Flagship roundup
The best heated blankets
Nine picks across bed blankets, throws and mattress pads, ranked on the wattage each manufacturer actually publishes. Eight of the products we track do. Twenty-one do not.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

The Bedsure GentleSoft queen is our overall pick: it is the only queen here that is both dual control and publishes a wattage. For one sleeper, the Westinghouse queen publishes 100 W, the lowest figure any bed blanket here stands behind, at about 15 cents a night.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickBedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, QueenThe only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers. | Two sleepers who argue about heat | 220 W | 32 cents | Check price |
| 2 | Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all. | The lowest published draw | 100 W | 15 cents | Check price |
| 3 | Bedsure Heated Throw with Preheat100 W published, a preheat cycle that steps itself down, and a 10-hour timer. The throw we would buy on the numbers. | The best-documented throw | 100 W | 15 cents | Check price |
| 4 | Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, QueenDual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all. | The only pad with a published wattage | 200 W | 29 cents | Check price |
| 5 | Bedsure Electric Blanket, King, Dual ControlThe only king-size blanket we found with a stated wattage. Dual 110 W controllers, 290 GSM flannel over sherpa. | A king that publishes its watts | 220 W | 32 cents | Check price |
| 6 | Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, QueenTwelve heat settings and a controller that dims itself at night. Sunbeam publishes no wattage for it, and that is the trade. | The finest heat control | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
| 7 | Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual ControlTen heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published. | The longest warranty on a dual control | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
| 8 | Biddeford Micro Plush Heated Blanket, QueenUltra-thin heating wires, two controllers on the queen, third-party safety approval and a 5-year warranty. No wattage anywhere. | A 5-year warranty and thin wires | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
| 9 | Beautyrest Reversible Heated ThrowThree heat settings and a stated 85-105 F range, which is deliberately mild. Five-year warranty and OEKO-TEX certification. | The gentlest heat and a 5-year warranty | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Two sleepers who argue about heat
Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, Queen
The only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure's listing states the blanket runs on 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 110W controllers. Two controllers at 110W each is 220W with both sides at full, or 110W if only one side is on, which is how most couples actually use it.
220 W x 8 h = 1.76 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.32 per night
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 8 hours (6 timer settings, 1-2-4-6-8-10h)
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 220 W (dual 110 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 240 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
- Model
- BS-400B-S
What it does well
- Publishes a wattage, which almost nothing else in the category does
- Two controllers, so one side of the bed can run cold
- ETL and FCC certified with an 8-hour default auto shut-off
- Preheat cycle steps itself down instead of holding full heat all night
Where it falls short
- 6 heat levels where Sunbeam and Sealy give 10 to 12
- No warranty term on the listing
- 220 W with both sides up is the highest published draw of any bed blanket here
Who this is forCouples with different thermostats, and anyone who wants to know what the thing actually draws before buying it.
Skip it ifSkip it if you sleep alone. You are paying for a second controller you will never plug in, and the single-control Westinghouse publishes a lower 100 W.
The lowest published draw
Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen
100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all.
Where the wattage comes fromWestinghouse states it directly in the first listing bullet: "a 100W, 60Hz heating blanket". This is a single-controller queen, so 100 W is the whole blanket rather than one side of it.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- Double-layer 200 GSM flannel
- Memory
- Yes, holds your last heat level
- Model
- KTHB-QAVV-Q
What it does well
- 100 W published, the lowest figure any queen here stands behind
- 10 heat levels and a timer selectable to any hour up to 12
- Memory function, so you are not resetting it every night
- Machine washable on cold, gentle
Where it falls short
- One controller only, so the whole bed runs at one temperature
- No warranty term on the listing
- Westinghouse's other queen listings do not publish a wattage, so the figure is model-specific
Who this is forA solo sleeper, or a couple who genuinely agree on temperature and want the lowest running cost on the page.
Skip it ifSkip it if you share a bed with someone who runs hot. There is one controller and no way to split the blanket.
