Skip to content
Wool Watt

Brands / Roundup

Beautyrest heated blankets

Bedsure publishes a wattage on everything. Beautyrest publishes a five-year warranty on everything. Neither publishes the other thing, and that trade is the whole choice between them.

By Scooter M.Updated September 17, 2026Scooter M. reads the manuals, compiles the published specs, and shows the arithmetic.

We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

A neatly made bed with a metal headboard in soft morning light

All six Beautyrest products we track state a 5-year warranty — the only brand in our set where that is true of every product. The blankets and the throw publish a delivered temperature range of 85 to 105 F, the mildest ceiling in the category. None publishes a wattage. The pick is the plush queen: twenty heat settings, a 1-hour preheat, a selectable 1-10 hour shut-off and UL certification stated plainly.

The picks, with the numbers

Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.

Heated blanket picks compared by published wattage and computed cost per night
#ProductBest forWattsPer nightPrice
1
Beautyrest Heated Blanket, Queen
Top pickBeautyrest Heated Blanket, QueenTwenty heat settings, a published 85-105 F range, a 1-hour preheat, a 1-10 hour selectable shut-off, a UL mark and five years in writing. No wattage.
The finest heat control and a 5-year warrantyNot publishedUncomputable$97.40 - See it on Amazon
2
Beautyrest 3M Scotchgard Heated Mattress Pad, Queen
Beautyrest 3M Scotchgard Heated Mattress Pad, QueenDual zone, a 1-hour preheat, a 12-foot controller cord and a 5-year warranty. Only five heat settings, and no wattage.
Reach, with 18 feet of published cordNot publishedUncomputable$80.99 - See it on Amazon
3
Beautyrest Reversible Heated Blanket, Queen
Beautyrest Reversible Heated Blanket, QueenThe same twenty settings and 85-105 F range as the plush queen, in a plush-over-sherpa build with both fabric weights published. OEKO-TEX rather than a UL mark.
The heaviest published fabric in the rangeNot publishedUncomputable$136.73 - See it on Amazon
4
Beautyrest Cool to Touch Heated Mattress Pad, Queen
Beautyrest Cool to Touch Heated Mattress Pad, QueenThe same five settings, preheat, cords and dual zones as the Scotchgard pad, on an olefin surface sold as cool to the touch. Half the stated weight.
A pad that stays on the bed all yearNot publishedUncomputable$84.99 - See it on Amazon
5
Beautyrest Reversible Heated Throw
Beautyrest Reversible Heated ThrowThree heat settings and a stated 85-105 F range, which is deliberately mild. Five-year warranty and OEKO-TEX certification.
The gentlest heat and a 5-year warrantyNot publishedUncomputable$42.36 - See it on Amazon
6
Beautyrest Wearable Electric Poncho Wrap
Beautyrest Wearable Electric Poncho WrapThe only product here whose low-EMF claim is tied to a named certification, and it is wearable, which is why it works at a desk.
The clearest low-EMF claim on the shelfNot publishedUncomputable$48.14 - See it on Amazon

Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

1

The finest heat control and a 5-year warranty

Beautyrest Heated Blanket, Queen

Beautyrest Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$97.40 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

Twenty heat settings, a published 85-105 F range, a 1-hour preheat, a 1-10 hour selectable shut-off, a UL mark and five years in writing. No wattage.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. The listing states a delivered temperature range, 85 to 105 F depending on ambient room temperature, and twenty heat settings, but no rated draw.

