Electric blankets / Roundup
Smart and Wi-Fi heated blankets
App control, voice control, and the question nobody asks until the router reboots: what happens to the blanket when the Wi-Fi goes away?
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

The Sunbeam Wi-Fi mattress pad is the pick, because it is the one that treats the app as an addition: app, voice assistant and a wired digital controller, plus a cETLus mark and a 5-year limited warranty that most Sunbeam listings do not carry. The Beautyrest Wi-Fi king is the upgrade if you share the bed — 20 heat settings and two physical controllers as well as Alexa. The Eddie Bauer throw is the cautionary one: no manual controller at all. None of the four publishes a wattage.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickSunbeam Wi-Fi Connected Heated Mattress Pad, QueenApp, voice assistant and a wired digital controller, all three. The only Sunbeam in our registry that names a certification and a warranty on the same listing. | App control without giving up the physical controller | Not published | Uncomputable | $99.89 - See it on Amazon |
| 2 | Beautyrest Wi-Fi Heated Blanket, KingTwenty heat settings, dual zones with two physical controllers, Alexa and app control on top, and a 5-year warranty. The most complete connected blanket we found. | Wi-Fi plus two real controllers | Not published | Uncomputable | $152.83 - See it on Amazon |
| 3 | Sunbeam Wi-Fi Heated Blanket LoftTec, KingThe same app, voice and wired-controller trio on a 90 by 100 king blanket. Ten settings, a 10-hour ceiling, and nothing published about watts, certification or warranty. | A connected blanket rather than a connected pad | Not published | Uncomputable | $121.50 - See it on Amazon |
| 4 | Eddie Bauer Smart Heated Electric ThrowA Wi-Fi-only throw with no manual controller at all. Everything above the power button happens in the app or through Alexa, and the listing says so plainly. | Pure app control, for better and worse | Not published | Uncomputable | $52.10 - See it on Amazon |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026
App control without giving up the physical controller
Sunbeam Wi-Fi Connected Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026
App, voice assistant and a wired digital controller, all three. The only Sunbeam in our registry that names a certification and a warranty on the same listing.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published, which is true of every Sunbeam product we track. This listing does publish a cETLus mark and a 5-year limited warranty, which most Sunbeam listings do not.
- Size
- Queen, 60" x 80", skirt stretches to 16"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 10 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 2 (dual zone at queen and larger), plus app and voice control
- Certification
- cETLus certified, stated on the listing
- Warranty
- 5 years, limited
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Control
- App, voice assistant, or wired digital controller
- Pocket depth
- Stretches to 16"
- Care
- Machine washable and dryer safe, controller detached
- Model
- 2143662
What it does well
- Three ways to control it, and one of them is a physical controller that works with the Wi-Fi off
- cETLus certified and a 5-year limited warranty, both stated
- Ten heat settings and a selectable 10-hour shut-off
- Dryer safe, which most heated bedding is not
Where it falls short
- No rated wattage, as on every Sunbeam product we track
- A 16-inch skirt, shallower than the 18 inches several rivals state
- App control depends on a service the maker can change or retire; the wired controller is the reason that is survivable
- Nothing is published about what happens to a schedule if the network drops
Who this is forSomeone who wants to warm the bed from the sofa and is not willing to depend on an app to turn it off.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want the running cost before you buy, or if your mattress is deeper than 16 inches.
Wi-Fi plus two real controllers
Beautyrest Wi-Fi Heated Blanket, King

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026
Twenty heat settings, dual zones with two physical controllers, Alexa and app control on top, and a 5-year warranty. The most complete connected blanket we found.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published, which is true of all seven Beautyrest products we track. This listing does publish a 1-hour preheat, a 1-10 hour shut-off range and both cord lengths.
- Size
- King, 100" W x 90" L
- Heat settings
- 20 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-10 hours, with a 1-hour preheat
- Controllers
- 2 (dual zone), plus app and Alexa voice control
- Certification
- Independently tested, per the listing; no mark named
- Warranty
- 5 years
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Control
- Two wired controllers, app, or Alexa
- Preheat
- 1 hour, stated
- Cords
- 6 ft power, 12.5 ft controller
- Hotspot sensing
- Stated to detect and cool down automatically
- Model
- BR54-4129
What it does well
- Twenty heat settings, the finest granularity of any blanket we track
- Dual zones with two physical controllers, so the app is an addition rather than a dependency
- 5-year warranty, which Beautyrest states on every product we track
- Publishes both cord lengths and a stated 1-hour preheat
Where it falls short
- Stock was down to a handful of units on the day we checked, so availability is not guaranteed
- No rated wattage and no certification mark named, only the phrase independently tested
- The no-recall-history claim is the brand's own and we have not audited it
- The most expensive connected option here by a wide margin
Who this is forA shared king bed where one person wants voice control and the other wants a dial they can reach.
Skip it ifSkip it if you need it in the house this week. Of everything on this page it is the one most likely to be out of stock when you click.
