Electric blankets / Roundup
King size electric blankets
Two kings, 90 by 100 inches each. One tells you what it draws and one does not, which on the largest blanket in the house is not a small omission.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

The Bedsure king is the pick, because it is the only king-size blanket we found that publishes a wattage: dual 110 W controllers at 120 V. That is about 32 cents a night with both sides running, or 16 cents with one. The Westinghouse king is reversible flannel and sherpa but publishes no figure at all.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickBedsure Electric Blanket, King, Dual ControlThe only king-size blanket we found with a stated wattage. Dual 110 W controllers, 290 GSM flannel over sherpa. | A king that publishes its watts | 220 W | 32 cents | Check price |
| 2 | Westinghouse Heated Blanket, KingA reversible king with 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. Westinghouse publishes a wattage on its queen but not on this one. | Flannel one side, sherpa the other | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
A king that publishes its watts
Bedsure Electric Blanket, King, Dual Control
The only king-size blanket we found with a stated wattage. Dual 110 W controllers, 290 GSM flannel over sherpa.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 110W controllers. Both sides at full is 220W; one side alone is 110W. Notably that is the same figure Bedsure prints for its queen, so the king is bigger but the controllers are rated the same.
220 W x 8 h = 1.76 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.32 per night
- Size
- King, 90" x 100"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 8 hours (6 timer settings)
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 220 W (dual 110 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 290 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes
- Model
- BS-500B-S
What it does well
- Publishes a wattage on a king, which nothing else here does
- 290 GSM flannel is the heaviest face fabric in this roundup
- Dual control as standard on the king
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- Only 6 heat levels
- No warranty term on the listing
- Same controller rating as the queen, spread over a bigger blanket
Who this is forA king-size bed with two people in it who want the running cost on the table before they buy.
Skip it ifSkip it if you need fine heat control. Six levels on a king is coarse next to Westinghouse's ten or Sunbeam's twelve.
Flannel one side, sherpa the other
Westinghouse Heated Blanket, King
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
A reversible king with 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. Westinghouse publishes a wattage on its queen but not on this one.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published for this king. The same brand's queen (KTHB-QAVV-Q) does state 100W in its listing copy, which tells you the omission here is a listing decision rather than a company policy.
- Size
- King, 100" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Up to 12 hours
- Controllers
- 1 stated
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- Flannel one face, sherpa fleece the other
- Timer
- 12-hour settings
- Model
- KTHB-QTVS-K
What it does well
- Reversible: silky flannel one side, sherpa the other
- 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer
- ETL and FCC certified with overheat protection
Where it falls short
- No published wattage on a blanket this size
- One controller stated on a king-size blanket
- No warranty term given
Who this is forSomeone who wants the sherpa face on a king and does not need the running cost computed.
Skip it ifSkip it if you share the bed and disagree on heat. The dual-control Bedsure king also tells you its watts.
How we ranked these
- Published wattage first, and on a king it matters most: this is the largest heated surface in the house and the one running longest.
- Dual control second. A king is almost always a shared bed.
- Then fabric weight, timer range and certification, from the maker's listing.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
The odd thing about king-size wattage
You would expect a king to draw noticeably more than a queen. It is a bigger blanket with more element in it. Bedsure publishes dual 110 W controllers on both, which means the king and the queen carry the same controller rating spread over different areas.
The honest reading is that the controller is rated for a maximum and the element length differs underneath it. What we can say with confidence is what the maker states, which is 110 W per side on both. What we cannot say is how the heat density compares, because that would require measuring a blanket we do not have.
| Run time | kWh | Cost | Working |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 hour | 0.22 | 4 cents | 220 x 1 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 4 hours (an evening) | 0.88 | 16 cents | 220 x 4 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 8 hours (a night) | 1.76 | 32 cents | 220 x 8 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 30 nights at 8 hours | 52.80 | $9.68 | 220 x 240 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| A 120-night winter at 8 hours | 211.20 | $38.73 | 220 x 960 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
Rate: US Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 (June 2026): 18.34 cents per kWh, average US residential. Retrieved 2026-08-31.
Rated wattage is the ceiling, not the average. A thermostatic blanket cycles its element on and off once the bed is warm, so an all-night bill usually lands below the rated-watt figure. We publish the rated number because it is the only one the maker stands behind, and we do not estimate a duty cycle for a blanket we have not measured.
Fabric weight matters more at this size
A king blanket has a lot of surface area losing heat to a cold room, and the fabric is what slows that down. Bedsure publishes 290 GSM flannel over 200 GSM sherpa, the heaviest face fabric of anything we track. Westinghouse publishes flannel one side and sherpa the other without stating weights.
This is a genuinely useful lever on running cost that nobody frames as one. A heavier blanket holds the heat the element produces, so it reaches a comfortable temperature at a lower setting and cycles off sooner. You cannot compute that saving without measuring it, and we have not, so we are not going to put a number on it. But the mechanism is real and it is a reason to prefer the heavier fabric at the same price.
Practical constraints at 90 by 100 inches
- Two cable runs, two plugs. A dual-control king needs power at both sides of the bed or a long enough run to reach one socket. Measure before you order.
- Washing it is a real operation. A king blanket is a large wet object and many domestic machines struggle with the volume. The wash rules in washing an electric blanket apply, and the drum capacity question is on you.
- Storage. Roll it, do not fold it hard. A crease is a stress point in the element and a king has the most surface to crease. See storing a heated blanket.
Questions people actually ask
- What size is a king electric blanket?
- Both kings here are 90 by 100 inches, which is the standard US king blanket size and gives useful overhang on a 76 by 80 inch king mattress.
- How much does a king size electric blanket cost to run?
- For the only king that publishes a figure, Bedsure's dual 110 W: about 32 cents for an eight-hour night with both sides on, 16 cents with one. At $0.1834/kWh. The Westinghouse king publishes nothing, so its cost cannot be calculated.
- Do king size electric blankets have two controllers?
- Usually. Bedsure's king ships dual control as standard. Westinghouse's king states one controller, which is unusual at this size and worth noticing before you buy for a shared bed.
Sources
Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.
Read next
- Dual control electric blanketsTwo controllers, two zones, and the per-side wattage where the maker publishes it.
- The best electric blanketsSeven bed-size blankets ranked on published wattage, controllers and warranty.
- What an electric blanket costs per nightFifteen cents at 100 W, thirty-two at 220, with the working shown.
- Storing a heated blanketRoll it, keep it dry, and run the check before it goes back on.