Skip to content
Wool Watt

Electric blankets / Roundup

How hot does a heated blanket get?

Ten products in our registry publish a delivered temperature range. Here is the whole ledger, what each setting is worth in degrees, and the one thing nobody states.

By Scooter M.Updated October 23, 2026Scooter M. reads the manuals, compiles the published specs, and shows the arithmetic.

We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

A close view of white bedding folded on a bed

Across every listing we track, published delivered temperatures run from 85 F at the bottom to 126 F at the top - and only 10 of 68 products publish a figure at all. The hottest stated ceiling is the Sealy twin blanket at 87-126 F; the mildest is Beautyrest at 85-105 F, the same band on all three of its products that state one. Every maker that publishes a range also says it varies with room temperature.

The picks, with the numbers

Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.

Heated blanket picks compared by published wattage and computed cost per night
#ProductBest forWattsPer nightPrice
1
Sealy Electric Blanket, Twin
Top pickSealy Electric Blanket, TwinOne of the very few listings in this category that publishes the temperature its settings actually deliver: 87 to 126 F.
A stated temperature rangeNot publishedUncomputable$79.99 - See it on Amazon
2
Beautyrest Heated Blanket, Queen
Beautyrest Heated Blanket, QueenTwenty heat settings, a published 85-105 F range, a 1-hour preheat, a 1-10 hour selectable shut-off, a UL mark and five years in writing. No wattage.
The finest heat control and a 5-year warrantyNot publishedUncomputable$90.30 - See it on Amazon
3
Sealy Heated Throw
Sealy Heated ThrowPublishes the temperature its settings reach, 95 to 113 F, which is rarer than a wattage and more useful than a marketing adjective.
A published temperature rangeNot publishedUncomputable$43.99 - See it on Amazon
4
MAXEVE Faux Rabbit Fur Heated Throw
MAXEVE Faux Rabbit Fur Heated ThrowEight heat levels stated as 86-113 F, UL and FCC, Oeko-Tex on the fabric and a 19-foot power cord. It also claims to resist shedding, which is the complaint about this fabric.
A published temperature range and a very long cordNot publishedUncomputable$39.99 - See it on Amazon
5
Drewin Heated Weighted Blanket, 15 lb
Drewin Heated Weighted Blanket, 15 lbFour heat levels stated as 95-105 F with an overheat cutoff at 105 F. Also the shortest timer here: two hours, fixed at startup.
A published temperature rangeNot publishedUncomputable$89.99 - See it on Amazon

Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.

#ad how we are funded - price as of November 2, 2026

1

A stated temperature range

Sealy Electric Blanket, Twin

Sealy Electric Blanket, Twin

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$79.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of November 2, 2026

One of the very few listings in this category that publishes the temperature its settings actually deliver: 87 to 126 F.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Sealy does, unusually, publish the temperature range the ten settings cover (87-126 F), which is a different and genuinely useful number, but it is not a figure you can compute a bill from.

Size
Twin, 62" x 84"
Heat settings
10 levels, 87-126 F
Auto shut-off
Stated on the controller
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
5-year warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Temperature range
87-126 F across 10 settings
Fabric
100% polyester, flannel and sherpa
Model
KTHB-QATVS-T

What it does well

  • Publishes the actual temperature range, which almost nobody does
  • 5-year warranty
  • Continuous temperature sensing named in the listing
  • ETL and FCC certified

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Strict wash rules: slow agitation, low spin, no dry clean, no bleach
  • The "lower electro magnetic radiation" claim is not quantified anywhere

Who this is forA single sleeper who wants to know how hot the top setting actually gets, in degrees.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want a running-cost figure. A temperature range is not a wattage and cannot be converted into one.

2

The finest heat control and a 5-year warranty

Beautyrest Heated Blanket, Queen

Beautyrest Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$90.30 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of November 2, 2026

Twenty heat settings, a published 85-105 F range, a 1-hour preheat, a 1-10 hour selectable shut-off, a UL mark and five years in writing. No wattage.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. The listing states a delivered temperature range, 85 to 105 F depending on ambient room temperature, and twenty heat settings, but no rated draw.