The best-documented throw
Bedsure Heated Throw with Preheat
100 W published, a preheat cycle that steps itself down, and a 10-hour timer. The throw we would buy on the numbers.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states "a power rating of 100W" at 120V AC, 60Hz. Same figure as the brand's queen-size single controller, on a blanket a quarter the area, which is why a throw heats faster.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Up to 10 hours (1-2-4-6-8-10h)
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Warranty card included in packaging; term not stated online
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 220 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
- Model
- BS-100T
What it does well
- Published wattage, so an hour on the sofa has a computable price
- Preheat steps down automatically rather than holding peak
- Warm without power thanks to the sherpa backing
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- 6 heat levels
- Warranty term is only in the box, not on the listing
- 50" x 60" is a one-person throw
Who this is forAnyone who wants a sofa throw and wants to know what an evening under it costs.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want to cover two people. At 50 by 60 inches it is a personal throw, not a shared one.
The only pad with a published wattage
Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, Queen
Dual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 100W controllers. Both sides at full is 200W; one side alone is 100W. This is the only heated mattress pad in our checks with any published wattage.
200 W x 8 h = 1.60 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.29 per night
- Size
- Queen, fits up to 18" deep
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 12 time settings, up to 12 hours
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 200 W (dual 100 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Pocket depth
- Stretches to 18"
- Preheat
- Yes, with memory
- Model
- BS-HMQU-2
What it does well
- The only heated mattress pad here with a published wattage
- Dual control, so two sleepers get separate zones
- All-round elastic to 18" keeps it from shifting
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- No warranty term stated
- No waterproof layer on this version
- 200 W with both zones at full is the highest published draw on this site
Who this is forTwo sleepers who want the bed warm before they get into it, and want the running cost on the table.
Skip it ifSkip it if you need waterproofing. Bedsure's cotton-top version has a TPU layer; this one does not.
A king that publishes its watts
Bedsure Electric Blanket, King, Dual Control
The only king-size blanket we found with a stated wattage. Dual 110 W controllers, 290 GSM flannel over sherpa.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 110W controllers. Both sides at full is 220W; one side alone is 110W. Notably that is the same figure Bedsure prints for its queen, so the king is bigger but the controllers are rated the same.
220 W x 8 h = 1.76 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.32 per night
- Size
- King, 90" x 100"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 8 hours (6 timer settings)
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 220 W (dual 110 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 290 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes
- Model
- BS-500B-S
What it does well
- Publishes a wattage on a king, which nothing else here does
- 290 GSM flannel is the heaviest face fabric in this roundup
- Dual control as standard on the king
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- Only 6 heat levels
- No warranty term on the listing
- Same controller rating as the queen, spread over a bigger blanket
Who this is forA king-size bed with two people in it who want the running cost on the table before they buy.
Skip it ifSkip it if you need fine heat control. Six levels on a king is coarse next to Westinghouse's ten or Sunbeam's twelve.
The finest heat control
Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, Queen
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Twelve heat settings and a controller that dims itself at night. Sunbeam publishes no wattage for it, and that is the trade.
Where the wattage comes fromSunbeam publishes no wattage figure for this model: not in the listing bullets, not in the technical details table, not on the product page. We checked on 2026-08-31 and found nothing. We will not print an estimate in its place.
- Size
- Queen, 90" x 84"
- Heat settings
- 12 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 12 hours
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- Not stated on the listing
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 100% polyester Royal Ultra Fleece
- Controller
- Digital, dims after 10 seconds
- Model number
- 32810117
- Item weight
- 5.7 lb
What it does well
- 12 heat settings is the finest granularity of any blanket here
- The controller dims after 10 seconds, which matters on a nightstand
- Overheat protection plus a 12-hour auto shut-off
- Fleece is genuinely warm with the power off
Where it falls short
- No published wattage, so nobody can compute what it costs to run
- No certification named in the listing copy
- One controller on a queen, so the whole bed runs at one setting
Who this is forSomeone who wants fine temperature control from a name they recognize and does not need a running-cost figure.
Skip it ifSkip it if running cost is the deciding factor. Without a published wattage you cannot compute one, and we will not guess it for you.
The longest warranty on a dual control
Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual Control
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Ten heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published.
Where the wattage comes fromSealy publishes no wattage for this model. Every Sealy listing we checked in this category, across blankets, throws and mattress pads, states certifications and cord lengths but never a watt figure.
