Heated mattress pads / Roundup
The best heated mattress pads
Six pads compared on what their makers publish. One brand states a wattage. The other five publish everything except the number that lets you cost the thing.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

The Bedsure heated mattress pad is the pick because it is the only pad we found that publishes a wattage: dual 100 W controllers. That is about 29 cents for an eight-hour night with both zones on, or 15 cents with one. Every other pad here publishes nothing you can compute a cost from.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickBedsure Heated Mattress Pad, QueenDual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all. | The only pad with a published wattage | 200 W | 29 cents | Check price |
| 2 | Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, QueenWater-resistant, dual-zone, twelve heat settings, a backlit night display and a 5-year warranty. Still no wattage. | 12 settings and a 5-year warranty | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
| 3 | Serta Heated Mattress Pad, QueenMicrofiber top over bonded polyfill with a 15-inch skirt, sold explicitly as a protector as well as a warmer. | Doubling as a mattress protector | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
| 4 | Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen, Dual ControlTen settings with a 1-to-9-hour shut-off. The shorter ceiling is a feature if you would rather the bed switch itself off before morning. | A short auto-off ceiling | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
| 5 | Bedsure Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad, QueenA cotton top over a waterproof TPU layer, with the same dual-controller electronics as Bedsure's standard pad. | Kids, pets and spills | 200 W | 29 cents | Check price |
| 6 | Valthie Heated Mattress Pad, QueenTwelve heat steps, a 1-to-12-hour shut-off and dual controllers on the queen and up. No wattage published. | Twelve settings with a long cord | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
The only pad with a published wattage
Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, Queen
Dual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 100W controllers. Both sides at full is 200W; one side alone is 100W. This is the only heated mattress pad in our checks with any published wattage.
200 W x 8 h = 1.60 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.29 per night
- Size
- Queen, fits up to 18" deep
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 12 time settings, up to 12 hours
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 200 W (dual 100 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Pocket depth
- Stretches to 18"
- Preheat
- Yes, with memory
- Model
- BS-HMQU-2
What it does well
- The only heated mattress pad here with a published wattage
- Dual control, so two sleepers get separate zones
- All-round elastic to 18" keeps it from shifting
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- No warranty term stated
- No waterproof layer on this version
- 200 W with both zones at full is the highest published draw on this site
Who this is forTwo sleepers who want the bed warm before they get into it, and want the running cost on the table.
Skip it ifSkip it if you need waterproofing. Bedsure's cotton-top version has a TPU layer; this one does not.
12 settings and a 5-year warranty
Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, Queen
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Water-resistant, dual-zone, twelve heat settings, a backlit night display and a 5-year warranty. Still no wattage.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published for this pad, consistent with every other Sunbeam heated-bedding listing we checked.
- Size
- Queen, 60" x 80", fits to 18" depth
- Heat settings
- 12 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 2 (dual zone)
- Certification
- Not stated on the listing
- Warranty
- Limited 5-year warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Water resistance
- Water resistant, not stated as waterproof
- Display
- Backlit blue LED, readable at night
- Model
- MSU6SQS-T000-11A00
What it does well
- 12 heat settings and independent control per side
- 5-year limited warranty
- Backlit display you can actually read at 3am
- Built-in skirt stretches to 18 inches
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Water resistant, not waterproof, which is a real distinction with a child in the bed
- No certification named in the listing copy
Who this is forSomeone buying on warranty and control granularity from a brand they already know.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want a genuinely waterproof pad, or if running cost is the deciding number.
Doubling as a mattress protector
Serta Heated Mattress Pad, Queen
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Microfiber top over bonded polyfill with a 15-inch skirt, sold explicitly as a protector as well as a warmer.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published on the listing or in the technical details table.
- Size
- Queen, 60" x 80" plus 15" skirt, fits 18" mattresses
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, in 1-hour increments
- Controllers
- 2 (dual zone on queen and larger)
- Certification
- ETL certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Construction
- Microfiber top, bonded polyfill, non-woven base
- Skirt
- 15" with all-round elastic
- Model
- ST55-0275
What it does well
- Sold as a protector as well as a warmer, so it earns its place in summer
- Dual zone standard on queen and larger
- Timer settable in single-hour increments up to 12
- ETL certified and independently tested
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Polyfill adds loft you may not want on a soft mattress
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forA bed that needs protecting from spills as much as it needs warming.
