Skip to content
Wool Watt

Heated mattress pads / Guide

How to choose a heated mattress pad

Four specifications decide this and the first one is a tape-measure question that returns more pads than anything else.

By Scooter M.Updated August 31, 2026Scooter M. reads the manuals, compiles the published specs, and shows the arithmetic.

We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

A folded stack of clean bed linens

Decide in this order: pocket depth (measure your mattress including any topper), dual zone or single (dual starts at queen), auto-off ceiling (9 hours or 12, and shorter is sometimes better), and waterproofing (barrier, water resistant, or none). Wattage breaks the tie, and only one brand publishes it.

1. Measure before you shop

This is the step people skip and it is the one that generates returns. Every pad here claims to fit up to 18 inches. Measure the mattress you actually have, from the top surface down to the underside, and include anything already on it.

A pad that is fractionally too small does not simply feel tight. The elastic works against the seams every time somebody moves, the pad creeps toward the middle of the bed, and you end up with the heating element bunched somewhere it was not designed to bunch. That is both a comfort problem and, per every manual in our set, the condition you are told to avoid.

2. Dual zone or single

Dual control starts at queen across every brand we checked. Serta and Valthie both state it explicitly; the others imply it. Below queen you get one controller and there is no option.

It matters more on a pad than on a blanket because the heat is directly underneath both of you and conducts sideways through the mattress core. Detail on dual control pads.

3. The auto-off ceiling, in both directions

Nine hours or twelve, and it is genuinely not obvious which is better.

  • Twelve hours suits a long winter night and a bed you want warm when the alarm goes. Bedsure, Sunbeam, Serta and Valthie all reach it.
  • Nine hours is Sealy's ceiling and it is a deliberate choice: the bed is warm when you get in and definitely off before the middle of the day, with no reliance on you remembering.
  • Hour-by-hour selection is the most flexible arrangement. Sunbeam and Serta both let you set the shut-off in single-hour increments up to twelve.

4. Waterproofing, if the household calls for it

Three different claims that are routinely confused: waterproof means a barrier layer, water resistant means the surface sheds a splash, and protector is a coverage claim. Only Bedsure's cotton-top pad names a barrier material. Full breakdown on waterproof heated mattress pads.

The tiebreaker: does it publish a wattage

One brand in six does. Bedsure publishes dual 100 W controllers on both its pads, which makes an eight-hour night about 29 cents with both zones on. Sunbeam, Sealy, Serta and Valthie publish nothing you could compute from.

We would not buy a worse-fitting pad for a published number. Fit comes first and it is not close. But between two pads that both fit, both zone correctly and both shut off when you want, the one that tells you what it draws is the better-documented product, and that is a reasonable thing to reward.

The picks, with the numbers

Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.

Heated blanket picks compared by published wattage and computed cost per night
#ProductBest forWattsPer nightPrice
1
Top pickBedsure Heated Mattress Pad, QueenDual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all.
The only pad with a published wattage200 W29 centsCheck price
2
Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen, Dual ControlTen settings with a 1-to-9-hour shut-off. The shorter ceiling is a feature if you would rather the bed switch itself off before morning.
A short auto-off ceilingNot publishedUncomputableCheck price
3
Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, QueenWater-resistant, dual-zone, twelve heat settings, a backlit night display and a 5-year warranty. Still no wattage.
12 settings and a 5-year warrantyNot publishedUncomputableCheck price

Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

1

The only pad with a published wattage

Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage

200 W

8 hours costs

29 cents

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

Dual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all.

Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 100W controllers. Both sides at full is 200W; one side alone is 100W. This is the only heated mattress pad in our checks with any published wattage.