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- 5-year warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 200 GSM double-layer flannel
- Total cord length
- 19 ft (power cord plus controller cord)
- Memory
- Yes, recalls last level and timer
- Model
- KTHB-QATVV-Q
What it does well
- 5-year warranty, the longest stated term of any bed blanket here
- Dual control with 10 levels each
- 19 ft of cord reaches an outlet that is not next to the bed
- ETL and FCC certified with overheat protection
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Flannel on both sides, so no sherpa face if you want the plusher side
- Wash rules are strict: slow agitation, low spin, no dry clean, no bleach
Who this is forCouples who want a long warranty and enough cord to reach a real outlet, and who are not deciding on running cost.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want to know the running cost before you buy. Sealy publishes nothing you could compute one from.
A 5-year warranty and thin wires
Biddeford Micro Plush Heated Blanket, Queen
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Ultra-thin heating wires, two controllers on the queen, third-party safety approval and a 5-year warranty. No wattage anywhere.
Where the wattage comes fromBiddeford publishes no wattage on the listing or in the technical details. Its own instructions state only that the blanket must be plugged directly into a 120V wall outlet, never an extension cord or power strip.
- Size
- Queen
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Yes, timer built into the digital controller
- Controllers
- 2 on queen and king; 1 on twin and full
- Certification
- Third-party tested and approved (UL or ETL Intertek)
- Warranty
- 5-year limited manufacturer's warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 100% polyester micro plush
- Heating wire
- Ultra-thin, for a flatter feel
- Model number
- 2033-905191-700
- Power rule
- Wall outlet only, no extension cord, no power strip
What it does well
- 5-year limited manufacturer warranty
- Ultra-thin wires you are less likely to feel through a sheet
- Third-party safety approval named explicitly in the listing
- Machine washable and dryer safe with the controllers removed
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- No specific auto-shutoff duration stated, only that a timer exists
- The no-extension-cord rule is strict and rules out some bedroom layouts
Who this is forSomeone buying on warranty and wire comfort rather than on a running-cost figure.
Skip it ifSkip it if your only outlet is across the room. Biddeford explicitly prohibits extension cords and power strips with this blanket.
The gentlest heat and a 5-year warranty
Beautyrest Reversible Heated Throw
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Three heat settings and a stated 85-105 F range, which is deliberately mild. Five-year warranty and OEKO-TEX certification.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Beautyrest publishes a temperature range (85-105 F, depending on ambient temperature) and a count of safety tests, but no watt figure.
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 3 levels, 85-105 F
- Auto shut-off
- Stated on the listing
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- OEKO-TEX certified; 78 independent safety tests stated by the brand
- Warranty
- 5-year warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Temperature range
- 85-105 F, ambient-dependent
- Fabric
- 200 GSM plush / 220 GSM sherpa
- Model
- BR54-4848
What it does well
- 5-year warranty
- Publishes its temperature range honestly, including the ambient caveat
- OEKO-TEX certified for the textile itself
- Warm without power thanks to the weight of the fabric
Where it falls short
- Three heat settings only
- 105 F at the top is the mildest here
- No published wattage
Who this is forSomeone who finds most heated throws too hot, or is buying for a household where a gentler maximum is the point.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want serious heat. Three settings topping out at 105 F is a warm lap, not a hot one.
How we ranked these
Every other roundup of heated blankets ranks on softness, warmth and how fast the thing heats. Those are real qualities and we cannot assess any of them, because we have not handled these products. Publishing a ranking built on adjectives we cannot substantiate would be easy and worthless.
So we rank on what is checkable from your chair: what the manufacturer is willing to state in writing. On this shelf that turns out to be unusually discriminating, because most of them state remarkably little.
- Published wattage first. A blanket whose maker states its rated draw can be costed; one that does not, cannot.
- Controllers second. On a shared bed, one controller or two decides more about whether the blanket gets used than any number of heat settings.
- Then the checkable specifics: heat steps, auto-shutoff ceiling, named certification, stated warranty term, cord length and fabric weight.
- Not ranked on softness, warmth, or how fast it heats. We have not handled these and will not pretend to opinions we cannot support.
