Safety / Data
Bedsure heated blanket recall
One recall, seven model numbers, and a size overlap that makes people think they are affected when they are not. Here is the record, straight from the CPSC.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

Yes, there was one — and only one. On 9 March 2023 the CPSC announced the recall of about 350,000 Bedsure electric heating blankets and pads, imported by Bedshe International Co. Ltd. of Walnut, California. The fault was that the controller can malfunction, posing fire and thermal burn hazards. Seven model numbers are affected. If your model number is not one of those seven, your blanket is not part of this recall.
How to find your model number in about a minute
The CPSC notice tells you exactly where Bedsure prints it, which is more than most recall notices do.
- 1Look at the white label on the back of the blanket or pad. That is the primary location.
- 2Check the back of the controller. The same number is printed there.
- 3Check your order history. The notice states the model number also appears on the buyer's Orders History page, which is the fastest route if the blanket is already packed away.
- 4Compare it against the seven numbers above, exactly. Not the size, not the color, not the product name on the listing — the model number.
The size overlap that causes false alarms
This is why the query exists, and it is worth spelling out. The recalled blankets were sold in 50 by 60 inches (throw), 62 by 84 (twin) and 72 by 84 (full). Bedsure still sells blankets in those same sizes today under different model numbers.
| Size | Recalled model | Current model we track |
|---|---|---|
| 50" x 60" throw | BS-HB5060 | BS-100T |
| 62" x 84" twin | BS-HB6284 | not in our set |
| 72" x 84" full | BS-HB7284 | BS-100T |
| Queen and king blankets | none recalled at these sizes | BS-400B-S, BS-500B-S |
| Heated mattress pads | BS-HP2422, BS-HP1224, BS-HP2433 | BS-HMQU-2, BS-HMKI-2 |
Recalled model numbers quoted from CPSC 23735. Current model numbers read from each product's own listing, checked 2026-09-14. A 50 by 60 Bedsure throw is not automatically a recalled throw; the label is what decides it.
We checked the eight Bedsure products we currently track, model number by model number, against the recall list. None of them is on it. The current line carries BS-100T, BS-400B-S, BS-500B-S, BS-HMQU-2 and BS-HMKI-2, and not one of those appears in the notice.
What the recall actually covered
| Field | As stated by the CPSC |
|---|---|
| Announced | 9 March 2023 |
| Importer | Bedshe International Co. Ltd., of Walnut, California |
| Units | About 350,000 |
| Sold | Online at Amazon.com and BedsureHome.com, August 2022 through November 2022, for between $25 and $110 |
| Hazard | The controller for the electric heating blankets and pads can malfunction, posing fire and thermal burn hazards |
| Incidents | 137 reports of catching fire, burning, melting and overheating, causing minor property damage |
| Injuries | 17 reports of burn injuries, including one report of second-degree burns |
| Remedy | Stop using immediately and contact Bedsure for a full refund |
Quoted from the CPSC recall database record for 23735, retrieved 2026-09-14. The official notice, linked in Sources below, is the authority.
By units and by injuries this is the largest heated-bedding recall on the CPSC record. For context against the rest of the category, the full list of fourteen notices is on heated blanket recalls.
The controller was the defective part, not the blanket
Worth understanding because it changes what you should be looking at. Most recalls in this category are element faults — the heating wire overheats. This one was different: the controller malfunctioned.
The notice describes the hardware precisely. The recalled blankets and pads are controlled by a white cord with a white digital controller unit, except model BS-LV0A, which has a white non-digital controller with the Bedsure name and symbol on it. If you are trying to identify a blanket without its label, the controller is the second-best clue.
It also explains why swapping controllers is never a fix. A controller is matched and certified with the element it was tested against, so a replacement from another blanket is not a safe substitute even when the connector fits. That is set out in full on electric blanket controllers.
If you have one of the seven: what to do
- 1Stop using it now. Not on a low setting, not until the weather turns. The fault is in the controller and a low setting does not remove it.
- 2Unplug it at the wall and keep the unit — the refund requires you to have possession of it.
- 3Register at safety.bedsurehome.com and follow the instructions, which include submitting photos of the recalled unit.
