Care / Brand guide
Caring for a Sunbeam heated blanket
Sunbeam publishes 12 heat settings, a 12-hour shut-off and a dimming controller. It publishes no wattage at all, on any product in its range.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

Sunbeam heated blankets are machine washable with the controller detached. Across every Sunbeam product we track, the published specifications are 12 heat settings, a 12-hour auto shut-off, overheat protection and a dimming digital controller. No Sunbeam product in our set publishes a wattage.
What Sunbeam publishes
| Product | Heat settings | Auto shut-off | Warranty | Rated watts |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Royal Ultra Fleece queen | 12 | 12 hours | Not stated | Not published |
| Royal Ultra Fleece twin | 12 | 12 hours | Not stated | Not published |
| Premium quilted mattress pad | 12 | 1-12 hours, selectable | Limited 5 years | Not published |
From each product's listing, checked 2026-08-31.
The consistency is the notable thing. Twelve settings and a twelve-hour ceiling across the range, which is the finest heat granularity of any brand we track. And no wattage anywhere, which is equally consistent.
The controller, which is genuinely good
Two features worth calling out because they are unusual and both address real annoyances.
- It remembers your last setting. You are not resetting it every night.
- It dims after ten seconds. A lit controller on a nightstand is a real irritation in a dark bedroom, and Sunbeam is one of the few brands that has evidently thought about it. On the mattress pad the display is backlit blue and described as readable at night, which is the same problem solved in the opposite direction.
That combination of fine control and a well-designed controller is a legitimate reason to buy Sunbeam, and it is why the twelve-setting granularity comes up again on blankets for older adults, where a legible controller matters more than almost anything else.
Washing a Sunbeam
The general sequence in how to wash a heated blanket applies unchanged. The Sunbeam-specific points:
- 1Detach the controller before it goes near water. On the mattress pad there are two controllers, one per zone, and both come off.
- 2Follow the instructions that came with your specific model. Sunbeam's listings state machine washability without giving full cycle parameters, so the printed instructions are the authority, not this page.
- 3Do not wring or twist it. Universal, and it is what cracks element insulation.
- 4Dry it completely before reconnecting the controller or putting it back on the bed.
The missing number
It has to be said plainly on a brand page: Sunbeam publishes no wattage for any product in our set. Not in the listing bullets, not in the technical details table, not on the product page. We checked all three products on 2026-08-31.
That means nobody can tell you what a Sunbeam heated blanket costs to run, including us. If you own one and want to know, the options are a rating label on the controller or the plug, or a plug-in energy monitor. Both are covered on work out what your own blanket costs.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickSunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, QueenTwelve heat settings and a controller that dims itself at night. Sunbeam publishes no wattage for it, and that is the trade. | The finest heat control | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
| 2 | Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, QueenWater-resistant, dual-zone, twelve heat settings, a backlit night display and a 5-year warranty. Still no wattage. | 12 settings and a 5-year warranty | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
| 3 | Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, TwinThe same 12-setting controller as Sunbeam's queen, on a twin. Same fine control, same missing wattage. | A twin bed or a guest room | Not published | Uncomputable | Check price |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
The finest heat control
Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, Queen
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Twelve heat settings and a controller that dims itself at night. Sunbeam publishes no wattage for it, and that is the trade.
Where the wattage comes fromSunbeam publishes no wattage figure for this model: not in the listing bullets, not in the technical details table, not on the product page. We checked on 2026-08-31 and found nothing. We will not print an estimate in its place.
- Size
- Queen, 90" x 84"
- Heat settings
- 12 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 12 hours
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- Not stated on the listing
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 100% polyester Royal Ultra Fleece
- Controller
- Digital, dims after 10 seconds
- Model number
- 32810117
- Item weight
- 5.7 lb
What it does well
- 12 heat settings is the finest granularity of any blanket here
- The controller dims after 10 seconds, which matters on a nightstand
- Overheat protection plus a 12-hour auto shut-off
- Fleece is genuinely warm with the power off
Where it falls short
- No published wattage, so nobody can compute what it costs to run
- No certification named in the listing copy
- One controller on a queen, so the whole bed runs at one setting
Who this is forSomeone who wants fine temperature control from a name they recognize and does not need a running-cost figure.
