Skip to content
Wool Watt

Comparisons / Worth it

Are heated mattress pads worth it?

Three of the ten pads we track publish a wattage and all three are the same brand, which means there is exactly one honest cost figure to argue from. Here it is, and here is what it buys.

By Scooter M.Updated September 13, 2026Scooter M. reads the manuals, compiles the published specs, and shows the arithmetic.

We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

A neatly made bed with the covers turned back at one corner

Yes, on the arithmetic, if you run it as a preheat. The three Bedsure pads that publish a draw state dual 100 W, so about 29 cents for an eight-hour night with both zones on and about 15 cents with one. Against a space heater at roughly $2.20 for the same night, it is not close. The honest catch is that seven of the ten pads we track publish no wattage at all, so for those the question cannot be answered with a number.

The picks, with the numbers

Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.

Heated blanket picks compared by published wattage and computed cost per night
#ProductBest forWattsPer nightPrice
1
Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, Queen
Top pickBedsure Heated Mattress Pad, QueenDual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all.
The only pad with a published wattage200 W29 cents$79.99 - See it on Amazon
2
Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen, Dual Control
Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen, Dual ControlTen settings with a 1-to-9-hour shut-off. The shorter ceiling is a feature if you would rather the bed switch itself off before morning.
A short auto-off ceilingNot publishedUncomputable$89.99 - See it on Amazon
3
Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, Queen
Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, QueenWater-resistant, dual-zone, twelve heat settings, a backlit night display and a 5-year warranty. Still no wattage.
12 settings and a 5-year warrantyNot publishedUncomputable$101.27 - See it on Amazon
4
Serta Heated Mattress Pad, Queen
Serta Heated Mattress Pad, QueenMicrofiber top over bonded polyfill with a 15-inch skirt, sold explicitly as a protector as well as a warmer.
Doubling as a mattress protectorNot publishedUncomputable$98.99 - See it on Amazon

Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

1

The only pad with a published wattage

Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage

200 W

8 hours costs

29 cents

$79.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

Dual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all.

Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 100W controllers. Both sides at full is 200W; one side alone is 100W. This is the only heated mattress pad in our checks with any published wattage.

200 W x 8 h = 1.60 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.29 per night

Size
Queen, fits up to 18" deep
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
12 time settings, up to 12 hours
Controllers
2 (dual control)
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
200 W (dual 100 W)
Voltage
120 V AC, 60 Hz
Pocket depth
Stretches to 18"
Preheat
Yes, with memory
Model
BS-HMQU-2

What it does well

  • The only heated mattress pad here with a published wattage
  • Dual control, so two sleepers get separate zones
  • All-round elastic to 18" keeps it from shifting
  • ETL and FCC certified

Where it falls short

  • No warranty term stated
  • No waterproof layer on this version
  • 200 W with both zones at full is the highest published draw on this site

Who this is forTwo sleepers who want the bed warm before they get into it, and want the running cost on the table.

Skip it ifSkip it if you need waterproofing. Bedsure's cotton-top version has a TPU layer; this one does not.

2

A short auto-off ceiling

Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen, Dual Control

Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen, Dual Control

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$89.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

Ten settings with a 1-to-9-hour shut-off. The shorter ceiling is a feature if you would rather the bed switch itself off before morning.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published, in line with every Sealy heated-bedding listing we checked across blankets, throws and pads.

Size
Queen
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
1-9 hours
Controllers
Dual control stated on the queen
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Top fabric
Polyester felt
Auto-off ceiling
9 hours
Model
KHM-QN

What it does well

  • 9-hour ceiling means it cannot run all day if you forget it
  • 10 temperature steps
  • ETL and FCC certified with upgraded heating wire
  • Straightforward controller

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Felt top is less pleasant against skin than quilted cotton
  • No warranty term stated

Who this is forSomeone who wants the bed pre-warmed and off again by morning.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want the pad running for a full 12-hour winter night. Nine hours is the hard ceiling.

3

12 settings and a 5-year warranty

Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$101.27 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

Water-resistant, dual-zone, twelve heat settings, a backlit night display and a 5-year warranty. Still no wattage.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published for this pad, consistent with every other Sunbeam heated-bedding listing we checked.

