fabric weight on blankets and throws.
- Not ranked on warmth, softness or durability. We have not handled any of these.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
The whole range, by what it draws
This is the table that does not exist anywhere else, because no other publisher records per-model wattage and no other brand supplies it across a whole range.
| Product | Size | Rated watts | 8 hours costs |
|---|---|---|---|
| GentleSoft throw | 50" x 60" | 100 W | 15 cents |
| Throw with preheat | 50" x 60" | 100 W | 15 cents |
| Heated blanket, full | 72" x 84" | 130 W | 19 cents |
| GentleSoft blanket, queen | 84" x 90" | 220 W (dual 110 W) | 32 cents |
| Striped blanket, king | 90" x 100" | 220 W (dual 110 W) | 32 cents |
| Mattress pad, queen | Queen | 200 W (dual 100 W) | 29 cents |
| Waterproof mattress pad, queen | Queen | 200 W (dual 100 W) | 29 cents |
| Mattress pad, king | King | 200 W (dual 100 W) | 29 cents |
Wattages quoted from each product's own listing. Costs are eight hours at $0.1834/kWh (EIA, US residential average, June 2026), with dual-control products at both zones. Rated watts are a ceiling: the element cycles off once the bed is warm.
Two things worth noticing in that table. The full-size blanket draws more than one side of the queen — 130 W against 110 W — so within this one brand the smaller blanket is not the cheaper one to run. And the king pad and the queen pad carry the same 200 W rating, spread over different areas.
Neither is an error. Wattage tracks the length and density of the heating element and how the controller is configured, not the surface area of the fabric. It is also the clearest demonstration available of why an averaged category figure is worthless: the spread inside one brand is wider than the spread between sizes.
| Run time | kWh | Cost | Working |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 hour | 0.10 | 2 cents | 100 x 1 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 4 hours (an evening) | 0.40 | 7 cents | 100 x 4 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 8 hours (a night) | 0.80 | 15 cents | 100 x 8 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 30 nights at 8 hours | 24.00 | $4.40 | 100 x 240 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| A 120-night winter at 8 hours | 96.00 | $17.61 | 100 x 960 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
Rate: US Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 (June 2026): 18.34 cents per kWh, average US residential. Retrieved 2026-08-31.
Rated wattage is the ceiling, not the average. A thermostatic blanket cycles its element on and off once the bed is warm, so an all-night bill usually lands below the rated-watt figure. We publish the rated number because it is the only one the maker stands behind, and we do not estimate a duty cycle for a blanket we have not measured.
The preheat cycle, published in full
Several brands advertise a preheat function. Bedsure is the only one that says what it does: two hours at level 6, then six hours at level 4, matched to an eight-hour sleep.
That specificity matters twice over. You know what you are getting, and because the curve steps down, real consumption sits below the rated-watt arithmetic in the table above. How far below we are not going to say, because level 4 is not a wattage and there is no published mapping from setting to draw. Converting it would require measuring a blanket we do not have.
The safety-testing claim, read precisely
Bedsure's listings state that testing is conducted in an Intertek-recognized satellite laboratory, with 74 safety tests to standards described as surpassing UL. Its products are also ETL and FCC certified.
The ETL certification is third-party and means exactly what it says. The 74-test program is self-reported: the party choosing the tests is the party being tested. That is more information than most brands give and it is not an independent verification, and Bedsure's own wording is careful enough that it does not claim to be. More on reading these claims on what the certification marks mean.
Where Bedsure is genuinely the wrong choice
Being the best-documented brand is not the same as being the right brand for every bed.
- You want fine heat control. Bedsure gives six levels on most products. Sunbeam gives twelve and Sealy ten. If you adjust the setting often, six steps is coarse.
- You want a warranty in writing. Bedsure states none. Sealy publishes five years across several products, and Beautyrest publishes five years on every one.
- You want to know how hot it gets. Bedsure publishes no temperature range. Sealy does on two products.
- You want the lowest published draw on a bed blanket. That is the 100 W Westinghouse queen, not a Bedsure. See the best electric blankets.
The 2023 recall, which we are not going to bury
On 9 March 2023 the CPSC announced the recall of about 350,000 Bedsure electric heating blankets and pads, distributed by Bedshe International and sold between August and November 2022. The hazard was that the controller can malfunction, posing fire and thermal burn hazards. The firm had received 137 reports of products catching fire, burning, melting or overheating, including 17 burn injuries, one of them second-degree. The remedy was a full refund.
By units and by injuries that is the largest heated-bedding recall on the CPSC record, and it sits on the brand this site cites more than any other. The model numbers, and how to check a blanket you already own, are on the Bedsure recall. Praising Bedsure's disclosure while omitting it would be dishonest, so here it is at the same size as the praise.
Washing a Bedsure
Standard for the category, with one thing to watch: on the dual-control queen, the king and all three mattress pads there are two controllers, and forgetting the second is exactly as expensive as forgetting the first. Full sequence, and the brand-specific detail, on caring for a Bedsure heated blanket.
Questions people actually ask
- Are Bedsure heated blankets any good?
- We cannot answer that on build quality, because we have not handled one. What we can say is that Bedsure is the only brand in this category that publishes a rated wattage on every product it sells, which makes it the only brand whose running cost you can check before buying.
- How many watts does a Bedsure heated blanket use?
- 100 W on both throws, 130 W on the full, dual 110 W controllers on the queen and king blankets, and dual 100 W on all three mattress pads. Every figure is stated on the product's own listing.
- What is the Bedsure warranty?
- Not published. The throw listing says a warranty card is included in the packaging without giving a term, and the other products state nothing. This is the one thing Bedsure consistently does not disclose.
- Were Bedsure heated blankets recalled?
- Yes, in March 2023. The CPSC announced a recall of about 350,000 Bedsure electric heating blankets and pads (recall 23735) after 137 reports of fire, burning, melting or overheating and 17 burn injuries, one second-degree. The cause was a controller malfunction and the remedy was a full refund. The notice names models BS-HB5060, BS-HB6284, BS-HB7284, BS-LV0A, BS-HP2422, BS-HP1224 and BS-HP2433; none of the eight Bedsure products on this page carries one of those model numbers. See heated blanket recalls.
- Which Bedsure heated blanket should I buy?
- For a shared bed, the dual-control queen or king. For one person on a sofa, either 100 W throw. For a cold bed rather than a cold person, the mattress pad, and the cotton-top version if anything is likely to get spilled on it.
Sources
- US EIA, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3: average US residential electricity price, June 2026
- Bedsure GentleSoft Queen, dual 110W controllers - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com
- Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad King, dual 100W controllers - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com
- US CPSC recall 23735 (2023-03-09): Bedshe International Recalls Bedsure Electric Heating Blankets and Pads, about 350,000 units, 17 burn injuries
Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.
Read next
- BrandsSunbeam, Sealy, Westinghouse, Bedsure and Beautyrest, ranked on what each is willing to publish.
- Caring for a Bedsure heated blanketThe one brand that publishes a wattage on everything, and what its preheat does.
- Heated blanket recallsFourteen CPSC notices, three failure mechanisms, and how to check your own in two minutes.
- The watts, by modelEvery sourced wattage we could find, cited, plus the 26 models that publish none.
- The best electric blanketsSix bed-size blankets ranked on published wattage, controllers and warranty.
- Sealy heated blanketsTemperature ranges and five-year warranties, and never once a wattage.