Head to head / Compare
Dual control or single control?
The second controller costs you money, a second cable and a second thing to detach before washing. Here is when it is worth it and when it is not.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

If you sleep alone, buy single control. The second controller is a second cable run, a second plug and a second module to detach before washing, for a zone you will never set separately - and the single-control Westinghouse flannel queen publishes 100 W, the lowest rated draw of any bed blanket we track. If two people share the bed and disagree about heat, buy dual control, and the Bedsure GentleSoft queen is the pick at a published dual 110 W. Bed size does not decide this. Who is in the bed does.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickWestinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all. | The lowest published draw | 100 W | 15 cents | $105.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 2 | Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, QueenThe only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers. | Two sleepers who argue about heat | 220 W | 32 cents | $99.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 3 | Sunbeam Royal Posh Velvet Heated Blanket, QueenTwelve settings, a backlit display you can read at night, and the one thing no other Sunbeam blanket listing gives you: a stated 5-year warranty. | The only Sunbeam with a published warranty | Not published | Uncomputable | $93.17 - See it on Amazon |
| 4 | Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual ControlTen heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published. | The longest warranty on a dual control | Not published | Uncomputable | $109.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 5 | Sealy Electric Blanket, TwinOne of the very few listings in this category that publishes the temperature its settings actually deliver: 87 to 126 F. | A stated temperature range | Not published | Uncomputable | $79.99 - See it on Amazon |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - price as of November 2, 2026
The lowest published draw
Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage
100 W
8 hours costs
15 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of November 2, 2026
100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all.
Where the wattage comes fromWestinghouse states it directly in the first listing bullet: "a 100W, 60Hz heating blanket". This is a single-controller queen, so 100 W is the whole blanket rather than one side of it.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- Double-layer 200 GSM flannel
- Memory
- Yes, holds your last heat level
- Model
- KTHB-QAVV-Q
What it does well
- 100 W published, the lowest figure any queen here stands behind
- 10 heat levels and a timer selectable to any hour up to 12
- Memory function, so you are not resetting it every night
- Machine washable on cold, gentle
Where it falls short
- One controller only, so the whole bed runs at one temperature
- No warranty term on the listing
- Westinghouse's other queen listings do not publish a wattage, so the figure is model-specific
Who this is forA solo sleeper, or a couple who genuinely agree on temperature and want the lowest running cost on the page.
Skip it ifSkip it if you share a bed with someone who runs hot. There is one controller and no way to split the blanket.
Two sleepers who argue about heat
Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage
220 W
8 hours costs
32 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of November 2, 2026
The only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure's listing states the blanket runs on 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 110W controllers. Two controllers at 110W each is 220W with both sides at full, or 110W if only one side is on, which is how most couples actually use it.
220 W x 8 h = 1.76 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.32 per night
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 8 hours (6 timer settings, 1-2-4-6-8-10h)
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 220 W (dual 110 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 240 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
- Model
- BS-400B-S
What it does well
- Publishes a wattage, which almost nothing else in the category does
- Two controllers, so one side of the bed can run cold
- ETL and FCC certified with an 8-hour default auto shut-off
- Preheat cycle steps itself down instead of holding full heat all night
Where it falls short
- 6 heat levels where Sunbeam and Sealy give 10 to 12
- No warranty term on the listing
- 220 W with both sides up is the highest published draw of any bed blanket here
Who this is forCouples with different thermostats, and anyone who wants to know what the thing actually draws before buying it.
Skip it ifSkip it if you sleep alone. You are paying for a second controller you will never plug in, and the single-control Westinghouse publishes a lower 100 W.
The only Sunbeam with a published warranty
Sunbeam Royal Posh Velvet Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of November 2, 2026
Twelve settings, a backlit display you can read at night, and the one thing no other Sunbeam blanket listing gives you: a stated 5-year warranty.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published, consistent with every Sunbeam heated-bedding listing we have checked. We looked at the bullets, the technical details table and the product page on 2026-09-07 and found no figure.
