Electric blankets / Guide
How to choose an electric blanket
Most listings repeat the same four claims. Here are the seven things that genuinely differ, in the order they should decide the purchase.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

Decide in this order: size, then one controller or two, then whether the maker publishes a wattage, then where your outlet is, then heat steps, timer ceiling, certification and warranty. The first four eliminate most of the shelf. The last four break ties.
The four claims that do not help you
Before the checklist, the things to stop comparing. Every mains blanket we track is machine washable, has an auto shut-off, has overheat protection, and is described as certified by a testing laboratory. All four are genuinely important and none of them distinguishes one product from another, because they are universal.
If a listing leads with those four and says nothing else, it has told you nothing. That is worth knowing because it is what most listings do.
1. Size, and match it to the mattress
Twin 62 by 84, full 72 by 84, queen 84 by 90, king 90 by 100. Buy the one that matches your bed. Oversizing gives you overhang that pulls the blanket off in the night; undersizing gives you cold edges. Neither is fixable afterwards.
2. One controller or two
The least reversible decision on the list. A single-controller queen heats the whole bed to one temperature, and if two people disagree about that temperature no number of heat settings resolves it. Dual control costs more, adds a second cable and a second plug, and is the difference between a blanket that stays on the bed and one that ends up in a cupboard.
Sleeping alone reverses the advice completely: skip dual control, because you are paying for a controller you will never plug in. Full options on dual control blankets.
3. Does the maker publish a wattage
Three of the ten bed-size blankets we track do. It matters for two reasons. The obvious one is that it lets you compute the running cost. The less obvious one is what it signals: a maker who states a rated draw is a maker who has decided to tell you something it is not obliged to tell you.
We would not buy a worse blanket for a published number. We would use it to break a tie between two similar ones, and on this shelf there are a lot of similar ones. The ledger is on the watts, by model.
4. Where is the outlet
This eliminates products more often than people expect and it is checkable in thirty seconds with a tape measure.
- Biddeford prohibits extension cords and power strips outright. If the socket does not reach, the blanket is not an option, full stop.
- Sealy publishes a 19-foot total cord run across power cord plus controller cord, which is the longest we found and solves most awkward bedroom layouts.
- Dual control needs power at both sides, or one run long enough to reach across.
5 to 8. The tiebreakers
| Spec | Range we found | Who is at the top |
|---|---|---|
| Heat settings | 3 to 12 | Sunbeam, 12 settings |
| Auto-shutoff ceiling | 2 to 12 hours | Most bed blankets reach 12 |
| Stated warranty | None to 5 years | Sealy and Biddeford, 5 years |
| Named certification | None to UL 964 by name | Homemate names the standard |
| Cord length | Not stated to 19 ft | Sealy, 19 ft total |
Compiled from the listings of the 29 products we track, checked 2026-08-31.
A note on heat settings, because more is not automatically better. Twelve settings on a Sunbeam gives fine control. Six on a Bedsure gives coarser control with a preheat cycle that manages the curve for you. Which is better depends on whether you want to adjust it or want it handled.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickBedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, QueenThe only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers. | Two sleepers who argue about heat | 220 W | 32 cents | Check price |
| 2 | Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all. | The lowest published draw | 100 W | 15 cents | Check price |
| 3 | Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual ControlTen heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published. | The longest warranty on a dual control | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Two sleepers who argue about heat
Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, Queen
The only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure's listing states the blanket runs on 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 110W controllers. Two controllers at 110W each is 220W with both sides at full, or 110W if only one side is on, which is how most couples actually use it.
220 W x 8 h = 1.76 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.32 per night
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 8 hours (6 timer settings, 1-2-4-6-8-10h)
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 220 W (dual 110 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 240 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
- Model
- BS-400B-S
What it does well
- Publishes a wattage, which almost nothing else in the category does
- Two controllers, so one side of the bed can run cold
- ETL and FCC certified with an 8-hour default auto shut-off
- Preheat cycle steps itself down instead of holding full heat all night
Where it falls short
- 6 heat levels where Sunbeam and Sealy give 10 to 12
- No warranty term on the listing
- 220 W with both sides up is the highest published draw of any bed blanket here
Who this is forCouples with different thermostats, and anyone who wants to know what the thing actually draws before buying it.