A connected blanket rather than a connected pad
Sunbeam Wi-Fi Heated Blanket LoftTec, King

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026
The same app, voice and wired-controller trio on a 90 by 100 king blanket. Ten settings, a 10-hour ceiling, and nothing published about watts, certification or warranty.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. This listing is thinner than the Sunbeam Wi-Fi mattress pad: it names no certification mark and states no warranty term either.
- Size
- King, 90" x 100"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Up to 10 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 1 wired digital controller, plus app and voice control
- Certification
- Not named on the listing
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Control
- Sunbeam app, compatible voice assistant, or wired controller
- Fabric
- LoftTec Royal Luxe microplush, 100% polyester
- Model
- 32810043
What it does well
- App and voice control with a wired controller still in the box
- Ten heat settings, finer than the six most bed blankets give
- King coverage at 90 by 100 inches
- Overheat protection stated
Where it falls short
- One controller across a king bed, so both sides run at one temperature
- No certification named and no warranty term, unlike the Wi-Fi pad from the same brand
- No rated wattage
- Connected features depend on an app that may outlive or predecease the blanket
Who this is forOne sleeper, or two who agree on temperature, who want to start the bed warming before they go upstairs.
Skip it ifSkip it if you share the bed with someone who runs hot. A single controller on a king is the complaint behind most returns at this size.
Pure app control, for better and worse
Eddie Bauer Smart Heated Electric Throw

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026
A Wi-Fi-only throw with no manual controller at all. Everything above the power button happens in the app or through Alexa, and the listing says so plainly.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. The listing also publishes no heat-setting count, no timer duration, no certification mark and no warranty term — unusually little for a connected product.
- Size
- Throw, 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- Not stated; set in the app
- Auto shut-off
- Not stated on the listing
- Controllers
- None. App or Alexa only, with a power button on the blanket
- Certification
- Not named on the listing
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Control
- App or Alexa. No manual controller
- Network
- 2.4 GHz band only, stated
- Fabric
- 100% polyester brushed microplush, reversible to sherpa
- Care
- Machine washable, tumble dry on the lowest setting
- Model
- 880660
What it does well
- Genuinely hands-free: voice or phone, with no box to find in the dark
- The listing is honest about the 2.4 GHz limitation and the pairing procedure
- Reversible microplush and sherpa at the standard 50 by 60 throw size
- Machine washable and tumble dry on low
Where it falls short
- No manual controller means no heat control at all if the app or the network is down
- No heat-setting count, no timer duration, no certification and no warranty published
- 2.4 GHz only, which some mesh routers make awkward
- No rated wattage
Who this is forSomeone whose house already runs on voice control and who wants the throw to join it.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want a dial. A heated blanket whose only interface is an app is a blanket with no interface on the day the app fails.
How we ranked these
- Does a physical controller survive? First question, because an app is a feature and a controller is the product. We rank the ones that keep both above the one that does not.
- What the app actually adds, stated rather than implied: scheduling, voice, preheat.
- Then the ordinary specs: heat settings, shut-off range, certification, warranty.
- Not ranked on wattage, because not one connected product publishes a rated draw — which is worth saying twice on a page about smart heaters.
- Not assessed: app quality, pairing reliability or how long the service will exist. We have not installed any of these apps and we will not pretend otherwise.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
Smart means three different things here
The word is doing a lot of work on these listings, and the differences are not cosmetic. Across the four products we could verify, connected control comes in three distinct shapes:
- App plus voice plus a wired controller. Both Sunbeam products. The blanket works exactly like an ordinary blanket when nothing is connected, and the app is a second route to the same settings.
- App plus voice plus two wired controllers. The Beautyrest king, which keeps dual-zone control physical and adds Alexa on top.
- App and voice only. The Eddie Bauer throw, whose listing says it in plain words: *no manual controller*. There is a power button on the blanket and nothing else.
That last one is the whole buying decision on this page. A heated blanket with no controller is fine until the evening your router is rebooting, your phone is flat, or the maker retires the app. Then you have a blanket with an on switch and no way to choose a heat level. We are not predicting that happens; we are pointing out that the other three products here cost you nothing to be protected against it.
| Product | Control | Heat settings | Shut-off | Certification | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sunbeam Wi-Fi pad, queen | App, voice, wired controller | 10 | 10 h, selectable | cETLus | 5 years |
| Beautyrest Wi-Fi blanket, king | App, Alexa, 2 wired controllers | 20 | 1-10 h, 1 h preheat | Not named | 5 years |
| Sunbeam Wi-Fi blanket, king | App, voice, wired controller | 10 | Up to 10 h | Not named | Not stated |
| Eddie Bauer smart throw | App or Alexa only | Not published | Not published | Not named | Not stated |
| Rated wattage, all four | Not published |
Quoted from each listing's own feature bullets and manufacturer data, read through the Amazon Creators API on 2026-10-03.
