Safety / Guide
Can you sleep with an electric blanket on?
The answer is mostly yes, and the useful part is the three conditions attached to it — none of which the auto shut-off handles.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

For a healthy adult, with a modern certified blanket, laid flat, on a low setting — generally yes, and the auto shut-off will end the session anyway. Three conditions matter far more than the answer: the blanket must not be folded or bunched, the controller must stay uncovered, and the blanket must not be old. None of those three is something the timer protects you from.
What the timer actually covers
Every product we track shuts itself off, from two hours on a wearable poncho to twelve hours on most bed products. That protects against exactly one scenario: a blanket left running and forgotten, for days rather than hours. It is worth having. It is also narrow.
| Risk | Does the timer help? |
|---|---|
| Blanket left on for days after you leave the house | Yes — this is what it is for |
| Blanket folded or bunched, trapping heat in one spot | No. A hot spot forms well inside any timer setting |
| Controller covered by the duvet | No. It senses temperature; covering it defeats the sensing |
| Cracked element insulation in an old blanket | No. The timer has no way to detect it |
| A sleeper who cannot feel or act on discomfort | No. That is a question about the person, not the product |
The three no-rows are the mechanisms behind most of the incidents in the CPSC record. Detail on auto shut-off and what actually goes wrong.
The three conditions, in plain terms
- 1Flat, not folded. A fold concentrates the element while it keeps producing heat. This is the single most common misuse and it is entirely avoidable: make the bed with the blanket flat, and do not tuck it so tight that it bunches when somebody turns over.
- 2Controller on top of the covers, visible. Every manual in our set says all portions of the blanket and controller should be visible while it runs. Under the duvet is the one place it must not be.
- 3Not an old blanket. Element insulation cracks with years of flexing, invisibly, and the broad replacement guidance is around ten years. Overnight use on a twelve-year-old blanket is a different risk from overnight use on a new certified one, and no setting changes that.
Who should not, regardless of the setting
This is where the answer changes from mostly yes to no, and it is about the person rather than the product. The clearest published cautions are for infants and young children, anyone with reduced sensation such as diabetic neuropathy, anyone heavily sedated, and anyone who cannot operate the controller or move away from the heat.
The common thread is the protective reflex a healthy adult never notices: it gets uncomfortable, you shift or turn it down, half asleep, without deciding to. Everything on that list is a case where that reflex is impaired or cannot be acted on. Full detail on who should not use an electric blanket, and for children specifically on heated blankets and children. Nothing on this site is medical advice.
What to buy if you will use it overnight
Ranked on what a listing states, not on an outcome nobody publishes: a stated shut-off duration, a named certification, and controls you can work half asleep.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickSealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual ControlTen heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published. | The longest warranty on a dual control | Not published | Uncomputable | $109.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 2 | Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all. | The lowest published draw | 100 W | 15 cents | $85.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 3 | Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, QueenDual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all. | The only pad with a published wattage | 200 W | 29 cents | $79.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 4 | Serta Heated Mattress Pad, QueenMicrofiber top over bonded polyfill with a 15-inch skirt, sold explicitly as a protector as well as a warmer. | Doubling as a mattress protector | Not published | Uncomputable | $85.77 - See it on Amazon |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026
The longest warranty on a dual control
Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual Control

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026
Ten heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published.
Where the wattage comes fromSealy publishes no wattage for this model. Every Sealy listing we checked in this category, across blankets, throws and mattress pads, states certifications and cord lengths but never a watt figure.
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- 5-year warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 200 GSM double-layer flannel
- Total cord length
- 19 ft (power cord plus controller cord)
- Memory
- Yes, recalls last level and timer
- Model
- KTHB-QATVV-Q
What it does well
- 5-year warranty, the longest stated term of any bed blanket here
- Dual control with 10 levels each
- 19 ft of cord reaches an outlet that is not next to the bed
- ETL and FCC certified with overheat protection
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Flannel on both sides, so no sherpa face if you want the plusher side
- Wash rules are strict: slow agitation, low spin, no dry clean, no bleach
Who this is forCouples who want a long warranty and enough cord to reach a real outlet, and who are not deciding on running cost.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want to know the running cost before you buy. Sealy publishes nothing for this blanket you could compute one from.
The lowest published draw
Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage
100 W
8 hours costs
15 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026
100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all.
Where the wattage comes fromWestinghouse states it directly in the first listing bullet: "a 100W, 60Hz heating blanket". This is a single-controller queen, so 100 W is the whole blanket rather than one side of it.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- Double-layer 200 GSM flannel
- Memory
- Yes, holds your last heat level
- Model
- KTHB-QAVV-Q
What it does well
- 100 W published, the lowest figure any queen here stands behind
- 10 heat levels and a timer selectable to any hour up to 12
- Memory function, so you are not resetting it every night
- Machine washable on cold, gentle
Where it falls short
- One controller only, so the whole bed runs at one temperature
- No warranty term on the listing
- Westinghouse's other queen listings do not publish a wattage, so the figure is model-specific
Who this is forA solo sleeper, or a couple who genuinely agree on temperature and want the lowest running cost on the page.