Size
Queen, 60" x 80", fits to 18" depth
Heat settings
12 levels
Auto shut-off
1-12 hours, selectable
Controllers
2 (dual zone)
Certification
Not stated on the listing
Warranty
Limited 5-year warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Water resistance
Water resistant, not stated as waterproof
Display
Backlit blue LED, readable at night
Model
MSU6SQS-T000-11A00

What it does well

  • 12 heat settings and independent control per side
  • 5-year limited warranty
  • Backlit display you can actually read at 3am
  • Built-in skirt stretches to 18 inches

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Water resistant, not waterproof, which is a real distinction with a child in the bed
  • No certification named in the listing copy

Who this is forSomeone buying on warranty and control granularity from a brand they already know.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want a genuinely waterproof pad, or if running cost is the deciding number.

4

Doubling as a mattress protector

Serta Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Serta Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$98.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

Microfiber top over bonded polyfill with a 15-inch skirt, sold explicitly as a protector as well as a warmer.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published on the listing or in the technical details table.

Size
Queen, 60" x 80" plus 15" skirt, fits 18" mattresses
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
1-12 hours, in 1-hour increments
Controllers
2 (dual zone on queen and larger)
Certification
ETL certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Construction
Microfiber top, bonded polyfill, non-woven base
Skirt
15" with all-round elastic
Model
ST55-0275

What it does well

  • Sold as a protector as well as a warmer, so it earns its place in summer
  • Dual zone standard on queen and larger
  • Timer settable in single-hour increments up to 12
  • ETL certified and independently tested

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Polyfill adds loft you may not want on a soft mattress
  • No warranty term stated

Who this is forA bed that needs protecting from spills as much as it needs warming.

Skip it ifSkip it if your mattress is already soft. The bonded polyfill adds a layer you will feel.

How we ranked these

  • Published wattage first, because a worth-it question is a cost question and only one brand in this category gives you a number to work with.
  • Then dual-zone control, since a pad heats the surface you lie on and a shared bed makes that a two-person decision.
  • Then the auto-off ceiling and the waterproofing, which decide whether it fits the household rather than the mattress.
  • Not ranked on comfort, loft or how it feels to sleep on. We have not slept on any of these.

We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.

The cost side, worked out

Watts divided by a thousand, times hours, times your rate. The Bedsure pads, the only ones in our set that publish a rated figure, state dual 100 W controllers, which is 200 W with both zones running.

What 200 W costs: a dual-zone pad with both sides on
Cost of running 200 watts for various durations at $0.1834/kWh
Run timekWhCostWorking
1 hour0.204 cents200 x 1 / 1000 x 0.1834
4 hours (an evening)0.8015 cents200 x 4 / 1000 x 0.1834
8 hours (a night)1.6029 cents200 x 8 / 1000 x 0.1834
30 nights at 8 hours48.00$8.80200 x 240 / 1000 x 0.1834
A 120-night winter at 8 hours192.00$35.21200 x 960 / 1000 x 0.1834

Rate: US Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 (June 2026): 18.34 cents per kWh, average US residential. Retrieved 2026-08-31.

Rated wattage is the ceiling, not the average. A thermostatic blanket cycles its element on and off once the bed is warm, so an all-night bill usually lands below the rated-watt figure. We publish the rated number because it is the only one the maker stands behind, and we do not estimate a duty cycle for a blanket we have not measured.

With one zone running it is 100 W, about 15 cents. Across a 120-night winter that is roughly $35 at full and $18 on one side. For context, a 1,500 W portable space heater for the same eight hours is about $2.20 a night, which is more than a whole winter of the pad in eight or nine nights.