Size
Queen, 90" x 84"
Heat settings
20 levels, 85-105 F
Auto shut-off
1-10 hours, selectable
Controllers
2 on queen and larger; 1 on twin and full
Certification
UL certified, per the listing
Warranty
5-year limited warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Temperature range
85-105 F, ambient-dependent
Preheat
1-hour preheat stated
Smart home
Stated compatible with smart outlets and plug-in timers
Model
BR54-0523

What it does well

  • Twenty heat settings, the finest granularity of any product we track
  • Publishes a delivered temperature range, with the ambient caveat
  • 1-hour preheat and a selectable 1-10 hour shut-off
  • UL certified and a 5-year limited warranty, both stated
  • Two controllers at queen size

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage, so it cannot be costed
  • 105 F at the top is a mild ceiling for anyone who wants real heat
  • A 10-hour shut-off ceiling ends earlier than the 12 hours many competitors offer

Who this is forA couple who adjust the setting often and want a warranty term and a safety mark in writing.

Skip it ifSkip it if you run hot or want the bed properly warm. A 105 F maximum is deliberately gentle, and Homemate and Sealy publish hotter ceilings.

3

A published temperature range

Sealy Heated Throw

Sealy Heated Throw

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$43.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of November 2, 2026

Publishes the temperature its settings reach, 95 to 113 F, which is rarer than a wattage and more useful than a marketing adjective.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Sealy does publish the delivered temperature range (95-113 F), which is a genuinely useful spec almost no competitor states, but it cannot be converted into a running cost.

Size
50" x 60"
Heat settings
6 levels, 95-113 F
Auto shut-off
2-10 hours
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Temperature range
95-113 F
Fabric
280 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
Model
KTHT-QBHVS-W

What it does well

  • Publishes the actual delivered temperature range
  • 280 GSM flannel is the heaviest single face here
  • Detachable controller cord for washing
  • ETL and FCC certified

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Top setting of 113 F is cooler than several rivals reach
  • No warranty term stated

Who this is forSomeone who wants to know how warm it actually gets before buying, and is happy with a gentle top end.

Skip it ifSkip it if you like a genuinely hot throw. 113 F at the top is mild next to blankets that reach into the 120s.

4

A published temperature range and a very long cord

MAXEVE Faux Rabbit Fur Heated Throw

MAXEVE Faux Rabbit Fur Heated Throw

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$39.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of November 2, 2026

Eight heat levels stated as 86-113 F, UL and FCC, Oeko-Tex on the fabric and a 19-foot power cord. It also claims to resist shedding, which is the complaint about this fabric.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. The listing does publish a delivered temperature range of 86-113 F, which only a handful of products in our registry do.

Size
Throw, 50" x 60"
Heat settings
8 levels, 86-113 F
Auto shut-off
1-8 hours
Controllers
1, with an LCD display
Certification
UL and FCC certified; Oeko-Tex on the fabric
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Temperature range
86-113 F, stated
Face fabric
380 GSM faux rabbit fur
Backing
220 GSM sherpa
Cord
19 feet
Model
ETMink-TH-Grey01

What it does well

  • Publishes a delivered temperature range, which most faux fur listings do not
  • UL and FCC named, plus an Oeko-Tex claim on the textile
  • A 19-foot power cord, the longest we have recorded
  • Eight heat levels on an LCD controller

Where it falls short

  • No rated wattage and no warranty term
  • 113 F at the top is mild next to the 122 F some blankets state
  • The shedding-resistance claim is the maker's own and carries no test behind it
  • An unfamiliar brand with no published model history

Who this is forSomeone whose outlet is nowhere near the sofa, and who wants the temperature stated in degrees.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want serious heat. Eight levels that top out at 113 F is a warm lap rather than a hot one.