Size
Queen, 90" x 84"
Heat settings
20 levels, 85-105 F
Auto shut-off
1-10 hours, selectable
Controllers
2 on queen and larger; 1 on twin and full
Certification
UL certified, per the listing
Warranty
5-year limited warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Temperature range
85-105 F, ambient-dependent
Preheat
1-hour preheat stated
Smart home
Stated compatible with smart outlets and plug-in timers
Model
BR54-0523

What it does well

  • Twenty heat settings, the finest granularity of any product we track
  • Publishes a delivered temperature range, with the ambient caveat
  • 1-hour preheat and a selectable 1-10 hour shut-off
  • UL certified and a 5-year limited warranty, both stated
  • Two controllers at queen size

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage, so it cannot be costed
  • 105 F at the top is a mild ceiling for anyone who wants real heat
  • A 10-hour shut-off ceiling ends earlier than the 12 hours many competitors offer

Who this is forA couple who adjust the setting often and want a warranty term and a safety mark in writing.

Skip it ifSkip it if you run hot or want the bed properly warm. A 105 F maximum is deliberately gentle, and Homemate and Sealy publish hotter ceilings.

2

Reach, with 18 feet of published cord

Beautyrest 3M Scotchgard Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Beautyrest 3M Scotchgard Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$80.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

Dual zone, a 1-hour preheat, a 12-foot controller cord and a 5-year warranty. Only five heat settings, and no wattage.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. The listing states five heat settings, dual zones on queen and larger, and both cord lengths, but no rated draw.

Size
Queen, 60" x 80" plus 15" depth, fits up to 18"
Heat settings
5 levels
Auto shut-off
10 hours
Controllers
2 (dual zone on queen and larger)
Certification
UL certified, per the listing
Warranty
5-year warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Surface
3M Scotchgard stain-release treatment
Cords
12 ft controller cord, 6 ft power cord
Preheat
1-hour preheat stated
Model
BR55-0535

What it does well

  • A 12-foot controller cord and a 6-foot power cord, 18 feet in all, second only to Sealy's 19 feet in our set
  • Dual zones with two controllers at queen size
  • 1-hour preheat, the right way to use a pad
  • UL certified and a 5-year warranty, both stated
  • Deep pocket, fits mattresses up to 18 inches

Where it falls short

  • Five heat settings only, against ten or twelve on most pads
  • No published wattage
  • Scotchgard is a stain-release treatment, not a waterproof barrier
  • A fixed 10-hour shut-off

Who this is forA shared bed where the socket is awkwardly placed, and the buyer wants a warranty and a UL mark in writing.

Skip it ifSkip it if you need a waterproof layer. The Scotchgard treatment helps stains release in the wash; it is not a membrane, and the Bedsure cotton-top pad publishes a TPU barrier.

3

The heaviest published fabric in the range

Beautyrest Reversible Heated Blanket, Queen

Beautyrest Reversible Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$136.73 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

The same twenty settings and 85-105 F range as the plush queen, in a plush-over-sherpa build with both fabric weights published. OEKO-TEX rather than a UL mark.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. The listing states 200 GSM plush over 220 GSM sherpa, twenty heat settings and an 85-105 F range, but no rated draw.

Size
Queen, 90" x 84"
Heat settings
20 levels, 85-105 F
Auto shut-off
10 hours
Controllers
2 on queen and larger; 1 on twin and full
Certification
OEKO-TEX certified; listing states it exceeds UL requirements
Warranty
5-year limited warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Temperature range
85-105 F, ambient-dependent
Fabric
200 GSM plush / 220 GSM sherpa
Model
BR54-0418

What it does well

  • Both fabric weights published, 200 GSM plush and 220 GSM sherpa
  • Twenty heat settings and a published temperature range
  • Two controllers at queen size
  • 5-year limited warranty stated
  • Reversible, with a sherpa side

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • The listing says it exceeds UL requirements rather than stating a UL certification, which is not the same claim
  • A fixed 10-hour shut-off rather than a selectable range
  • 105 F maximum

Who this is forSomeone who wants a thicker, two-sided blanket and cares about fabric weight more than shut-off flexibility.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want a safety certification stated plainly. The plush Beautyrest queen says UL certified; this one says it exceeds UL requirements, which is a different and weaker claim.