- 4Or contact Bedsure directly: toll-free 855-888-9966, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. ET Monday through Friday, or safety@bedsurehome.com. The notice states the firm is contacting all known purchasers.
- 5Do not sell it or give it away. A recalled heated blanket passed on to somebody else is the same hazard with a different owner.
What to buy instead
Two honest options, and we are not going to pretend the second one is unreasonable. Either stay with Bedsure, whose current models are not on the recall list and which remains the only brand in this category that publishes a rated wattage on every product it sells, or change brand, which is a perfectly rational response to a 350,000-unit recall. The picks below cover both.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickBedsure Heated Throw with Preheat100 W published, a preheat cycle that steps itself down, and a 10-hour timer. The throw we would buy on the numbers. | The best-documented throw | 100 W | 15 cents | $36.98 - See it on Amazon |
| 2 | Bedsure Heated Blanket, Full130 W published, the highest single-controller figure on this site, on a blanket smaller than the queen. Worth knowing before you buy. | A full bed with a published number | 130 W | 19 cents | $57.96 - See it on Amazon |
| 3 | Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, QueenThe only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers. | Two sleepers who argue about heat | 220 W | 32 cents | $84.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 4 | Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, QueenDual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all. | The only pad with a published wattage | 200 W | 29 cents | $79.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 5 | Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all. | The lowest published draw | 100 W | 15 cents | $84.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 6 | Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual ControlTen heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published. | The longest warranty on a dual control | Not published | Uncomputable | $109.99 - See it on Amazon |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
The best-documented throw
Bedsure Heated Throw with Preheat

Rated wattage
100 W
8 hours costs
15 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
100 W published, a preheat cycle that steps itself down, and a 10-hour timer. The throw we would buy on the numbers.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states "a power rating of 100W" at 120V AC, 60Hz. Same figure as the brand's queen-size single controller, on a blanket a quarter the area, which is why a throw heats faster.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Up to 10 hours (1-2-4-6-8-10h)
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Warranty card included in packaging; term not stated online
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 220 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
- Model
- BS-100T
What it does well
- Published wattage, so an hour on the sofa has a computable price
- Preheat steps down automatically rather than holding peak
- Warm without power thanks to the sherpa backing
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- 6 heat levels
- Warranty term is only in the box, not on the listing
- 50" x 60" is a one-person throw
Who this is forAnyone who wants a sofa throw and wants to know what an evening under it costs.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want to cover two people. At 50 by 60 inches it is a personal throw, not a shared one.
A full bed with a published number
Bedsure Heated Blanket, Full

Rated wattage
130 W
8 hours costs
19 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
130 W published, the highest single-controller figure on this site, on a blanket smaller than the queen. Worth knowing before you buy.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states "a power rating of 130W" at 120V AC, 60Hz. It is a single-controller full, so 130W is the whole blanket. That it draws more than the same brand's 110W-per-side queen controller is a real quirk of the range, not an error on our part.
130 W x 8 h = 1.04 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.19 per night
- Size
- Full, 72" x 84"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Up to 10 hours (6 timer settings)
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified; Good Housekeeping Seal stated on the listing
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 130 W
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 220 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
- Model
- BS-100T
What it does well
- Publishes its wattage, so the running cost is computable
- Preheat cycle steps down instead of holding peak heat
- ETL and FCC certified
- Good Housekeeping Seal named on the listing
Where it falls short
- 130 W is the highest single-controller draw here
- 6 heat levels
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forA full-size bed, one sleeper, someone who wants the number rather than the marketing.
Skip it ifSkip it if running cost is what you are optimizing. The 100 W Westinghouse queen covers more bed for less draw.
Two sleepers who argue about heat
Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage
220 W
8 hours costs
32 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
The only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure's listing states the blanket runs on 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 110W controllers. Two controllers at 110W each is 220W with both sides at full, or 110W if only one side is on, which is how most couples actually use it.
