Skip to content
Wool Watt

Electric blankets / Roundup

The best electric blankets

Seven bed-size blankets, ranked on what their makers put in writing. Three of them publish a wattage, which is why those three are at the top.

By Scooter M.Updated August 31, 2026Scooter M. reads the manuals, compiles the published specs, and shows the arithmetic.

We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

A neatly made bed with a heavy gray blanket in a minimal bedroom

The Bedsure GentleSoft queen is our top pick because it is the only queen here that publishes a wattage (dual 110 W controllers) *and* has two controllers. If you sleep alone, the Westinghouse queen publishes 100 W, the lowest figure any blanket here stands behind, which works out at about 15 cents a night.

The picks, with the numbers

Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.

Heated blanket picks compared by published wattage and computed cost per night
#ProductBest forWattsPer nightPrice
1
Top pickBedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, QueenThe only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers.
Two sleepers who argue about heat220 W32 centsCheck price
2
Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all.
The lowest published draw100 W15 centsCheck price
3
Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, QueenTwelve heat settings and a controller that dims itself at night. Sunbeam publishes no wattage for it, and that is the trade.
The finest heat controlNot publishedUncomputableCheck price
4
Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual ControlTen heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published.
The longest warranty on a dual controlNot publishedUncomputableCheck price
5
Biddeford Micro Plush Heated Blanket, QueenUltra-thin heating wires, two controllers on the queen, third-party safety approval and a 5-year warranty. No wattage anywhere.
A 5-year warranty and thin wiresNot publishedUncomputableCheck price
6
Bedsure Electric Blanket, King, Dual ControlThe only king-size blanket we found with a stated wattage. Dual 110 W controllers, 290 GSM flannel over sherpa.
A king that publishes its watts220 W32 centsCheck price
7
Bedsure Heated Blanket, Full130 W published, the highest single-controller figure on this site, on a blanket smaller than the queen. Worth knowing before you buy.
A full bed with a published number130 W19 centsCheck price

Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

1

Two sleepers who argue about heat

Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage

220 W

8 hours costs

32 cents

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

The only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers.

Where the wattage comes fromBedsure's listing states the blanket runs on 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 110W controllers. Two controllers at 110W each is 220W with both sides at full, or 110W if only one side is on, which is how most couples actually use it.

220 W x 8 h = 1.76 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.32 per night

Size
Queen, 84" x 90"
Heat settings
6 levels
Auto shut-off
8 hours (6 timer settings, 1-2-4-6-8-10h)
Controllers
2 (dual control)
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
220 W (dual 110 W)
Voltage
120 V AC, 60 Hz
Fabric
240 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
Preheat
Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
Model
BS-400B-S

What it does well

  • Publishes a wattage, which almost nothing else in the category does
  • Two controllers, so one side of the bed can run cold
  • ETL and FCC certified with an 8-hour default auto shut-off
  • Preheat cycle steps itself down instead of holding full heat all night

Where it falls short

  • 6 heat levels where Sunbeam and Sealy give 10 to 12
  • No warranty term on the listing
  • 220 W with both sides up is the highest published draw of any bed blanket here

Who this is forCouples with different thermostats, and anyone who wants to know what the thing actually draws before buying it.

Skip it ifSkip it if you sleep alone. You are paying for a second controller you will never plug in, and the single-control Westinghouse publishes a lower 100 W.

2

The lowest published draw

Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage

100 W

8 hours costs

15 cents

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all.

Where the wattage comes fromWestinghouse states it directly in the first listing bullet: "a 100W, 60Hz heating blanket". This is a single-controller queen, so 100 W is the whole blanket rather than one side of it.

