Electric blankets / Roundup
Dual sided heated blankets
Two words apart from dual control and frequently confused with it. Here is what the phrase actually means, what each maker publishes, and the one product where it means neither thing.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

Dual sided means two faces on one blanket — typically a flannel side and a sherpa side — and it has nothing to do with dual control, which means two controllers for two people. The Bedsure GentleSoft queen is the pick because it is the only product we track that is genuinely both, and it publishes a wattage as well. Watch the wording: one listing in our set says double-sided and means the same fabric on both faces.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickBedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, QueenThe only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers. | Two sleepers who argue about heat | 220 W | 32 cents | $84.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 2 | Beautyrest Reversible Heated Blanket, QueenThe same twenty settings and 85-105 F range as the plush queen, in a plush-over-sherpa build with both fabric weights published. OEKO-TEX rather than a UL mark. | The heaviest published fabric in the range | Not published | Uncomputable | $136.73 - See it on Amazon |
| 3 | Sealy Heated ThrowPublishes the temperature its settings reach, 95 to 113 F, which is rarer than a wattage and more useful than a marketing adjective. | A published temperature range | Not published | Uncomputable | $43.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 4 | Westinghouse Heated Blanket, KingA reversible king with 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. Westinghouse publishes a wattage on its queen but not on this one. | Flannel one side, sherpa the other | Not published | Uncomputable | $129.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 5 | Bedsure GentleSoft Heated ThrowSame 100 W rating and 10-hour timer as the preheat throw, in a ribbed flannel finish. Bedsure states it "operates at just 100W". | The ribbed-flannel face | 100 W | 15 cents | $39.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 6 | Homemate Heated ThrowOne of very few listings that names the specific standard it was tested to, UL 964, plus a published 86-122 F range. | A named safety standard | Not published | Uncomputable | $45.99 - See it on Amazon |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Two sleepers who argue about heat
Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage
220 W
8 hours costs
32 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
The only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure's listing states the blanket runs on 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 110W controllers. Two controllers at 110W each is 220W with both sides at full, or 110W if only one side is on, which is how most couples actually use it.
220 W x 8 h = 1.76 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.32 per night
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 8 hours (6 timer settings, 1-2-4-6-8-10h)
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 220 W (dual 110 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 240 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
- Model
- BS-400B-S
What it does well
- Publishes a wattage, which almost nothing else in the category does
- Two controllers, so one side of the bed can run cold
- ETL and FCC certified with an 8-hour default auto shut-off
- Preheat cycle steps itself down instead of holding full heat all night
Where it falls short
- 6 heat levels where Sunbeam and Sealy give 10 to 12
- No warranty term on the listing
- 220 W with both sides up is the highest published draw of any bed blanket here
Who this is forCouples with different thermostats, and anyone who wants to know what the thing actually draws before buying it.
Skip it ifSkip it if you sleep alone. You are paying for a second controller you will never plug in, and the single-control Westinghouse publishes a lower 100 W.
The heaviest published fabric in the range
Beautyrest Reversible Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
The same twenty settings and 85-105 F range as the plush queen, in a plush-over-sherpa build with both fabric weights published. OEKO-TEX rather than a UL mark.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. The listing states 200 GSM plush over 220 GSM sherpa, twenty heat settings and an 85-105 F range, but no rated draw.
- Size
- Queen, 90" x 84"
- Heat settings
- 20 levels, 85-105 F
- Auto shut-off
- 10 hours
- Controllers
- 2 on queen and larger; 1 on twin and full
- Certification
- OEKO-TEX certified; listing states it exceeds UL requirements
- Warranty
- 5-year limited warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Temperature range
- 85-105 F, ambient-dependent
- Fabric
- 200 GSM plush / 220 GSM sherpa
- Model
- BR54-0418
What it does well
- Both fabric weights published, 200 GSM plush and 220 GSM sherpa
- Twenty heat settings and a published temperature range
- Two controllers at queen size
- 5-year limited warranty stated
- Reversible, with a sherpa side
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- The listing says it exceeds UL requirements rather than stating a UL certification, which is not the same claim
- A fixed 10-hour shut-off rather than a selectable range
- 105 F maximum
Who this is forSomeone who wants a thicker, two-sided blanket and cares about fabric weight more than shut-off flexibility.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want a safety certification stated plainly. The plush Beautyrest queen says UL certified; this one says it exceeds UL requirements, which is a different and weaker claim.
