Heated mattress pads / Review
Sealy heated mattress pad review
Two sizes, two different specification sheets from the same brand, and one deliberate design decision that most reviewers read as a weakness.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

Sealy's pads are built around a shorter auto-off than the category norm — the queen publishes 1 to 9 hours where most competitors run to twelve. The king publishes a 20-minute preheat, a quilted 3M Scotchgard water-repellent surface and a 5-year warranty. Neither size publishes a wattage, so neither can be costed, and the king's listing names no certification mark.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickSealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen, Dual ControlTen settings with a 1-to-9-hour shut-off. The shorter ceiling is a feature if you would rather the bed switch itself off before morning. | A short auto-off ceiling | Not published | Uncomputable | $89.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 2 | Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, King, Dual ControlPublishes two things almost nobody else does at this size: a stated preheat duration and a five-year warranty. Still no wattage. | A 20-minute preheat and a 5-year warranty | Not published | Uncomputable | $104.98 - See it on Amazon |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
A short auto-off ceiling
Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen, Dual Control

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Ten settings with a 1-to-9-hour shut-off. The shorter ceiling is a feature if you would rather the bed switch itself off before morning.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published, in line with every Sealy heated-bedding listing we checked across blankets, throws and pads.
- Size
- Queen
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-9 hours
- Controllers
- Dual control stated on the queen
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Top fabric
- Polyester felt
- Auto-off ceiling
- 9 hours
- Model
- KHM-QN
What it does well
- 9-hour ceiling means it cannot run all day if you forget it
- 10 temperature steps
- ETL and FCC certified with upgraded heating wire
- Straightforward controller
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Felt top is less pleasant against skin than quilted cotton
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forSomeone who wants the bed pre-warmed and off again by morning.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want the pad running for a full 12-hour winter night. Nine hours is the hard ceiling.
A 20-minute preheat and a 5-year warranty
Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, King, Dual Control

