Skip to content
Wool Watt

Heated throws / Roundup

Cordless and battery heated blankets

They work where there is no outlet, they heat a zone rather than a blanket, and not one of them publishes the battery capacity you would need to work out runtime.

By Scooter M.Updated August 31, 2026Scooter M. reads the manuals, compiles the published specs, and shows the arithmetic.

We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

A person wrapped in a blanket on a couch

Cordless heated blankets run off a rechargeable battery pack and heat a targeted zone, not the whole surface. None of the products we found publishes its battery capacity in watt-hours or its heater wattage, so runtime cannot be calculated from published data. If you have an outlet, a corded throw is the better product on every axis.

The calculation you cannot do

The question everyone has about a battery blanket is how long it runs. It is arithmetic, and it is short: battery capacity in watt-hours divided by heater draw in watts gives hours.

This is not us being pedantic. It is the difference between a product that lasts a commute and one that lasts a football match, and the buyer is expected to find out by owning it.

What cordless actually heats

The Zireot shawl's listing deserves credit for stating this outright: it is a targeted heating zone, not full-surface heating like a plug-in blanket. That single sentence is more useful than most of the category's marketing copy combined, and it is why it is on this page at all.

Practically, a battery product warms a panel across your lap or back. Your feet, shoulders and the far edge of the fabric are unheated fabric. If you go in expecting that, it is a genuinely useful thing on a cold sideline. If you go in expecting a warm blanket, you will be disappointed, and the disappointment will be a sizing misunderstanding rather than a defect.

The wearable mains alternative

For most people who search for cordless, the real requirement is hands-free rather than battery-powered. They want to work, read or sit at a desk without a blanket sliding off, and they assume a cord is the obstacle when the actual obstacle is the shape.

A wearable poncho solves that with a cord attached. The Beautyrest poncho has a 6-foot power cord and a 3-foot controller cord, three heat settings, a 2-hour auto shut-off suited to desk use, a 5-year warranty, and both UL and OEKO-TEX named on the listing. It stays on your shoulders and it never needs charging.

Cordless against the two corded alternatives
Cordless against the two corded alternatives
Battery shawlWearable ponchoCorded throw
Needs an outletNoYesYes
CoverageTargeted zone50" x 64", wearable50" x 60", full surface
RuntimeUnpublishedUnlimitedUnlimited
Published wattageNoNoYes, 100 W
Hands freeYesYesNo
Warranty statedNo5 yearsIn the box only

From each maker's listing, checked 2026-08-31.

The picks, with the numbers

Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.

Heated blanket picks compared by published wattage and computed cost per night
#ProductBest forWattsPer nightPrice
1
Top pickCordless Battery Heated ShawlBattery powered, carbon-film heating and, to its credit, a listing that says plainly it heats a zone rather than the whole blanket.
Warmth where there is no outletNot publishedUncomputableCheck price
2
Beautyrest Wearable Electric Poncho WrapThe only product here whose low-EMF claim is tied to a named certification, and it is wearable, which is why it works at a desk.
The clearest low-EMF claim on the shelfNot publishedUncomputableCheck price
3
Bedsure Heated Throw with Preheat100 W published, a preheat cycle that steps itself down, and a 10-hour timer. The throw we would buy on the numbers.
The best-documented throw100 W15 centsCheck price

Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

1

Warmth where there is no outlet

Cordless Battery Heated Shawl

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

Battery powered, carbon-film heating and, to its credit, a listing that says plainly it heats a zone rather than the whole blanket.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published, and no battery capacity in watt-hours either, which is the figure that would let you compute runtime. The listing does state honestly that the heating is a targeted zone rather than full-surface.

Size
63" x 31.5" shawl
Heat settings
Multiple, count not stated
Auto shut-off
Not stated on the listing
Controllers
On-blanket, battery pack included
Certification
Not stated on the listing
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Battery capacity
Not published in watt-hours
Heating element
Far-infrared carbon film
Heating area
Targeted zone, not full surface (stated by the maker)
Model
V20

What it does well

  • Genuinely cordless: office desks, commutes, sidelines, flights
  • Carbon film spreads heat more evenly than wire lines
  • The listing is honest that it heats a zone, not the whole blanket
  • Battery pack included rather than sold separately

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage and no battery capacity, so runtime is a guess
  • Targeted heating is much less coverage than a plug-in blanket
  • No auto-shutoff or certification stated

Who this is forSomeone who needs warmth where there is no socket and understands they are buying a heated zone rather than a heated blanket.