A published temperature range
Sealy Heated Throw

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Publishes the temperature its settings reach, 95 to 113 F, which is rarer than a wattage and more useful than a marketing adjective.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Sealy does publish the delivered temperature range (95-113 F), which is a genuinely useful spec almost no competitor states, but it cannot be converted into a running cost.
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels, 95-113 F
- Auto shut-off
- 2-10 hours
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Temperature range
- 95-113 F
- Fabric
- 280 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Model
- KTHT-QBHVS-W
What it does well
- Publishes the actual delivered temperature range
- 280 GSM flannel is the heaviest single face here
- Detachable controller cord for washing
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Top setting of 113 F is cooler than several rivals reach
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forSomeone who wants to know how warm it actually gets before buying, and is happy with a gentle top end.
Skip it ifSkip it if you like a genuinely hot throw. 113 F at the top is mild next to blankets that reach into the 120s.
Flannel one side, sherpa the other
Westinghouse Heated Blanket, King

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
A reversible king with 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. Westinghouse publishes a wattage on its queen but not on this one.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published for this king. The same brand's queen (KTHB-QAVV-Q) does state 100W in its listing copy, which tells you the omission here is a listing decision rather than a company policy.
- Size
- King, 100" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Up to 12 hours
- Controllers
- 1 stated
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- Flannel one face, sherpa fleece the other
- Timer
- 12-hour settings
- Model
- KTHB-QTVS-K
What it does well
- Reversible: silky flannel one side, sherpa the other
- 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer
- ETL and FCC certified with overheat protection
Where it falls short
- No published wattage on a blanket this size
- One controller stated on a king-size blanket
- No warranty term given
Who this is forSomeone who wants the sherpa face on a king and does not need the running cost computed.
Skip it ifSkip it if you share the bed and disagree on heat. The dual-control Bedsure king also tells you its watts.
The ribbed-flannel face
Bedsure GentleSoft Heated Throw

Rated wattage
100 W
8 hours costs
15 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Same 100 W rating and 10-hour timer as the preheat throw, in a ribbed flannel finish. Bedsure states it "operates at just 100W".
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states the blanket "operates at just 100W" on standard 120V AC at 60Hz. Identical rating to the brand's other 50x60 throw.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Up to 10 hours (6 timer settings)
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- Ribbed flannel with sherpa reverse
- Safety testing
- 74 in-house safety tests stated by the brand
- Model
- BS-100T
What it does well
- 100 W published
- Ribbed flannel face if you dislike flat microplush
- ETL and FCC certified
- Machine washable with the controller detached
Where it falls short
- Functionally the same blanket as the preheat model, without the preheat
- 6 heat levels
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forSomeone who prefers the ribbed texture and does not need the preheat cycle.
Skip it ifSkip it in favor of the preheat version. Same rating, same price bracket, one more useful feature.
A named safety standard
Homemate Heated Throw

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
One of very few listings that names the specific standard it was tested to, UL 964, plus a published 86-122 F range.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Homemate does name the specific test standard (UL 964, the standard for household electric heating pads and blankets) and a temperature range of 86-122 F, which is more specific than most.
