Skip to content
Wool Watt

Brands / Roundup

Sealy heated blankets

Sealy answers a different question from everyone else. It will tell you how hot the thing gets in degrees, how long the cord is and how long the warranty runs. It will not tell you what it draws.

By Scooter M.Updated September 7, 2026Scooter M. reads the manuals, compiles the published specs, and shows the arithmetic.

We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

Flannel fabric texture and weave in close up

Sealy publishes delivered temperature ranges on some products (87-126 F on the twin blanket, 95-113 F on the throw), five-year warranties on several, a 19-foot total cord run, and a 20-minute preheat on the king pad. It publishes no wattage on anything.

The picks, with the numbers

Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.

Heated blanket picks compared by published wattage and computed cost per night
#ProductBest forWattsPer nightPrice
1
Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, King, Dual Control
Top pickSealy Heated Mattress Pad, King, Dual ControlPublishes two things almost nobody else does at this size: a stated preheat duration and a five-year warranty. Still no wattage.
A 20-minute preheat and a 5-year warrantyNot publishedUncomputable$104.98 - See it on Amazon
2
Sealy Electric Blanket, Twin
Sealy Electric Blanket, TwinOne of the very few listings in this category that publishes the temperature its settings actually deliver: 87 to 126 F.
A stated temperature rangeNot publishedUncomputable$79.99 - See it on Amazon
3
Sealy Heated Throw
Sealy Heated ThrowPublishes the temperature its settings reach, 95 to 113 F, which is rarer than a wattage and more useful than a marketing adjective.
A published temperature rangeNot publishedUncomputable$43.99 - See it on Amazon
4
Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen, Dual Control
Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen, Dual ControlTen settings with a 1-to-9-hour shut-off. The shorter ceiling is a feature if you would rather the bed switch itself off before morning.
A short auto-off ceilingNot publishedUncomputable$89.99 - See it on Amazon
5
Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual Control
Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual ControlTen heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published.
The longest warranty on a dual controlNot publishedUncomputable$109.99 - See it on Amazon
6
Sealy 12-Volt Heated Car Blanket
Sealy 12-Volt Heated Car BlanketRuns off a 12V cigarette-lighter socket with a 4-hour auto-off and an 85-inch cord. Sealy names the power-station use case explicitly.
A car socket or a power stationNot publishedUncomputable$39.99 - See it on Amazon

Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

1

A 20-minute preheat and a 5-year warranty

Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, King, Dual Control

Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, King, Dual Control

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$104.98 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

Publishes two things almost nobody else does at this size: a stated preheat duration and a five-year warranty. Still no wattage.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published, in line with every Sealy heated-bedding listing we have checked across blankets, throws and pads. Sealy publishes cord lengths, warranty terms and temperature ranges, but never a power figure.

Size
King
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
Stated on the controller
Controllers
2 (dual control)
Certification
Not stated on this listing
Warranty
5 year warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Preheat
20 minutes, stated
Surface
Quilted, 3M Scotchgard water-repellent treatment
Model
KTHM-QATMF-K

What it does well

  • 5-year warranty, the longest stated term of any king pad here
  • A published 20-minute preheat, which is a real number rather than a vague claim
  • 3M Scotchgard water-repellent treatment named specifically
  • Machine washable with the power cord unplugged from the controller

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Water repellent is not the same as a waterproof barrier
  • No certification named on this particular listing

Who this is forA king bed where a long warranty and a fast, stated preheat matter more than a running-cost figure.

Skip it ifSkip it if you need a true waterproof barrier. Repellent treatment sheds a splash; it is not a membrane.

2

A stated temperature range

Sealy Electric Blanket, Twin

Sealy Electric Blanket, Twin

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$79.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

One of the very few listings in this category that publishes the temperature its settings actually deliver: 87 to 126 F.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Sealy does, unusually, publish the temperature range the ten settings cover (87-126 F), which is a different and genuinely useful number, but it is not a figure you can compute a bill from.

Size
Twin, 62" x 84"
Heat settings
10 levels, 87-126 F
Auto shut-off
Stated on the controller
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
5-year warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Temperature range
87-126 F across 10 settings
Fabric
100% polyester, flannel and sherpa
Model
KTHB-QATVS-T

What it does well

  • Publishes the actual temperature range, which almost nobody does
  • 5-year warranty
  • Continuous temperature sensing named in the listing
  • ETL and FCC certified

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Strict wash rules: slow agitation, low spin, no dry clean, no bleach
  • The "lower electro magnetic radiation" claim is not quantified anywhere

Who this is forA single sleeper who wants to know how hot the top setting actually gets, in degrees.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want a running-cost figure. A temperature range is not a wattage and cannot be converted into one.