Skip it ifSkip it if you share a bed with someone who runs hot. There is one controller and no way to split the blanket.
The only pad with a published wattage
Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage
200 W
8 hours costs
29 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026
Dual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 100W controllers. Both sides at full is 200W; one side alone is 100W. This is the only heated mattress pad in our checks with any published wattage.
200 W x 8 h = 1.60 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.29 per night
- Size
- Queen, fits up to 18" deep
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 12 time settings, up to 12 hours
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 200 W (dual 100 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Pocket depth
- Stretches to 18"
- Preheat
- Yes, with memory
- Model
- BS-HMQU-2
What it does well
- The only heated mattress pad here with a published wattage
- Dual control, so two sleepers get separate zones
- All-round elastic to 18" keeps it from shifting
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- No warranty term stated
- No waterproof layer on this version
- 200 W with both zones at full is the highest published draw on this site
Who this is forTwo sleepers who want the bed warm before they get into it, and want the running cost on the table.
Skip it ifSkip it if you need waterproofing. Bedsure's cotton-top version has a TPU layer; this one does not.
Doubling as a mattress protector
Serta Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026
Microfiber top over bonded polyfill with a 15-inch skirt, sold explicitly as a protector as well as a warmer.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published on the listing or in the technical details table.
- Size
- Queen, 60" x 80" plus 15" skirt, fits 18" mattresses
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, in 1-hour increments
- Controllers
- 2 (dual zone on queen and larger)
- Certification
- ETL certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Construction
- Microfiber top, bonded polyfill, non-woven base
- Skirt
- 15" with all-round elastic
- Model
- ST55-0275
What it does well
- Sold as a protector as well as a warmer, so it earns its place in summer
- Dual zone standard on queen and larger
- Timer settable in single-hour increments up to 12
- ETL certified and independently tested
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Polyfill adds loft you may not want on a soft mattress
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forA bed that needs protecting from spills as much as it needs warming.
Skip it ifSkip it if your mattress is already soft. The bonded polyfill adds a layer you will feel.
How we ranked these
- A stated shut-off duration first, because overnight use is the scenario the timer exists for and a listing that will not say how long it runs has not specified it.
- Then a named certification, because this is the use where a third-party mark earns its keep.
- Then whether the controller is usable half asleep: a legible display and physical buttons.
- Not ranked on any safety outcome. No per-model incident data exists and we are not going to imply we have it.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
Two of these are mattress pads rather than blankets, deliberately. A pad sits under the fitted sheet, which means it cannot be bunched around a limb and there is a layer of cotton between the element and skin. For overnight use specifically that removes the most common misuse by design. The comparison is on heated blanket vs heated mattress pad.
Where each pick is the wrong buy
- Sealy queen dual — a 1-12 hour selectable shut-off, ETL and FCC, a 19-foot cord and five years in writing, and no published wattage.
- Westinghouse flannel queen — 100 W published and a selectable timer, on one controller for a shared bed.
- Bedsure mattress pad queen — dual zones and a published 200 W, with no warranty term stated.
- Serta mattress pad queen — the finest timer control in the category, set by the hour, and no warranty term stated.
We have not tested any of these and we cannot rank products by safety outcome, because per-model incident data does not exist publicly. What can be compared is disclosure, and the full ranking on that basis is on the safest electric blankets.
Questions people actually ask
- Is it safe to sleep with an electric blanket on?
- For a healthy adult with a modern certified blanket laid flat on a low setting, generally yes, and the auto shut-off ends the session anyway. The conditions that matter are that it is not folded or bunched, the controller is uncovered, and the blanket is not old — none of which the timer protects against.
- Can you leave an electric blanket on all night?
- Most bed products run to a ten or twelve hour ceiling, so they are designed to be able to. Whether you should is a different question: running it for half an hour before bed warms the bed for roughly a cent and leaves nothing powered overnight.
- What happens if you fall asleep with an electric blanket on?
- On a modern certified blanket laid flat, the timer ends the session. The risks that remain are a folded or bunched blanket creating a hot spot, a controller covered by the duvet, and aged element insulation — and those exist whether you are awake or asleep.
- Is it better to sleep with a heated mattress pad than a blanket?
- For overnight use specifically, a pad removes the most common misuse by design: it sits under the fitted sheet, so it cannot be bunched around a limb and there is a layer of cotton between the element and your skin.
- What setting should an electric blanket be on overnight?
- The lowest one that is comfortable. Skin damage depends on temperature and time together, and a surface that feels merely warm can damage skin held against it for hours. Several throws in our set publish ceilings of 105 to 122 F, which are comfortable to touch and are sustained contact temperatures for a whole night.
Sources
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission - recalls and product safety
- UL Solutions - product safety standards and certification marks
Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.
Read next
- Auto shut-off, and what it does not protect you fromTwo to twelve hours, what it protects against, and the three things it does not.
- The safest electric blanketsNobody can rank safety outcomes. These are the four facts makers either state or hide.
- Who should not use an electric blanketReduced sensation is the real risk, and it is the one least discussed.
- How to use an electric blanketThe instructions that matter, in order, plus the preheat habit almost nobody tries.
- What actually goes wrongThree failure modes, all concentrated in old blankets, and the two-minute check.