Heated throws / Roundup
The best wearable heated blankets
A wearable is a heated throw with sleeves, a foot pocket, or both. Six of them, ranked on what their makers put in writing rather than on how cozy the photos look.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

The Sealy wearable with a foot pocket is the pick because it is the only wearable heated blanket we could find that publishes a wattage: 100 W, about 15 cents for an eight-hour evening, plus a published 95-113 F range and both cord lengths. The Westinghouse foot-pocket wearable is the alternative if you need reach — it publishes a far longer cord. Every other wearable here publishes no draw at all.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickSealy Wearable Electric Blanket with Foot PocketThe one wearable in our set whose listing states a wattage, and it also publishes a temperature range and both cord lengths. Sealy's most disclosed product. | The only wearable that publishes its draw | 100 W | 15 cents | $84.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 2 | Westinghouse Wearable Heated Blanket with Foot PocketSame 50 by 70 plus foot pocket format as the Sealy, with a far longer published cord, memory heating and both fabric weights stated. No wattage. | The longest published cord run | Not published | Uncomputable | $89.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 3 | Beautyrest Wearable Electric Poncho WrapThe only product here whose low-EMF claim is tied to a named certification, and it is wearable, which is why it works at a desk. | The clearest low-EMF claim on the shelf | Not published | Uncomputable | $48.14 - See it on Amazon |
| 4 | Westinghouse Wearable Electric ThrowThe poncho format rather than the full wrap: 50 by 60, deep front pockets, no sleeves and no foot pocket. Same certification and timer as the bigger Westinghouse. | A wearable without the foot pocket | Not published | Uncomputable | $55.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 5 | Sealy Heated Throw Wearable Shawl WrapA shawl with buckles and side pockets rather than a sleeved wrap. The least expensive wearable we track and the least documented. | The cheapest way into the format | Not published | Uncomputable | $39.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 6 | Cordless Battery Heated ShawlBattery powered, carbon-film heating and, to its credit, a listing that says plainly it heats a zone rather than the whole blanket. | Warmth where there is no outlet | Not published | Uncomputable | $55.99 - See it on Amazon |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
The only wearable that publishes its draw
Sealy Wearable Electric Blanket with Foot Pocket

Rated wattage
100 W
8 hours costs
15 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
The one wearable in our set whose listing states a wattage, and it also publishes a temperature range and both cord lengths. Sealy's most disclosed product.
Where the wattage comes fromThe listing states the blanket is intended for a standard 120 V AC, 60 Hz wall outlet at 100 W. This is the only Sealy product we track that publishes a rated draw, and the only wearable in our set that publishes one at all.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- 50" x 70" plus an 18" foot pocket
- Heat settings
- 6 levels, 95-113 F
- Auto shut-off
- 2-10 hours, adjustable
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Temperature range
- 95-113 F across 6 settings
- Sleeves
- 25.5" long, 18" circumference
- Cords
- 6 ft power cord, 3 ft controller cord
- Fabric
- Flannel and sherpa
What it does well
- Publishes 100 W, the only wearable in our set that states a draw
- Publishes a delivered temperature range, 95 to 113 F
- Continuous sensing stated, to hold the set level
- Both cord lengths published, 6 ft plus 3 ft
- Adjustable 2-10 hour auto shut-off
Where it falls short
- No warranty term stated on the listing
- Nine feet of total cord is short for a room where the socket is behind furniture
- Six heat levels is coarse against the twelve some bed blankets offer
Who this is forSomeone who wants a wearable and refuses to buy a heated product whose running cost cannot be worked out.
Skip it ifSkip it if you need long reach. Nine feet of combined cord decides this before anything else does, and the Westinghouse foot-pocket wearable publishes a much longer run.
The longest published cord run
Westinghouse Wearable Heated Blanket with Foot Pocket

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Same 50 by 70 plus foot pocket format as the Sealy, with a far longer published cord, memory heating and both fabric weights stated. No wattage.
Where the wattage comes fromWestinghouse publishes no rated wattage on this listing. It states ETL and FCC certification, overheat protection and both fabric weights, but no draw.
- Size
- 50" x 70" plus an 18" foot pocket
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 2-10 hours
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 200 GSM sherpa lining, 200 GSM flannel face
- Sleeves
- 25.5" long, 18" circumference
- Cords
- 32" plus 72" extra-long power cord
- Memory
- Yes, retains the last heat setting
What it does well
- The longest published cord run of any wearable we track
- Both fabric weights published at 200 GSM each
- Memory heating, so it returns to your last setting
- Reverse wearing via a back opening, stated on the listing
- ETL and FCC certified with overheat protection stated
Where it falls short
- No published wattage, so it cannot be costed
- No warranty term stated
- The most expensive wearable in our set, without the disclosure to justify it
Who this is forSomeone who moves around the room while wearing it and needs the cord to follow them.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want to know the running cost. The Sealy foot-pocket wearable is the same format and publishes 100 W.
The clearest low-EMF claim on the shelf
Beautyrest Wearable Electric Poncho Wrap

