Electric blankets / Roundup
Queen size electric blankets
The most-bought size, and the one where the published-wattage gap is widest. Five queens, two real numbers, and a 17-cent-a-night spread between them.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

For one sleeper the Westinghouse queen wins on the only checkable axis: it publishes 100 W, about 15 cents for an eight-hour night. For two, the Bedsure GentleSoft queen is the pick because it is dual control *and* publishes its draw. Sunbeam, Sealy and Biddeford publish nothing.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickWestinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all. | The lowest published draw | 100 W | 15 cents | Check price |
| 2 | Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, QueenThe only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers. | Two sleepers who argue about heat | 220 W | 32 cents | Check price |
| 3 | Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, QueenTwelve heat settings and a controller that dims itself at night. Sunbeam publishes no wattage for it, and that is the trade. | The finest heat control | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
| 4 | Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual ControlTen heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published. | The longest warranty on a dual control | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
| 5 | Biddeford Micro Plush Heated Blanket, QueenUltra-thin heating wires, two controllers on the queen, third-party safety approval and a 5-year warranty. No wattage anywhere. | A 5-year warranty and thin wires | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
The lowest published draw
Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen
100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all.
Where the wattage comes fromWestinghouse states it directly in the first listing bullet: "a 100W, 60Hz heating blanket". This is a single-controller queen, so 100 W is the whole blanket rather than one side of it.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- Double-layer 200 GSM flannel
- Memory
- Yes, holds your last heat level
- Model
- KTHB-QAVV-Q
What it does well
- 100 W published, the lowest figure any queen here stands behind
- 10 heat levels and a timer selectable to any hour up to 12
- Memory function, so you are not resetting it every night
- Machine washable on cold, gentle
Where it falls short
- One controller only, so the whole bed runs at one temperature
- No warranty term on the listing
- Westinghouse's other queen listings do not publish a wattage, so the figure is model-specific
Who this is forA solo sleeper, or a couple who genuinely agree on temperature and want the lowest running cost on the page.
Skip it ifSkip it if you share a bed with someone who runs hot. There is one controller and no way to split the blanket.
Two sleepers who argue about heat
Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, Queen
The only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure's listing states the blanket runs on 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 110W controllers. Two controllers at 110W each is 220W with both sides at full, or 110W if only one side is on, which is how most couples actually use it.
220 W x 8 h = 1.76 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.32 per night
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 8 hours (6 timer settings, 1-2-4-6-8-10h)
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 220 W (dual 110 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 240 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
- Model
- BS-400B-S
What it does well
- Publishes a wattage, which almost nothing else in the category does
- Two controllers, so one side of the bed can run cold
- ETL and FCC certified with an 8-hour default auto shut-off
- Preheat cycle steps itself down instead of holding full heat all night
Where it falls short
- 6 heat levels where Sunbeam and Sealy give 10 to 12
- No warranty term on the listing
- 220 W with both sides up is the highest published draw of any bed blanket here
Who this is forCouples with different thermostats, and anyone who wants to know what the thing actually draws before buying it.
Skip it ifSkip it if you sleep alone. You are paying for a second controller you will never plug in, and the single-control Westinghouse publishes a lower 100 W.
The finest heat control
Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, Queen
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Twelve heat settings and a controller that dims itself at night. Sunbeam publishes no wattage for it, and that is the trade.
Where the wattage comes fromSunbeam publishes no wattage figure for this model: not in the listing bullets, not in the technical details table, not on the product page. We checked on 2026-08-31 and found nothing. We will not print an estimate in its place.
- Size
- Queen, 90" x 84"
- Heat settings
- 12 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 12 hours
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- Not stated on the listing
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 100% polyester Royal Ultra Fleece
- Controller
- Digital, dims after 10 seconds
- Model number
- 32810117
- Item weight
- 5.7 lb
What it does well
- 12 heat settings is the finest granularity of any blanket here
- The controller dims after 10 seconds, which matters on a nightstand
- Overheat protection plus a 12-hour auto shut-off
- Fleece is genuinely warm with the power off
Where it falls short
- No published wattage, so nobody can compute what it costs to run
- No certification named in the listing copy
- One controller on a queen, so the whole bed runs at one setting
Who this is forSomeone who wants fine temperature control from a name they recognize and does not need a running-cost figure.
Skip it ifSkip it if running cost is the deciding factor. Without a published wattage you cannot compute one, and we will not guess it for you.
The longest warranty on a dual control
Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual Control
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Ten heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published.
Where the wattage comes fromSealy publishes no wattage for this model. Every Sealy listing we checked in this category, across blankets, throws and mattress pads, states certifications and cord lengths but never a watt figure.
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- 5-year warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 200 GSM double-layer flannel
- Total cord length
- 19 ft (power cord plus controller cord)
- Memory
- Yes, recalls last level and timer
- Model
- KTHB-QATVV-Q
What it does well
- 5-year warranty, the longest stated term of any bed blanket here
- Dual control with 10 levels each
- 19 ft of cord reaches an outlet that is not next to the bed
- ETL and FCC certified with overheat protection
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Flannel on both sides, so no sherpa face if you want the plusher side
- Wash rules are strict: slow agitation, low spin, no dry clean, no bleach
Who this is forCouples who want a long warranty and enough cord to reach a real outlet, and who are not deciding on running cost.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want to know the running cost before you buy. Sealy publishes nothing you could compute one from.