The wattage problem
Of the 29 heated bedding products we track, eight publish a rated wattage and seven of those eight are the same brand. Sunbeam, Sealy, Serta, Beautyrest and Biddeford between them cover most of the shelf and not one of them states a figure on the listing or in the technical details.
The watts, by model
8 of the 29 products we track publish a wattage. Every figure below is quoted from the maker's own listing and linked to it. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| Model | Size | Rated W | kWh / night | Cost / night | Cost / month |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen | Queen, 84" x 90" | 100 | 0.80 | 15 cents | $4.40 |
| Bedsure Heated Throw with Preheat | 50" x 60" | 100 | 0.80 | 15 cents | $4.40 |
| Bedsure GentleSoft Heated Throw | 50" x 60" | 100 | 0.80 | 15 cents | $4.40 |
| Bedsure Heated Blanket, Full | Full, 72" x 84" | 130 | 1.04 | 19 cents | $5.72 |
| Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, Queen | Queen, fits up to 18" deep | 200 | 1.60 | 29 cents | $8.80 |
| Bedsure Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad, Queen | Queen, fits up to 18" deep | 200 | 1.60 | 29 cents | $8.80 |
| Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, Queen | Queen, 84" x 90" | 220 | 1.76 | 32 cents | $9.68 |
| Bedsure Electric Blanket, King, Dual Control | King, 90" x 100" | 220 | 1.76 | 32 cents | $9.68 |
Rate: US Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 (June 2026): 18.34 cents per kWh, average US residential. Retrieved 2026-08-31.
The 21 models that publish nothing
These are not obscure brands. Sunbeam, Sealy, Serta, Beautyrest and Biddeford between them cover most of the shelf, and not one of them states a wattage on the listing or in the technical details. We checked each one on 2026-08-31 and found nothing. We will not estimate a figure to fill the gap.
| Model | Brand | What they publish instead |
|---|---|---|
| Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, Queen | Sunbeam | 12 levels |
| Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual Control | Sealy | 10 levels |
| Biddeford Micro Plush Heated Blanket, Queen | Biddeford Blankets | 10 levels |
| Westinghouse Heated Blanket, King | Westinghouse | 10 levels |
| Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, Twin | Sunbeam | 12 levels |
| Sealy Electric Blanket, Twin | Sealy | 87-126 F across 10 settings |
| Westinghouse Heated Throw, Sherpa | Westinghouse | 6 levels |
| Sealy Heated Throw | Sealy | 95-113 F |
| Beautyrest Reversible Heated Throw | Beautyrest | 85-105 F, ambient-dependent |
| Westinghouse Heated Throw with Foot Pocket | Westinghouse | 6 levels |
| Homemate Heated Throw | Homemate | 86-122 F |
| Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, Queen | Sunbeam | 12 levels |
| Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen, Dual Control | Sealy | 10 levels |
| Serta Heated Mattress Pad, Queen | Serta | 10 levels |
| Valthie Heated Mattress Pad, Queen | Valthie | 12 levels |
| Sealy 12-Volt Heated Car Blanket | Sealy | 3 levels |
| Westinghouse 12-Volt Heated Car Blanket | Westinghouse | 3 levels |
| Camco Car & RV Heated Travel Blanket | Camco | Not stated on the listing |
| Stalwart 12V Heated Car Blanket | Stalwart | Not stated on the listing |
| Beautyrest Wearable Electric Poncho Wrap | Beautyrest | 3 levels |
| Cordless Battery Heated Shawl | Zireot | Multiple, count not stated |
- Wattage source: Westinghouse Heated Blanket Queen, 100W 60Hz — manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-08-31)
- Wattage source: Bedsure Heated Throw, 100W, 120V/60Hz — manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-08-31)
- Wattage source: Bedsure GentleSoft Throw, 100W, 120V/60Hz — manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-08-31)
- Wattage source: Bedsure Heated Blanket Full, 130W, 120V/60Hz — manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-08-31)
- Wattage source: Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad Queen, dual 100W controllers — manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-08-31)
- Wattage source: Bedsure Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad Queen, dual 100W controllers — manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-08-31)
- Wattage source: Bedsure GentleSoft Queen, dual 110W controllers, 120V/60Hz — manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-08-31)
- Wattage source: Bedsure King, dual 110W controllers, 120V/60Hz — manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-08-31)
What a night actually costs
For the models that publish, the arithmetic is one line: watts divided by a thousand, times hours, times your rate per kilowatt-hour. At $0.1834/kWh, the US average residential rate:
| Run time | kWh | Cost | Working |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 hour | 0.10 | 2 cents | 100 x 1 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 4 hours (an evening) | 0.40 | 7 cents | 100 x 4 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 8 hours (a night) | 0.80 | 15 cents | 100 x 8 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 30 nights at 8 hours | 24.00 | $4.40 | 100 x 240 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| A 120-night winter at 8 hours | 96.00 | $17.61 | 100 x 960 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
Rate: US Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 (June 2026): 18.34 cents per kWh, average US residential. Retrieved 2026-08-31.
