Electric blankets / Roundup
Dual control electric blankets
Two controllers, two independent zones, and an end to the nightly negotiation. Here is what each one draws per side, where the maker will tell you.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

A dual-control blanket has two separate controllers driving two heating zones, so each side of the bed sets its own temperature. Of the four here, two publish a wattage: Bedsure states dual 110 W controllers on both its queen and its king. With one side running that is 110 W, about 16 cents for an eight-hour night.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickBedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, QueenThe only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers. | Two sleepers who argue about heat | 220 W | 32 cents | Check price |
| 2 | Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual ControlTen heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published. | The longest warranty on a dual control | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
| 3 | Bedsure Electric Blanket, King, Dual ControlThe only king-size blanket we found with a stated wattage. Dual 110 W controllers, 290 GSM flannel over sherpa. | A king that publishes its watts | 220 W | 32 cents | Check price |
| 4 | Biddeford Micro Plush Heated Blanket, QueenUltra-thin heating wires, two controllers on the queen, third-party safety approval and a 5-year warranty. No wattage anywhere. | A 5-year warranty and thin wires | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Two sleepers who argue about heat
Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, Queen
The only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure's listing states the blanket runs on 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 110W controllers. Two controllers at 110W each is 220W with both sides at full, or 110W if only one side is on, which is how most couples actually use it.
220 W x 8 h = 1.76 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.32 per night
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 8 hours (6 timer settings, 1-2-4-6-8-10h)
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 220 W (dual 110 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 240 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
- Model
- BS-400B-S
What it does well
- Publishes a wattage, which almost nothing else in the category does
- Two controllers, so one side of the bed can run cold
- ETL and FCC certified with an 8-hour default auto shut-off
- Preheat cycle steps itself down instead of holding full heat all night
Where it falls short
- 6 heat levels where Sunbeam and Sealy give 10 to 12
- No warranty term on the listing
- 220 W with both sides up is the highest published draw of any bed blanket here
Who this is forCouples with different thermostats, and anyone who wants to know what the thing actually draws before buying it.
Skip it ifSkip it if you sleep alone. You are paying for a second controller you will never plug in, and the single-control Westinghouse publishes a lower 100 W.
The longest warranty on a dual control
Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual Control
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Ten heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published.
Where the wattage comes fromSealy publishes no wattage for this model. Every Sealy listing we checked in this category, across blankets, throws and mattress pads, states certifications and cord lengths but never a watt figure.
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- 5-year warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 200 GSM double-layer flannel
- Total cord length
- 19 ft (power cord plus controller cord)
- Memory
- Yes, recalls last level and timer
- Model
- KTHB-QATVV-Q
What it does well
- 5-year warranty, the longest stated term of any bed blanket here
- Dual control with 10 levels each
- 19 ft of cord reaches an outlet that is not next to the bed
- ETL and FCC certified with overheat protection
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Flannel on both sides, so no sherpa face if you want the plusher side
- Wash rules are strict: slow agitation, low spin, no dry clean, no bleach
Who this is forCouples who want a long warranty and enough cord to reach a real outlet, and who are not deciding on running cost.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want to know the running cost before you buy. Sealy publishes nothing you could compute one from.
A king that publishes its watts
Bedsure Electric Blanket, King, Dual Control
The only king-size blanket we found with a stated wattage. Dual 110 W controllers, 290 GSM flannel over sherpa.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 110W controllers. Both sides at full is 220W; one side alone is 110W. Notably that is the same figure Bedsure prints for its queen, so the king is bigger but the controllers are rated the same.
220 W x 8 h = 1.76 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.32 per night
- Size
- King, 90" x 100"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 8 hours (6 timer settings)
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 220 W (dual 110 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 290 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes
- Model
- BS-500B-S
What it does well
- Publishes a wattage on a king, which nothing else here does
- 290 GSM flannel is the heaviest face fabric in this roundup
- Dual control as standard on the king
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- Only 6 heat levels
- No warranty term on the listing
- Same controller rating as the queen, spread over a bigger blanket
Who this is forA king-size bed with two people in it who want the running cost on the table before they buy.
Skip it ifSkip it if you need fine heat control. Six levels on a king is coarse next to Westinghouse's ten or Sunbeam's twelve.
A 5-year warranty and thin wires
Biddeford Micro Plush Heated Blanket, Queen
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Ultra-thin heating wires, two controllers on the queen, third-party safety approval and a 5-year warranty. No wattage anywhere.
Where the wattage comes fromBiddeford publishes no wattage on the listing or in the technical details. Its own instructions state only that the blanket must be plugged directly into a 120V wall outlet, never an extension cord or power strip.
