Skip to content
Wool Watt

Camping and 12V / Roundup

12V heated blankets for cars and RVs

Four blankets, all 59 by 43 inches, all plugging into a cigarette-lighter socket. Not one of them tells you what it draws.

By Scooter M.Updated August 31, 2026Scooter M. reads the manuals, compiles the published specs, and shows the arithmetic.

We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

A car interior and dashboard on a winter road trip

All four are 59 by 43 inches and plug into a 12V vehicle socket. The Sealy is the pick on the only published safeguard that matters in a vehicle: a 4-hour auto shut-off, plus an 85-inch cord. None of the four publishes a wattage or amp draw, so battery runtime cannot be calculated.

The picks, with the numbers

Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.

Heated blanket picks compared by published wattage and computed cost per night
#ProductBest forWattsPer nightPrice
1
Top pickSealy 12-Volt Heated Car BlanketRuns off a 12V cigarette-lighter socket with a 4-hour auto-off and an 85-inch cord. Sealy names the power-station use case explicitly.
A car socket or a power stationNot publishedUncomputableCheck price
2
Westinghouse 12-Volt Heated Car Blanket200 GSM flannel one side, 180 GSM Shu velveteen the other, with the same 85-inch cord reach. No wattage.
The warmest 12V fabricNot publishedUncomputableCheck price
3
Camco Car & RV Heated Travel BlanketPolar fleece, a 7-foot cord and a 1-year warranty from an RV-parts brand. The listing claims low amperage without stating the figure.
RV and emergency kitsNot publishedUncomputableCheck price
4
Stalwart 12V Heated Car BlanketA plain 12V fleece throw at the budget end of the shelf. Nothing published beyond size and power source.
A spare for the second carNot publishedUncomputableCheck price

Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

1

A car socket or a power station

Sealy 12-Volt Heated Car Blanket

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

Runs off a 12V cigarette-lighter socket with a 4-hour auto-off and an 85-inch cord. Sealy names the power-station use case explicitly.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. This matters more on 12V than on mains: without a watt or amp figure you cannot work out how long it will run off a battery or a power station, and the listing does not give you one.

Size
59" x 43"
Heat settings
3 levels
Auto shut-off
4 hours
Controllers
Silicone switch on the blanket itself
Certification
Not stated on the listing
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Power source
12 V cigarette-lighter socket
Cord length
85"
Model
SL-HCAR110FL-GR-UP

What it does well

  • 85-inch cord reaches the back seat
  • 4-hour auto-off, which is the right ceiling for a vehicle
  • Machine washable with the cord disconnected
  • Sealy names portable power stations as a supported use

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage or amp draw, so battery runtime is unknowable
  • Three heat levels only
  • The switch is on the blanket, so you have to find it under the covers

Who this is forRoad trips, cold sports fields, and anyone running a 12V setup in a van or truck.

Skip it ifSkip it if you plan to run it off a leisure battery and need to budget the draw. No published figure means no runtime calculation.

2

The warmest 12V fabric

Westinghouse 12-Volt Heated Car Blanket

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

200 GSM flannel one side, 180 GSM Shu velveteen the other, with the same 85-inch cord reach. No wattage.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage or current draw published. As with every 12V blanket we checked, that leaves battery runtime uncomputable.

Size
59" x 43"
Heat settings
3 levels
Auto shut-off
Stated on the listing
Controllers
Inline
Certification
Not stated on the listing
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Fabric
200 GSM flannel / 180 GSM Shu velveteen
Cord length
85"
Model
KTAB-DCVS-1

What it does well

  • Heavier fabric than most 12V blankets, so it holds heat between cycles
  • 85-inch cord reaches rear passengers
  • Full body coverage at 59 by 43 inches
  • Packs down for storage in a bag

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage or amp draw
  • Three heat levels
  • No certification named

Who this is forWinter road trips and emergency kits where fabric warmth matters as much as the element.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want the blanket to work at home too. This is 12V only and will not plug into a wall.

3

RV and emergency kits

Camco Car & RV Heated Travel Blanket

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

Polar fleece, a 7-foot cord and a 1-year warranty from an RV-parts brand. The listing claims low amperage without stating the figure.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage or amp figure published. The listing says it is "designed with a low amperage draw to prevent draining your car battery", which is precisely the claim that needs a number attached and does not have one.

Size
59" x 43"
Heat settings
Not stated on the listing
Auto shut-off
Not stated on the listing
Controllers
Inline
Certification
Not stated on the listing
Warranty
Limited 1 year
Rated watts
Not published
Fabric
100% polar fleece
Cord length
7 ft
Model
42804

What it does well

  • From an established RV-parts brand
  • 1-year limited warranty stated, which most 12V blankets do not give
  • Simple polar fleece with nothing to go wrong
  • Sized for a vehicle emergency kit

Where it falls short

  • The "low amperage" claim carries no number
  • No heat settings or auto-shutoff stated
  • Shorter cord than the 85-inch rivals

Who this is forAn RV, a truck, or a glovebox emergency kit.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want temperature control. No heat levels or timer are stated anywhere on the listing.

