Safety / Roundup
The safest electric blankets
No publisher can tell you which heated blanket is safest, including us. What we can do is rank them on the four safety facts a maker either states or does not.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

There is no published safety ranking of heated blankets and anyone offering you one has invented it. What exists is disclosure, and it varies a lot. The Sealy queen leads here because it names ETL and FCC, publishes a 1 to 12 hour selectable shut-off, states a 19-foot total cord run and carries a 5-year warranty — four facts, all in writing. Several well-known products publish none of the four.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickSealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual ControlTen heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published. | The longest warranty on a dual control | Not published | Uncomputable | $109.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 2 | Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, QueenThe only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers. | Two sleepers who argue about heat | 220 W | 32 cents | $84.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 3 | Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all. | The lowest published draw | 100 W | 15 cents | $84.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 4 | Beautyrest Reversible Heated ThrowThree heat settings and a stated 85-105 F range, which is deliberately mild. Five-year warranty and OEKO-TEX certification. | The gentlest heat and a 5-year warranty | Not published | Uncomputable | $42.36 - See it on Amazon |
| 5 | Serta Heated Mattress Pad, QueenMicrofiber top over bonded polyfill with a 15-inch skirt, sold explicitly as a protector as well as a warmer. | Doubling as a mattress protector | Not published | Uncomputable | $98.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 6 | Homemate Heated ThrowOne of very few listings that names the specific standard it was tested to, UL 964, plus a published 86-122 F range. | A named safety standard | Not published | Uncomputable | $45.99 - See it on Amazon |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
The longest warranty on a dual control
Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual Control

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Ten heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published.
Where the wattage comes fromSealy publishes no wattage for this model. Every Sealy listing we checked in this category, across blankets, throws and mattress pads, states certifications and cord lengths but never a watt figure.
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- 5-year warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 200 GSM double-layer flannel
- Total cord length
- 19 ft (power cord plus controller cord)
- Memory
- Yes, recalls last level and timer
- Model
- KTHB-QATVV-Q
What it does well
- 5-year warranty, the longest stated term of any bed blanket here
- Dual control with 10 levels each
- 19 ft of cord reaches an outlet that is not next to the bed
- ETL and FCC certified with overheat protection
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Flannel on both sides, so no sherpa face if you want the plusher side
- Wash rules are strict: slow agitation, low spin, no dry clean, no bleach
Who this is forCouples who want a long warranty and enough cord to reach a real outlet, and who are not deciding on running cost.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want to know the running cost before you buy. Sealy publishes nothing for this blanket you could compute one from.
Two sleepers who argue about heat
Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage
220 W
8 hours costs
32 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
The only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure's listing states the blanket runs on 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 110W controllers. Two controllers at 110W each is 220W with both sides at full, or 110W if only one side is on, which is how most couples actually use it.
220 W x 8 h = 1.76 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.32 per night
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 8 hours (6 timer settings, 1-2-4-6-8-10h)
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 220 W (dual 110 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 240 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
- Model
- BS-400B-S
What it does well
- Publishes a wattage, which almost nothing else in the category does
- Two controllers, so one side of the bed can run cold
- ETL and FCC certified with an 8-hour default auto shut-off
- Preheat cycle steps itself down instead of holding full heat all night
Where it falls short
- 6 heat levels where Sunbeam and Sealy give 10 to 12
- No warranty term on the listing
- 220 W with both sides up is the highest published draw of any bed blanket here
Who this is forCouples with different thermostats, and anyone who wants to know what the thing actually draws before buying it.
Skip it ifSkip it if you sleep alone. You are paying for a second controller you will never plug in, and the single-control Westinghouse publishes a lower 100 W.
The lowest published draw
Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage
100 W
8 hours costs
15 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all.
Where the wattage comes fromWestinghouse states it directly in the first listing bullet: "a 100W, 60Hz heating blanket". This is a single-controller queen, so 100 W is the whole blanket rather than one side of it.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- Double-layer 200 GSM flannel
- Memory
- Yes, holds your last heat level
- Model
- KTHB-QAVV-Q
What it does well
- 100 W published, the lowest figure any queen here stands behind
- 10 heat levels and a timer selectable to any hour up to 12
- Memory function, so you are not resetting it every night
- Machine washable on cold, gentle
Where it falls short
- One controller only, so the whole bed runs at one temperature
- No warranty term on the listing
- Westinghouse's other queen listings do not publish a wattage, so the figure is model-specific
Who this is forA solo sleeper, or a couple who genuinely agree on temperature and want the lowest running cost on the page.
Skip it ifSkip it if you share a bed with someone who runs hot. There is one controller and no way to split the blanket.