4

A pad that stays on the bed all year

Beautyrest Cool to Touch Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Beautyrest Cool to Touch Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$84.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

The same five settings, preheat, cords and dual zones as the Scotchgard pad, on an olefin surface sold as cool to the touch. Half the stated weight.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. The listing states five heat settings, dual zones, both cord lengths and a cool-to-touch olefin surface, but no rated draw.

Size
Queen, 60" x 80" plus 15" depth, fits up to 18"
Heat settings
5 levels
Auto shut-off
10 hours
Controllers
2 (dual zone on queen and larger)
Certification
UL certified, per the listing
Warranty
5-year warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Surface
Olefin, stated as cool to the touch
Cords
12 ft controller cord, 6 ft power cord
Preheat
1-hour preheat stated
Model
BR55-4074

What it does well

  • An all-season surface, so the pad does not have to come off in summer
  • 12-foot controller cord and 6-foot power cord published
  • Dual zones with two controllers at queen size
  • UL certified and a 5-year warranty, both stated
  • Listed at 3.82 lb against 8 lb for the Scotchgard pad

Where it falls short

  • Five heat settings only
  • No published wattage
  • Cool to the touch is a fabric claim we cannot measure, and no figure accompanies it
  • A fixed 10-hour shut-off

Who this is forSomeone who does not want to strip and store a heated pad every spring.

Skip it ifSkip it if heat is the whole point. A surface sold on feeling cool is a trade against warmth, and five settings leave little room at the top.

5

The gentlest heat and a 5-year warranty

Beautyrest Reversible Heated Throw

Beautyrest Reversible Heated Throw

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$42.36 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

Three heat settings and a stated 85-105 F range, which is deliberately mild. Five-year warranty and OEKO-TEX certification.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Beautyrest publishes a temperature range (85-105 F, depending on ambient temperature) and a count of safety tests, but no watt figure.

Size
50" x 60"
Heat settings
3 levels, 85-105 F
Auto shut-off
2 hours
Controllers
1
Certification
OEKO-TEX certified; 78 independent safety tests stated by the brand
Warranty
5-year warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Temperature range
85-105 F, ambient-dependent
Fabric
200 GSM plush / 220 GSM sherpa
Model
BR54-4848

What it does well

  • 5-year warranty
  • Publishes its temperature range honestly, including the ambient caveat
  • OEKO-TEX certified for the textile itself
  • Warm without power thanks to the weight of the fabric

Where it falls short

  • Three heat settings only
  • 105 F at the top is the mildest here
  • No published wattage

Who this is forSomeone who finds most heated throws too hot, or is buying for a household where a gentler maximum is the point.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want serious heat. Three settings topping out at 105 F is a warm lap, not a hot one.

6

The clearest low-EMF claim on the shelf

Beautyrest Wearable Electric Poncho Wrap

Beautyrest Wearable Electric Poncho Wrap

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$48.14 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

The only product here whose low-EMF claim is tied to a named certification, and it is wearable, which is why it works at a desk.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. The EMF claim is unusually specific for this category, "100% UL certified and engineered to emit virtually no EMF radiation", but "virtually no" is still not a measured figure, and we say so on the [EMF page](/safety/emf-and-health).

Size
50" x 64" poncho
Heat settings
3 levels
Auto shut-off
2 hours
Controllers
1
Certification
UL certified and OEKO-TEX, per the listing
Warranty
5-year manufacturer warranty
Rated watts
Not published
EMF claim
UL certified, "engineered to emit virtually no EMF radiation"
Cords
6 ft power cord, 3 ft controller cord
Model
BR54-0898

What it does well

  • Wearable, so it stays on your shoulders while you work
  • 5-year warranty
  • Both UL and OEKO-TEX named on the listing
  • 2-hour auto shut-off suits desk use

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • The EMF claim is qualitative ("virtually no"), not a measurement
  • Three heat settings

Who this is forWorking at a cold desk, or anyone who wants their hands free while staying warm.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want to sleep under it. A 2-hour auto-off and a poncho cut are built for sitting up, not lying down.