A connected heater that will not tell you what it draws
Here is the part we did not expect. These are the most technically ambitious products in the category — they hold a Wi-Fi connection, answer a voice assistant and run a schedule — and not one of them publishes a rated wattage. Across the 67 products in our registry, thirteen publish a figure, and none of the thirteen is on this page. The full ledger is on the watts, by model.
The practical consequence is a strange one. If you put a $15 smart plug on a dumb blanket, the plug will report the watts it is passing and you will know more about your blanket's consumption than any of these connected products will tell you. The connected feature set here is about convenience, not about energy, and no listing claims otherwise — but it is worth knowing before you pay the connected premium expecting insight you will not get.
A smart plug is not a smart blanket, and the difference matters
Several non-connected products advertise compatibility with smart outlets. Our own Beautyrest California king pad says it is compatible with smart home outlets and automatic timers, and it is a perfectly ordinary pad with a dial.
A smart plug does exactly one thing: it cuts and restores mains power. It cannot change the heat level, and it cannot tell the controller what to do when the power comes back. What the controller does on power restoration is not published by any maker we have read — it may wake at the last setting, it may wake off. That is a real gap if your plan is to schedule a preheat, because a plug that restores power to a controller that defaults to off has preheated nothing. If scheduling is the point, buy the connection rather than bolting one on.
What the app genuinely buys you
We are not dismissive of the format, and there are two cases where it earns its keep. The first is preheating from somewhere else — switching the bed on from the sofa downstairs or the car on the way home, which is the one job a 10-hour timer cannot do because timers count forward from when you press them, not back from when you arrive.
The second is reach. A controller lives on a cord at the side of the bed, which is why cord length is a spec we track, and on an adjustable bed or a tall divan it can end up somewhere awkward. Voice control removes the reach problem entirely. That is a genuine accessibility gain rather than a gadget, and it is the reason this format turns up on our page about heated blankets for older adults too.
Where each pick is the wrong buy
- Sunbeam Wi-Fi pad — the only Sunbeam we track with both a certification and a warranty stated, and still no wattage and a shallower 16-inch skirt than rivals.
- Beautyrest Wi-Fi king — twenty settings and two controllers, on the product most likely to be out of stock when you click.
- Sunbeam Wi-Fi blanket, king — the connected blanket rather than the pad, with one controller across a king bed and a thinner listing than its own stablemate.
- Eddie Bauer smart throw — the most genuinely hands-free, and the only one where a network problem leaves you with no heat control at all.
We have not installed any of these apps, paired any of these products or measured how long a connection holds. Everything above is quoted from what each maker publishes, which is the whole method and is set out on our methodology page.
Questions people actually ask
- Are there heated blankets you can control with an app?
- Yes. Sunbeam sells Wi-Fi connected mattress pads and blankets, Beautyrest sells a Wi-Fi blanket with Alexa support, and Eddie Bauer sells a Wi-Fi-only throw. The first three keep a wired controller as well; the Eddie Bauer does not have one.
- What happens to a Wi-Fi heated blanket if the internet goes down?
- On the Sunbeam and Beautyrest products you fall back to the wired controller, which works whether or not anything is connected. On the Eddie Bauer throw there is no manual controller, so you are left with a power button and no heat-level control until the connection returns.
- Can I use a smart plug with a normal electric blanket instead?
- You can switch it on and off that way, but a smart plug cannot change the heat level and no maker we have read publishes what its controller does when power is restored. If the plan is a scheduled preheat, that unpublished behavior is the thing that decides whether it works.
- Do smart heated blankets use more electricity?
- Nobody publishes a figure, so there is no honest answer and we will not estimate one. Not one of the four connected products we found states a rated wattage, which is unusual for a category where thirteen of the sixty-seven products we track do.
- Is a Wi-Fi heated blanket worth it?
- It is worth it for two jobs: preheating the bed from somewhere else, and controlling the heat without reaching for a box on a cord. It is not worth it for energy insight, because none of these products reports consumption.
Sources
- Sunbeam Wi-Fi Connected Heated Mattress Pad, Queen - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (checked 2026-10-03)
- Beautyrest Wi-Fi Heated Blanket, King - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (checked 2026-10-03)
- Sunbeam Electric Wi-Fi Heated Blanket LoftTec, King - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (checked 2026-10-03)
- Eddie Bauer Smart Heated Electric Throw - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (checked 2026-10-03)
Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.
Read next
- Electric blankets with a timerSelectable hours, shut-off ceilings, and the ones that publish no duration.
- Dual control electric blanketsTwo controllers, two zones, and the per-side wattage where the maker publishes it.
- Auto shut-off, and what it does not protect you fromTwo to twelve hours, what it protects against, and the three things it does not.
- Heated blankets for older adultsThe controller decides it: legible display, physical buttons, shorter shut-off.
- The watts, by modelEvery sourced wattage we could find, cited, plus the 26 models that publish none.