220 W x 8 h = 1.76 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.32 per night
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 8 hours (6 timer settings, 1-2-4-6-8-10h)
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 220 W (dual 110 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 240 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
- Model
- BS-400B-S
What it does well
- Publishes a wattage, which almost nothing else in the category does
- Two controllers, so one side of the bed can run cold
- ETL and FCC certified with an 8-hour default auto shut-off
- Preheat cycle steps itself down instead of holding full heat all night
Where it falls short
- 6 heat levels where Sunbeam and Sealy give 10 to 12
- No warranty term on the listing
- 220 W with both sides up is the highest published draw of any bed blanket here
Who this is forCouples with different thermostats, and anyone who wants to know what the thing actually draws before buying it.
Skip it ifSkip it if you sleep alone. You are paying for a second controller you will never plug in, and the single-control Westinghouse publishes a lower 100 W.
The only pad with a published wattage
Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage
200 W
8 hours costs
29 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Dual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 100W controllers. Both sides at full is 200W; one side alone is 100W. This is the only heated mattress pad in our checks with any published wattage.
200 W x 8 h = 1.60 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.29 per night
- Size
- Queen, fits up to 18" deep
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 12 time settings, up to 12 hours
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 200 W (dual 100 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Pocket depth
- Stretches to 18"
- Preheat
- Yes, with memory
- Model
- BS-HMQU-2
What it does well
- The only heated mattress pad here with a published wattage
- Dual control, so two sleepers get separate zones
- All-round elastic to 18" keeps it from shifting
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- No warranty term stated
- No waterproof layer on this version
- 200 W with both zones at full is the highest published draw on this site
Who this is forTwo sleepers who want the bed warm before they get into it, and want the running cost on the table.
Skip it ifSkip it if you need waterproofing. Bedsure's cotton-top version has a TPU layer; this one does not.
The lowest published draw
Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage
100 W
8 hours costs
15 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all.
Where the wattage comes fromWestinghouse states it directly in the first listing bullet: "a 100W, 60Hz heating blanket". This is a single-controller queen, so 100 W is the whole blanket rather than one side of it.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- Double-layer 200 GSM flannel
- Memory
- Yes, holds your last heat level
- Model
- KTHB-QAVV-Q
What it does well
- 100 W published, the lowest figure any queen here stands behind
- 10 heat levels and a timer selectable to any hour up to 12
- Memory function, so you are not resetting it every night
- Machine washable on cold, gentle
Where it falls short
- One controller only, so the whole bed runs at one temperature
- No warranty term on the listing
- Westinghouse's other queen listings do not publish a wattage, so the figure is model-specific
Who this is forA solo sleeper, or a couple who genuinely agree on temperature and want the lowest running cost on the page.
Skip it ifSkip it if you share a bed with someone who runs hot. There is one controller and no way to split the blanket.
The longest warranty on a dual control
Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual Control

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Ten heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published.
Where the wattage comes fromSealy publishes no wattage for this model. Every Sealy listing we checked in this category, across blankets, throws and mattress pads, states certifications and cord lengths but never a watt figure.
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- 5-year warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 200 GSM double-layer flannel
- Total cord length
- 19 ft (power cord plus controller cord)
- Memory
- Yes, recalls last level and timer
- Model
- KTHB-QATVV-Q
What it does well
- 5-year warranty, the longest stated term of any bed blanket here
- Dual control with 10 levels each
- 19 ft of cord reaches an outlet that is not next to the bed
- ETL and FCC certified with overheat protection
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Flannel on both sides, so no sherpa face if you want the plusher side
- Wash rules are strict: slow agitation, low spin, no dry clean, no bleach
Who this is forCouples who want a long warranty and enough cord to reach a real outlet, and who are not deciding on running cost.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want to know the running cost before you buy. Sealy publishes nothing for this blanket you could compute one from.
How we ranked these
- The CPSC record is the authority, not this page. Every figure below is quoted from recall 23735 as returned by the CPSC recall database, re-checked on 2026-09-14. The official notice is linked in Sources and it governs.
- Model number, not size and not brand. The single most common mistake here is assuming a size is recalled. It is not: seven specific model numbers are.
- Current products are checked against the list individually, model by model, rather than assumed to be clear.
