Heated mattress pads / Roundup
California king heated mattress pads
The size where buying the wrong one is a return rather than a compromise. Five pads compared on the two measurements that decide fit, and the number none of them publishes.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

The Valthie is the pick: twelve heat settings, an 18-inch pocket the maker states will fit an 8 to 21 inch mattress, preheat, ETL and a 5-year warranty. The Beautyrest is the alternative if you want the rarer mark — it is the only Cal King pad here certified to UL. All five state the same 72 by 84 inch footprint, all five ship two controllers, and none of the five publishes a wattage.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickValthie Heated Mattress Pad, California KingTwelve heat settings, an 18-inch pocket stated to fit 8 to 21 inch mattresses, preheat, ETL and a 5-year warranty. The best-specified Cal King pad we found. | The deepest pocket and the most settings | Not published | Uncomputable | $109.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 2 | Beautyrest Cotton Blend Heated Mattress Pad, California KingThe one Cal King pad here certified to UL rather than ETL, with a 1-hour preheat, a 10-hour shut-off and a 5-year warranty on five heat settings. | The only UL mark at this size | Not published | Uncomputable | $104.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 3 | Serta Heated Mattress Pad, California KingTen heat settings and a shut-off you set in one-hour increments from 1 to 12, on the pad Serta also sells as a mattress protector. Still no warranty term. | The finest timer control | Not published | Uncomputable | $101.61 - See it on Amazon |
| 4 | Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, California KingTen settings, a 1-12 hour programmable shut-off, ETL and FCC, and a 17-inch pocket. Also the listing that calls itself energy-efficient without publishing a wattage. | A 17-inch pocket and a wire-free feel | Not published | Uncomputable | $129.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 5 | Bwarm Heated Mattress Pad, California KingNine heat settings per side, an 18-inch all-round pocket and a 5-year guarantee, from the least familiar name at this size. | A stated warranty at the low end | Not published | Uncomputable | $69.99 - See it on Amazon |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026
The deepest pocket and the most settings
Valthie Heated Mattress Pad, California King

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026
Twelve heat settings, an 18-inch pocket stated to fit 8 to 21 inch mattresses, preheat, ETL and a 5-year warranty. The best-specified Cal King pad we found.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Valthie publishes dimensions, pocket depth, both cord lengths, heat settings, timer range, certification and a warranty term, and no rated draw.
- Size
- California king, 72" x 84", 18" pocket stated to fit 8-21" mattresses
- Heat settings
- 12 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours
- Controllers
- 2 (dual zone at queen and larger; 1 at twin, twin XL and full)
- Certification
- ETL certified
- Warranty
- 5 years, stated by the maker
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Pocket depth
- 18", stated for 8-21" mattresses
- Preheat
- Yes
- Controller
- LCD that blanks after 20 seconds
- Cords
- 6 ft power, 12.8 ft controller
- Model
- DR-06
What it does well
- Twelve heat settings, the finest control at this size
- 18-inch pocket with a stated 8 to 21 inch mattress range, the widest fit here
- Publishes both cord lengths, which most listings do not
- LCD blanks after 20 seconds so it does not light the room
- ETL certified with a 5-year warranty stated
Where it falls short
- No rated wattage, so the running cost cannot be worked out
- The low-EMF claim carries no measurement in any unit, at any distance
- Preheat is named but no curve or duration is published
Who this is forA California king with a deep or pillow-top mattress, where the pocket has to stretch further than 15 inches.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want the running cost before you buy. Nothing at this size publishes a wattage, and this listing is no exception.
The only UL mark at this size
Beautyrest Cotton Blend Heated Mattress Pad, California King

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026
The one Cal King pad here certified to UL rather than ETL, with a 1-hour preheat, a 10-hour shut-off and a 5-year warranty on five heat settings.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Beautyrest publishes dimensions, pocket depth, both cord lengths, the preheat duration, the shut-off ceiling, a UL mark and a warranty term, and no rated draw. That is true of all six Beautyrest products we track.
- Size
- California king, 72" W x 84" L plus a 15" skirt, stated to fit up to 18" mattresses
- Heat settings
- 5 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 10 hours
- Controllers
- 2 (dual zone at queen and larger)
- Certification
- UL certified, stated on the listing
- Warranty
- 5 years
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Pocket depth
- 15" skirt, stated to fit up to 18"
- Preheat
- 1 hour, stated
- Cords
- 6 ft power, 12 ft controller
- Model
- BR55-0202
What it does well
- UL certified, where every other pad at this size names ETL
- The preheat is given a duration rather than a marketing word
- 5-year warranty, which Beautyrest states on all six products we track
- Cotton-blend quilted top rather than plain polyester
Where it falls short
- Five heat settings, the fewest at this size
- A 15-inch skirt claimed to fit an 18-inch mattress, which is a stretch on a deep bed
- The low-EMF claim has no measured figure behind it
- No rated wattage
Who this is forSomeone who wants the certification and the warranty in writing and does not need twelve steps of heat.