- Size
- Queen, 90" x 84"
- Heat settings
- 12 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- Not stated on the listing
- Warranty
- Limited 5 years
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- Royal Posh Velvet, 100% polyester
- Display
- LED backlit blue, readable at night
- Model number
- 32810117
What it does well
- A stated 5-year limited warranty, which Sunbeam's other blanket listings do not give
- 12 heat settings, the finest granularity in the category
- Backlit blue display you can actually read at 3am
- 12-hour selectable auto shut-off and overheat protection
Where it falls short
- No published wattage, so the running cost cannot be computed
- No certification named in the listing copy
- One controller on a queen, so the whole bed runs at one temperature
Who this is forSomeone who wants the Sunbeam controller and a warranty term in writing before they buy.
Skip it ifSkip it if you share the bed and disagree about temperature. It is single control, and no number of heat settings fixes that.
The longest warranty on a dual control
Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual Control

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of November 2, 2026
Ten heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published.
Where the wattage comes fromSealy publishes no wattage for this model. Every Sealy listing we checked in this category, across blankets, throws and mattress pads, states certifications and cord lengths but never a watt figure.
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- 5-year warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 200 GSM double-layer flannel
- Total cord length
- 19 ft (power cord plus controller cord)
- Memory
- Yes, recalls last level and timer
- Model
- KTHB-QATVV-Q
What it does well
- 5-year warranty, the longest stated term of any bed blanket here
- Dual control with 10 levels each
- 19 ft of cord reaches an outlet that is not next to the bed
- ETL and FCC certified with overheat protection
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Flannel on both sides, so no sherpa face if you want the plusher side
- Wash rules are strict: slow agitation, low spin, no dry clean, no bleach
Who this is forCouples who want a long warranty and enough cord to reach a real outlet, and who are not deciding on running cost.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want to know the running cost before you buy. Sealy publishes nothing for this blanket you could compute one from.
A stated temperature range
Sealy Electric Blanket, Twin

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of November 2, 2026
One of the very few listings in this category that publishes the temperature its settings actually deliver: 87 to 126 F.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Sealy does, unusually, publish the temperature range the ten settings cover (87-126 F), which is a different and genuinely useful number, but it is not a figure you can compute a bill from.
- Size
- Twin, 62" x 84"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels, 87-126 F
- Auto shut-off
- Stated on the controller
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- 5-year warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Temperature range
- 87-126 F across 10 settings
- Fabric
- 100% polyester, flannel and sherpa
- Model
- KTHB-QATVS-T
What it does well
- Publishes the actual temperature range, which almost nobody does
- 5-year warranty
- Continuous temperature sensing named in the listing
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Strict wash rules: slow agitation, low spin, no dry clean, no bleach
- The "lower electro magnetic radiation" claim is not quantified anywhere
Who this is forA single sleeper who wants to know how hot the top setting actually gets, in degrees.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want a running-cost figure. A temperature range is not a wattage and cannot be converted into one.
How we ranked these
- Who is in the bed decides this, not the bed size. Everything below follows from that.
- Published wattage first, because a dual-control blanket's headline figure is usually the sum of two controllers and that is the number most people get wrong.
- Then warranty, certification and cord run, all taken from the maker's own listing.
- Not ranked on warmth or feel. We have not handled these.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
The short answer, in a table
| Single control | Dual control | |
|---|---|---|
| Zones | One, the whole blanket | Two, independent |
| Controllers to detach before washing | One | Two |
| Cables to route and plug in | One | Two |
| Lowest published draw in our set | 100 W (Westinghouse queen, whole blanket) | 110 W per side, 220 W both (Bedsure queen) |
| Available at twin | Yes, standard | Effectively no |
| Available at queen and king | Yes, from Westinghouse and Sunbeam | Yes, from most brands |
| Right for | One sleeper, or two who agree | Two sleepers who do not agree |
Wattages are the figures each maker publishes, checked 2026-10-23. Most brands publish none; the ledger of who does is on the watts, by model.
