Electric blankets / Roundup
Electric blankets with a timer
Every product in this category has an auto shut-off. What differs is whether you can choose the hour, how short the shortest setting is, and where the ceiling sits.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

The Westinghouse flannel queen has the most useful timer on a bed blanket we track: 1 to 12 hours, selectable, on a blanket that also publishes 100 W. For fine control the Serta pad sets in one-hour increments; for a hard stop the Sealy pad ceilings at 9 hours rather than 12. The shortest step anywhere in our set is one hour.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickWestinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all. | The lowest published draw | 100 W | 15 cents | $84.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 2 | Sunbeam Royal Posh Velvet Heated Blanket, QueenTwelve settings, a backlit display you can read at night, and the one thing no other Sunbeam blanket listing gives you: a stated 5-year warranty. | The only Sunbeam with a published warranty | Not published | Uncomputable | $86.10 - See it on Amazon |
| 3 | Serta Heated Mattress Pad, QueenMicrofiber top over bonded polyfill with a 15-inch skirt, sold explicitly as a protector as well as a warmer. | Doubling as a mattress protector | Not published | Uncomputable | $98.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 4 | Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen, Dual ControlTen settings with a 1-to-9-hour shut-off. The shorter ceiling is a feature if you would rather the bed switch itself off before morning. | A short auto-off ceiling | Not published | Uncomputable | $89.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 5 | Bedsure Heated Throw with Preheat100 W published, a preheat cycle that steps itself down, and a 10-hour timer. The throw we would buy on the numbers. | The best-documented throw | 100 W | 15 cents | $36.98 - See it on Amazon |
| 6 | Homemate Heated ThrowOne of very few listings that names the specific standard it was tested to, UL 964, plus a published 86-122 F range. | A named safety standard | Not published | Uncomputable | $45.99 - See it on Amazon |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
The lowest published draw
Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage
100 W
8 hours costs
15 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all.
Where the wattage comes fromWestinghouse states it directly in the first listing bullet: "a 100W, 60Hz heating blanket". This is a single-controller queen, so 100 W is the whole blanket rather than one side of it.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- Double-layer 200 GSM flannel
- Memory
- Yes, holds your last heat level
- Model
- KTHB-QAVV-Q
What it does well
- 100 W published, the lowest figure any queen here stands behind
- 10 heat levels and a timer selectable to any hour up to 12
- Memory function, so you are not resetting it every night
- Machine washable on cold, gentle
Where it falls short
- One controller only, so the whole bed runs at one temperature
- No warranty term on the listing
- Westinghouse's other queen listings do not publish a wattage, so the figure is model-specific
Who this is forA solo sleeper, or a couple who genuinely agree on temperature and want the lowest running cost on the page.
Skip it ifSkip it if you share a bed with someone who runs hot. There is one controller and no way to split the blanket.
The only Sunbeam with a published warranty
Sunbeam Royal Posh Velvet Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Twelve settings, a backlit display you can read at night, and the one thing no other Sunbeam blanket listing gives you: a stated 5-year warranty.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published, consistent with every Sunbeam heated-bedding listing we have checked. We looked at the bullets, the technical details table and the product page on 2026-09-07 and found no figure.
- Size
- Queen, 90" x 84"
- Heat settings
- 12 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- Not stated on the listing
- Warranty
- Limited 5 years
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- Royal Posh Velvet, 100% polyester
- Display
- LED backlit blue, readable at night
- Model number
- 32810117
What it does well
- A stated 5-year limited warranty, which Sunbeam's other blanket listings do not give
- 12 heat settings, the finest granularity in the category
- Backlit blue display you can actually read at 3am
- 12-hour selectable auto shut-off and overheat protection
Where it falls short
- No published wattage, so the running cost cannot be computed
- No certification named in the listing copy
- One controller on a queen, so the whole bed runs at one temperature
Who this is forSomeone who wants the Sunbeam controller and a warranty term in writing before they buy.
Skip it ifSkip it if you share the bed and disagree about temperature. It is single control, and no number of heat settings fixes that.
Doubling as a mattress protector
Serta Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Microfiber top over bonded polyfill with a 15-inch skirt, sold explicitly as a protector as well as a warmer.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published on the listing or in the technical details table.
