Skip to content
Wool Watt

Care / Brand guide

Caring for a Bedsure heated blanket

Bedsure publishes a wattage on all seven of its products, which no other brand here does. Its preheat cycle is also the most transparently documented feature in the category.

By Scooter M.Updated August 31, 2026Scooter M. reads the manuals, compiles the published specs, and shows the arithmetic.

We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

Clothes drying on an indoor line

Bedsure blankets are machine washable with the controller detached. Bedsure is the only brand in our set that publishes a wattage on every product: 100 W throws, 130 W full, dual 110 W queen and king, dual 100 W mattress pads. Its preheat cycle is published as 2 hours at level 6, then 6 hours at level 4.

The brand that publishes the number

Seven of the eight published wattages on this entire site come from Bedsure. That is worth stating on a brand page because it is genuinely unusual and it is the reason Bedsure products sit at the top of several of our roundups.

Every Bedsure product we track publishes its draw
Every Bedsure product we track publishes its draw
ProductRated watts8 hours costs
Heated throw with preheat100 W15 cents
GentleSoft throw100 W15 cents
Full-size blanket130 W19 cents
GentleSoft queen, dual control220 W both sides32 cents
Striped king, dual control220 W both sides32 cents
Heated mattress pad, dual zone200 W both zones29 cents
Waterproof mattress pad, dual zone200 W both zones29 cents

Wattages quoted from each product's listing, checked 2026-08-31. Costs at $0.1834/kWh (EIA, US residential average, June 2026).

We are not going to pretend this makes Bedsure the best blanket maker, because we have not handled any of these products and disclosure is not the same as quality. What it does mean is that a Bedsure product is the only one on this shelf you can make an informed running-cost decision about.

The preheat cycle, and why it is the interesting feature

Most brands that advertise a preheat function say nothing about what it does. Bedsure publishes the curve: two hours at level 6, then six hours at level 4, matched to an eight-hour sleep.

That specificity matters for two reasons. The obvious one is that you know what you are getting. The subtler one is that the curve steps down, so the element is not at its rated draw for the whole night, which means real consumption sits below the rated-watt arithmetic we publish.

How far below, we are not going to say. Level 4 is not a wattage and there is no published mapping from setting to draw, so converting the curve into a number would require measuring a blanket we do not have. We publish the rated figure, label it a ceiling, and leave it there.

Washing a Bedsure

Standard sequence, from how to wash a heated blanket. The Bedsure specifics:

  1. 1Detach the controller cord, which is removable on all of them. On the dual-control queen, king and both mattress pads there are two.
  2. 2Gentle cycle, cool water, slow spin. Bedsure states machine washability with the controller removed and does not publish detailed cycle parameters, so the printed instructions in the box are the authority.
  3. 3Do not wring. Universal.
  4. 4Dry completely before reconnecting. On the waterproof mattress pad give it noticeably longer: a TPU membrane holds moisture in a way plain quilting does not.

The safety-testing claim, read precisely

Bedsure's listings state that testing is conducted in an Intertek-recognized satellite laboratory, with 74 safety tests to standards described as surpassing UL. Its products are also ETL and FCC certified.

The ETL certification is third-party and means what it says. The 74-test program is self-reported: the party choosing the tests is the party being tested. That is more information than most brands provide and it is not an independent verification, and Bedsure's own wording is careful enough that it does not claim to be. We read it as a company that takes this seriously rather than as a certification. More on how to read these claims on what the certification marks mean.

The picks, with the numbers

Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.

Heated blanket picks compared by published wattage and computed cost per night
#ProductBest forWattsPer nightPrice
1
Top pickBedsure Heated Throw with Preheat100 W published, a preheat cycle that steps itself down, and a 10-hour timer. The throw we would buy on the numbers.
The best-documented throw100 W15 centsCheck price
2
Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, QueenThe only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers.
Two sleepers who argue about heat220 W32 centsCheck price
3
Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, QueenDual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all.
The only pad with a published wattage200 W29 centsCheck price

Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

1

The best-documented throw

Bedsure Heated Throw with Preheat

Rated wattage

100 W

8 hours costs

15 cents

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

100 W published, a preheat cycle that steps itself down, and a 10-hour timer. The throw we would buy on the numbers.

Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states "a power rating of 100W" at 120V AC, 60Hz. Same figure as the brand's queen-size single controller, on a blanket a quarter the area, which is why a throw heats faster.