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
The only product here whose low-EMF claim is tied to a named certification, and it is wearable, which is why it works at a desk.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. The EMF claim is unusually specific for this category, "100% UL certified and engineered to emit virtually no EMF radiation", but "virtually no" is still not a measured figure, and we say so on the [EMF page](/safety/emf-and-health).
- Size
- 50" x 64" poncho
- Heat settings
- 3 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 2 hours
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- UL certified and OEKO-TEX, per the listing
- Warranty
- 5-year manufacturer warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- EMF claim
- UL certified, "engineered to emit virtually no EMF radiation"
- Cords
- 6 ft power cord, 3 ft controller cord
- Model
- BR54-0898
What it does well
- Wearable, so it stays on your shoulders while you work
- 5-year warranty
- Both UL and OEKO-TEX named on the listing
- 2-hour auto shut-off suits desk use
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- The EMF claim is qualitative ("virtually no"), not a measurement
- Three heat settings
Who this is forWorking at a cold desk, or anyone who wants their hands free while staying warm.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want to sleep under it. A 2-hour auto-off and a poncho cut are built for sitting up, not lying down.
A wearable without the foot pocket
Westinghouse Wearable Electric Throw

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
The poncho format rather than the full wrap: 50 by 60, deep front pockets, no sleeves and no foot pocket. Same certification and timer as the bigger Westinghouse.
Where the wattage comes fromNo rated wattage on the listing. Westinghouse publishes the fabric weights and the certification and stops there.
- Size
- 50" x 60" poncho
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 2-10 hours
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 200 GSM sherpa inside, 200 GSM flannel face
- Pockets
- 7" x 9" deep front pockets
- Format
- Poncho, no sleeves and no foot pocket
What it does well
- The lightest wearable format here, at throw size rather than full wrap
- Deep front pockets published at 7 by 9 inches
- Both fabric weights published at 200 GSM each
- ETL and FCC certified with overheat protection stated
- Machine washable in cold water, tumble dry low
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- No sleeves, so your arms are covered only while the throw stays put
- No foot pocket, which is the feature most wearable buyers are actually after
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forSomeone at a desk who wants shoulders and hands covered and does not want a full wrap.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want your feet covered. This is the one wearable here without a foot pocket, and that is the whole reason most people buy the format.
The cheapest way into the format
Sealy Heated Throw Wearable Shawl Wrap

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
A shawl with buckles and side pockets rather than a sleeved wrap. The least expensive wearable we track and the least documented.
Where the wattage comes fromNo rated wattage on the listing. Notably this is a Sealy, and Sealy's own foot-pocket wearable does publish 100 W, so the omission here is a choice rather than a brand policy.
- Size
- 50" x 60" shawl
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 2-10 hours
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- Not named in the listing's feature bullets
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 200 GSM sherpa and flannel
- Fastening
- Buckles, stated to stop it slipping
- Pockets
- Two side pockets
What it does well
- Buckle fastening, the only wearable here that publishes a way of keeping it on
- Two side pockets
- 200 GSM sherpa and flannel published
- Same 6 levels and 2-10 hour timer as the rest of the Sealy wearables
- Wash rules published in detail: slow agitation, low spin, no dry cleaning, no bleach
Where it falls short
- No published wattage, on a brand that publishes one on its other wearable
- No certification named in the feature bullets
- No warranty term stated
- No sleeves and no foot pocket
Who this is forSomeone who wants the format at the lowest price and is not deciding on published specifications.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want a named safety certification before you buy. The bullets do not state one, and both Westinghouse wearables do.
Warmth where there is no outlet
Cordless Battery Heated Shawl