Skip it ifSkip it if your mattress is genuinely 18 inches or deeper. Two pads at this size publish a deeper pocket than this one.
The finest timer control
Serta Heated Mattress Pad, California King

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026
Ten heat settings and a shut-off you set in one-hour increments from 1 to 12, on the pad Serta also sells as a mattress protector. Still no warranty term.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Serta publishes dimensions, skirt depth, cord length, heat settings, the timer increment and an ETL mark, and no rated draw. No Serta product we track states one.
- Size
- California king, 72" W x 84" L plus a 15" skirt, stated to fit 18" mattresses
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, in 1-hour increments
- Controllers
- 2 (dual zone at queen and larger)
- Certification
- ETL certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Pocket depth
- 15" skirt, stated to fit 18"
- Timer increment
- 1 hour, from 1 to 12
- Cord
- 6 ft power cord
- Model
- ST55-0277
What it does well
- Sets the shut-off in one-hour increments across a 1-12 hour range, the finest timer control we track
- Sold as a mattress protector as well as a warmer
- ETL certified and independently tested, per the listing
- Machine washable with the controller removed
Where it falls short
- No warranty term, which is true of both Serta mattress pads
- A 15-inch skirt claimed to fit an 18-inch mattress
- No rated wattage and no temperature range
- Ten settings against twelve on the Valthie
Who this is forSomeone who wants the bed warm at a set hour and off at a set hour, without doing arithmetic on preset steps.
Skip it ifSkip it if a stated warranty is what makes you comfortable. Serta publishes five years on its queen blanket and nothing at all on its pads.
A 17-inch pocket and a wire-free feel
Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, California King

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026
Ten settings, a 1-12 hour programmable shut-off, ETL and FCC, and a 17-inch pocket. Also the listing that calls itself energy-efficient without publishing a wattage.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published, and the listing still describes the pad as energy-efficient and as consuming less electricity than heating a room. Neither claim is checkable without a rated draw.
- Size
- California king, 72" x 84", 17" deep pockets
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, programmable
- Controllers
- 2 (dual controller)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC, stated on the listing
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Pocket depth
- 17"
- Fabric
- 100% polyester, described as a wire-free feel
- Washing
- Machine wash at or below 30 C, no dry clean, bleach or iron
- Model
- SLM-HM72-OG
What it does well
- 17-inch pocket, deeper than the two 15-inch skirts here
- ETL and FCC both named
- Programmable 1-12 hour shut-off on ten settings
- Publishes an actual wash temperature rather than just the word washable
Where it falls short
- Calls itself energy-efficient while publishing no wattage to check it against
- The listing also makes circulation and pain-relief claims, which we do not endorse and cannot verify
- No warranty term stated
- No temperature range, which Sealy does publish on two of its other products
Who this is forA deep Cal King mattress where 15 inches of skirt would not hold, from a brand already on the site.
Skip it ifSkip it if marketing claims bother you. This is the only pad here that advertises efficiency it publishes no number for.
A stated warranty at the low end
Bwarm Heated Mattress Pad, California King

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026
Nine heat settings per side, an 18-inch all-round pocket and a 5-year guarantee, from the least familiar name at this size.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Bwarm publishes dimensions, pocket depth, the timer steps and a 5-year guarantee, and no rated draw.
- Size
- California king, 72" W x 84" L, 18" deep
- Heat settings
- 9 levels per controller
- Auto shut-off
- 10 steps: 1-9 hours plus a 12-hour setting
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- Not named on the listing
- Warranty
- 5-year guarantee, stated by the maker
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Pocket depth
- 18", 360-degree elastic
- Fabric
- 100% polyester, knitted
- Model
- TT-84X72-1X-048
What it does well
- 18-inch all-round elastic pocket, matching the deepest here
- Ten timer steps, 1 to 9 hours plus a 12-hour setting
- 5-year guarantee stated, which two better-known pads at this size do not give
- Dual controllers as standard at this size
Where it falls short
- No certification mark named anywhere on the listing
- The ultra-low EMF claim carries no measurement
- No rated wattage
- The least familiar brand at this size, with no published model history
Who this is forSomeone comparing on the published specification alone rather than on the name on the label.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want a certification mark you can read. Four other pads at this size name ETL or UL and this one names neither.