How we ranked these

  • Stated warranty first, because it is the thing Beautyrest publishes on every product and the reason to choose the brand over its competitors.
  • Then the safety mark, read exactly as worded. Beautyrest's listings say UL certified on some products and exceeds UL requirements on others. Those are different claims and we rank on the stronger one.
  • Then controls: heat settings, preheat and the shut-off range, which vary more inside this range than inside any other brand we track.
  • Not ranked on wattage, because Beautyrest publishes none, or on warmth, because we have not handled any of these.

We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.

What Beautyrest publishes, product by product

The Beautyrest range we track, as each listing states it
The Beautyrest range we track, as each listing states it
ProductHeat settingsTemperatureShut-offSafety claimWarranty
Heated blanket, queen2085-105 F1-10 h, selectableUL certified5 years
Reversible blanket, queen2085-105 F10 hExceeds UL requirements; OEKO-TEX5 years
Scotchgard mattress pad, queen5Not stated10 hUL certified5 years
Cool to touch mattress pad, queen5Not stated10 hUL certified5 years
Reversible heated throw385-105 F2 hExceeds UL requirements; OEKO-TEX5 years
Wearable poncho wrap3Not stated2 hUL certified; OEKO-TEX5 years
Rated wattage, all sixNot published

Quoted from each listing's own feature bullets and manufacturer data, read through the Amazon Creators API on 2026-09-17. Where a cell says not stated, the listing does not give it.

Five years in writing, on everything

Warranty terms are the most unevenly published specification in this category. Bedsure states none on any of its eight products. Sunbeam states one on two of five. Sealy and Westinghouse state five years on some products and nothing on others. Beautyrest states five years on all six.

That matters more for heated bedding than for most things you buy, because the main failure mode is invisible. Element insulation cracks with years of flexing, and the blanket keeps working normally until it does not. A warranty term is the period the maker will stand behind a fault you cannot inspect, and five years is the longest term any brand in our set publishes. More on why that matters on how long do electric blankets last.

The mildest heat in the category, by design

Beautyrest publishes the same range on all three products that state one: 85 to 105 F, with a caveat on every listing that the delivered temperature varies with the ambient temperature of the room. That caveat is honest and unusual. It is also the lowest published ceiling of any product we track.

Published temperature ceilings across the brands that state one
Published temperature ceilings across the brands that state one
Brand and productPublished range
Beautyrest blankets and throw85-105 F
Sealy throw and wearable95-113 F
Homemate throw86-122 F
Sealy twin blanket87-126 F

From each maker's listing. Normal skin temperature is around 91 F and a warm bath about 100 F, so a 105 F ceiling is warm rather than hot.

Whether that is a strength depends entirely on who is under it. For anyone who runs hot, shares a bed with someone who does, or is buying for a household where a gentle maximum is the point, it is the right ceiling. For anyone who wants a properly hot bed on a cold night, it is the wrong brand, and the hotter published ranges are on the best heated throws.

UL certified, or exceeds UL requirements? Read the wording

This is the detail on Beautyrest listings most worth slowing down for. Four products say UL certified: the plush queen, both mattress pads and the poncho. The reversible queen and the reversible throw say instead that they exceed UL requirements, and pair that with OEKO-TEX.

A certification is a third-party mark: a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory tested the product against UL 964, the US standard for heated bedding. A statement that a product exceeds the requirements is the maker's own description of its testing. It may well be true. It is not the same claim, and on a safety specification the difference is worth a line in the buying decision. OEKO-TEX is a textile chemistry certification — it tells you about what is in the fabric and nothing about electrical safety. What each mark means is on what the certification marks mean.

The recall claim, checked

Five of the six Beautyrest listings in our set open with the same line: an American company with more than sixteen years of experience and zero product recalls, whose products each undergo 78 independent safety tests.