Skip it ifSkip it if you sleep alone. You are paying for a second controller you will never plug in, and the single-control Westinghouse publishes a lower 100 W.
The lowest published draw
Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen
100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all.
Where the wattage comes fromWestinghouse states it directly in the first listing bullet: "a 100W, 60Hz heating blanket". This is a single-controller queen, so 100 W is the whole blanket rather than one side of it.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- Double-layer 200 GSM flannel
- Memory
- Yes, holds your last heat level
- Model
- KTHB-QAVV-Q
What it does well
- 100 W published, the lowest figure any queen here stands behind
- 10 heat levels and a timer selectable to any hour up to 12
- Memory function, so you are not resetting it every night
- Machine washable on cold, gentle
Where it falls short
- One controller only, so the whole bed runs at one temperature
- No warranty term on the listing
- Westinghouse's other queen listings do not publish a wattage, so the figure is model-specific
Who this is forA solo sleeper, or a couple who genuinely agree on temperature and want the lowest running cost on the page.
Skip it ifSkip it if you share a bed with someone who runs hot. There is one controller and no way to split the blanket.
The longest warranty on a dual control
Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual Control
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Ten heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published.
Where the wattage comes fromSealy publishes no wattage for this model. Every Sealy listing we checked in this category, across blankets, throws and mattress pads, states certifications and cord lengths but never a watt figure.
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- 5-year warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 200 GSM double-layer flannel
- Total cord length
- 19 ft (power cord plus controller cord)
- Memory
- Yes, recalls last level and timer
- Model
- KTHB-QATVV-Q
What it does well
- 5-year warranty, the longest stated term of any bed blanket here
- Dual control with 10 levels each
- 19 ft of cord reaches an outlet that is not next to the bed
- ETL and FCC certified with overheat protection
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Flannel on both sides, so no sherpa face if you want the plusher side
- Wash rules are strict: slow agitation, low spin, no dry clean, no bleach
Who this is forCouples who want a long warranty and enough cord to reach a real outlet, and who are not deciding on running cost.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want to know the running cost before you buy. Sealy publishes nothing you could compute one from.
Three questions worth asking before any of this
- 1Do you want a blanket at all? If the problem is a cold bed rather than a cold person, a heated mattress pad is the better product. If it is one person on a sofa, a heated throw is smaller and cheaper.
- 2Who will be under it? Pacemakers, pregnancy, young children and reduced sensation all have specific answers on who should not use one.
- 3Are you replacing an old one? If the blanket you are replacing is around a decade old, that is the reason to replace it and the features matter less than the fact of replacement. See how long they last.
Questions people actually ask
- What should I look for when buying an electric blanket?
- In order: the right size for your mattress, one controller or two, whether the maker publishes a wattage, and whether your outlet reaches. Heat settings, timer ceiling, warranty and certification are tiebreakers after that.
- Are more heat settings better on an electric blanket?
- Not automatically. Twelve settings gives fine manual control; six settings with a preheat cycle gives coarser control with the curve managed for you. It depends on whether you want to adjust it yourself.
- Should I buy an electric blanket or a heated mattress pad?
- A pad if the problem is getting into a cold bed, since it warms the mattress from below and disappears when the bed is made. A blanket if the problem is staying warm once you are in, or if you want to move it to the sofa. Full comparison.
- How long should an electric blanket last?
- The stated warranties that exist run to five years, and the general replacement guidance across consumer safety bodies is around ten. Washing frequency and how you store it both shorten that. See how long do electric blankets last.
Read next
- The best electric blanketsSeven bed-size blankets ranked on published wattage, controllers and warranty.
- Dual control electric blanketsTwo controllers, two zones, and the per-side wattage where the maker publishes it.
- Heated blanket vs heated mattress padOver you or under you, with both running costs and the case each one wins.
- Who should not use an electric blanketReduced sensation is the real risk, and it is the one least discussed.
- How long do electric blankets last?Five-year warranties, ten-year replacement, and the wear you cannot see.