5

A published temperature range

Drewin Heated Weighted Blanket, 15 lb

Drewin Heated Weighted Blanket, 15 lb

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$89.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of November 2, 2026

Four heat levels stated as 95-105 F with an overheat cutoff at 105 F. Also the shortest timer here: two hours, fixed at startup.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Drewin publishes a delivered temperature range of 95-105 F and an overheat cutoff at 105 F, which is more than most of this format states, but no rated draw.

Size
48" x 72", 15 lb of ceramic beads
Heat settings
4 levels, 95-105 F
Auto shut-off
2 hours, the default at startup
Controllers
1, detachable
Certification
Not named on the listing
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Temperature range
95-105 F, stated
Overheat cutoff
Stops heating at 105 F, stated
Fill
15 lb ceramic beads, 8-layer construction
Washing
Commercial machine wash or spot clean, the maker's own instruction

What it does well

  • Publishes a delivered temperature range, which most of this format does not
  • States the overheat cutoff as a number rather than as a feature word
  • Edge stitching stated, to keep the beads from migrating
  • Detachable controller for washing

Where it falls short

  • Two hours is the shortest auto shut-off in this format
  • 105 F at the top is mild if heat is the main thing you want
  • No rated wattage, no certification named and no warranty term
  • The maker itself points you at a commercial washer

Who this is forSomeone using it to fall asleep under rather than to stay warm all night, who wants the temperature stated in degrees.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want the bed warm at 3am. A two-hour ceiling is a deliberate design choice and it is the wrong one for overnight heat.

How we ranked these

  • Does the maker publish a delivered temperature range at all? Ten of the 68 products in our registry do. Fifty-eight do not, and no amount of inference turns a missing figure into a known one.
  • How wide is the band, and how many settings cover it? Dividing one by the other gives the degrees per step - the closest thing to a resolution figure this category has.
  • Then the usual checkable specs: certification, shut-off, warranty and published wattage.
  • Not ranked on how hot any of them feels. We have not handled these, and a surface temperature we did not measure is not a number we will print.

We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.

The full temperature ledger

This is every product in our registry whose maker publishes a delivered temperature. The last column is arithmetic, not a published figure, and the note under the table says exactly what it assumes.

Published delivered temperature ranges, and what one setting is worth
Published delivered temperature ranges, and what one setting is worth
ProductPublished rangeSettingsBandDegrees per step
Sealy twin blanket87-126 F1039 F~4.3 F
Homemate throw86-122 F1036 F~4.0 F
MAXEVE faux rabbit throw86-113 F827 F~3.9 F
Sealy heated throw95-113 F618 F~3.6 F
Sealy wearable, foot pocket95-113 F618 F~3.6 F
Drewin weighted blanket, 15 lb95-105 F410 F~3.3 F
Beautyrest heated throw85-105 F320 F~10 F
Beautyrest queen blanket85-105 F2020 F~1.1 F
Beautyrest reversible queen85-105 F2020 F~1.1 F
Garvee weighted blanket, 15 lbUp to 122 F, no floor stated10Not computableNot computable
The other 58 productsNot published---

Ranges quoted from each maker's own listing, checked 2026-08-31 and re-verified 2026-10-23. The last two columns are our arithmetic on those published figures and assume the settings are evenly spaced across the band - no maker states that they are. Treat degrees per step as a comparison between products, not as a reading you will see on a thermometer.

More heat settings is not a marketing number

The ledger makes a point that listings never do. Two products can publish the same temperature band and give you completely different control over it.

Beautyrest's queen blanket and Beautyrest's sherpa throw both state 85 to 105 F. The blanket spreads that across twenty settings and the throw across three. On the blanket a step is roughly one degree; on the throw it is roughly ten. Same brand, same band, and a tenfold difference in how finely you can set it.

The same comparison across brands is just as stark. The Sealy twin covers thirty-nine degrees in ten steps, about four degrees each. That is a blanket built to go genuinely hot, with coarse control. The Beautyrest queen is built to go mildly warm, with fine control. Neither is better. They are different products and the numbers say so before you buy.

What 105 F and 126 F mean in practice

We are going to be careful here, because this is where most publishers start inventing. We have not measured any of these products, so what follows is about the published numbers themselves and the makers' own caveats.