4

A spare for the second car

Stalwart 12V Heated Car Blanket

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

A plain 12V fleece throw at the budget end of the shelf. Nothing published beyond size and power source.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage, amp draw, heat-setting count or timer published on the listing.

Size
59" x 43"
Heat settings
Not stated on the listing
Auto shut-off
Not stated on the listing
Controllers
Inline
Certification
Not stated on the listing
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Power source
12 V vehicle socket
Model
75-CAR2009

What it does well

  • Cheap enough to leave in a second vehicle
  • Standard 59 by 43 inch coverage
  • Plugs into any 12V socket

Where it falls short

  • Nothing published: no watts, no amps, no settings, no timer
  • No certification named
  • No warranty term stated

Who this is forA backup blanket for a second car you are not going to think about again.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want any specification at all. This is the least-documented product on the site and we say so plainly.

How we ranked these

  • Auto-shutoff first. In a vehicle, a blanket left running is a flat battery, so a published shut-off duration is the single most valuable specification here.
  • Cord length second. The usual point is to reach a passenger in the back.
  • Then fabric weight and warranty, both of which matter in a cold vehicle.
  • Published wattage would rank first if any of them published it. None does.

We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.

What is published, in one table

Everything the four makers state
Everything the four makers state
SealyWestinghouseCamcoStalwart
Size59" x 43"59" x 43"59" x 43"59" x 43"
Rated wattsNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Amp drawNot publishedNot published"Low amperage", no figureNot published
Cord length85"85"7 ftNot stated
Heat settings33Not statedNot stated
Auto shut-off4 hoursStated, no durationNot statedNot stated
FabricFlannel200 GSM flannel / 180 GSM Shu velveteen100% polar fleeceFleece
WarrantyNot statedNot statedLimited 1 yearNot stated
CertificationNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated

From each maker's listing, checked 2026-08-31. Four products, zero published wattages and zero named certifications.

Why the missing wattage matters more here

On a mains blanket, an unpublished wattage is an inconvenience: you cannot work out the running cost, and the blanket still works. On 12V it is a functional gap.

A car's starter battery holds a finite amount of energy and needs a good portion of it to turn the engine over. The question of whether you can run a blanket for two hours in a parked car and still start it is arithmetic, and the arithmetic needs a draw figure that nobody publishes.

With the engine running the alternator covers it and this does not arise. Parked, it does, and the consequence of getting it wrong is being stranded rather than being cold.

The 4-hour shut-off is the specification to buy on

Given that nobody publishes a draw, the next best protection is a timer that ends the session before a battery problem develops, and only Sealy publishes one: four hours.

That is a sensible ceiling for a vehicle. It is long enough for a road-trip leg and short enough that a blanket forgotten in a parked car switches itself off the same afternoon. Westinghouse states that a shut-off exists without giving a duration, which is better than nothing and not much. Camco and Stalwart state nothing.

Cord length, which is the other real spec

The usual point of a 12V blanket is a passenger in the back, and the socket is in the front. Sealy and Westinghouse both publish 85 inches, which reaches a rear seat comfortably. Camco publishes 7 feet, which is 84 inches, effectively the same. Stalwart states nothing.

One thing none of them addresses: an 85-inch cord run through a vehicle cabin is a trip and snag hazard when people are getting in and out, and a pinched cord is a damaged cord. Route it along the transmission tunnel or under a seat rather than across a footwell.

RVs and power stations

Two situations the listings mention and neither quantifies.

Power stations. Sealy names portable power stations explicitly as a supported use, which is genuinely useful. It does not tell you how long the blanket will run off one, because that needs the wattage. A power station publishes its capacity in watt-hours; the blanket publishes nothing to divide it by.

RVs with leisure batteries. Camco is an RV-parts brand and its blanket is aimed here. A leisure battery is designed for exactly this kind of sustained low draw, which makes it a better host than a starter battery. It is still finite and it still cannot be planned without a draw figure.

Getting the number yourself

  1. 1Look for a rating label on the controller, the plug or a sewn-in tag. Manufacturers frequently label the product even when the listing does not repeat the figure.
  2. 2Buy an inline 12V meter. About fifteen dollars, sits between socket and plug, reads volts and amps directly. Multiply them for watts.
  3. 3Then divide. Power station watt-hours divided by blanket watts gives hours. That is the calculation the listings prevent you from doing.

We have not measured any of these and we will not publish a figure we did not measure. If you measure yours, tell us and we will publish it with attribution and a date.

Questions people actually ask

How many watts does a 12V heated blanket use?
None of the four we track publishes a figure. Check for a rating label on the controller or plug, or measure it with an inline 12V meter. Camco claims a low amperage draw without giving a number.
Will a heated car blanket drain my battery?
With the engine running, no, because the alternator covers it. Parked with the engine off, possibly, and you cannot calculate how fast because no maker publishes the draw. The Sealy's 4-hour auto shut-off is the only published safeguard in the group.
Can you use a 12V heated blanket with a power station?
Yes, and Sealy names it as a supported use. How long it runs is not calculable from published data: a power station publishes watt-hours, and the blanket publishes no wattage to divide by.
Are 12V heated blankets certified?
None of the four in our set names a certification on the listing. That is an absence of a stated claim rather than evidence of anything, and we record it rather than assuming either way.