- Size
- Queen, 60" x 80" plus 15" skirt, fits 18" mattresses
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, in 1-hour increments
- Controllers
- 2 (dual zone on queen and larger)
- Certification
- ETL certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Construction
- Microfiber top, bonded polyfill, non-woven base
- Skirt
- 15" with all-round elastic
- Model
- ST55-0275
What it does well
- Sold as a protector as well as a warmer, so it earns its place in summer
- Dual zone standard on queen and larger
- Timer settable in single-hour increments up to 12
- ETL certified and independently tested
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Polyfill adds loft you may not want on a soft mattress
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forA bed that needs protecting from spills as much as it needs warming.
Skip it ifSkip it if your mattress is already soft. The bonded polyfill adds a layer you will feel.
A short auto-off ceiling
Sealy Heated Mattress Pad, Queen, Dual Control

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Ten settings with a 1-to-9-hour shut-off. The shorter ceiling is a feature if you would rather the bed switch itself off before morning.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published, in line with every Sealy heated-bedding listing we checked across blankets, throws and pads.
- Size
- Queen
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-9 hours
- Controllers
- Dual control stated on the queen
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Top fabric
- Polyester felt
- Auto-off ceiling
- 9 hours
- Model
- KHM-QN
What it does well
- 9-hour ceiling means it cannot run all day if you forget it
- 10 temperature steps
- ETL and FCC certified with upgraded heating wire
- Straightforward controller
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Felt top is less pleasant against skin than quilted cotton
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forSomeone who wants the bed pre-warmed and off again by morning.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want the pad running for a full 12-hour winter night. Nine hours is the hard ceiling.
The best-documented throw
Bedsure Heated Throw with Preheat

Rated wattage
100 W
8 hours costs
15 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
100 W published, a preheat cycle that steps itself down, and a 10-hour timer. The throw we would buy on the numbers.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states "a power rating of 100W" at 120V AC, 60Hz. Same figure as the brand's queen-size single controller, on a blanket a quarter the area, which is why a throw heats faster.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Up to 10 hours (1-2-4-6-8-10h)
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Warranty card included in packaging; term not stated online
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 220 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
- Model
- BS-100T
What it does well
- Published wattage, so an hour on the sofa has a computable price
- Preheat steps down automatically rather than holding peak
- Warm without power thanks to the sherpa backing
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- 6 heat levels
- Warranty term is only in the box, not on the listing
- 50" x 60" is a one-person throw
Who this is forAnyone who wants a sofa throw and wants to know what an evening under it costs.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want to cover two people. At 50 by 60 inches it is a personal throw, not a shared one.
A named safety standard
Homemate Heated Throw

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
One of very few listings that names the specific standard it was tested to, UL 964, plus a published 86-122 F range.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Homemate does name the specific test standard (UL 964, the standard for household electric heating pads and blankets) and a temperature range of 86-122 F, which is more specific than most.
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels, 86-122 F
- Auto shut-off
- 8 hours stated; a second bullet on the same listing says 10
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL certified; listing names UL 964 testing
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Temperature range
- 86-122 F
- Fabric
- 220 GSM double-sided flannel
- Heating wire
- 2.2 mm diameter, stated on the listing
- Power cord
- 144" / 201"
- Model
- DJ-5060B
What it does well
- Names UL 964 specifically instead of just saying it is certified
- 10 heat levels on a throw
- Publishes a temperature range, which most throws do not
- Publishes the heating wire diameter, 2.2 mm, which nothing else in our set does
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- No warranty term stated
- The "lower electro magnetic radiation" claim is unquantified
- The listing states 8 hours in one bullet and 10 hours in another for the same auto shut-off
Who this is forSomeone who reads certifications and wants the standard named rather than implied.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want the running cost. Naming a standard is good practice; it is still not a watt figure.
How we ranked these
- Is the duration selectable, and in what steps? A blanket you can set to one hour is a different product from one that only offers eight.
- Where is the ceiling? Nine hours and twelve hours suit genuinely different households, and shorter is not worse.
- Is the duration published at all? Several listings confirm a timer exists without saying how long it runs, which is not a specification.