Skip it ifSkip it if your mattress is already soft. The bonded polyfill adds a layer you will feel.
A short auto-off ceiling
Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen, Dual Control
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Ten settings with a 1-to-9-hour shut-off. The shorter ceiling is a feature if you would rather the bed switch itself off before morning.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published, in line with every Sealy heated-bedding listing we checked across blankets, throws and pads.
- Size
- Queen
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-9 hours
- Controllers
- Dual control stated on the queen
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Top fabric
- Polyester felt
- Auto-off ceiling
- 9 hours
- Model
- KHM-QN
What it does well
- 9-hour ceiling means it cannot run all day if you forget it
- 10 temperature steps
- ETL and FCC certified with upgraded heating wire
- Straightforward controller
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Felt top is less pleasant against skin than quilted cotton
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forSomeone who wants the bed pre-warmed and off again by morning.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want the pad running for a full 12-hour winter night. Nine hours is the hard ceiling.
Kids, pets and spills
Bedsure Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad, Queen
A cotton top over a waterproof TPU layer, with the same dual-controller electronics as Bedsure's standard pad.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 100W controllers, the same as its non-waterproof pad. Same model family (BS-HMQU-2), same electronics.
200 W x 8 h = 1.60 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.29 per night
- Size
- Queen, fits up to 18" deep
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 12 time settings
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 200 W (dual 100 W)
- Top fabric
- 100% cotton, quilted hourglass
- Waterproofing
- TPU layer
- Pocket depth
- Stretches to 18"
- Model
- BS-HMQU-2
What it does well
- Waterproof TPU layer under a cotton top
- Published wattage
- Dual control on the queen
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- Cotton over TPU sleeps warmer and less breathably than plain quilting
- No warranty term stated
- Waterproof layers add a crinkle you can sometimes hear
Who this is forA bed that has to survive a child, a dog, or a bedside glass of water.
Skip it ifSkip it if nothing is ever going to be spilled on the bed. The TPU layer is a real trade in breathability.
Twelve settings with a long cord
Valthie Heated Mattress Pad, Queen
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Twelve heat steps, a 1-to-12-hour shut-off and dual controllers on the queen and up. No wattage published.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published on the listing or in the technical details.
- Size
- Queen
- Heat settings
- 12 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours
- Controllers
- 2 on queen, king and California king; 1 on twin, twin XL and full
- Certification
- Overheating protection stated; no certification named
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 100% polyester, breathable
- Controller
- Upgraded, with long cord run
- Model
- DR-04
What it does well
- 12 heat settings
- Dual controllers from queen size up
- Overheating protection and a full 12-hour timer range
- Washable with the power cable detached
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- No named safety certification in the listing copy
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forSomeone who wants fine control on a pad and is comparing on features.
Skip it ifSkip it if a named certification matters to you. Overheat protection is claimed; a UL or ETL listing is not stated.
How we ranked these
- Published wattage first, as everywhere on this site. In this category exactly one brand qualifies.
- Dual-zone control second. A pad is a bed product and a bed is usually shared.
- Then pocket depth, auto-off ceiling and waterproofing, which are the three specs that decide whether the pad fits, switches off when you want, and survives the household it is in.
- Not ranked on comfort, loft or how it feels to sleep on. We have not slept on any of these.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
One brand in six
This is the thinnest disclosure of any category on the site. Sunbeam, Sealy, Serta and Valthie all publish detailed listings: heat settings, timer ranges, pocket depths, fabric compositions, cord lengths. None of them publishes a wattage. Bedsure publishes one, on both of its pads, and that is the whole of it.