Rated wattage is the ceiling, not the average. A thermostatic blanket cycles its element on and off once the bed is warm, so an all-night bill usually lands below the rated-watt figure. We publish the rated number because it is the only one the maker stands behind, and we do not estimate a duty cycle for a blanket we have not measured.
A 220 W dual-control queen with both sides running is roughly double that. The breakdown by duration and by model is on cost per night, and the monthly and seasonal versions are on cost per month.
What we would not buy
Nobody in this category ever declines to recommend something, which is what makes universal praise worth ignoring. Here is what we would leave on the shelf.
Any blanket over about ten years old
A replacement trigger rather than a product we are declining. Element insulation degrades from flexing and the failure is invisible until it matters.
Single-controller queens and kings on a shared bed
Good blankets, wrong purchase for two people who disagree about temperature. There is one controller and no workaround.
Anything advertising low EMF without a number
Four products in our set make the claim and none publishes a measurement, a unit or a test reference. That is marketing, not a specification.
A throw bought as a bed blanket
At 50 by 60 inches a throw covers one seated adult. This single sizing misunderstanding causes most of the disappointment in the category.
What the forums get right, and wrong
People searching for heated blanket recommendations often end up on community threads, and it is worth saying what those get right. The recurring advice there is sound: buy dual control if you share a bed, replace old blankets on age rather than on performance, and do not tuck the thing in tightly. All three match what the manufacturers' own instructions say.
What community threads cannot give you is a sourced number. Anecdote is good at durability and comfort, which are exactly the things we cannot assess, and poor at wattage and running cost, which are exactly the things we can. The two are complements rather than substitutes, and if you have read a thread before landing here, the useful thing this page adds is the ledger.
Questions people actually ask
- What is the best heated blanket?
- For a shared bed, the Bedsure GentleSoft queen: it is the only queen here that is both dual control and publishes a wattage. For one sleeper, the Westinghouse queen at 100 W is the lowest published draw of any bed blanket we track.
- How much does a heated blanket cost to run?
- Between about 15 and 32 cents for an eight-hour night, depending on the model, at the US average residential rate of $0.1834 per kWh. Full arithmetic on what it costs to run.
- Which heated blanket brands publish their wattage?
- Bedsure publishes one on every product in its range, and one Westinghouse listing states 100 W. Sunbeam, Sealy, Serta, Beautyrest and Biddeford publish nothing. That is 8 of the 29 products we track.
- Do you test the blankets you recommend?
- No, and we say so on every page. We have tested zero units. What we do instead is compile published manufacturer specifications, cite each one, and show the cost arithmetic so you can check it. The full method is on our methodology page.
- Should I buy a blanket, a throw or a mattress pad?
- A pad if the problem is getting into a cold bed, a blanket if it is staying warm once you are in, and a throw if it is one person on a sofa. We compare them directly on blanket vs mattress pad.
Sources
- US EIA, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3: Average Price of Electricity to Ultimate Customers, June 2026 (18.34 cents/kWh, US residential)
- UL Solutions - product safety standards and certification marks
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission - recalls and product safety
Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.
Read next
- The watts, by modelEvery sourced wattage we could find, cited, plus the 21 models that publish none.
- What an electric blanket costs to runSourced watts, a cited US rate, and the arithmetic shown for every figure.
- Heated blanket vs heated mattress padOver you or under you, with both running costs and the case each one wins.
- Are electric blankets safe?Fire risk, auto shut-off, EMF and who should avoid one, sourced to standards.