200 W x 8 h = 1.60 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.29 per night

Size
Queen, fits up to 18" deep
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
12 time settings, up to 12 hours
Controllers
2 (dual control)
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
200 W (dual 100 W)
Voltage
120 V AC, 60 Hz
Pocket depth
Stretches to 18"
Preheat
Yes, with memory
Model
BS-HMQU-2

What it does well

  • The only heated mattress pad here with a published wattage
  • Dual control, so two sleepers get separate zones
  • All-round elastic to 18" keeps it from shifting
  • ETL and FCC certified

Where it falls short

  • No warranty term stated
  • No waterproof layer on this version
  • 200 W with both zones at full is the highest published draw on this site

Who this is forTwo sleepers who want the bed warm before they get into it, and want the running cost on the table.

Skip it ifSkip it if you need waterproofing. Bedsure's cotton-top version has a TPU layer; this one does not.

2

A short auto-off ceiling

Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen, Dual Control

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

Ten settings with a 1-to-9-hour shut-off. The shorter ceiling is a feature if you would rather the bed switch itself off before morning.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published, in line with every Sealy heated-bedding listing we checked across blankets, throws and pads.

Size
Queen
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
1-9 hours
Controllers
Dual control stated on the queen
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Top fabric
Polyester felt
Auto-off ceiling
9 hours
Model
KHM-QN

What it does well

  • 9-hour ceiling means it cannot run all day if you forget it
  • 10 temperature steps
  • ETL and FCC certified with upgraded heating wire
  • Straightforward controller

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Felt top is less pleasant against skin than quilted cotton
  • No warranty term stated

Who this is forSomeone who wants the bed pre-warmed and off again by morning.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want the pad running for a full 12-hour winter night. Nine hours is the hard ceiling.

3

12 settings and a 5-year warranty

Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

Water-resistant, dual-zone, twelve heat settings, a backlit night display and a 5-year warranty. Still no wattage.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published for this pad, consistent with every other Sunbeam heated-bedding listing we checked.

Size
Queen, 60" x 80", fits to 18" depth
Heat settings
12 levels
Auto shut-off
1-12 hours, selectable
Controllers
2 (dual zone)
Certification
Not stated on the listing
Warranty
Limited 5-year warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Water resistance
Water resistant, not stated as waterproof
Display
Backlit blue LED, readable at night
Model
MSU6SQS-T000-11A00

What it does well

  • 12 heat settings and independent control per side
  • 5-year limited warranty
  • Backlit display you can actually read at 3am
  • Built-in skirt stretches to 18 inches

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Water resistant, not waterproof, which is a real distinction with a child in the bed
  • No certification named in the listing copy

Who this is forSomeone buying on warranty and control granularity from a brand they already know.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want a genuinely waterproof pad, or if running cost is the deciding number.

Two things that are not worth comparing

Every pad here is ETL certified or states overheat protection, and every one is machine washable with the controllers detached. Neither distinguishes anything.

One universal instruction is worth repeating because it appears in capitals on several of these listings and is still routinely ignored: do not leave the controller covered while the pad is in use. It is the part that senses temperature. Under a duvet it cannot do its job.

And the question before all of them

Is a pad the right product at all? If the problem you are solving is getting into a cold bed, yes, and it is the better answer than a blanket. If the problem is staying warm on a sofa, a heated throw is the right product. If it is being cold in bed once you are already in it, a blanket sits above you and does that job more directly. The full comparison is on blanket versus pad.

Questions people actually ask

How do I know what size heated mattress pad to buy?
Match your mattress size, then check the depth. Measure from the top surface to the underside including any topper already fitted. Every pad here claims to fit up to 18 inches, and a pad that is too small creeps and bunches.
Should a heated mattress pad go over or under the fitted sheet?
Under the fitted sheet, directly on the mattress. That puts a cotton layer between you and the element, which is exactly why pads feel less wire-y than blankets.
Is a 9-hour or 12-hour auto shut-off better on a mattress pad?
Depends what you want. Twelve keeps the bed warm until morning. Nine, which is Sealy's ceiling, guarantees it is off without you having to remember. Neither is a defect.