Skip to content
Wool Watt

Electric blankets / Review

Biddeford Micro Plush heated blanket

Ultra-thin heating wires, two controllers on the queen, third-party safety approval and five years in writing. Also one instruction, stated as an absolute, that will disqualify it in some bedrooms.

By Scooter M.Updated September 13, 2026Scooter M. reads the manuals, compiles the published specs, and shows the arithmetic.

We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

Biddeford Micro Plush Heated Blanket, Queen

Biddeford's Micro Plush queen is built around ultra-thin heating wires, ships two controllers on queen and king, carries a 5-year limited warranty and states third-party safety approval. It publishes no wattage and no shut-off duration, and it prohibits extension cords and power strips outright.

The picks, with the numbers

Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.

Heated blanket picks compared by published wattage and computed cost per night
#ProductBest forWattsPer nightPrice
1
Biddeford Micro Plush Heated Blanket, Queen
Top pickBiddeford Micro Plush Heated Blanket, QueenUltra-thin heating wires, two controllers on the queen, third-party safety approval and a 5-year warranty. No wattage anywhere.
A 5-year warranty and thin wiresNot publishedUncomputable$211.16 - See it on Amazon

Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

1

A 5-year warranty and thin wires

Biddeford Micro Plush Heated Blanket, Queen

Biddeford Micro Plush Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$211.16 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

Ultra-thin heating wires, two controllers on the queen, third-party safety approval and a 5-year warranty. No wattage anywhere.

Where the wattage comes fromBiddeford publishes no wattage on the listing or in the technical details. Its own instructions state only that the blanket must be plugged directly into a 120V wall outlet, never an extension cord or power strip.

Size
Queen
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
Yes, timer built into the digital controller
Controllers
2 on queen and king; 1 on twin and full
Certification
Third-party tested and approved (UL or ETL Intertek)
Warranty
5-year limited manufacturer's warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Fabric
100% polyester micro plush
Heating wire
Ultra-thin, for a flatter feel
Model number
2033-905191-544
Power rule
Wall outlet only, no extension cord, no power strip

What it does well

  • 5-year limited manufacturer warranty
  • Ultra-thin wires you are less likely to feel through a sheet
  • Third-party safety approval named explicitly in the listing
  • Machine washable and dryer safe with the controllers removed

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • No specific auto-shutoff duration stated, only that a timer exists
  • The no-extension-cord rule is strict and rules out some bedroom layouts

Who this is forSomeone buying on warranty and wire comfort rather than on a running-cost figure.

Skip it ifSkip it if your only outlet is across the room. Biddeford explicitly prohibits extension cords and power strips with this blanket.

How we ranked these

  • What the maker publishes, as with every product on this site: wires, controllers, certification, warranty, and the power rule.
  • What it does not publish, named rather than glossed: no wattage, no stated auto-off duration.
  • The one absolute instruction, because it eliminates the product for some buyers regardless of everything else.
  • Not assessed: warmth, softness, wire feel or durability. We have not handled this blanket.

We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.

The thin-wire claim is the actual product

Most complaints about heated blankets come down to one thing: you can feel the wires. It is the reason people who dislike blankets end up buying a heated mattress pad instead, where a fitted sheet sits between the element and your skin.

Biddeford's listing names ultra-thin heating wires as the design point rather than mentioning it in passing, and pairs them with a micro plush face. That is a coherent answer to the actual complaint, and it is the reason this blanket is worth a page of its own rather than a line in a roundup.

The honest caveat: we cannot tell you whether it works. We have not handled this blanket and there is no published measurement of wire gauge or spacing to compare against a competitor. What we can say is that it is a stated design intent rather than a marketing adjective, and that no other listing in our set makes the same claim.

What it publishes, in full

Biddeford Micro Plush queen, as stated on the listing
Biddeford Micro Plush queen, as stated on the listing
SpecificationWhat Biddeford states
Rated wattageNot published
Heat settings10, via a digital controller
Controllers2 on queen and king; 1 on twin and full
Auto shut-offTimer included; duration not stated
CertificationThird-party tested and approved (UL or ETL Intertek)
Warranty5-year limited manufacturer's warranty
Fabric100% polyester micro plush
Heating wireUltra-thin, for a flatter feel
Power ruleWall outlet only. No extension cord, no power strip
CareMachine washable and dryer safe with the controllers removed

Read off the manufacturer's own Amazon listing, model 2033-905191-544, checked 2026-09-07.