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels, 86-122 F
- Auto shut-off
- 8 hours stated; a second bullet on the same listing says 10
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL certified; listing names UL 964 testing
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Temperature range
- 86-122 F
- Fabric
- 220 GSM double-sided flannel
- Heating wire
- 2.2 mm diameter, stated on the listing
- Power cord
- 144" / 201"
- Model
- DJ-5060B
What it does well
- Names UL 964 specifically instead of just saying it is certified
- 10 heat levels on a throw
- Publishes a temperature range, which most throws do not
- Publishes the heating wire diameter, 2.2 mm, which nothing else in our set does
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- No warranty term stated
- The "lower electro magnetic radiation" claim is unquantified
- The listing states 8 hours in one bullet and 10 hours in another for the same auto shut-off
Who this is forSomeone who reads certifications and wants the standard named rather than implied.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want the running cost. Naming a standard is good practice; it is still not a watt figure.
How we ranked these
- Does the maker publish both faces, with weights? GSM per side is the only checkable fabric figure in this category, and a dual-sided claim backed by two numbers beats one backed by an adjective.
- Is it dual sided, dual control, or both? These are unrelated features and the listings blur them. Products that are genuinely both rank higher, because that combination is rare.
- Then published wattage, as everywhere on this site, because a fabric decision should not cost you the ability to work out a running cost.
- Not ranked on which side feels nicer. That is the whole point of a reversible blanket and it is the one thing we cannot tell you, because we have not handled any of these.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
Dual sided is not dual control
This is the confusion the phrase causes and it is worth clearing up before anything else, because buying the wrong one is an expensive mistake on a shared bed.
| Phrase | What it actually means | What it solves |
|---|---|---|
| Dual sided / double sided / reversible | Two fabric faces on one blanket, usually flannel on one side and sherpa on the other | A texture preference, and a blanket that looks different depending which way up it is |
| Dual control | Two separate controllers driving two heating zones | Two people who disagree about temperature. Nothing about fabric |
| Dual zone | The same thing as dual control, used mostly on mattress pads | Same problem, under the fitted sheet instead of over you |
If the bed is shared and one of you runs hot, the feature you need is dual control, and fabric is a separate question. The comparison is on dual control electric blankets.
Of the products we track, eighteen ship two controllers and a larger number are dual sided. Only a handful are both, which is why the ranking above leads with the one that manages it while also publishing what it draws.
What each maker publishes, face by face
GSM — grams per square meter — is the only fabric number anyone in this category publishes, and it is directly comparable across brands. A dual-sided claim with two GSM figures behind it is a specification. One without them is an adjective.
| Product | Face | Reverse |
|---|---|---|
| Bedsure king | 290 GSM flannel | 200 GSM sherpa |
| Sealy heated throw | 280 GSM flannel | 200 GSM sherpa |
| Bedsure GentleSoft queen | 240 GSM flannel | 200 GSM sherpa |
| Bedsure full and throw with preheat | 220 GSM flannel | 200 GSM sherpa |
| Beautyrest reversible queen and throw | 200 GSM plush | 220 GSM sherpa |
| Westinghouse king | Flannel, no weight published | Sherpa fleece, no weight published |
| Bedsure GentleSoft throw | Ribbed flannel, no weight published | Sherpa, no weight published |
| Homemate throw | 220 GSM flannel | 220 GSM flannel — the same fabric |
Quoted from each maker's own listing, checked 2026-09-19. Beautyrest is the only brand that puts the heavier weight on the reverse rather than the face.
The one where double sided means something else
The Homemate throw publishes 220 GSM double-sided flannel. Read that carefully: it is two faces of the same fabric, not two different fabrics. The blanket is reversible in the sense that both sides are identical, which is not what most people picture when they read the phrase.
We are not calling that misleading. Double-sided flannel is a real and accurate description of a construction, and a matched pair of faces is a legitimate design — nothing about it is worse. It is simply not the flannel-and-sherpa contrast the phrase implies on every other listing here, and if you are buying specifically for a sherpa side, this is the one to skip.
Does the second side do anything for warmth?