- Size
- Queen
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Yes, timer built into the digital controller
- Controllers
- 2 on queen and king; 1 on twin and full
- Certification
- Third-party tested and approved (UL or ETL Intertek)
- Warranty
- 5-year limited manufacturer's warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 100% polyester micro plush
- Heating wire
- Ultra-thin, for a flatter feel
- Model number
- 2033-905191-700
- Power rule
- Wall outlet only, no extension cord, no power strip
What it does well
- 5-year limited manufacturer warranty
- Ultra-thin wires you are less likely to feel through a sheet
- Third-party safety approval named explicitly in the listing
- Machine washable and dryer safe with the controllers removed
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- No specific auto-shutoff duration stated, only that a timer exists
- The no-extension-cord rule is strict and rules out some bedroom layouts
Who this is forSomeone buying on warranty and wire comfort rather than on a running-cost figure.
Skip it ifSkip it if your only outlet is across the room. Biddeford explicitly prohibits extension cords and power strips with this blanket.
How we ranked these
- Two genuinely independent controllers is the entry requirement. A blanket with two heat zones driven from one controller does not qualify.
- Published per-side wattage ranks above everything else, because on a dual-control blanket the number that matters is what one side draws when only one side is on.
- Then warranty and certification, both taken from the maker's own listing.
- Not ranked on warmth or feel. We have not handled these.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
The number that actually matters on a dual-control blanket
There is a subtlety here that most cost calculations get wrong, including some of ours if we were careless about it. A dual-control blanket's rated wattage is usually the sum of both controllers. Bedsure's queen is dual 110 W, so 220 W with both sides at full.
But that is rarely how the blanket gets used. Most couples run one side warm and the other off, or both at low. So the number that describes your actual bill is the per-side figure, and the headline sum is an upper bound you will probably never hit.
| Model | Per side | Both sides | 8h, one side | 8h, both sides |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bedsure GentleSoft queen | 110 W | 220 W | 16 cents | 32 cents |
| Bedsure striped king | 110 W | 220 W | 16 cents | 32 cents |
| Sealy queen dual control | Not published | Not published | Uncomputable | Uncomputable |
| Biddeford Micro Plush queen | Not published | Not published | Uncomputable | Uncomputable |
Costs at $0.1834/kWh (EIA, US residential average, June 2026). Rated watts are a ceiling: a thermostatic blanket cycles off once the bed is warm.
Why two controllers is the specification that gets used
Almost every complaint about a shared electric blanket resolves to the same thing: one person is too hot. It is not a defect and no amount of heat settings addresses it, because on a single-controller blanket every setting applies to the whole bed.
The practical consequence is that a single-control blanket on a shared bed tends to end up set to whatever the colder person can tolerate, which is to say it gets used at a setting that satisfies neither. A dual-control blanket costs more and adds a second cable, and it is the difference between a blanket that stays on the bed and one that ends up in a cupboard by February.
What to check before you commit
- Which sizes actually ship dual control. Biddeford ships two controllers on queen and king and one on twin and full. Read the size line, not the product name.
- Where both cables run. Two controllers means two cables to two sides of the bed and, on most models, two plugs. Sealy publishes a 19-foot total cord run, which matters if there is only one accessible socket.
- Whether the controller is readable at night. Sunbeam's dims after ten seconds. Others stay lit. On a bedside table at 3am this is a real difference, and it is covered further in blankets for older adults.
- Whether you want a pad instead. Heated mattress pads offer the same dual-zone idea under the sheet, and one of them publishes its wattage too.
Questions people actually ask
- What does dual control mean on an electric blanket?
- Two separate controllers driving two independent heating zones, so each side of the bed sets its own temperature and timer. It is standard on queen and king from most brands and rare below that.
- Does a dual control blanket use twice the electricity?
- Only if both sides run at full at the same time. Bedsure's dual 110 W queen is 220 W with both zones up and 110 W with one, so a couple where only one person uses the heat pays the same as a single-control blanket.
- Can you use just one side of a dual control blanket?
- Yes, that is the point of it. Each controller drives its own zone independently, including being switched off entirely while the other side runs.
Sources
Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.
Read next
- The best electric blanketsSeven bed-size blankets ranked on published wattage, controllers and warranty.
- Dual control heated mattress padsTwo zones under one sheet, and the size threshold where dual control starts.
- What an electric blanket costs per nightFifteen cents at 100 W, thirty-two at 220, with the working shown.
- King size electric blanketsTwo kings at 90 by 100 inches. Only one publishes what it draws.