How we ranked these
- Footprint first, because this is the size where the wrong box is a return. Every pad here must state 72 by 84 inches, and every one of them does.
- Then pocket depth, which is the second measurement and the one that actually varies: 15, 17 and 18 inches across five products.
- Then the certification mark, named rather than assumed.
- Then controls: heat settings, timer range and how finely the shut-off can be set.
- Not ranked on wattage, because not one pad at this size publishes a rated draw.
- Not assessed: comfort, loft or durability. We have not slept on any of these.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
A king pad does not fit a California king, and the makers say so themselves
This is the whole reason the page exists. A California king is not a bigger king; it is a narrower, longer one. You do not have to take our word for the difference, because two of the brands here publish both sizes and the numbers are on their own listings.
| Brand | King | California king | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Serta | 78" W x 80" L | 72" W x 84" L | 6 inches narrower, 4 longer |
| Valthie | 78" x 80" | 72" x 84" | 6 inches narrower, 4 longer |
Quoted from each product's own Amazon listing, read through the Creators API on 2026-09-26. Both brands sell both sizes, so the comparison is within a single product line rather than across brands.
On a blanket that margin would not matter much — a blanket drapes, and a few inches of overhang is a preference. A heated mattress pad is a fitted product with an elastic skirt that has to grip a specific rectangle. Six inches of excess width on a pad that is also four inches short does not settle into place; it rides, bunches and pulls off the corners, and a bunched pad concentrates the heating element. So the ordinary advice on king heated mattress pads does not transfer to this bed, which is why this is a separate page rather than a paragraph.
Pocket depth is the second measurement, and it is the one that varies
Every pad here publishes the same 72 by 84 footprint. What separates them is how far down the sides they reach.
| Pad | Heat settings | Shut-off | Certification | Warranty | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Valthie | 18", for 8-21" mattresses | 12 | 1-12 h | ETL | 5 years |
| Beautyrest | 15" skirt, "fits up to 18\"" | 5 | 10 h, with a 1 h preheat | UL | 5 years |
| Serta | 15" skirt, "fits 18\"" | 10 | 1-12 h, 1-hour increments | ETL | Not stated |
| Sealy | 17" | 10 | 1-12 h, programmable | ETL and FCC | Not stated |
| Bwarm | 18", 360-degree elastic | 9 per side | 1-9 h plus a 12 h setting | Not named | 5 years |
| Rated wattage, all five | Not published |
Quoted from each listing's own feature bullets and manufacturer data, read through the Amazon Creators API on 2026-09-26.
Two of these listings are doing something worth naming. The Serta and the Beautyrest both state a 15-inch skirt and then claim the pad fits a mattress up to 18 inches thick. Those two numbers are in tension: a 15-inch skirt on an 18-inch mattress is relying on the elastic to make up three inches, which is exactly the situation that produces a pad creeping off a corner by February. It is not a false claim — elastic does stretch — but if your mattress is genuinely at the deep end, the 17-inch Sealy and the two 18-inch pads are making a smaller promise and are more likely to keep it.
Measure before you order, including any topper already on the bed, from the top surface to the underside. The same rule with the same reasoning is on how to choose a heated mattress pad.
Four ETL, one UL, one nothing at all
The Beautyrest is the only pad at this size that names UL. Serta and Valthie name ETL, Sealy names ETL and FCC, and the Bwarm listing names no mark at all.
To be clear about what that does and does not mean: ETL is not a lesser mark than UL. Both are US recognized testing laboratories and heated bedding sold here is tested to the same standard, UL 964, whichever lab does the testing. The meaningful line is not UL against ETL; it is named against not named, and four of these five are on the right side of it. What the marks actually certify is set out on what the certification marks mean.
Nobody publishes a wattage, and one listing calls itself energy efficient anyway
Across the 67 products in our registry, twelve publish a rated draw and all twelve are Bedsure, one Westinghouse blanket and one Sealy wearable. None of the five pads on this page is one of them, so there is no honest running cost for a heated Cal King bed and we will not estimate one. The whole ledger is on the watts, by model.
The Sealy listing goes a step further than silence. It describes the pad as energy-efficient and says it consumes less electricity than heating an entire room. The second half of that is almost certainly true — every heated blanket we have costed is a fraction of a space heater, which is worked out on electric blanket vs a space heater. The first half is a claim about this product that the same listing gives you no way to check, because there is no wattage anywhere on it. We are flagging it rather than repeating it.