3

A published temperature range

Sealy Heated Throw

Sealy Heated Throw

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$43.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

Publishes the temperature its settings reach, 95 to 113 F, which is rarer than a wattage and more useful than a marketing adjective.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Sealy does publish the delivered temperature range (95-113 F), which is a genuinely useful spec almost no competitor states, but it cannot be converted into a running cost.

Size
50" x 60"
Heat settings
6 levels, 95-113 F
Auto shut-off
2-10 hours
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Temperature range
95-113 F
Fabric
280 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
Model
KTHT-QBHVS-W

What it does well

  • Publishes the actual delivered temperature range
  • 280 GSM flannel is the heaviest single face here
  • Detachable controller cord for washing
  • ETL and FCC certified

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Top setting of 113 F is cooler than several rivals reach
  • No warranty term stated

Who this is forSomeone who wants to know how warm it actually gets before buying, and is happy with a gentle top end.

Skip it ifSkip it if you like a genuinely hot throw. 113 F at the top is mild next to blankets that reach into the 120s.

4

A short auto-off ceiling

Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen, Dual Control

Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen, Dual Control

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$89.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

Ten settings with a 1-to-9-hour shut-off. The shorter ceiling is a feature if you would rather the bed switch itself off before morning.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published, in line with every Sealy heated-bedding listing we checked across blankets, throws and pads.

Size
Queen
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
1-9 hours
Controllers
Dual control stated on the queen
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Top fabric
Polyester felt
Auto-off ceiling
9 hours
Model
KHM-QN

What it does well

  • 9-hour ceiling means it cannot run all day if you forget it
  • 10 temperature steps
  • ETL and FCC certified with upgraded heating wire
  • Straightforward controller

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Felt top is less pleasant against skin than quilted cotton
  • No warranty term stated

Who this is forSomeone who wants the bed pre-warmed and off again by morning.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want the pad running for a full 12-hour winter night. Nine hours is the hard ceiling.

5

The longest warranty on a dual control

Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual Control

Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual Control

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$109.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

Ten heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published.

Where the wattage comes fromSealy publishes no wattage for this model. Every Sealy listing we checked in this category, across blankets, throws and mattress pads, states certifications and cord lengths but never a watt figure.

Size
Queen, 84" x 90"
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
1-12 hours, selectable
Controllers
2 (dual control)
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
5-year warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Fabric
200 GSM double-layer flannel
Total cord length
19 ft (power cord plus controller cord)
Memory
Yes, recalls last level and timer
Model
KTHB-QATVV-Q

What it does well

  • 5-year warranty, the longest stated term of any bed blanket here
  • Dual control with 10 levels each
  • 19 ft of cord reaches an outlet that is not next to the bed
  • ETL and FCC certified with overheat protection

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Flannel on both sides, so no sherpa face if you want the plusher side
  • Wash rules are strict: slow agitation, low spin, no dry clean, no bleach

Who this is forCouples who want a long warranty and enough cord to reach a real outlet, and who are not deciding on running cost.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want to know the running cost before you buy. Sealy publishes nothing for this blanket you could compute one from.

6

A car socket or a power station

Sealy 12-Volt Heated Car Blanket

Sealy 12-Volt Heated Car Blanket

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$39.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

Runs off a 12V cigarette-lighter socket with a 4-hour auto-off and an 85-inch cord. Sealy names the power-station use case explicitly.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. This matters more on 12V than on mains: without a watt or amp figure you cannot work out how long it will run off a battery or a power station, and the listing does not give you one.

Size
59" x 43"
Heat settings
3 levels
Auto shut-off
4 hours
Controllers
Silicone switch on the blanket itself
Certification
Not stated on the listing
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Power source
12 V cigarette-lighter socket
Cord length
85"
Model
SL-HCAR110FL-GR-UP

What it does well

  • 85-inch cord reaches the back seat
  • 4-hour auto-off, which is the right ceiling for a vehicle
  • Machine washable with the cord disconnected
  • Sealy names portable power stations as a supported use

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage or amp draw, so battery runtime is unknowable
  • Three heat levels only
  • The switch is on the blanket, so you have to find it under the covers

Who this is forRoad trips, cold sports fields, and anyone running a 12V setup in a van or truck.