- Picks are ranked on published disclosure, the way everything on this site is, and include non-Bedsure alternatives for anyone who would rather change brand.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
Where each pick is the wrong buy
- Bedsure throw with preheat — publishes 100 W and a preheat curve, and it is 50 by 60 inches, the same size as a recalled model. Different model number, and you will be checking the label anyway.
- Bedsure full — same situation at 72 by 84, and Bedsure publishes no warranty term on any product.
- Bedsure GentleSoft queen — dual control and a published 220 W, from the brand you may have just been refunded by.
- Bedsure mattress pad queen — the only pad category in the recall was pads, so this is the pick that will need the closest label check. Its model is BS-HMQU-2, which is not on the list.
- Westinghouse flannel queen — the brand-switch pick on cost: 100 W published, ETL and FCC named, and a single controller for the whole bed.
- Sealy queen dual — the brand-switch pick on documentation: dual control, ETL and FCC, a 19-foot total cord run and a 5-year warranty, with no published wattage.
What we are not doing here
We are not running a live recall feed. This page is a dated snapshot of what the CPSC database returned on 2026-09-14, and a stale recall list is worse than none because it implies a check that is not happening. Search cpsc.gov/Recalls for the brand yourself before acting, and treat the official notice as the authority rather than this page.
We also are not telling you that Bedsure is unsafe, or that it is safe. One recall of 350,000 units is a real event and we have put the numbers in front of you rather than around them. What we can document is that its current models are not on the list, that it publishes more about its products than any other brand in this category, and that neither of those facts cancels the other. The brand page, written the same way, is Bedsure heated blankets.
Questions people actually ask
- Was there a Bedsure heated blanket recall?
- Yes, one. On 9 March 2023 the CPSC announced the recall of about 350,000 Bedsure electric heating blankets and pads (recall 23735) because the controller could malfunction, posing fire and thermal burn hazards. There were 137 incident reports and 17 burn injuries, one of them second-degree. It is the only Bedsure notice on the CPSC record.
- Which Bedsure models were recalled?
- Seven model numbers. Blankets: BS-HB5060, BS-HB6284, BS-HB7284 and BS-LV0A. Heating pads: BS-HP2422, BS-HP1224 and BS-HP2433. The model number is on a white label on the back of the blanket or pad, on the back of the controller, and on your order history page.
- Is my Bedsure blanket recalled if it is 50 by 60 inches?
- Not necessarily, and this is the most common confusion. A 50 by 60 throw with model BS-HB5060 is recalled. Bedsure still sells 50 by 60 throws today under model BS-100T, which is not on the list. Check the model number, not the size.
- Are Bedsure heated blankets safe now?
- We cannot rank any product by safety outcome, because per-model incident data does not exist. What we can say is that we checked the eight Bedsure products we currently track against the recall list, model number by model number, and none of them appears on it.
- How do I get a refund for a recalled Bedsure blanket?
- Stop using it, keep it, and register at safety.bedsurehome.com with photos of the unit, or contact Bedsure on 855-888-9966 (9 a.m. to 5 p.m. ET, Monday to Friday) or at safety@bedsurehome.com. The remedy is a full refund rather than a repair.
- Have there been other Bedsure recalls?
- No. Searching the CPSC recall database for Bedsure on 2026-09-14 returns recall 23735 and nothing else.
Sources
- US CPSC recall 23735 (2023-03-09): Bedshe International Recalls Bedsure Electric Heating Blankets and Pads Due to Fire and Thermal Burn Hazards - about 350,000 units, 137 incident reports, 17 burn injuries
- Bedsure recall registration and refund information
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission - recalls and product safety
Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.
Read next
- Heated blanket recallsFourteen CPSC notices, three failure mechanisms, and how to check your own in two minutes.
- Bedsure heated blanketsEight products, eight published wattages, and the one thing Bedsure never states.
- Electric blanket controllersMost of the manual is about this box, and it caused the biggest recall in the category.
- The safest electric blanketsNobody can rank safety outcomes. These are the four facts makers either state or hide.
- What actually goes wrongThree failure modes, all concentrated in old blankets, and the two-minute check.