Skip it ifSkip it if you expected whole-blanket warmth. The maker says outright it is a targeted zone, and that is the honest read.

2

The clearest low-EMF claim on the shelf

Beautyrest Wearable Electric Poncho Wrap

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

The only product here whose low-EMF claim is tied to a named certification, and it is wearable, which is why it works at a desk.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. The EMF claim is unusually specific for this category, "100% UL certified and engineered to emit virtually no EMF radiation", but "virtually no" is still not a measured figure, and we say so on the [EMF page](/safety/emf-and-health).

Size
50" x 64" poncho
Heat settings
3 levels
Auto shut-off
2 hours
Controllers
1
Certification
UL certified and OEKO-TEX, per the listing
Warranty
5-year manufacturer warranty
Rated watts
Not published
EMF claim
UL certified, "engineered to emit virtually no EMF radiation"
Cords
6 ft power cord, 3 ft controller cord
Model
BR54-0898

What it does well

  • Wearable, so it stays on your shoulders while you work
  • 5-year warranty
  • Both UL and OEKO-TEX named on the listing
  • 2-hour auto shut-off suits desk use

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • The EMF claim is qualitative ("virtually no"), not a measurement
  • Three heat settings

Who this is forWorking at a cold desk, or anyone who wants their hands free while staying warm.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want to sleep under it. A 2-hour auto-off and a poncho cut are built for sitting up, not lying down.

3

The best-documented throw

Bedsure Heated Throw with Preheat

Rated wattage

100 W

8 hours costs

15 cents

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

100 W published, a preheat cycle that steps itself down, and a 10-hour timer. The throw we would buy on the numbers.

Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states "a power rating of 100W" at 120V AC, 60Hz. Same figure as the brand's queen-size single controller, on a blanket a quarter the area, which is why a throw heats faster.

100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night

Size
50" x 60"
Heat settings
6 levels
Auto shut-off
Up to 10 hours (1-2-4-6-8-10h)
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Warranty card included in packaging; term not stated online
Rated watts
100 W
Voltage
120 V AC, 60 Hz
Fabric
220 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
Preheat
Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
Model
BS-100T

What it does well

  • Published wattage, so an hour on the sofa has a computable price
  • Preheat steps down automatically rather than holding peak
  • Warm without power thanks to the sherpa backing
  • ETL and FCC certified

Where it falls short

  • 6 heat levels
  • Warranty term is only in the box, not on the listing
  • 50" x 60" is a one-person throw

Who this is forAnyone who wants a sofa throw and wants to know what an evening under it costs.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want to cover two people. At 50 by 60 inches it is a personal throw, not a shared one.

When cordless is genuinely the right answer

Three situations, and they are narrower than the marketing suggests: a cold sideline or bleacher with no power; a commute or a flight; and an outdoor event where you will be sitting still for a couple of hours. In all three the alternative is not a corded blanket, it is nothing, and a heated panel across your lap is a real improvement on nothing.

For camping specifically, there is a better answer than either: a 12 V blanket off a vehicle socket or a power station gives you far more heat for far longer. We cover it on 12V for cars and RVs and heated blankets for camping, including the fact that 12 V blankets share exactly the same missing-wattage problem.

Questions people actually ask

How long do cordless heated blankets last on a battery?
Unknown from published data. Runtime is battery watt-hours divided by heater watts, and no product we found publishes either figure. The one listing that gives a milliamp-hour number gives no voltage, so it cannot be converted.
Do battery heated blankets actually work?
They heat a targeted panel rather than the whole blanket, and the better listings say so. Across your lap on a cold sideline that is genuinely useful. As a substitute for a plug-in blanket it is not.
Is a wearable heated poncho better than a cordless blanket?
If you have an outlet, yes on almost every axis: unlimited runtime, larger heated area, a stated warranty and named certifications. The poncho solves hands-free; the battery solves no-outlet. Most people who search cordless actually want hands-free.