100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night

Size
Queen, 84" x 90"
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
1-12 hours, selectable
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
100 W
Voltage
120 V, 60 Hz
Fabric
Double-layer 200 GSM flannel
Memory
Yes, holds your last heat level
Model
KTHB-QAVV-Q

What it does well

  • 100 W published, the lowest figure any queen here stands behind
  • 10 heat levels and a timer selectable to any hour up to 12
  • Memory function, so you are not resetting it every night
  • Machine washable on cold, gentle

Where it falls short

  • One controller only, so the whole bed runs at one temperature
  • No warranty term on the listing
  • Westinghouse's other queen listings do not publish a wattage, so the figure is model-specific

Who this is forA solo sleeper, or a couple who genuinely agree on temperature and want the lowest running cost on the page.

Skip it ifSkip it if you share a bed with someone who runs hot. There is one controller and no way to split the blanket.

3

The finest heat control

Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

Twelve heat settings and a controller that dims itself at night. Sunbeam publishes no wattage for it, and that is the trade.

Where the wattage comes fromSunbeam publishes no wattage figure for this model: not in the listing bullets, not in the technical details table, not on the product page. We checked on 2026-08-31 and found nothing. We will not print an estimate in its place.

Size
Queen, 90" x 84"
Heat settings
12 levels
Auto shut-off
12 hours
Controllers
1
Certification
Not stated on the listing
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Fabric
100% polyester Royal Ultra Fleece
Controller
Digital, dims after 10 seconds
Model number
32810117
Item weight
5.7 lb

What it does well

  • 12 heat settings is the finest granularity of any blanket here
  • The controller dims after 10 seconds, which matters on a nightstand
  • Overheat protection plus a 12-hour auto shut-off
  • Fleece is genuinely warm with the power off

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage, so nobody can compute what it costs to run
  • No certification named in the listing copy
  • One controller on a queen, so the whole bed runs at one setting

Who this is forSomeone who wants fine temperature control from a name they recognize and does not need a running-cost figure.

Skip it ifSkip it if running cost is the deciding factor. Without a published wattage you cannot compute one, and we will not guess it for you.

4

The longest warranty on a dual control

Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual Control

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

Ten heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published.

Where the wattage comes fromSealy publishes no wattage for this model. Every Sealy listing we checked in this category, across blankets, throws and mattress pads, states certifications and cord lengths but never a watt figure.

Size
Queen, 84" x 90"
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
1-12 hours, selectable
Controllers
2 (dual control)
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
5-year warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Fabric
200 GSM double-layer flannel
Total cord length
19 ft (power cord plus controller cord)
Memory
Yes, recalls last level and timer
Model
KTHB-QATVV-Q

What it does well

  • 5-year warranty, the longest stated term of any bed blanket here
  • Dual control with 10 levels each
  • 19 ft of cord reaches an outlet that is not next to the bed
  • ETL and FCC certified with overheat protection

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Flannel on both sides, so no sherpa face if you want the plusher side
  • Wash rules are strict: slow agitation, low spin, no dry clean, no bleach

Who this is forCouples who want a long warranty and enough cord to reach a real outlet, and who are not deciding on running cost.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want to know the running cost before you buy. Sealy publishes nothing you could compute one from.

5

A 5-year warranty and thin wires

Biddeford Micro Plush Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

Ultra-thin heating wires, two controllers on the queen, third-party safety approval and a 5-year warranty. No wattage anywhere.

Where the wattage comes fromBiddeford publishes no wattage on the listing or in the technical details. Its own instructions state only that the blanket must be plugged directly into a 120V wall outlet, never an extension cord or power strip.

Size
Queen
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
Yes, timer built into the digital controller
Controllers
2 on queen and king; 1 on twin and full
Certification
Third-party tested and approved (UL or ETL Intertek)
Warranty
5-year limited manufacturer's warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Fabric
100% polyester micro plush
Heating wire
Ultra-thin, for a flatter feel
Model number
2033-905191-700
Power rule
Wall outlet only, no extension cord, no power strip

What it does well

  • 5-year limited manufacturer warranty
  • Ultra-thin wires you are less likely to feel through a sheet
  • Third-party safety approval named explicitly in the listing
  • Machine washable and dryer safe with the controllers removed

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • No specific auto-shutoff duration stated, only that a timer exists
  • The no-extension-cord rule is strict and rules out some bedroom layouts

Who this is forSomeone buying on warranty and wire comfort rather than on a running-cost figure.

