Electric blankets / Roundup
Twin and full electric blankets
Single beds, guest rooms and dorms. Three blankets, and the surprise is that the full-size one draws more than either queen we recommend.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

The Bedsure full is the only one of the three that publishes a wattage: 130 W, about 19 cents for an eight-hour night. The Sealy twin publishes something rarer instead, a delivered temperature range of 87 to 126 F. The Sunbeam twin publishes 12 heat settings and nothing else you can compute with.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickBedsure Heated Blanket, Full130 W published, the highest single-controller figure on this site, on a blanket smaller than the queen. Worth knowing before you buy. | A full bed with a published number | 130 W | 19 cents | Check price |
| 2 | Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, TwinThe same 12-setting controller as Sunbeam's queen, on a twin. Same fine control, same missing wattage. | A twin bed or a guest room | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
| 3 | Sealy Electric Blanket, TwinOne of the very few listings in this category that publishes the temperature its settings actually deliver: 87 to 126 F. | A stated temperature range | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
A full bed with a published number
Bedsure Heated Blanket, Full
130 W published, the highest single-controller figure on this site, on a blanket smaller than the queen. Worth knowing before you buy.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states "a power rating of 130W" at 120V AC, 60Hz. It is a single-controller full, so 130W is the whole blanket. That it draws more than the same brand's 110W-per-side queen controller is a real quirk of the range, not an error on our part.
130 W x 8 h = 1.04 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.19 per night
- Size
- Full, 72" x 84"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Up to 10 hours (6 timer settings)
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified; Good Housekeeping Seal stated on the listing
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 130 W
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 220 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
- Model
- BS-100T
What it does well
- Publishes its wattage, so the running cost is computable
- Preheat cycle steps down instead of holding peak heat
- ETL and FCC certified
- Good Housekeeping Seal named on the listing
Where it falls short
- 130 W is the highest single-controller draw here
- 6 heat levels
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forA full-size bed, one sleeper, someone who wants the number rather than the marketing.
Skip it ifSkip it if running cost is what you are optimizing. The 100 W Westinghouse queen covers more bed for less draw.
A twin bed or a guest room
Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, Twin
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
The same 12-setting controller as Sunbeam's queen, on a twin. Same fine control, same missing wattage.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published for the twin, exactly as with Sunbeam's queen and king. The omission is consistent across the brand's heated-bedding range.
- Size
- Twin, 62" x 84"
- Heat settings
- 12 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 12 hours
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- Not stated on the listing
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 100% polyester fleece
- Controller
- Digital, dims after 10 seconds
- Model number
- 32810026
What it does well
- 12 heat settings on a twin, which is unusual at this size
- 12-hour auto shut-off and overheat protection
- Dimming controller for a bedside table
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- No certification named
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forA single bed, a guest room, or a dorm.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want a certification named in writing. The listing does not state one.
A stated temperature range
Sealy Electric Blanket, Twin
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
One of the very few listings in this category that publishes the temperature its settings actually deliver: 87 to 126 F.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Sealy does, unusually, publish the temperature range the ten settings cover (87-126 F), which is a different and genuinely useful number, but it is not a figure you can compute a bill from.
- Size
- Twin, 62" x 84"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels, 87-126 F
- Auto shut-off
- Stated on the controller
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- 5-year warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Temperature range
- 87-126 F across 10 settings
- Fabric
- 100% polyester, flannel and sherpa
- Model
- KTHB-QATVS-T
What it does well
- Publishes the actual temperature range, which almost nobody does
- 5-year warranty
- Continuous temperature sensing named in the listing
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Strict wash rules: slow agitation, low spin, no dry clean, no bleach
- The "lower electro magnetic radiation" claim is not quantified anywhere
Who this is forA single sleeper who wants to know how hot the top setting actually gets, in degrees.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want a running-cost figure. A temperature range is not a wattage and cannot be converted into one.
How we ranked these
- Published wattage first, as everywhere on this site.
- Then published temperature range, which is rarer than a wattage and is the next most useful checkable number.
- Then heat steps, timer and warranty, from the listing.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
The finding that undercuts the obvious assumption
Everyone assumes a smaller blanket costs less to run. Across a whole category that is probably true. Within the data we actually have, it is not reliable, and this page is where that shows up most sharply.
| Model | Size | Rated W | 8 hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| Westinghouse flannel | Queen, 84" x 90" | 100 W | 15 cents |
| Bedsure GentleSoft, one side | Queen, 84" x 90" | 110 W | 16 cents |
| Bedsure preheat | Full, 72" x 84" | 130 W | 19 cents |
The full-size blanket has roughly 20% less area than the queens and draws 30% more than the smaller of them. At $0.1834/kWh.
Wattage tracks the length and density of the heating element and how the controller is configured. It does not track fabric area, and any site telling you a twin uses 50 to 70 watts and a queen uses 80 to 120 is describing a pattern rather than reporting a measurement. We would rather report the three figures we can actually source.
What the Sealy twin publishes instead
Sealy states that its ten settings deliver 87 to 126 F. Almost nobody in this category publishes that, and it answers a question a wattage does not: how hot does the top setting actually get.
It is worth being clear about what it does and does not tell you. It tells you the blanket's ceiling is genuinely warm, and that its bottom setting is only slightly above room temperature, so the ten steps cover a usable spread. It tells you nothing about running cost, because temperature and power draw are different quantities and there is no honest conversion between them. Both numbers are useful; neither substitutes for the other.
Guest rooms and the case for buying down
A twin blanket in a guest room runs a handful of nights a year, which changes the calculation. The running cost is close to irrelevant at that duty cycle, and the specifications that matter become the ones a guest will encounter: a controller they can understand without instructions, a timer that shuts off on its own, and a stated certification.
On those terms the Sealy twin's 5-year warranty and named ETL and FCC certification make it the sensible guest-room purchase, and the Sunbeam's dimming controller is a genuine courtesy in a room where somebody is sleeping next to it.
Questions people actually ask
- How much does a twin electric blanket cost to run?
- Neither twin here publishes a wattage, so there is no honest figure for them. The Bedsure full publishes 130 W, which is about 19 cents for an eight-hour night at $0.1834/kWh.
- Is a full size electric blanket big enough for two people?
- Physically it covers a full mattress, but it is single control, so both people get the same temperature. If two people share the bed regularly, a dual-control queen is the better purchase.
- What is the difference between a twin and a full electric blanket?
- Size. Twin is 62 by 84 inches and full is 72 by 84. Both ship with one controller from every brand we track.
Sources
Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.
Read next
- The best electric blanketsSeven bed-size blankets ranked on published wattage, controllers and warranty.
- The watts, by modelEvery sourced wattage we could find, cited, plus the 21 models that publish none.
- Queen size electric blanketsFive queens, two published wattages, and a 17-cent-a-night spread.
- SafetyFire risk, auto shut-off, EMF and who should avoid one, sourced to standards and manuals.