Skip to content
Wool Watt

Cost to run / Data

The watts, by model

Of 29 heated bedding products we track, 8 publish a rated wattage. Here they are with their sources, and here are the 21 that publish nothing.

By Scooter M.Updated August 31, 2026Scooter M. reads the manuals, compiles the published specs, and shows the arithmetic.
The dial of a domestic electricity meter, close up

Published heated blanket wattages range from 100 W (Westinghouse queen, both Bedsure throws) to 220 W (Bedsure dual-control queen and king, both sides on). Eight of the 29 products we track publish a figure. The other 21 publish nothing, and no honest running cost exists for them.

The watts, by model

8 of the 29 products we track publish a wattage. Every figure below is quoted from the maker's own listing and linked to it. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.

Published wattage by model, with cost per night computed at the EIA average US residential electricity rate
ModelSizeRated WkWh / nightCost / nightCost / month
Westinghouse Heated Blanket, QueenQueen, 84" x 90"1000.8015 cents$4.40
Bedsure Heated Throw with Preheat50" x 60"1000.8015 cents$4.40
Bedsure GentleSoft Heated Throw50" x 60"1000.8015 cents$4.40
Bedsure Heated Blanket, FullFull, 72" x 84"1301.0419 cents$5.72
Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, QueenQueen, fits up to 18" deep2001.6029 cents$8.80
Bedsure Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad, QueenQueen, fits up to 18" deep2001.6029 cents$8.80
Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, QueenQueen, 84" x 90"2201.7632 cents$9.68
Bedsure Electric Blanket, King, Dual ControlKing, 90" x 100"2201.7632 cents$9.68

Rate: US Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 (June 2026): 18.34 cents per kWh, average US residential. Retrieved 2026-08-31.

The 21 models that publish nothing

These are not obscure brands. Sunbeam, Sealy, Serta, Beautyrest and Biddeford between them cover most of the shelf, and not one of them states a wattage on the listing or in the technical details. We checked each one on 2026-08-31 and found nothing. We will not estimate a figure to fill the gap.

Models with no published wattage, and the specification each maker publishes instead
ModelBrandWhat they publish instead
Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, QueenSunbeam12 levels
Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual ControlSealy10 levels
Biddeford Micro Plush Heated Blanket, QueenBiddeford Blankets10 levels
Westinghouse Heated Blanket, KingWestinghouse10 levels
Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, TwinSunbeam12 levels
Sealy Electric Blanket, TwinSealy87-126 F across 10 settings
Westinghouse Heated Throw, SherpaWestinghouse6 levels
Sealy Heated ThrowSealy95-113 F
Beautyrest Reversible Heated ThrowBeautyrest85-105 F, ambient-dependent
Westinghouse Heated Throw with Foot PocketWestinghouse6 levels
Homemate Heated ThrowHomemate86-122 F
Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, QueenSunbeam12 levels
Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen, Dual ControlSealy10 levels
Serta Heated Mattress Pad, QueenSerta10 levels
Valthie Heated Mattress Pad, QueenValthie12 levels
Sealy 12-Volt Heated Car BlanketSealy3 levels
Westinghouse 12-Volt Heated Car BlanketWestinghouse3 levels
Camco Car & RV Heated Travel BlanketCamcoNot stated on the listing
Stalwart 12V Heated Car BlanketStalwartNot stated on the listing
Beautyrest Wearable Electric Poncho WrapBeautyrest3 levels
Cordless Battery Heated ShawlZireotMultiple, count not stated

Where these numbers come from

Every figure in the table above was read off the manufacturer's own product listing on 2026-08-31 and each row links to the listing that carries it. Nothing here is estimated, averaged, or recalled.

That matters because the alternative is what the rest of this category does. The most-cited wattage page for electric blankets publishes a single 400 W figure applied to every blanket at every size, sourced to nothing. Another assumes a rate of $0.13/kWh without saying where it came from. A third gives ranges by size (twin 50-70 W, queen 80-120 W) that our own sourced data contradicts: Bedsure's full-size blanket publishes 130 W, above the top of the range that page assigns to a queen.

The pattern in who publishes

Seven of the eight published figures come from one brand. That is worth stating plainly because it changes how you should read the table.

Disclosure by brand across all 29 products
Disclosure by brand across all 29 products
BrandProducts trackedPublish a wattage
Bedsure77
Westinghouse61
Sunbeam40
Sealy60
Beautyrest20
Serta10
Biddeford10
Others (Homemate, Valthie, Camco, Stalwart, Zireot)50

Counted from the 29 products in our registry, each checked on its live Amazon listing on 2026-08-31.

The Westinghouse case is the most instructive. Its queen-size flannel blanket states 100 W in the first listing bullet. Its king, its throws and its car blankets state nothing. Same brand, same category, different listings. So this is a listing-copy decision rather than a company policy, which suggests the information exists and simply is not being surfaced.

What the missing figures mean for you

If you own or are considering one of the 21 products with no published wattage, there are two honest options and neither of them is an estimate from us.

  1. 1Look at the blanket itself. Many appliances carry a rating label on the controller, the plug or a sewn-in tag even when the listing does not repeat it. If there is a label, that is the manufacturer's own figure and it beats anything published online.
  2. 2Measure it. A plug-in energy monitor costs about $20 and reads actual draw in watts. Plug the blanket into it, set it to the level you use, and read the number. That is a measurement of your blanket rather than a category average, which makes it better than anything on this page.

Reading the table honestly

Three caveats on our own numbers, because a data page that does not state its limits is not much better than one with no sources.

  • Rated watts is a ceiling. A thermostatic blanket cycles its element off once the bed is warm, so real consumption over a night lands below the arithmetic, often well below. We publish the rated figure because it is the only number the maker stands behind and because it bounds your bill from above.
  • Dual-control figures are the sum of both controllers. Bedsure's 220 W queen is 110 W per side. If only one of you uses the heat, halve it.
  • The rate is a national average. US residential rates vary by more than a factor of two between states. Take the kWh figures and multiply by the rate on your own bill.

The arithmetic behind every dollar figure in the table is set out step by step on what an electric blanket costs to run, and broken down by duration on cost per night and cost per month.

Questions people actually ask

How many watts is an electric blanket?
Of the models that publish a figure: 100 W (Westinghouse queen, Bedsure throws), 130 W (Bedsure full), 200 W (Bedsure mattress pad, dual 100 W) and 220 W (Bedsure queen and king, dual 110 W). Most makers publish nothing at all.
How many watts does a queen electric blanket use?
Westinghouse publishes 100 W for its queen. Bedsure publishes dual 110 W controllers for its queen, which is 220 W with both sides on and 110 W with one. Sunbeam, Sealy and Biddeford publish nothing for their queens.
Why do sites say electric blankets use 400 watts?
One widely cited energy calculator publishes a single 400 W figure for every blanket at every size, with no source. It is inconsistent with every manufacturer figure we could actually find, all of which fall between 100 W and 220 W.
How can I find out my electric blanket's wattage?
Check for a rating label on the controller, the plug or a sewn-in tag, which is the manufacturer's own figure. Failing that, a plug-in energy monitor of the kind sold for about $20 reads the actual draw directly.

Sources

Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.