Skip it ifSkip it if your only outlet is across the room. Biddeford explicitly prohibits extension cords and power strips with this blanket.

6

A king that publishes its watts

Bedsure Electric Blanket, King, Dual Control

Rated wattage

220 W

8 hours costs

32 cents

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

The only king-size blanket we found with a stated wattage. Dual 110 W controllers, 290 GSM flannel over sherpa.

Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 110W controllers. Both sides at full is 220W; one side alone is 110W. Notably that is the same figure Bedsure prints for its queen, so the king is bigger but the controllers are rated the same.

220 W x 8 h = 1.76 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.32 per night

Size
King, 90" x 100"
Heat settings
6 levels
Auto shut-off
8 hours (6 timer settings)
Controllers
2 (dual control)
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
220 W (dual 110 W)
Voltage
120 V AC, 60 Hz
Fabric
290 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
Preheat
Yes
Model
BS-500B-S

What it does well

  • Publishes a wattage on a king, which nothing else here does
  • 290 GSM flannel is the heaviest face fabric in this roundup
  • Dual control as standard on the king
  • ETL and FCC certified

Where it falls short

  • Only 6 heat levels
  • No warranty term on the listing
  • Same controller rating as the queen, spread over a bigger blanket

Who this is forA king-size bed with two people in it who want the running cost on the table before they buy.

Skip it ifSkip it if you need fine heat control. Six levels on a king is coarse next to Westinghouse's ten or Sunbeam's twelve.

7

A full bed with a published number

Bedsure Heated Blanket, Full

Rated wattage

130 W

8 hours costs

19 cents

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

130 W published, the highest single-controller figure on this site, on a blanket smaller than the queen. Worth knowing before you buy.

Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states "a power rating of 130W" at 120V AC, 60Hz. It is a single-controller full, so 130W is the whole blanket. That it draws more than the same brand's 110W-per-side queen controller is a real quirk of the range, not an error on our part.

130 W x 8 h = 1.04 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.19 per night

Size
Full, 72" x 84"
Heat settings
6 levels
Auto shut-off
Up to 10 hours (6 timer settings)
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL and FCC certified; Good Housekeeping Seal stated on the listing
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
130 W
Voltage
120 V AC, 60 Hz
Fabric
220 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
Preheat
Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
Model
BS-100T

What it does well

  • Publishes its wattage, so the running cost is computable
  • Preheat cycle steps down instead of holding peak heat
  • ETL and FCC certified
  • Good Housekeeping Seal named on the listing

Where it falls short

  • 130 W is the highest single-controller draw here
  • 6 heat levels
  • No warranty term stated

Who this is forA full-size bed, one sleeper, someone who wants the number rather than the marketing.

Skip it ifSkip it if running cost is what you are optimizing. The 100 W Westinghouse queen covers more bed for less draw.

How we ranked these

  • Published wattage first. A blanket whose maker states its rated draw can be costed. One that does not, cannot. That is the ranking axis nobody else in this category uses, and it is the one we can actually substantiate.
  • Controllers second. On a shared bed, one controller versus two decides more about whether the blanket gets used than any amount of heat settings.
  • Then the checkable specifics: heat steps, auto-shutoff ceiling, named certification, stated warranty term, and cord length.
  • Not ranked on: softness, warmth, how fast it heats, or how it feels. We have not handled these blankets and we will not pretend to have opinions we cannot support.

We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.

Why the ranking looks like this

Every roundup of electric blankets you will find ranks on softness, warmth and how quickly the thing heats up. Those are all real qualities and we cannot assess any of them, because we have not handled these blankets. Publishing a ranking based on adjectives we cannot substantiate would be the easiest thing in the world and it would be worthless.

So we rank on the thing that is checkable from your chair: what the manufacturer is willing to state in writing. That turns out to be a genuinely discriminating test, because most of them state remarkably little.