- Not ranked on how accurately the timer keeps time. We have not measured one.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
A timer is not one feature
Listings collapse this into a checkbox — auto shut-off, yes — and three genuinely different behaviors hide behind it.
| Behavior | What it means | Examples from our set |
|---|---|---|
| Selectable by the hour | You choose the duration from a range, usually 1 to 12 | Westinghouse queen, Sunbeam (12 h selectable), Serta pad (1-hour increments), Valthie pad |
| Fixed steps | A handful of preset durations, not a continuous range | Bedsure (6 settings: 1-2-4-6-8-10 h) |
| Stated but undefined | The listing confirms a timer without publishing a duration | Westinghouse sherpa throw, Beautyrest throw, Sealy twin |
From each maker's own listing, checked 2026-09-13. The third row is the one to watch: knowing a timer exists is not the same as knowing when it fires.
Nine hours versus twelve, and why shorter can be better
Sealy's mattress pad stops at nine hours where most of the category runs to twelve, and it is usually read as the pad being worse. It is a design decision and for a lot of households it is the better one.
A twelve-hour ceiling can run into the morning after you have got up. A nine-hour ceiling means the bed is warm when you get in and definitely off before you would have forgotten about it. If you want a warm bed at seven in the morning, twelve is right. If you want certainty that it has switched itself off, nine is right. Nobody markets the shorter ceiling as a feature and it often is one.
What the timer does not protect you from
This is the part the marketing never says, and it matters more than which ceiling you pick. An auto shut-off protects against one failure: a blanket left running indefinitely. It does nothing about the three things that actually cause incidents.
- 1A folded or bunched blanket, which traps heat in a small area while the element keeps producing it. The timer will not notice.
- 2A covered controller. It senses temperature; covering it defeats the protection. Every manual says all portions of the blanket and controller must stay visible.
- 3Damaged element insulation, the age-related failure behind most of the recall record. The timer has no way to detect it.
Full detail on auto shut-off, and what it does not protect you from, and on the controller itself on electric blanket controllers.
Where each pick is the wrong buy
- Westinghouse flannel queen — one controller, so on a shared bed the timer and the temperature are both a joint decision.
- Sunbeam Royal Posh queen — twelve selectable hours and a backlit display, but Sunbeam publishes no wattage on any product, so you cannot cost it.
- Serta pad — the finest timer control here, on a pad with no published wattage and no named warranty term.
- Sealy pad — the nine-hour ceiling is deliberate and it is genuinely wrong for you if you want a warm bed in the morning.
- Bedsure throw with preheat — fixed steps rather than a selectable hour, and it is a sofa throw, not a bed blanket.
- Homemate throw — a published 122 F top, the hottest in our set, with no wattage stated and two conflicting shut-off figures on one listing.
Questions people actually ask
- Do all electric blankets have an automatic shut-off?
- Every product we track has one, from two hours on a wearable poncho to twelve on most bed products. What differs is whether the duration is selectable, how short the shortest step is, and whether the maker publishes the number at all. Several listings confirm a timer exists without saying how long it runs.
- What is the best electric blanket timer setting?
- For most people, the shortest one. Running the blanket for an hour or two before bed warms the mattress and duvet, which then hold that heat, and nothing is powered while you sleep. Longer settings make sense if you specifically want the bed warm in the morning.
- Can you get an electric blanket that stays on all night?
- Twelve hours is the longest ceiling in our set and it covers any normal night. Nothing certified to UL 964 in this category is designed to run indefinitely, and a product that offered it would be removing the protection the standard exists to provide.
- Does an auto shut-off make an electric blanket safe?
- It removes one risk, not the main ones. It protects against a blanket left on indefinitely. It does nothing about a folded blanket, a covered controller or aged element insulation, which are the failure modes behind the recall record.
Read next
- Auto shut-off, and what it does not protect you fromTwo to twelve hours, what it protects against, and the three things it does not.
- Electric blanket controllersMost of the manual is about this box, and it caused the biggest recall in the category.
- The most energy efficient heated blanketsThe six blankets whose makers publish a wattage, lowest draw first.
- The best heated mattress padsSix pads compared, and the single brand that tells you what its pad draws.
- How to choose an electric blanketThe seven specs that genuinely differ, in the order they should decide it.