The five-year warranty is the strongest thing here

Five years is the longest term any brand in our set states, and Biddeford is one of only a handful that states one at all. It is worth weighing properly because of what a warranty is: the period a manufacturer is willing to be financially responsible for a product whose main failure mode is invisible.

Set against the broad consumer-safety guidance of replacing a heated blanket at around ten years, a five-year commitment covers the half of the product's life when the element is least likely to have degraded. That is not nothing, and several better-known competitors will not match it. More on what wears out in how long do electric blankets last.

The rule that disqualifies it in some bedrooms

This is the most important paragraph on the page and it has nothing to do with how warm the blanket is.

Biddeford states, without qualification, that the blanket must be plugged directly into a wall outlet and that you must not use an extension cord or a power strip. Most manufacturers imply something similar; Biddeford states it as an absolute.

So before anything else, look at where your bed is and where your nearest outlet is. If the honest answer is that you would need an extension lead, this blanket is not a candidate, and no amount of liking the thin wires changes that. It is a connection-integrity rule and damaged or overloaded connections are one of the three failure modes behind essentially every recall in this category: see what actually goes wrong.

What it does not tell you

Two omissions, and they run in opposite directions in how much they matter.

No wattage. Consistent with Sunbeam, Sealy, Serta and Beautyrest, and it means nobody can compute what this blanket costs to run. That is the site's standing complaint about the category rather than about Biddeford specifically, and the full record is on the watts, by model.

No stated shut-off duration. This one is more unusual. Nearly every competitor gives a range, commonly 1 to 12 hours, and several let you select it by the hour. Biddeford says a timer exists. If you want the bed off by a particular time, that is a specification you would want in writing, and it is covered generally on auto shut-off.

How it compares to the alternatives

The Biddeford queen against the two queens we recommend most
The Biddeford queen against the two queens we recommend most
Biddeford Micro PlushWestinghouse flannelBedsure GentleSoft
Rated wattsNot published100 W220 W (dual 110 W)
Controllers212
Heat settings10106
Auto-offTimer, duration not stated1-12 h selectable8 h default
Warranty5 yearsNot statedNot stated
Extension cordProhibitedNot statedNot stated

All figures from each product's own listing.

Read across that table and the trade is clear. Biddeford is the only one of the three that gives you a warranty and thin wires; it is also the only one that gives you neither a wattage nor a shut-off duration, and the only one with a hard rule about where you plug it in.

Who should buy it

Someone who has disliked heated blankets before because of the wires, who has a wall outlet within reach of the bed, who shares the bed and wants two controllers, and who values a five-year warranty more than a running-cost figure they cannot get from most of this category anyway.

Anyone whose decision rests on the electricity number should buy the 100 W Westinghouse queen instead, and anyone whose outlet is across the room should not buy this blanket at all.

Questions people actually ask

Are Biddeford electric blankets good?
We have not handled one, so we have no view on warmth or build. What the listing gives you is ultra-thin heating wires, two controllers on the queen, third-party safety approval and a 5-year limited warranty, which is the longest stated term in our set.
How many watts does a Biddeford electric blanket use?
Not published, on the listing or in the technical details. Biddeford states only that the blanket must be plugged directly into a 120V wall outlet. Check for a rating label on the controller or plug, or measure it with a plug-in energy monitor.
Can you use an extension cord with a Biddeford blanket?
No. Biddeford prohibits it explicitly, along with power strips, and says the blanket must go directly into a wall outlet. Where a maker states a power rule as an absolute, treat it as one rather than a preference.
What is the Biddeford blanket warranty?
A 5-year limited manufacturer's warranty, stated on the listing. That is the longest term any brand in our set publishes.
Does the Biddeford queen come with two controllers?
Yes. Biddeford states two controllers on queen and king sizes and one on twin and full, which is the usual split across this category.

Sources

Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.