Skip it ifSkip it if you plan to run it off a leisure battery and need to budget the draw. No published figure means no runtime calculation.

How we ranked these

  • Published temperature range first, because it is the thing Sealy gives that almost nobody else does and the reason to choose the brand.
  • Then stated warranty, which Sealy publishes on several products where competitors publish none.
  • Then the practical specifics Sealy is unusually good at: cord length, auto-off ceiling, preheat duration.
  • Not ranked on wattage, because Sealy publishes none on any product covered here, or on warmth, because we have not handled these. Sealy does publish 100 W on one product, its wearable with a foot pocket, which is the exception that makes the silence on these seven a choice.

We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.

The number Sealy gives that nobody else does

Across the 43 products we track, seven publish a delivered temperature range: three Sealy, three Beautyrest and one Homemate. That is genuinely unusual, and it answers the question people actually have when they stand in front of a shelf: how warm does this thing get?

What Sealy publishes, product by product
What Sealy publishes, product by product
ProductTemperature rangeWarrantyWattage
Twin blanket87-126 F across 10 settings5 yearsNot published
Throw95-113 F across 6 settingsNot statedNot published
Queen blanket, dual controlNot published5 yearsNot published
Mattress pad, queenNot publishedNot statedNot published
Mattress pad, kingNot published5 yearsNot published
12V car blanketNot publishedNot statedNot published

Quoted from each product's own Amazon listing. The twin's 126 F ceiling is the hottest published figure anywhere in our set.

For reference: normal skin surface temperature is around 91 F and a warm bath is about 100 F. Sealy's twin reaching 126 F at the top of the dial is genuinely hot, and its throw topping out at 113 F is moderate. Those are different products for different people, and you only know which is which because Sealy said.

The practical specifications Sealy is unusually good at

  • A 19-foot total cord run on the queen blanket, across power cord plus controller cord. That is the longest we found anywhere and it solves the most common bedroom-layout problem in the category.
  • A 20-minute preheat, stated as a duration, on the king mattress pad. Most brands claim a preheat without saying how long it runs.
  • A 9-hour auto-off ceiling on the queen mattress pad where most competitors run to 12. Read as a limitation it looks worse; read as a design decision it guarantees the bed is off by mid-morning without anyone remembering.
  • 3M Scotchgard water-repellent treatment named specifically on the king pad, rather than a vague water-resistance claim.

The gap, stated plainly

Sealy is a well-known name selling six products across four formats in our set, and not one of them states a power figure. We checked the bullets, the technical details table and the product page for every one.

That means nobody can tell you what a Sealy heated blanket costs to run, including us. It does not mean Sealy blankets are inefficient or draw more than a competitor. We have no evidence either way, which is the entire point: an unpublished figure is an absence of information rather than a bad number being concealed, and we are not going to imply otherwise.

If you own one and want the number, the options are a rating label on the controller or plug, or a plug-in energy monitor. Both are covered on work out what your own blanket costs.

Washing a Sealy

Sealy is stricter than most and states its conditions explicitly: machine wash with slow agitation and low spin speed, and no dry cleaning, no bleaching, no wringing. Those are the conditions that damage the element rather than the electronics, because the failure mode is mechanical. Full sequence on washing an electric blanket.

Questions people actually ask

How many watts does a Sealy heated blanket use?
Sealy does not publish a wattage for any product we have checked, in any format. Check for a rating label on the controller or plug, or measure it with a plug-in energy monitor.
How hot does a Sealy electric blanket get?
Sealy is one of the few brands that says. Its twin blanket states 87 to 126 F across ten settings and its throw states 95 to 113 F across six. The other Sealy products in our set do not publish a range.
What is the Sealy heated blanket warranty?
Five years on the twin blanket, the queen blanket and the king mattress pad. The throw, the queen pad and the 12V car blanket state no term.
Is Sealy or Bedsure better for heated blankets?
They publish different things. Sealy gives you temperature ranges and five-year warranties; Bedsure gives you a wattage on every product. Neither gives you both, and which matters more depends on whether you are deciding on comfort or on running cost.

Sources

Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.