We checked the recall part against the CPSC recall database on 2026-09-17. No heated-bedding recall under the Beautyrest name appears on the record. The only Beautyrest-named notice in the database is a 2020 recall of the Beautyrest Beginnings Incline Sleeper, an infant sleeper imported by Delta Enterprise Corp. — a different company using the licensed name on a different product. The claim holds for heated bedding.

Two things are worth knowing alongside that. First, Beautyrest is a licensed name: the manufacturer field on the reversible throw's listing names E&E Co. Ltd DBA JLA Home, which is the company actually behind the heated bedding. Second, the 78 safety tests are a count the brand states about its own program, in the same way Bedsure states 74. A self-reported test count is more information than most brands give and is not independent verification. The full category recall record is on heated blanket recalls.

Controls vary more than in any other range

Most brands use one controller design across their line. Beautyrest does not, and the spread is wide enough to decide which product you buy.

  • Twenty heat settings on both queen blankets — the finest granularity of any product we track, where Sunbeam gives twelve and Bedsure six.
  • Five heat settings on both mattress pads, against ten or twelve on most competing pads.
  • Three heat settings on the throw and the poncho.
  • A 1-hour preheat on the plush queen and both pads, stated as a feature. That is the right way to use a heated pad and it is worth having in writing.
  • Shut-off ceilings of 10 hours on the bed products and 2 hours on the throw and poncho — among the shortest in our set, which suits a sofa and not a night.

The plush queen and both pads also state that they work with smart home outlets and plug-in timers. That is a genuinely practical line for anyone who wants the bed preheated on a schedule.

Where each pick is the wrong buy

  • Plush queen — twenty settings and a UL mark, capped at 105 F. Wrong for anyone who wants real heat, and it cannot be costed.
  • Scotchgard mattress pad — 18 feet of published cord and a UL mark, with only five heat settings. Scotchgard helps stains release in the wash; it is not a waterproof barrier.
  • Reversible queen — the heaviest published fabric in the range, and the one bed blanket that says exceeds UL requirements rather than UL certified.
  • Cool to touch pad — an all-season surface that can stay on the bed in summer, which is a trade against warmth. Cool to the touch is a claim with no figure attached.
  • Reversible throw — three settings and a 2-hour shut-off, for a lap on a sofa rather than a bed.
  • Poncho wrap — hands-free and UL certified, with the same three settings and 2-hour limit.

We have not slept under, sat under or worn any of these. Everything above is quoted from what Beautyrest publishes and checked against the CPSC database, which is the whole method and is set out on our methodology page.

Questions people actually ask

Are Beautyrest heated blankets any good?
We cannot answer that on build quality, because we have not handled one. What we can say is that Beautyrest states a 5-year warranty on every one of the six products we track, which no other brand in our set does, and that its blankets publish a delivered temperature range. None publishes a wattage.
How hot does a Beautyrest heated blanket get?
Beautyrest publishes 85 to 105 F on its queen blankets and its reversible throw, and notes on each listing that the delivered temperature varies with room temperature. 105 F is the lowest published ceiling of any product we track.
Have Beautyrest heated blankets been recalled?
No heated-bedding recall under the Beautyrest name appears in the CPSC recall database as of 2026-09-17. The only Beautyrest-named notice is a 2020 recall of the Beautyrest Beginnings Incline Sleeper, an infant product from a different company that licenses the name.
What is the warranty on Beautyrest heated blankets?
Five years on every Beautyrest heated product we track: both queen blankets, both mattress pads, the reversible throw and the poncho. The queen blankets describe it as a 5-year limited warranty.
How many watts does a Beautyrest heated blanket use?
Beautyrest publishes no rated wattage on any of the six products we track, so no honest running-cost figure exists for them. If that number decides your purchase, Bedsure publishes one on every product.
Who makes Beautyrest heated blankets?
Beautyrest is a licensed brand name. The manufacturer field on the Beautyrest reversible throw's listing names E&E Co. Ltd DBA JLA Home.

Sources

Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.