The gentlest heat and a 5-year warranty
Beautyrest Reversible Heated Throw

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Three heat settings and a stated 85-105 F range, which is deliberately mild. Five-year warranty and OEKO-TEX certification.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Beautyrest publishes a temperature range (85-105 F, depending on ambient temperature) and a count of safety tests, but no watt figure.
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 3 levels, 85-105 F
- Auto shut-off
- 2 hours
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- OEKO-TEX certified; 78 independent safety tests stated by the brand
- Warranty
- 5-year warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Temperature range
- 85-105 F, ambient-dependent
- Fabric
- 200 GSM plush / 220 GSM sherpa
- Model
- BR54-4848
What it does well
- 5-year warranty
- Publishes its temperature range honestly, including the ambient caveat
- OEKO-TEX certified for the textile itself
- Warm without power thanks to the weight of the fabric
Where it falls short
- Three heat settings only
- 105 F at the top is the mildest here
- No published wattage
Who this is forSomeone who finds most heated throws too hot, or is buying for a household where a gentler maximum is the point.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want serious heat. Three settings topping out at 105 F is a warm lap, not a hot one.
Doubling as a mattress protector
Serta Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Microfiber top over bonded polyfill with a 15-inch skirt, sold explicitly as a protector as well as a warmer.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published on the listing or in the technical details table.
- Size
- Queen, 60" x 80" plus 15" skirt, fits 18" mattresses
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, in 1-hour increments
- Controllers
- 2 (dual zone on queen and larger)
- Certification
- ETL certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Construction
- Microfiber top, bonded polyfill, non-woven base
- Skirt
- 15" with all-round elastic
- Model
- ST55-0275
What it does well
- Sold as a protector as well as a warmer, so it earns its place in summer
- Dual zone standard on queen and larger
- Timer settable in single-hour increments up to 12
- ETL certified and independently tested
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Polyfill adds loft you may not want on a soft mattress
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forA bed that needs protecting from spills as much as it needs warming.
Skip it ifSkip it if your mattress is already soft. The bonded polyfill adds a layer you will feel.
A named safety standard
Homemate Heated Throw

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
One of very few listings that names the specific standard it was tested to, UL 964, plus a published 86-122 F range.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Homemate does name the specific test standard (UL 964, the standard for household electric heating pads and blankets) and a temperature range of 86-122 F, which is more specific than most.
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels, 86-122 F
- Auto shut-off
- 8 hours stated; a second bullet on the same listing says 10
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL certified; listing names UL 964 testing
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Temperature range
- 86-122 F
- Fabric
- 220 GSM double-sided flannel
- Heating wire
- 2.2 mm diameter, stated on the listing
- Power cord
- 144" / 201"
- Model
- DJ-5060B
What it does well
- Names UL 964 specifically instead of just saying it is certified
- 10 heat levels on a throw
- Publishes a temperature range, which most throws do not
- Publishes the heating wire diameter, 2.2 mm, which nothing else in our set does
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- No warranty term stated
- The "lower electro magnetic radiation" claim is unquantified
- The listing states 8 hours in one bullet and 10 hours in another for the same auto shut-off
Who this is forSomeone who reads certifications and wants the standard named rather than implied.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want the running cost. Naming a standard is good practice; it is still not a watt figure.
How we ranked these
- A named third-party certification. UL or ETL means testing by a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory against UL 964. A listing that names no mark gets no credit here, even though the product is almost certainly tested.
- A stated auto shut-off duration. Confirming a timer exists is not a specification. Publishing the hours is.
- Overheat protection stated explicitly, separately from the timer, because they are different protections.
- A published warranty term, because it is the period the maker will stand behind a fault you cannot see.
- Not ranked on incident rates, failure rates or any safety outcome. No such data is published for individual models and we are not going to imply we have it.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
Why nobody can rank this category by actual safety
To rank blankets by safety you would need per-model incident data. It does not exist publicly. The CPSC publishes recalls, which tell you which products failed badly enough to be withdrawn, and that is a record of the exceptions rather than a comparison of the rest.
What the recall record does establish is the shape of the risk. Nine heated-bedding recalls appear since 2018 and every one ends in fire or burns, by one of three mechanisms: the element overheating, the controller malfunctioning, or the cord detaching. Not one was for a chemical hazard, a labeling error or a shock risk on its own. The full record, with unit and injury counts, is on heated blanket recalls.