Skip it ifSkip it if running cost is the deciding factor. Without a published wattage you cannot compute one, and we will not guess it for you.
12 settings and a 5-year warranty
Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, Queen
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
Water-resistant, dual-zone, twelve heat settings, a backlit night display and a 5-year warranty. Still no wattage.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published for this pad, consistent with every other Sunbeam heated-bedding listing we checked.
- Size
- Queen, 60" x 80", fits to 18" depth
- Heat settings
- 12 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 2 (dual zone)
- Certification
- Not stated on the listing
- Warranty
- Limited 5-year warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Water resistance
- Water resistant, not stated as waterproof
- Display
- Backlit blue LED, readable at night
- Model
- MSU6SQS-T000-11A00
What it does well
- 12 heat settings and independent control per side
- 5-year limited warranty
- Backlit display you can actually read at 3am
- Built-in skirt stretches to 18 inches
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Water resistant, not waterproof, which is a real distinction with a child in the bed
- No certification named in the listing copy
Who this is forSomeone buying on warranty and control granularity from a brand they already know.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want a genuinely waterproof pad, or if running cost is the deciding number.
A twin bed or a guest room
Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, Twin
Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - no live price right now
The same 12-setting controller as Sunbeam's queen, on a twin. Same fine control, same missing wattage.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published for the twin, exactly as with Sunbeam's queen and king. The omission is consistent across the brand's heated-bedding range.
- Size
- Twin, 62" x 84"
- Heat settings
- 12 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 12 hours
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- Not stated on the listing
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 100% polyester fleece
- Controller
- Digital, dims after 10 seconds
- Model number
- 32810026
What it does well
- 12 heat settings on a twin, which is unusual at this size
- 12-hour auto shut-off and overheat protection
- Dimming controller for a bedside table
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- No certification named
- No warranty term stated
Who this is forA single bed, a guest room, or a dorm.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want a certification named in writing. The listing does not state one.
One thing to check on an older Sunbeam
Sunbeam has been making heated bedding for decades, so a lot of the Sunbeam blankets in American homes are old. The models above have a 12-hour auto shut-off and overheat protection; a blanket from the 2000s may have neither.
If the Sunbeam in your cupboard is that old, its age is the relevant fact and the features are beside the point. See how long do electric blankets last.
Questions people actually ask
- Can you wash a Sunbeam heated blanket?
- Yes, with the controller detached first. Sunbeam's listings state machine washability without full cycle parameters, so follow the printed instructions that came with your model, and use a gentle cycle with no wringing.
- How many watts does a Sunbeam electric blanket use?
- Sunbeam does not publish a wattage for any product in our set. Check for a rating label on the controller or plug, or measure it with a plug-in energy monitor.
- Why does my Sunbeam controller go dark?
- By design. The digital controller dims after about ten seconds so it does not light the bedroom, and it remembers your last setting.
- How long is the Sunbeam warranty?
- The Sunbeam mattress pad in our set states a limited 5-year warranty. The two Sunbeam blankets state no warranty term on the listing.
Sources
- Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece queen - 12 settings, 12-hour shut-off, dimming controller - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-08-31)
- Sunbeam premium quilted mattress pad - dual zone, 5-year limited warranty - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-08-31)
Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.
Read next
- How to wash a heated blanketEight steps, the one rule that destroys blankets, and the dryer disagreement.
- Caring for a Bedsure heated blanketThe one brand that publishes a wattage on everything, and what its preheat does.
- Work out what your own blanket costsThree numbers, one line of arithmetic, and where to find each of them.
- How long do electric blankets last?Five-year warranties, ten-year replacement, and the wear you cannot see.