What the second controller actually costs to run
This is the part most comparisons get wrong, including some of ours if we were careless about it. A dual-control blanket's rated wattage is normally the sum of both controllers. Bedsure's queen is dual 110 W, which is 220 W with both sides at full and 110 W with one side running.
So the honest comparison is not 220 W against 100 W. It is this:
- Both of you using the heat. 220 W on the Bedsure, against 100 W for the whole Westinghouse. The dual-control blanket costs about double, and it is heating two zones to two temperatures, which is what you bought it for.
- One of you using the heat. 110 W on the Bedsure against 100 W on the Westinghouse. Almost identical. A couple where only one person wants heat pays roughly single-control money on a dual-control blanket.
- Sleeping alone on a dual-control blanket. Also 110 W, for a second zone you never switch on. You paid for a controller and a cable run you do not use, and you run 10 percent above the lowest published figure on the shelf.
| Run time | kWh | Cost | Working |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 hour | 0.11 | 2 cents | 110 x 1 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 4 hours (an evening) | 0.44 | 8 cents | 110 x 4 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 8 hours (a night) | 0.88 | 16 cents | 110 x 8 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 30 nights at 8 hours | 26.40 | $4.84 | 110 x 240 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| A 120-night winter at 8 hours | 105.60 | $19.37 | 110 x 960 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
Rate: US Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 (June 2026): 18.34 cents per kWh, average US residential. Retrieved 2026-08-31.
Rated wattage is the ceiling, not the average. A thermostatic blanket cycles its element on and off once the bed is warm, so an all-night bill usually lands below the rated-watt figure. We publish the rated number because it is the only one the maker stands behind, and we do not estimate a duty cycle for a blanket we have not measured.
Every rated wattage here is a ceiling rather than an average: a thermostatic blanket cycles its element off once the bed is warm. The arithmetic and its rate source are on what an electric blanket costs per night.
The case for dual control
There is one, and it is strong. Almost every complaint about a shared heated blanket resolves to the same sentence: one person is too hot. It is not a defect and no number of heat settings fixes it, because on a single-controller blanket every setting applies to the whole bed.
What happens in practice is that the blanket gets set to whatever the colder person can tolerate, which satisfies neither, and by February it is in a cupboard. A second controller costs more and adds a cable; it is also the difference between a blanket that stays on the bed and one that does not. The dual-control picks, with per-side wattage where it is published, are on dual control electric blankets.
The case for single control
Also strong, and much less often made, because nobody sells you a feature by leaving it out.
- Lower published draw. The Westinghouse queen's 100 W is the lowest figure any bed blanket in our registry stands behind, and it covers the whole 84 x 90 inches rather than half of it.
- One thing to detach before washing. The single most expensive mistake in this category is washing a blanket with the controller still attached. A dual-control blanket gives you two chances to make it, and forgetting the second is exactly as destructive as forgetting the first - see how to wash a heated blanket.
- One cable, one plug. Two controllers means two cords running to two sides of the bed and, on most models, two sockets. Sealy publishes a 19-foot total cord run on its dual-control queen, which tells you how much cable is involved.
- Simpler at the wall. If the only reachable outlet is on one side of the bed, a dual-control blanket is the harder product to install, not the easier one.
- Usually cheaper. Fewer electronics, lower price, in every pair we have compared at the same size.
Which sizes actually ship which
This is where orders go wrong, because several brands change the configuration by size under the same product name.
| Brand | Twin / full | Queen and larger |
|---|---|---|
| Biddeford | 1 controller | 2 controllers |
| Beautyrest | 1 controller | 2 controllers |
| Bedsure | 1 at full | 2 at queen and king |
| Serta | Not stated | 2 at queen and larger |
| Sealy | 1 at twin | 2 on the dual-control queen |
| Westinghouse | n/a in our set | 1, at queen and at king |
| Sunbeam | 1 at twin | Both, depending on the model |
From each maker's own listing, checked 2026-10-23. Of the seventeen bed-size blankets in our registry, nine ship two controllers, seven ship one, and one - the Sunbeam Royal Luxe queen - has a listing whose title says dual controllers while its feature bullets describe a single one.