The four things a maker either states or does not
| Product | Certification named | Shut-off duration | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sealy queen dual | ETL and FCC | 1-12 h, selectable | 5 years |
| Bedsure GentleSoft queen | ETL and FCC | 8 h (6 settings) | Not stated |
| Westinghouse flannel queen | ETL and FCC | 1-12 h, selectable | Not stated |
| Beautyrest reversible throw | OEKO-TEX; 78 brand-run tests | 2 hours | 5 years |
| Serta mattress pad queen | ETL | 1-12 h, 1-hour increments | Not stated |
| Homemate throw | ETL; listing names UL 964 | 8 h | Not stated |
| Sunbeam Royal Posh queen | None named | 12 h, selectable | Limited 5 years |
| Valthie mattress pad queen | None named (overheat protection stated) | 1-12 h | Not stated |
Quoted from each maker's own listing, checked 2026-09-13. A blank certification cell does not mean the product is uncertified — heated bedding sold in the US is tested to UL 964. It means the listing does not say so, and a mark you can read beats a mark you are assuming.
ETL is not a lesser mark than UL
This trips people up constantly. UL and ETL are both marks of testing by a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory against the same standard, UL 964, Standard for Electrically Heated Bedding. UL Solutions writes the standard and also tests to it; Intertek tests to it and issues the ETL mark. They are different laboratories, not different tiers.
FCC certification is not a safety mark. It concerns electromagnetic interference with other equipment and says nothing about fire risk. It appears on a lot of these listings next to ETL and it is doing none of the work people assume. OEKO-TEX is a textile chemistry certification — it is about what is in the fabric, not about electrical safety. Full detail on what the certification marks mean.
The specification that decides safety more than any other
Age. The dominant failure mode in this category is cracked element insulation from years of flexing, and it is invisible: the blanket keeps working normally until it does not. A new certified blanket at the cheap end of the market is a better risk than an expensive one that has been folded in a closet for twelve years.
The broad replacement guidance is around ten years, and no amount of certification changes it. That, and the two-minute inspection that finds the early signs, are on what actually goes wrong.
Who should not use one at all
This page ranks products. It does not answer whether the person using it should be. The clearest published cautions are for infants and young children, anyone with reduced sensation such as diabetic neuropathy, and anyone who cannot operate the controller or move away from the heat. Those are covered properly on who should not use an electric blanket and, for children specifically, on heated blankets and children. Nothing on this site is medical advice.
Where each pick is the wrong buy
- Sealy queen dual — the best disclosure here and no published wattage, so it cannot be costed.
- Bedsure GentleSoft queen — publishes its 220 W draw and names ETL, and states no warranty term at all.
- Westinghouse flannel queen — 100 W and a selectable timer, on a single controller for a whole bed.
- Beautyrest reversible throw — a 5-year warranty and OEKO-TEX, which is a textile mark rather than an electrical one, and a 2-hour shut-off that suits a sofa rather than a bed.
- Serta mattress pad queen — the finest timer control in our set and no warranty term stated.
- Homemate throw — the only listing that names UL 964 specifically, on a sofa throw with no wattage and no warranty published.
Questions people actually ask
- Which is the safest electric blanket?
- No publisher can answer that, because per-model incident data does not exist. What can be compared is disclosure. Of the products we track, the Sealy queen publishes the most: ETL and FCC certification, a 1 to 12 hour selectable shut-off, a 19-foot total cord run and a 5-year warranty.
- Is it safe to sleep with an electric blanket on?
- For a healthy adult with a modern certified blanket laid flat, generally yes, and the auto shut-off will end the session anyway. The risks that matter are folding or bunching the blanket, covering the controller, and aged element insulation — none of which the timer addresses.
- Is ETL as good as UL?
- Yes. Both are marks of testing by a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory against UL 964, the US standard for electrically heated bedding. They are different laboratories, not different tiers. FCC certification is not a safety mark at all.
- How old is too old for an electric blanket?
- The broad replacement guidance is around ten years. The dominant failure mode is element insulation cracking from years of flexing, which is invisible from outside and which certification does nothing to prevent.
- Do electric blankets cause fires?
- They can, and the risk concentrates in old and damaged blankets rather than new certified ones. Every heated-bedding recall on the CPSC record since 2018 ends in fire or burns, by one of three mechanisms: the element overheating, the controller malfunctioning, or the cord detaching.
Sources
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission - recalls and product safety
- UL Solutions - product safety standards and certification marks
Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.
Read next
- What the certification marks meanUL 964, why ETL is not a lesser mark, and who names no certification at all.
- What actually goes wrongThree failure modes, all concentrated in old blankets, and the two-minute check.
- Heated blanket recallsFourteen CPSC notices, three failure mechanisms, and how to check your own in two minutes.
- Who should not use an electric blanketReduced sensation is the real risk, and it is the one least discussed.
- Electric blankets with a timerSelectable hours, shut-off ceilings, and the ones that publish no duration.