100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night

Size
50" x 60"
Heat settings
6 levels
Auto shut-off
Up to 10 hours (1-2-4-6-8-10h)
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Warranty card included in packaging; term not stated online
Rated watts
100 W
Voltage
120 V AC, 60 Hz
Fabric
220 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
Preheat
Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
Model
BS-100T

What it does well

  • Published wattage, so an hour on the sofa has a computable price
  • Preheat steps down automatically rather than holding peak
  • Warm without power thanks to the sherpa backing
  • ETL and FCC certified

Where it falls short

  • 6 heat levels
  • Warranty term is only in the box, not on the listing
  • 50" x 60" is a one-person throw

Who this is forAnyone who wants a sofa throw and wants to know what an evening under it costs.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want to cover two people. At 50 by 60 inches it is a personal throw, not a shared one.

2

Two sleepers who argue about heat

Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage

220 W

8 hours costs

32 cents

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

The only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers.

Where the wattage comes fromBedsure's listing states the blanket runs on 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 110W controllers. Two controllers at 110W each is 220W with both sides at full, or 110W if only one side is on, which is how most couples actually use it.

220 W x 8 h = 1.76 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.32 per night

Size
Queen, 84" x 90"
Heat settings
6 levels
Auto shut-off
8 hours (6 timer settings, 1-2-4-6-8-10h)
Controllers
2 (dual control)
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
220 W (dual 110 W)
Voltage
120 V AC, 60 Hz
Fabric
240 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
Preheat
Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
Model
BS-400B-S

What it does well

  • Publishes a wattage, which almost nothing else in the category does
  • Two controllers, so one side of the bed can run cold
  • ETL and FCC certified with an 8-hour default auto shut-off
  • Preheat cycle steps itself down instead of holding full heat all night

Where it falls short

  • 6 heat levels where Sunbeam and Sealy give 10 to 12
  • No warranty term on the listing
  • 220 W with both sides up is the highest published draw of any bed blanket here

Who this is forCouples with different thermostats, and anyone who wants to know what the thing actually draws before buying it.

Skip it ifSkip it if you sleep alone. You are paying for a second controller you will never plug in, and the single-control Westinghouse publishes a lower 100 W.

3

The only pad with a published wattage

Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage

200 W

8 hours costs

29 cents

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

Dual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all.

Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 100W controllers. Both sides at full is 200W; one side alone is 100W. This is the only heated mattress pad in our checks with any published wattage.

200 W x 8 h = 1.60 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.29 per night

Size
Queen, fits up to 18" deep
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
12 time settings, up to 12 hours
Controllers
2 (dual control)
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
200 W (dual 100 W)
Voltage
120 V AC, 60 Hz
Pocket depth
Stretches to 18"
Preheat
Yes, with memory
Model
BS-HMQU-2

What it does well

  • The only heated mattress pad here with a published wattage
  • Dual control, so two sleepers get separate zones
  • All-round elastic to 18" keeps it from shifting
  • ETL and FCC certified

Where it falls short

  • No warranty term stated
  • No waterproof layer on this version
  • 200 W with both zones at full is the highest published draw on this site

Who this is forTwo sleepers who want the bed warm before they get into it, and want the running cost on the table.

Skip it ifSkip it if you need waterproofing. Bedsure's cotton-top version has a TPU layer; this one does not.

The one thing Bedsure does not publish

A warranty term. The throw's listing says a warranty card is included in the packaging without stating the length; the other six state nothing at all.

That is a real gap and it runs the opposite way to most of this category: Biddeford, Sealy and Beautyrest all publish five years while publishing no wattage, and Bedsure publishes wattage on everything while publishing no term. Nobody in this category is transparent about everything, and the useful move is to decide which number you actually need.

Questions people actually ask

How do you wash a Bedsure heated blanket?
Detach the controller cord first, then machine wash on a gentle cycle in cool water with a slow spin, and dry it completely before reconnecting. On the dual-control and dual-zone products there are two controllers to remove.
How many watts does a Bedsure heated blanket use?
Bedsure publishes a figure for every product in our set: 100 W throws, 130 W full, dual 110 W queen and king, and dual 100 W mattress pads. It is the only brand here that publishes across its whole range.
What does the Bedsure preheat function do?
It runs two hours at level 6 and then six hours at level 4, matched to an eight-hour sleep. Because it steps down, real consumption is below the rated-watt figure by an amount we have not measured.
What is the Bedsure warranty?
Not published. The throw's listing states a warranty card is included in the packaging without giving a term, and the other Bedsure products in our set state nothing.

Sources

Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.