The watts, by model
8 of the 29 products we track publish a wattage. Every figure below is quoted from the maker's own listing and linked to it. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| Model | Size | Rated W | kWh / night | Cost / night | Cost / month |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen | Queen, 84" x 90" | 100 | 0.80 | 15 cents | $4.40 |
| Bedsure Heated Throw with Preheat | 50" x 60" | 100 | 0.80 | 15 cents | $4.40 |
| Bedsure GentleSoft Heated Throw | 50" x 60" | 100 | 0.80 | 15 cents | $4.40 |
| Bedsure Heated Blanket, Full | Full, 72" x 84" | 130 | 1.04 | 19 cents | $5.72 |
| Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, Queen | Queen, fits up to 18" deep | 200 | 1.60 | 29 cents | $8.80 |
| Bedsure Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad, Queen | Queen, fits up to 18" deep | 200 | 1.60 | 29 cents | $8.80 |
| Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, Queen | Queen, 84" x 90" | 220 | 1.76 | 32 cents | $9.68 |
| Bedsure Electric Blanket, King, Dual Control | King, 90" x 100" | 220 | 1.76 | 32 cents | $9.68 |
Rate: US Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 (June 2026): 18.34 cents per kWh, average US residential. Retrieved 2026-08-31.
The 21 models that publish nothing
These are not obscure brands. Sunbeam, Sealy, Serta, Beautyrest and Biddeford between them cover most of the shelf, and not one of them states a wattage on the listing or in the technical details. We checked each one on 2026-08-31 and found nothing. We will not estimate a figure to fill the gap.
| Model | Brand | What they publish instead |
|---|---|---|
| Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, Queen | Sunbeam | 12 levels |
| Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual Control | Sealy | 10 levels |
| Biddeford Micro Plush Heated Blanket, Queen | Biddeford Blankets | 10 levels |
| Westinghouse Heated Blanket, King | Westinghouse | 10 levels |
| Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, Twin | Sunbeam | 12 levels |
| Sealy Electric Blanket, Twin | Sealy | 87-126 F across 10 settings |
| Westinghouse Heated Throw, Sherpa | Westinghouse | 6 levels |
| Sealy Heated Throw | Sealy | 95-113 F |
| Beautyrest Reversible Heated Throw | Beautyrest | 85-105 F, ambient-dependent |
| Westinghouse Heated Throw with Foot Pocket | Westinghouse | 6 levels |
| Homemate Heated Throw | Homemate | 86-122 F |
| Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, Queen | Sunbeam | 12 levels |
| Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen, Dual Control | Sealy | 10 levels |
| Serta Heated Mattress Pad, Queen | Serta | 10 levels |
| Valthie Heated Mattress Pad, Queen | Valthie | 12 levels |
| Sealy 12-Volt Heated Car Blanket | Sealy | 3 levels |
| Westinghouse 12-Volt Heated Car Blanket | Westinghouse | 3 levels |
| Camco Car & RV Heated Travel Blanket | Camco | Not stated on the listing |
| Stalwart 12V Heated Car Blanket | Stalwart | Not stated on the listing |
| Beautyrest Wearable Electric Poncho Wrap | Beautyrest | 3 levels |
| Cordless Battery Heated Shawl | Zireot | Multiple, count not stated |
- Wattage source: Westinghouse Heated Blanket Queen, 100W 60Hz — manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-08-31)
- Wattage source: Bedsure Heated Throw, 100W, 120V/60Hz — manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-08-31)
- Wattage source: Bedsure GentleSoft Throw, 100W, 120V/60Hz — manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-08-31)
- Wattage source: Bedsure Heated Blanket Full, 130W, 120V/60Hz — manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-08-31)
- Wattage source: Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad Queen, dual 100W controllers — manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-08-31)
- Wattage source: Bedsure Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad Queen, dual 100W controllers — manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-08-31)
- Wattage source: Bedsure GentleSoft Queen, dual 110W controllers, 120V/60Hz — manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-08-31)
- Wattage source: Bedsure King, dual 110W controllers, 120V/60Hz — manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-08-31)
What a pad costs against what a blanket costs
A fair comparison, because people choose between the two. The Bedsure pad publishes dual 100 W, so 200 W with both zones running. The Bedsure queen blanket publishes dual 110 W, so 220 W. The pad is very slightly cheaper to run at full and the difference is not the deciding factor.
| Run time | kWh | Cost | Working |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 hour | 0.20 | 4 cents | 200 x 1 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 4 hours (an evening) | 0.80 | 15 cents | 200 x 4 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 8 hours (a night) | 1.60 | 29 cents | 200 x 8 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 30 nights at 8 hours | 48.00 | $8.80 | 200 x 240 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| A 120-night winter at 8 hours | 192.00 | $35.21 | 200 x 960 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
Rate: US Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 (June 2026): 18.34 cents per kWh, average US residential. Retrieved 2026-08-31.