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Battery powered, carbon-film heating and, to its credit, a listing that says plainly it heats a zone rather than the whole blanket.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published, and no battery capacity in watt-hours either, which is the figure that would let you compute runtime. The listing does state honestly that the heating is a targeted zone rather than full-surface.
- Size
- 63" x 31.5" shawl
- Heat settings
- Multiple, count not stated
- Auto shut-off
- Not stated on the listing
- Controllers
- On-blanket, battery pack included
- Certification
- Not stated on the listing
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Battery capacity
- Not published in watt-hours
- Heating element
- Far-infrared carbon film
- Heating area
- Targeted zone, not full surface (stated by the maker)
- Model
- V20
What it does well
- Genuinely cordless: office desks, commutes, sidelines, flights
- Carbon film spreads heat more evenly than wire lines
- The listing is honest that it heats a zone, not the whole blanket
- Battery pack included rather than sold separately
Where it falls short
- No published wattage and no battery capacity, so runtime is a guess
- Targeted heating is much less coverage than a plug-in blanket
- No auto-shutoff or certification stated
Who this is forSomeone who needs warmth where there is no socket and understands they are buying a heated zone rather than a heated blanket.
Skip it ifSkip it if you expected whole-blanket warmth. The maker says outright it is a targeted zone, and that is the honest read.
How we ranked these
- Published wattage first, as everywhere on this site. In this format exactly one product qualifies, and that alone decides the top spot.
- Then cord reach. A wearable is the one heated product you are supposed to move around in, so the cord is a functional specification rather than a footnote. Two makers publish it and the figures are not close.
- Then the format. Sleeves, a foot pocket, both, or neither. This is the decision most buyers actually make and the listings bury it in the title.
- Then certification and timer, which at this end of the market vary more than they should.
- Not ranked on warmth, softness or fit. We have not worn any of these and we are not going to imply otherwise.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
What a wearable actually is
The category name covers three different garments and the listings use the words interchangeably, which is why people buy the wrong one.
| Format | What it has | What it is for |
|---|---|---|
| Full wrap | Sleeves, a foot pocket, usually a back opening | Sitting still for a long evening. The closest thing to wearing a bed |
| Poncho | Head opening, front pockets, no sleeves and no foot pocket | A desk. Shoulders and hands covered, arms free to type |
| Shawl or wrap | An open rectangle, sometimes with buckles or side pockets | Moving between rooms. The easiest to put on and take off |
The distinction that costs people money is the foot pocket. It is the single most-wanted feature in the format and two of the six products here do not have one.
The finding: Sealy publishes a wattage on exactly one product
We track eight Sealy products. Seven of them publish heat settings, timer ranges, fabric weights, cord lengths and certifications, and no rated draw. The wearable with the foot pocket publishes 100 W, stated alongside 120 V AC and 60 Hz.
That is worth stating plainly because it undermines the excuse. A brand that publishes a wattage on one product clearly can measure and print one. Whatever keeps the number off the other seven listings, it is not that the figure does not exist. The same is true of Westinghouse, which publishes 100 W on one bed blanket and nothing on the other six. The whole record is on the watts, by model.
| Run time | kWh | Cost | Working |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 hour | 0.10 | 2 cents | 100 x 1 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 4 hours (an evening) | 0.40 | 7 cents | 100 x 4 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 8 hours (a night) | 0.80 | 15 cents | 100 x 8 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 30 nights at 8 hours | 24.00 | $4.40 | 100 x 240 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| A 120-night winter at 8 hours | 96.00 | $17.61 | 100 x 960 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
Rate: US Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 (June 2026): 18.34 cents per kWh, average US residential. Retrieved 2026-08-31.
Rated wattage is the ceiling, not the average. A thermostatic blanket cycles its element on and off once the bed is warm, so an all-night bill usually lands below the rated-watt figure. We publish the rated number because it is the only one the maker stands behind, and we do not estimate a duty cycle for a blanket we have not measured.
A wearable is used differently from a bed blanket — an evening on the sofa rather than a night in bed — so four hours is the more realistic session, and that halves the figure again. Either way this is the cheapest category of heated product to run that we cover, and the most energy efficient heated blankets page has the comparison across formats.
Cord reach is the specification nobody checks
You are meant to walk around in this thing. The cord decides how far, and it is the one place the published figures diverge sharply.