A 5-year warranty and thin wires
Biddeford Micro Plush Heated Blanket, Queen
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Ultra-thin heating wires, two controllers on the queen, third-party safety approval and a 5-year warranty. No wattage anywhere.
Where the wattage comes fromBiddeford publishes no wattage on the listing or in the technical details. Its own instructions state only that the blanket must be plugged directly into a 120V wall outlet, never an extension cord or power strip.
- Size
- Queen
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Yes, timer built into the digital controller
- Controllers
- 2 on queen and king; 1 on twin and full
- Certification
- Third-party tested and approved (UL or ETL Intertek)
- Warranty
- 5-year limited manufacturer's warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 100% polyester micro plush
- Heating wire
- Ultra-thin, for a flatter feel
- Model number
- 2033-905191-700
- Power rule
- Wall outlet only, no extension cord, no power strip
What it does well
- 5-year limited manufacturer warranty
- Ultra-thin wires you are less likely to feel through a sheet
- Third-party safety approval named explicitly in the listing
- Machine washable and dryer safe with the controllers removed
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- No specific auto-shutoff duration stated, only that a timer exists
- The no-extension-cord rule is strict and rules out some bedroom layouts
Who this is forSomeone buying on warranty and wire comfort rather than on a running-cost figure.
Skip it ifSkip it if your only outlet is across the room. Biddeford explicitly prohibits extension cords and power strips with this blanket.
How we ranked these
- Published wattage first. Queen is the size where we have the most published data, so the ranking can actually lean on it.
- Then controllers, because a queen is usually a shared bed.
- Then heat steps, timer ceiling, certification and warranty, as published.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
The spread across a winter
Fifteen cents against thirty-two cents a night sounds like the sort of difference not worth thinking about, and for a week it is. Over a season it stops being trivial.
| Model | Rated W | Per night (8h) | Per month | 120-night winter |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Westinghouse flannel queen | 100 W | 15 cents | $4.40 | $17.61 |
| Bedsure GentleSoft, one side | 110 W | 16 cents | $4.84 | $19.37 |
| Bedsure GentleSoft, both sides | 220 W | 32 cents | $9.68 | $38.74 |
| Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece | Not published | Uncomputable | Uncomputable | Uncomputable |
| Sealy dual control | Not published | Uncomputable | Uncomputable | Uncomputable |
| Biddeford Micro Plush | Not published | Uncomputable | Uncomputable | Uncomputable |
At $0.1834/kWh (EIA, US residential average, June 2026). Rated watts are an upper bound; a thermostatic blanket cycles its element off once the bed is warm.
Twenty-one dollars across a winter is not going to change anybody's life. What it will do is comfortably exceed the price difference between two of these blankets, which is the point: on a purchase where the products are otherwise close, the running cost is a real tiebreaker and it is the one nobody publishes.
What the three silent brands publish instead
It would be unfair to leave it at nothing. Sunbeam, Sealy and Biddeford do publish specifications, just not the one that lets you cost the blanket.
- Sunbeam publishes 12 heat settings, the finest granularity here, and a controller that dims after ten seconds so it does not light the room.
- Sealy publishes a 5-year warranty, a 19-foot total cord run and a memory function that recalls your last level and timer.
- Biddeford publishes a 5-year limited warranty, ultra-thin heating wires, and third-party approval named as UL or ETL Intertek.
Those are genuine reasons to buy any of the three. They are simply not reasons that help you answer the question this site exists to answer.
Fitting a queen blanket
A queen mattress is 60 by 80 inches. The blankets here are 84 by 90, which gives about twelve inches of drop on each side and ten at the foot. That is deliberate and it is why a queen blanket looks oversized when you unfold it.
The thing to avoid is tucking that overhang in tightly. Every manual in our set says lay it flat and do not fold or bunch it while running, because a fold halves the surface area available to shed heat while the element keeps producing. Tucking a heated blanket in hard at the sides is the most common way people create exactly that condition without realizing it. More in are electric blankets safe.
Questions people actually ask
- What size is a queen electric blanket?
- 84 by 90 inches on every queen in this roundup, over a 60 by 80 inch mattress. The extra is intentional drop on the sides and foot.
- How much does a queen electric blanket cost to run per night?
- About 15 cents for the 100 W Westinghouse over eight hours, and about 32 cents for a 220 W dual-control Bedsure with both sides on, at $0.1834/kWh. The Sunbeam, Sealy and Biddeford queens publish no wattage, so no honest figure exists for them.
- Which queen electric blanket uses the least electricity?
- Of the ones that publish a figure, the Westinghouse queen at 100 W. That is the lowest published draw of any bed-size blanket we track. Whether an unpublished model draws less is unknowable.
Sources
Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.
Read next
- The best electric blanketsSeven bed-size blankets ranked on published wattage, controllers and warranty.
- Dual control electric blanketsTwo controllers, two zones, and the per-side wattage where the maker publishes it.
- What it costs per month, and per winter$4.40 a month at 100 W, and why payback is the wrong question.
- SafetyFire risk, auto shut-off, EMF and who should avoid one, sourced to standards and manuals.