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Publishes two things almost nobody else does at this size: a stated preheat duration and a five-year warranty. Still no wattage.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published, in line with every Sealy heated-bedding listing we have checked across blankets, throws and pads. Sealy publishes cord lengths, warranty terms and temperature ranges, but never a power figure.
- Size
- King
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Stated on the controller
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- Not stated on this listing
- Warranty
- 5 year warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Preheat
- 20 minutes, stated
- Surface
- Quilted, 3M Scotchgard water-repellent treatment
- Model
- KTHM-QATMF-K
What it does well
- 5-year warranty, the longest stated term of any king pad here
- A published 20-minute preheat, which is a real number rather than a vague claim
- 3M Scotchgard water-repellent treatment named specifically
- Machine washable with the power cord unplugged from the controller
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Water repellent is not the same as a waterproof barrier
- No certification named on this particular listing
Who this is forA king bed where a long warranty and a fast, stated preheat matter more than a running-cost figure.
Skip it ifSkip it if you need a true waterproof barrier. Repellent treatment sheds a splash; it is not a membrane.
How we ranked these
- What Sealy publishes, size by size, because the queen and the king do not publish the same things.
- The auto-off ceiling, read as a design decision rather than a shortfall, because that is what it is.
- What is missing, named rather than glossed: no wattage on either size, and no certification named on the king.
- Not assessed: loft, comfort, or how either pad sleeps. We have not slept on one and we are not going to imply we did.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
The nine-hour ceiling is the product
Every competing pad we track runs to twelve hours. Sealy's queen stops at nine. Read as a spec-sheet comparison that is a loss, and almost every roundup treats it that way.
Read as a design decision it is the opposite. A pad that can run twelve hours can be left running into the morning after you have got up; a nine-hour ceiling means the bed is warm when you get in and definitely off before you would have forgotten about it. Which one you want is a fact about your household, not about the pad. If you want a warm bed at seven in the morning, buy the twelve. If you want the certainty that it has switched itself off, the nine is the better engineering.
| Brand | Ceiling | Suits |
|---|---|---|
| Sealy | 9 hours (queen) | Warm bed at night, definitely off by morning |
| Bedsure | 12 hours | Long winter nights |
| Sunbeam | 1-12 hours, selectable | Fine control over the shut-off |
| Serta | 1-12 hours, 1-hour increments | The finest control in the category |
| Valthie | 1-12 hours | Long winter nights |
From each maker's own listing, checked 2026-09-13.
The queen and the king are not the same product
This is the part that surprises people and it is worth laying out, because buying the king expecting the queen's specification sheet will not go well.
| Specification | Queen | King |
|---|---|---|
| Heat settings | 10 | 10 |
| Auto shut-off | 1-9 hours | Stated on the controller, duration not published |
| Controllers | Dual control stated on the queen | 2 (dual control) |
| Preheat | Not published | 20 minutes, stated |
| Surface | Polyester felt | Quilted, 3M Scotchgard water-repellent |
| Certification | ETL and FCC | Not stated on this listing |
| Warranty | Not stated | 5 years |
| Rated wattage | Not published | Not published |
| Model | KHM-QN | KTHM-QATMF-K |
Quoted from each size's own Amazon listing, checked 2026-09-13. The two listings are inconsistent with each other in both directions: the king publishes a warranty and a preheat the queen does not, and the queen names a certification the king does not.
That inconsistency is the most useful finding on this page. It is not that one size is better documented than the other — each publishes something the other withholds. If a specific specification is deciding your purchase, check the listing for the size you are actually buying rather than the brand.
Water-repellent is not waterproof
The king publishes a 3M Scotchgard water-repellent treatment on a quilted surface. That is a surface treatment, not a barrier layer, and the distinction is the most commonly misread thing in this category.
- Waterproof means a barrier. Bedsure's cotton-top pad publishes a TPU membrane; liquid does not pass it.
- Water repellent or water resistant means the surface will shed a splash. Sealy's Scotchgard treatment and Sunbeam's water-resistant quilting are both this.
- Neither is the default on everything else.
If there is a child or an animal in the bed, buy the barrier and accept the trade: a TPU layer sleeps warmer and less breathably, and some people can hear it. The full distinction is on waterproof heated mattress pads.
What Sealy does not publish, on either size
A wattage. Not on the queen, not on the king, and not on any Sealy product except one: its wearable with a foot pocket, which publishes 100 W. Seven of the eight Sealy products we track state nothing. There is no honest way to tell you what either pad costs to run, and we are not going to estimate one. The only pad brand that publishes a draw is Bedsure, at dual 100 W, and the arithmetic is on are heated mattress pads worth it.
A temperature range, which is notable because Sealy does publish one on two of its other products — 95 to 113 F on the throw and 87 to 126 F on the twin blanket. The pads state ten heat levels and no degrees.
Who should skip it
- Anyone who needs the running cost before buying. No wattage on either size. The Bedsure pad is the only one in the category you can cost.
- Anyone who wants the bed warm in the morning. The queen's nine-hour ceiling is a deliberate limit and it will end the session before a late riser wants it to.
- Anyone who needs a true waterproof barrier. Scotchgard sheds a splash; it is not a membrane.
- Anyone buying the king who assumed it carries the queen's ETL mark. The king's listing does not name one.
We have not slept on either of these pads, measured a surface temperature or timed the 20-minute preheat. Everything above is quoted from what Sealy publishes, which is the whole method and is set out on our methodology page.
Questions people actually ask
- Is the Sealy heated mattress pad any good?
- We cannot answer that on comfort, because we have not slept on one. What we can say is that the queen publishes a deliberately short 1 to 9 hour auto-off, the king publishes a 20-minute preheat and a 5-year warranty, and neither size publishes a wattage, so neither can be costed before you buy.
- How many watts does a Sealy heated mattress pad use?
- Sealy publishes no rated wattage on either pad size. Of the eight Sealy products we track, exactly one publishes a figure and it is a wearable, not a pad. No honest running-cost figure exists for these and we will not estimate one.
- Why does the Sealy pad only run for nine hours?
- It is a design decision rather than a shortfall. A nine-hour ceiling means the pad is definitely off before morning, where a twelve-hour ceiling can run on after you get up. Which you want depends on whether you value a warm bed at seven in the morning or the certainty that it switched itself off.
- Is the Sealy heated mattress pad waterproof?
- No. The king publishes a 3M Scotchgard water-repellent treatment, which is a surface treatment that sheds a splash rather than a barrier layer. If you need a true barrier, the pad to look at is the one that publishes a TPU membrane.
- Do the Sealy queen and king pads have the same specification?
- No, and the differences run both ways. The king publishes a 20-minute preheat, a Scotchgard surface and a 5-year warranty that the queen does not. The queen names ETL and FCC certification and a 1 to 9 hour shut-off that the king's listing does not. Check the listing for the size you are buying.
Sources
- Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (checked 2026-09-13)
- Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, King, Dual Control - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (checked 2026-09-13)
Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.
Read next
- The best heated mattress padsSix pads compared, and the single brand that tells you what its pad draws.
- Sealy heated blanketsTemperature ranges and five-year warranties, and never once a wattage.
- Waterproof heated mattress padsWaterproof, water resistant and protector are three claims. Only one is a barrier.
- Are heated mattress pads worth it?One published wattage, one honest cost figure, and the four cases where the answer is no.
- King size heated mattress padsFour king pads, one published wattage, and a five-year warranty worth noticing.