- Westinghouse foot-pocket wearable publishes a 32 inch plus 72 inch run — the longest in our set by a wide margin.
- Sealy foot-pocket wearable publishes a 6 foot power cord plus a 3 foot controller cord, so nine feet in total.
- Beautyrest poncho publishes the same 6 ft plus 3 ft.
- Everything else here publishes nothing, which for a garment you are supposed to move in is a strange omission.
Nine feet is enough for a chair beside a socket and not enough for the far side of a room. Measure from the outlet to where you actually sit before you buy, and remember that an extension cord is not a solution: every maker in this category discourages them and some prohibit them outright.
Certification, which is not uniform here
At bed-blanket prices almost every listing names a mark. In the wearable format it is patchier, and that is the check worth doing before anything else.
| Product | Certification named | Auto shut-off |
|---|---|---|
| Sealy wearable, foot pocket | ETL and FCC | 2-10 hours, adjustable |
| Westinghouse wearable, foot pocket | ETL and FCC | 2-10 hours |
| Beautyrest poncho wrap | UL and OEKO-TEX | 2 hours |
| Westinghouse wearable throw | ETL and FCC | 2-10 hours |
| Sealy wearable shawl | Not named in the feature bullets | 2-10 hours |
| Cordless battery shawl | Not stated on the listing | Not stated |
Quoted from each listing's own feature bullets, read 2026-09-14. A blank cell means the bullets do not name a mark; it is not a claim that the product is untested. What the marks mean is on what the certification marks mean.
Two things worth knowing from that table. OEKO-TEX is a textile chemistry certification, not an electrical one — it tells you about what is in the fabric and nothing about fire risk. And the Beautyrest's two-hour shut-off is the shortest in our entire set, which is a real limitation for a long evening and a real safety feature for anyone likely to fall asleep in it.
Where each pick is the wrong buy
- Sealy foot-pocket wearable — publishes the draw and the temperature range, and only nine feet of total cord. Wrong if your socket is across the room.
- Westinghouse foot-pocket wearable — the longest cord and the highest price in the format, with no published wattage to justify it.
- Beautyrest poncho — the only 5-year warranty here and a UL mark, on a two-hour timer and only three heat levels.
- Westinghouse wearable throw — no foot pocket and no sleeves, which is the feature most buyers of this format want.
- Sealy wearable shawl — the cheapest way in, with no certification named in the bullets and no wattage, from a brand that publishes both elsewhere.
- Cordless battery shawl — no cord, and no published capacity, wattage, timer or certification. You cannot plan a runtime from anything the maker states.
What we did not do
We have not worn any of these, so nothing here is a judgment about fit, how the sleeves sit, whether the foot pocket is deep enough, or how any of them feels after an hour. Those are the questions a wearable buyer most wants answered and we cannot answer them honestly. What we can do is tell you which one tells you the most about itself, and that is what the ranking is. The full method is on our methodology page.
Questions people actually ask
- What is the best wearable heated blanket?
- On published specifications, the Sealy wearable with a foot pocket. It is the only wearable we found that states a rated wattage (100 W), and it also publishes a 95 to 113 F temperature range and both cord lengths. If you need more reach, the Westinghouse foot-pocket wearable publishes a much longer cord but no wattage.
- How much does a wearable heated blanket cost to run?
- About 15 cents for an eight-hour session at 100 W and the current US average rate, or roughly 7 cents for a four-hour evening, which is how most people actually use one. That figure is only available for the one product that publishes a draw; for the rest no honest number exists.
- Are wearable heated blankets safe?
- The same rules apply as to any heated bedding: keep the controller visible and uncovered, do not use an extension cord, and retire it if you find scorching or a kink in the wire. Check that the listing names a mark before you buy — in this format it is patchier than on bed blankets, and one product here names none in its bullets.
- Wearable blanket or a heated throw?
- A throw is cheaper and covers more of you when you are sitting still. A wearable keeps your hands free and stays on when you stand up. If you mostly sit under it, buy the throw; if you get up to answer the door, make tea and come back, buy the wearable.
- Do wearable heated blankets have a foot pocket?
- Some do and some do not, and the listings bury it. Of the six we track, three have a foot pocket, one is a poncho with front pockets, one is a shawl with side pockets, and one is a battery shawl. The foot pocket is the feature most buyers of the format are after, so check the title carefully.
Read next
- The best heated throwsSeven sofa throws ranked on published watts and the 17-degree temperature spread.
- Cordless and battery heated blanketsBattery blankets, what they really heat, and the runtime nobody publishes.
- Fleece, flannel, sherpa or plushFour fabric words, one GSM ledger, and a product named for a fabric it does not publish.
- The most energy efficient heated blanketsThe six blankets whose makers publish a wattage, lowest draw first.
- What the certification marks meanUL 964, why ETL is not a lesser mark, and who names no certification at all.