The wattage problem, in one table

Of the ten bed-size blankets we track, three publish a rated wattage. The other seven publish nothing you could compute a running cost from. That is not a fringe brand problem: Sunbeam, Sealy and Biddeford are three of the best-known names in the category and none of them states a figure.

The watts, by model

8 of the 29 products we track publish a wattage. Every figure below is quoted from the maker's own listing and linked to it. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.

Published wattage by model, with cost per night computed at the EIA average US residential electricity rate
ModelSizeRated WkWh / nightCost / nightCost / month
Westinghouse Heated Blanket, QueenQueen, 84" x 90"1000.8015 cents$4.40
Bedsure Heated Throw with Preheat50" x 60"1000.8015 cents$4.40
Bedsure GentleSoft Heated Throw50" x 60"1000.8015 cents$4.40
Bedsure Heated Blanket, FullFull, 72" x 84"1301.0419 cents$5.72
Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, QueenQueen, fits up to 18" deep2001.6029 cents$8.80
Bedsure Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad, QueenQueen, fits up to 18" deep2001.6029 cents$8.80
Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, QueenQueen, 84" x 90"2201.7632 cents$9.68
Bedsure Electric Blanket, King, Dual ControlKing, 90" x 100"2201.7632 cents$9.68

Rate: US Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 (June 2026): 18.34 cents per kWh, average US residential. Retrieved 2026-08-31.

The 21 models that publish nothing

These are not obscure brands. Sunbeam, Sealy, Serta, Beautyrest and Biddeford between them cover most of the shelf, and not one of them states a wattage on the listing or in the technical details. We checked each one on 2026-08-31 and found nothing. We will not estimate a figure to fill the gap.

Models with no published wattage, and the specification each maker publishes instead
ModelBrandWhat they publish instead
Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, QueenSunbeam12 levels
Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual ControlSealy10 levels
Biddeford Micro Plush Heated Blanket, QueenBiddeford Blankets10 levels
Westinghouse Heated Blanket, KingWestinghouse10 levels
Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, TwinSunbeam12 levels
Sealy Electric Blanket, TwinSealy87-126 F across 10 settings
Westinghouse Heated Throw, SherpaWestinghouse6 levels
Sealy Heated ThrowSealy95-113 F
Beautyrest Reversible Heated ThrowBeautyrest85-105 F, ambient-dependent
Westinghouse Heated Throw with Foot PocketWestinghouse6 levels
Homemate Heated ThrowHomemate86-122 F
Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, QueenSunbeam12 levels
Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen, Dual ControlSealy10 levels
Serta Heated Mattress Pad, QueenSerta10 levels
Valthie Heated Mattress Pad, QueenValthie12 levels
Sealy 12-Volt Heated Car BlanketSealy3 levels
Westinghouse 12-Volt Heated Car BlanketWestinghouse3 levels
Camco Car & RV Heated Travel BlanketCamcoNot stated on the listing
Stalwart 12V Heated Car BlanketStalwartNot stated on the listing
Beautyrest Wearable Electric Poncho WrapBeautyrest3 levels
Cordless Battery Heated ShawlZireotMultiple, count not stated

What a night actually costs

For the blankets that do publish, the arithmetic is short. Watts divided by a thousand, times hours, times your rate per kilowatt-hour. At the current US average residential rate of $0.1834 per kWh:

What 100 W costs: the Westinghouse queen
Cost of running 100 watts for various durations at $0.1834/kWh
Run timekWhCostWorking
1 hour0.102 cents100 x 1 / 1000 x 0.1834
4 hours (an evening)0.407 cents100 x 4 / 1000 x 0.1834
8 hours (a night)0.8015 cents100 x 8 / 1000 x 0.1834
30 nights at 8 hours24.00$4.40100 x 240 / 1000 x 0.1834
A 120-night winter at 8 hours96.00$17.61100 x 960 / 1000 x 0.1834

Rate: US Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 (June 2026): 18.34 cents per kWh, average US residential. Retrieved 2026-08-31.