Rated wattage is the ceiling, not the average. A thermostatic blanket cycles its element on and off once the bed is warm, so an all-night bill usually lands below the rated-watt figure. We publish the rated number because it is the only one the maker stands behind, and we do not estimate a duty cycle for a blanket we have not measured.
What does differ is how you use it. A pad is commonly run hard for an hour before bed and then off or low overnight, because its job is to make the bed pleasant to get into. A blanket is more often run all night. Used that way the pad costs substantially less in practice, and the rated figures above overstate the gap in the pad's favor. We are not going to put a number on that difference, because it depends on a habit rather than a specification.
Pocket depth, the spec that returns products
Every pad here claims to fit an 18-inch mattress with all-round elastic. That is generous and covers most beds. It stops covering them the moment you add anything.
- Measure the mattress you actually have, including any topper already on it, from the top surface to the underside.
- A pad that will not stay put migrates, and a migrated pad heats the wrong part of the bed while the elastic works against the seams.
- Serta publishes a 15-inch skirt on top of the 60 by 80 pad area, which is the most explicit statement of fit in the group.
The auto-off ceiling is a feature, not a limit
Sealy stops at nine hours where everyone else runs to twelve, and it is usually read as the pad being worse. It is a design decision and for a lot of households it is the better one.
A pad that can run twelve hours can be left running into the morning after you get up. A nine-hour ceiling means the bed is warm when you get in and off before you would have forgotten about it. If you want a warm bed at seven in the morning, twelve is right. If you want the certainty that it has switched itself off, nine is right.
| Brand | Ceiling | Suits |
|---|---|---|
| Sealy | 9 hours | Warm bed at night, definitely off by morning |
| Bedsure | 12 hours | Long winter nights |
| Sunbeam | 12 hours, selectable by the hour | Fine control over the shut-off |
| Serta | 12 hours, 1-hour increments | Fine control over the shut-off |
| Valthie | 12 hours | Long winter nights |
From each maker's listing, checked 2026-08-31.
Waterproof, water resistant, and protector
Three different claims that get used interchangeably and should not be.
- Waterproof means a barrier layer. Bedsure's cotton-top pad has a TPU membrane. Liquid does not get through it.
- Water resistant is Sunbeam's word for its quilted pad and means the surface will handle a splash. It is not a barrier.
- Protector is Serta's positioning: microfiber over bonded polyfill, sold to keep spills and pet accidents off the mattress, which is a coverage claim rather than a materials one.
If there is a child or a dog in the bed, buy the barrier. The trade is real: a TPU layer sleeps warmer and less breathably than plain quilting, and some people can hear it. That trade is worth making once rather than replacing a mattress.
Questions people actually ask
- What is the best heated mattress pad?
- The Bedsure heated mattress pad, on the evidence available: it is the only pad we found that publishes a wattage (dual 100 W controllers), it is dual control on the queen, and it stretches to an 18-inch pocket depth.
- How much does a heated mattress pad cost to run?
- For the only pad with a published figure, Bedsure's dual 100 W: about 29 cents for an eight-hour night with both zones on, 15 cents with one, at $0.1834/kWh. No other pad in this category publishes a wattage.
- Are heated mattress pads better than electric blankets?
- They solve different halves of the problem. A pad warms the bed before you get in and disappears when the bed is made; a blanket warms you once you are in and can move to the sofa. Full comparison.
- Do heated mattress pads have dual controls?
- Usually on queen and larger. Serta and Valthie both state that queen, king and California king ship with two controllers while twin and full ship with one. Read the size line rather than assuming from the brand.
Sources
Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.
Read next
- Dual control heated mattress padsTwo zones under one sheet, and the size threshold where dual control starts.
- Waterproof heated mattress padsWaterproof, water resistant and protector are three claims. Only one is a barrier.
- Heated blanket vs heated mattress padOver you or under you, with both running costs and the case each one wins.
- Where a heated blanket can and cannot goHeat rises and trapped heat is the hazard. Every placement follows.
- Cost to runSourced watts, a cited US rate, and the arithmetic shown for every figure.