Dual zones are standard at this size, and the cord lengths are not
All five ship two controllers. At 72 inches wide with two sleepers, that is the right default and nobody here departs from it, so it is not a discriminator. Serta and Valthie both state plainly that twin, twin XL and full get a single controller while queen and up get two, which is the same line every pad brand we track draws. The formats and the threshold are on dual control heated mattress pads.
What does differ, and what almost nobody checks before buying, is cord length. Valthie publishes a 6-foot power cord and a 12.8-foot controller cord; Beautyrest publishes 6 feet and 12 feet; Serta publishes a 6-foot power cord and stops there; Sealy and Bwarm publish neither. On a bed 84 inches long, the reach from the head of the mattress to the nearest outlet is a real measurement, and the answer to a cord that does not reach is not an extension cord — that is the one instruction every heated bedding manual we have read agrees on.
Where each pick is the wrong buy
- Valthie — the deepest pocket, the most settings and a stated warranty, and a low-EMF claim with no measurement behind it.
- Beautyrest — the only UL mark and a stated preheat duration, on five heat settings and a 15-inch skirt claiming an 18-inch mattress.
- Serta — the finest timer control we track, on a pad Serta states no warranty term for.
- Sealy — a 17-inch pocket and two named certifications, on the one listing here advertising efficiency it publishes no number for.
- Bwarm — an 18-inch pocket and five years in writing, and no certification mark named anywhere on the listing.
What about a California king electric blanket?
Different problem, and a much smaller one. A blanket is not fitted, so the width mismatch that rules out a king pad does not rule out a king blanket: the bed-size blankets we track state 90 by 100 inches, which covers a 72 by 84 mattress with room on every side. Cal-King-labeled blankets do exist and they change the drop rather than the fit. If you are shopping the blanket side rather than the pad side, start with king size electric blankets and read the stated dimensions rather than the size word on the box.
We have not slept on any of these pads, measured a surface temperature or timed a preheat. Everything above is quoted from what each maker publishes, which is the whole method and is set out on our methodology page.
Questions people actually ask
- Will a king heated mattress pad fit a California king?
- No. Two brands here sell both sizes and publish both sets of dimensions: their king pads are 78 by 80 inches and their California king pads are 72 by 84. A king pad is six inches too wide and four inches too short, and a mattress pad is a fitted product, so that margin does not settle out.
- What size is a California king heated mattress pad?
- Every pad we found states 72 inches wide by 84 inches long. What varies is the pocket: 15 inches on the Serta and Beautyrest, 17 on the Sealy, 18 on the Valthie and the Bwarm.
- How much electricity does a California king heated mattress pad use?
- None of the five publishes a rated wattage, so there is no honest figure and we will not estimate one. For scale, the only pads in our registry that do publish a draw are Bedsure's, at dual 100 W on the queen and king.
- Do California king heated mattress pads have dual controls?
- All five here do. Dual zones are standard from queen size up across every brand we track, and at California king we found no single-control option at all.
- Is UL better than ETL on a heated mattress pad?
- No. Both are recognized US testing laboratories and heated bedding is tested to the same standard, UL 964, whichever one does it. The difference that matters is whether the listing names a mark at all, and one of the five pads here names none.
Sources
- Valthie Heated Mattress Pad, California King - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (checked 2026-09-26)
- Beautyrest Cotton Blend Heated Mattress Pad, California King - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (checked 2026-09-26)
- Serta Heated Mattress Pad, California King - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (checked 2026-09-26)
- Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Cal King - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (checked 2026-09-26)
- Bwarm Electric Heated Mattress Pad, Cal King - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (checked 2026-09-26)
- Serta Heated Mattress Pad, King (78 x 80 in) - the size comparison in the first table, Amazon.com (checked 2026-09-26)
- Valthie Heated Mattress Pad, King (78 x 80 in) - the size comparison in the first table, Amazon.com (checked 2026-09-26)
Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.
Read next
- King size heated mattress padsFour king pads, one published wattage, and a five-year warranty worth noticing.
- Dual control heated mattress padsTwo zones under one sheet, and the size threshold where dual control starts.
- How to choose a heated mattress padFour specs in order, starting with the tape-measure question that returns pads.
- What the certification marks meanUL 964, why ETL is not a lesser mark, and who names no certification at all.
- The watts, by modelEvery sourced wattage we could find, cited, plus the 26 models that publish none.