Rated wattage is the ceiling, not the average. A thermostatic blanket cycles its element on and off once the bed is warm, so an all-night bill usually lands below the rated-watt figure. We publish the rated number because it is the only one the maker stands behind, and we do not estimate a duty cycle for a blanket we have not measured.

A 220 W dual-control queen with both sides running is roughly double that, about 32 cents a night. One side alone is 110 W, so about 16 cents. The full breakdown by duration and by model is on what it costs to run.

One controller or two

This is the specification that decides whether a blanket gets used, and it is buried in the listing copy on almost every product.

A single-controller queen heats the entire bed to one temperature. If both people in that bed want the same temperature, it is the better buy: fewer parts, lower draw, less cable. If they do not, no number of heat settings fixes it, because all twelve of those settings apply to the whole blanket at once.

Controllers by model
Controllers by model
ModelSizeControllersRated watts
Bedsure GentleSoftQueen2Dual 110 W
Westinghouse flannelQueen1100 W
Sunbeam Royal Ultra FleeceQueen1Not published
Sealy dual controlQueen2Not published
Biddeford Micro PlushQueen2Not published
Bedsure stripedKing2Dual 110 W
Bedsure preheatFull1130 W

Quoted from each maker's own listing, checked 2026-08-31. Biddeford ships one controller on twin and full, two on queen and king.

The size quirk worth knowing

Bedsure's full-size blanket publishes 130 W on one controller. Bedsure's queen publishes dual 110 W controllers, which is 110 W if only one side is on. So within the same brand, the smaller blanket draws more than half of the larger one, and a solo sleeper on the queen draws less than a solo sleeper on the full.

That is not an error in the specs. Wattage tracks the length and density of the heating element and how the controller is configured, not the surface area of the fabric. It is also the clearest possible demonstration of why an averaged category figure is useless: the spread inside one brand is wider than the spread between sizes.

What every one of these does equally well

Worth saying plainly, because it saves you comparing on things that do not differ. Every blanket in this roundup is machine washable with the controller detached, has an auto shut-off, has overheat protection, and is described as certified by at least one testing laboratory. None of those is a reason to pick one over another.

What does differ is the wash detail. Sealy specifies slow agitation and low spin and prohibits dry cleaning, bleaching and wringing by name. Biddeford prohibits extension cords and power strips outright, which is an installation constraint rather than a wash one but catches people the same way. Both are in washing an electric blanket.

Before you buy

  1. 1Measure to the outlet. Sealy publishes a 19-foot total cord run; Biddeford forbids extension cords. If the socket is across the room, that decides this before anything else does.
  2. 2Decide on controllers. One or two. It is the least reversible choice on the page.
  3. 3Check who is going to be under it. Pacemakers, pregnancy, small children and reduced sensation all have real answers on who should not use one.
  4. 4Consider whether you actually want a pad instead. If the complaint you are solving is a cold bed rather than a cold person, a heated mattress pad is probably the better product.

Questions people actually ask

What is the best electric blanket for a couple?
One with two controllers. Our pick is the Bedsure GentleSoft queen, because it is dual control and it is the only queen here whose maker publishes a wattage. The Sealy dual control is the alternative if a stated 5-year warranty matters more to you than a published watt figure.
How many watts does an electric blanket use?
Of the blankets here, Westinghouse publishes 100 W for its queen, Bedsure publishes 130 W for its full and dual 110 W controllers for its queen and king. Sunbeam, Sealy and Biddeford publish nothing. See the watts, by model.
Are expensive electric blankets worth it?
On the evidence available, price does not track the things you can verify. The blanket with the lowest published draw is not the most expensive one, and the brands with the strongest names publish the least information. Buy on controllers, published wattage and stated warranty rather than on price.
Which electric blanket brands publish their wattage?
In our checks on 2026-08-31, only Bedsure and one Westinghouse listing. Sunbeam, Sealy, Serta, Beautyrest and Biddeford state none on the listing or in the technical details. That is 8 of 29 products across the whole site.

Sources

Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.