The band across the whole category is 41 degrees wide, from Beautyrest's 85 F floor to Sealy's 126 F ceiling. That is an enormous spread for products sold as the same thing. A Beautyrest at its hottest setting is cooler than a Sealy twin at roughly its halfway point. If you have used one heated blanket and found it underwhelming, or alarming, the explanation may simply be which end of that 41-degree spread it was built for.

Every maker that publishes a figure also hedges it. Beautyrest states on each listing that the range varies based on current ambient room temperature. That caveat is honest and it is also doing a lot of work: a blanket in a 55 F bedroom and the same blanket in a 70 F bedroom are not delivering the same thing at the same setting.

The thing nobody publishes

Where the temperature is measured. Not one listing in our set says whether 105 F is the element, the inside face of the fabric, the outside face, or the air under the blanket. Those are four different numbers and the difference between them is not small.

That is why we compare these figures against each other rather than against your skin. Sealy's 126 F is meaningfully hotter than Beautyrest's 105 F, because both are measuring in whatever way their own brand measures and the gap is 21 degrees. What neither tells you is the temperature at the surface you will actually be touching.

Nor does any maker publish a duty cycle. Every thermostatic blanket here cycles its element off once the bed is warm, and the published ceiling is what it reaches before that happens, not what it holds all night. We label published wattages as ceilings for the same reason.

If you run hot, or share a bed with someone who does

The ledger is genuinely useful here, because it lets you buy a mild ceiling on purpose. Beautyrest publishes the lowest in the category at 105 F, on its queen blanket, its reversible queen and its sherpa throw. A product that cannot go above 105 F is a different proposition from one that can reach 126 F and relies on you choosing not to.

The other route is two controllers rather than a lower ceiling, so each side of the bed sets its own temperature. Which of those two approaches is the right one is the whole argument on dual control or single control, and the dual-control picks themselves are on dual control electric blankets.

Temperature is not the same question as safety

A high published ceiling is not in itself a hazard: every product here is thermostatic and certified, and the Sealy twin that states 126 F also states ETL and FCC and a five-year warranty. The incidents that actually happen in this category are about folded blankets, covered controllers and damaged wiring rather than about a high setting - the detail is on what actually goes wrong.

Where the ceiling does matter is for people who cannot reliably feel heat or move away from it. That is a real exclusion list and it is on who should not use an electric blanket, which is the page to read before buying for someone else.

Questions people actually ask

How hot does a heated blanket get?
Published ranges across our registry run from 85 F to 126 F. The hottest stated ceiling is the Sealy twin blanket at 87-126 F and the mildest is Beautyrest at 85-105 F. Only ten of the 68 products we track publish any figure at all.
Which heated blanket has the mildest heat?
Beautyrest. All three of its products that state a range publish the same 85 to 105 F band, which is the lowest ceiling anyone in our set publishes. It is the right choice if you run hot or are buying for a household where a gentle maximum is the point.
Which heated blanket gets the hottest?
Of the products that publish a figure, the Sealy twin blanket, at 87 to 126 F across ten settings. No other product in our registry states a ceiling above 122 F.
How many degrees is one heat setting?
It depends entirely on the product. The Beautyrest queen covers a 20-degree band in 20 settings, which is about one degree per step. The Sealy twin covers 39 degrees in 10 settings, about four degrees per step. That is our arithmetic on their published figures, and it assumes evenly spaced steps, which no maker confirms.
Do electric blankets get hot enough to burn you?
The published ceilings in our set top out at 126 F, and every product is thermostatic with an auto shut-off. The real risk is not the setting but prolonged contact by someone who cannot feel heat or move away from it, which is why the exclusion list on our safety pages matters more than the number does.
Why do most heated blankets not publish a temperature?
We do not know, and we are not going to guess. What we can report is the pattern: 58 of the 68 products we track publish nothing, including every Bedsure, every Sunbeam and every Westinghouse product in our registry. Bedsure publishes a wattage instead; Sunbeam publishes neither.

Sources

Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.