Two things fall out of that table. Westinghouse is the only brand in our set that ships a single controller at king size, which is also why it is the brand that publishes the lowest draw. And dual control essentially does not exist below full: nobody sells it at twin, and if they did you should not buy it, because one person at one temperature is the entire scenario a twin bed describes.
Four questions that settle it
- 1Does anyone else sleep under it? No means single control, and the rest of these questions do not apply.
- 2Do you and your partner actually disagree about temperature? Plenty of couples do not. If you both want the same setting, you are paying for independence you will not use.
- 3Is there a reachable socket on both sides of the bed? Two controllers means two cords and usually two plugs. This decides more purchases than it should.
- 4Would a [heated mattress pad](/heated-mattress-pads/dual-control) be the better format? It offers the same dual-zone idea under the fitted sheet, it cannot slide off, and one of them publishes its wattage.
If you sleep alone, what to actually buy
Three single-control blankets are worth knowing about, and they answer different questions.
- The running cost. Westinghouse flannel queen, 100 W published, ETL and FCC, 10 levels, a 1 to 12 hour timer, 200 GSM flannel. No warranty term stated.
- The controller. Sunbeam Royal Posh Velvet queen, 12 heat settings and a backlit display you can read at 3am, plus the one stated warranty in Sunbeam's blanket range - five years. No wattage and no certification mark named.
- A single bed. Sealy twin, 62 x 84 inches, 10 settings over a published 87 to 126 F, ETL and FCC, five years. The widest published temperature band of anything we track.
And one caution that applies to all three: a single-control blanket on a bed that later becomes a shared bed is not upgradable. The controller is matched to the element it was certified with and a second one cannot be added, for the reasons on electric blanket controllers.
Questions people actually ask
- Do I need a dual control electric blanket?
- Only if someone else sleeps under it and wants a different temperature. If you sleep alone, or you and your partner agree on the setting, single control is the better buy - lower published draw, one cable, one controller to detach before washing, and usually a lower price.
- Does a dual control blanket use twice the electricity?
- Only with both sides running at full. Bedsure's dual 110 W queen is 220 W with both zones up and 110 W with one, so a couple where only one person uses the heat pays roughly what a single-control blanket costs.
- Can you buy a single control queen electric blanket?
- Yes. Westinghouse ships one controller on both its queen and its king, and Sunbeam's Royal Posh Velvet queen is single control. Most other brands make queen and larger dual control by default, so read the controller line rather than the size.
- Is there a dual control twin electric blanket?
- Not in our set, and it would not make sense. A twin bed holds one person, and dual control starts to matter at full and becomes close to essential on a shared queen or king.
- Can you use just one side of a dual control blanket?
- Yes - that is the point of it. Each controller drives its own zone independently, including being switched off entirely while the other side runs. On a published dual 110 W blanket that means you are drawing 110 W rather than 220.
- What is the difference between dual control and dual zone?
- Dual control means two separate controllers driving two independent zones. Dual zone is sometimes used for two heating areas driven from a single controller, which gives you no independence at all. Dual sided is a third thing entirely - two fabrics, one controller.
Sources
- Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket Queen (dual 110 W controllers) - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (checked 2026-10-23)
- Westinghouse Heated Blanket Queen (100 W, one controller) - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (checked 2026-10-23)
- Sealy Electric Blanket Queen Dual Control (19 ft total cord run, 5-year warranty) - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (checked 2026-10-23)
- US EIA, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3: average US residential electricity price, June 2026
Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.
Read next
- Dual control electric blanketsTwo controllers, two zones, and the per-side wattage where the maker publishes it.
- Westinghouse heated blanket review: the 100 W queen100 W published, 200 GSM flannel, a drying rule in writing, and no warranty term at all.
- What size heated blanket do you need?A queen blanket is 84 x 90. A queen pad is 60 x 80. The published numbers, size by size.
- Dual control heated mattress padsTwo zones under one sheet, and the size threshold where dual control starts.
- Electric blanket controllersMost of the manual is about this box, and it caused the biggest recall in the category.