What a pad buys you that a blanket does not

  • It heats the bed rather than you. A pad goes under the fitted sheet and warms the mattress upward. If your complaint is getting into a cold bed, this is the format that solves it directly.
  • Nothing is bunched around a limb. The element is under a sheet, flat, held by elastic. That removes the folding failure mode that every manual warns about, and it puts a layer of cotton between the element and skin.
  • It is invisible when the bed is made, which sounds trivial and is the reason a lot of people who dislike the look of a heated blanket end up here.
  • Claws and teeth cannot reach it. If there is an animal on the bed, this is the format that survives it. See heated blankets, cats and dogs.

The four cases where the answer is no

  1. 1You want to move it. A pad lives on one mattress. If you want warmth on the sofa in the evening and in bed at night, buy a heated throw instead — it costs less and goes where you go.
  2. 2You have a memory foam mattress and were planning to put the pad under a topper. Heat rises and foam insulates, so a pad buried under a topper heats the underside of the topper. It goes on top of the mattress, under the fitted sheet, and that is the only placement that works. See heated bedding on memory foam.
  3. 3Your mattress is deeper than the pad's pocket. Every pad we track claims to fit up to 18 inches. Measure the whole stack including any topper before ordering; a pad that is fractionally too small creeps and bunches every time somebody moves.
  4. 4You need to know the running cost and will not buy blind. Seven of the ten pads publish nothing you could compute one from. That is a legitimate reason to buy one of the three that do, or to buy a blanket instead.

Pad or blanket, on the numbers

The two formats, on what is actually published
The two formats, on what is actually published
Heated mattress padHeated blanket
Published wattage (best case)Dual 100 W = 200 W100 W single, 220 W dual
Cost, 8 hours, best caseAbout 15 cents on one zoneAbout 15 cents at 100 W
Where the heat startsUnder you, risingOver you, trapped
Can it be bunched or folded in use?No, it is under a fitted sheetYes, and that is the main hazard
Portable to a sofa?NoYes
Invisible when the bed is made?YesNo
How many publish a wattage3 of the 10 pads we track4 of the 12 bed blankets we track

At $0.1834/kWh (EIA, average US residential, June 2026). Figures are rated draws quoted from each maker's listing, not measurements.

The formats cost about the same to run at their best-documented settings, which means cost is not the deciding factor between them. Placement is. The full head-to-head is on heated blanket vs heated mattress pad.

Where each pick is the wrong buy

  • Bedsure pad — one of only three you can cost, at dual 100 W, and Bedsure publishes no warranty term on it.
  • Sealy pad — a deliberate 9-hour ceiling rather than 12, which is right for some households and wrong if you want a warm bed in the morning. No wattage published.
  • Sunbeam quilted pad — a backlit display and a 5-year warranty, described as water resistant rather than waterproof. That is a different claim and it matters if anything is likely to be spilled.
  • Serta pad — the finest timer control here in one-hour increments, with no wattage and no warranty term stated.

If waterproofing is the deciding factor rather than cost, the distinction between a barrier layer and a splash-resistant surface is worked through on waterproof heated mattress pads.

Questions people actually ask

Are heated mattress pads worth the money?
On running cost, comfortably. The one pad in our set that publishes a wattage states dual 100 W, which is about 29 cents for an eight-hour night with both zones on and about 15 cents with one. The catch is that seven of the ten pads we track publish no wattage, so for those no honest cost figure exists.
Do heated mattress pads use a lot of electricity?
No, on the one published figure available. Dual 100 W controllers is 200 W at full, which is roughly one seventh of a 1,500 W portable space heater and about the same as a dual-control heated blanket with both sides running.
Is a heated mattress pad better than an electric blanket?
Neither is better; they solve different problems. A pad warms the mattress upward and is the right answer for a cold bed you have to get into. A blanket sits over you and can move to the sofa. They cost about the same to run at their best-documented settings.
How much does it cost to run a heated mattress pad per night?
About 29 cents for eight hours at 200 W, or about 15 cents on a single 100 W zone, at $0.1834/kWh. That is for the one pad whose maker publishes a rated draw; for the others there is no honest figure.
Can you put a heated mattress pad under a memory foam topper?
No. Heat rises and foam insulates, so a pad under a topper heats the underside of the topper rather than you. It goes on top of the mattress and under the fitted sheet.

Sources

Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.