Honestly: nobody publishes an answer, and we are not going to invent one. Heat output is set by the element and the controller, not the fabric. What fabric changes is how much of that heat is held against you rather than lost to the room, and how the surface feels — both real effects, and neither measured by anyone in this category.
The published data offers one useful hint and it is a negative. Among the throws that publish both a fabric weight and a temperature range, the ceilings do not track the weight: Beautyrest tops out at 105 F on a 200 GSM plush face, Sealy at 113 F on a heavier 280 GSM flannel, and Homemate at 122 F on 220 GSM. The controller sets the temperature. The fabric decides how it feels getting there. The full fabric vocabulary is on fleece, flannel, sherpa or plush.
Which side goes up?
No maker in our set publishes a required orientation for a dual-sided blanket, so this is a preference rather than an instruction. Two things that are not preferences:
- Lay it flat either way. A fold or a bunch traps heat in a small area while the element keeps producing it, and that is the failure mode behind most of the recall record. Which face is up does not change that.
- Keep the controller visible and uncovered, whichever way round the blanket is. It senses temperature, and covering it defeats the protection you bought. Detail on electric blanket controllers.
The one practical argument for a particular side: sherpa is bulkier and traps more air, so it will feel warmer against you at the same setting, and smoother against a fitted sheet if it faces down. That is physics rather than a published spec, and it is reversible in about two seconds if you disagree.
Where each pick is the wrong buy
- Bedsure GentleSoft queen — dual sided, dual control and a published 220 W, and Bedsure states no warranty term on any product.
- Beautyrest reversible queen — the only product here with reversible in its name and both weights published, capped at a mild 105 F, and its listing says it exceeds UL requirements rather than naming a certification.
- Sealy heated throw — the heaviest published face here at 280 GSM, on a 50 by 60 sofa throw that is not a bed blanket, with no wattage.
- Westinghouse king — flannel and sherpa across the largest blanket we track, with neither weight published and no wattage.
- Bedsure GentleSoft throw — publishes 100 W but no GSM on either face, so it is the one Bedsure you cannot compare on fabric.
- Homemate throw — double-sided flannel means matched faces, not a contrast. It publishes the hottest range here and its own listing gives two different shut-off figures.
Questions people actually ask
- What does dual sided mean on an electric blanket?
- Two fabric faces on one blanket, most often flannel on one side and sherpa on the other. It is a texture and appearance feature. It has nothing to do with dual control, which means two controllers for two people.
- Is a dual sided electric blanket the same as dual control?
- No, and the two are frequently confused. Dual sided is about fabric; dual control is about two controllers driving two heating zones on a shared bed. A blanket can be one, the other, both or neither.
- Which side of a reversible heated blanket goes up?
- Either. No maker in our set publishes a required orientation. Sherpa is bulkier and traps more air, so it tends to feel warmer against you at the same setting, but that is physics rather than a published specification. What does matter is laying it flat and keeping the controller uncovered.
- Is a double sided heated blanket warmer?
- There is no published evidence either way. The element and the controller set the temperature; the fabric affects how much heat is held against you and how the surface feels. Among the throws that publish both a fabric weight and a temperature range, the ceilings do not track the weight.
- What is the best dual sided heated blanket?
- On published specifications, the Bedsure GentleSoft queen: 240 GSM flannel over 200 GSM sherpa, two controllers, and a stated 220 W, which makes it the only product we track that is dual sided, dual control and costable.
Read next
- Dual control electric blanketsTwo controllers, two zones, and the per-side wattage where the maker publishes it.
- Fleece, flannel, sherpa or plushFour fabric words, one GSM ledger, and a product named for a fabric it does not publish.
- The best electric blanketsSix bed-size blankets ranked on published wattage, controllers and warranty.
- Electric blanket controllersMost of the manual is about this box, and it caused the biggest recall in the category.
- The best heated throwsSeven sofa throws ranked on published watts and the 17-degree temperature spread.