Skip to content
Wool Watt

Brands / Roundup

Sunbeam heated blankets

Twelve heat settings, a 12-hour shut-off and a controller designed for a dark bedroom. Across every Sunbeam product we have checked, in every size and every year of listing, no wattage at all.

By Scooter M.Updated September 7, 2026Scooter M. reads the manuals, compiles the published specs, and shows the arithmetic.

We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

Warm fleece blanket texture in close up

Every Sunbeam product we track publishes 12 heat settings, a 12-hour selectable auto shut-off and overheat protection. Two of the five publish a 5-year limited warranty. None publishes a wattage, in any size, on any listing, which means no Sunbeam running cost can be computed.

The picks, with the numbers

Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.

Heated blanket picks compared by published wattage and computed cost per night
#ProductBest forWattsPer nightPrice
1
Sunbeam Royal Posh Velvet Heated Blanket, Queen
Top pickSunbeam Royal Posh Velvet Heated Blanket, QueenTwelve settings, a backlit display you can read at night, and the one thing no other Sunbeam blanket listing gives you: a stated 5-year warranty.
The only Sunbeam with a published warrantyNot publishedUncomputable$86.10 - See it on Amazon
2
Sunbeam Royal Luxe Microplush Heated Blanket, Queen
Sunbeam Royal Luxe Microplush Heated Blanket, QueenThe newest Sunbeam queen in the range, with an LED-backlit display rather than the dimming controller the older Royal Ultra Fleece uses.
A readable controller at nightNot publishedUncomputable$83.47 - See it on Amazon
3
Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, Queen
Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, QueenWater-resistant, dual-zone, twelve heat settings, a backlit night display and a 5-year warranty. Still no wattage.
12 settings and a 5-year warrantyNot publishedUncomputable$101.27 - See it on Amazon
4
Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, Queen
Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, QueenTwelve heat settings and a controller that dims itself at night. Sunbeam publishes no wattage for it, and that is the trade.
The finest heat controlNot publishedUncomputable$82.01 - See it on Amazon
5
Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, Twin
Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, TwinThe same 12-setting controller as Sunbeam's queen, on a twin. Same fine control, same missing wattage.
A twin bed or a guest roomNot publishedUncomputable$52.86 - See it on Amazon

Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

1

The only Sunbeam with a published warranty

Sunbeam Royal Posh Velvet Heated Blanket, Queen

Sunbeam Royal Posh Velvet Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$86.10 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

Twelve settings, a backlit display you can read at night, and the one thing no other Sunbeam blanket listing gives you: a stated 5-year warranty.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published, consistent with every Sunbeam heated-bedding listing we have checked. We looked at the bullets, the technical details table and the product page on 2026-09-07 and found no figure.

Size
Queen, 90" x 84"
Heat settings
12 levels
Auto shut-off
12 hours, selectable
Controllers
1
Certification
Not stated on the listing
Warranty
Limited 5 years
Rated watts
Not published
Fabric
Royal Posh Velvet, 100% polyester
Display
LED backlit blue, readable at night
Model number
32810117

What it does well

  • A stated 5-year limited warranty, which Sunbeam's other blanket listings do not give
  • 12 heat settings, the finest granularity in the category
  • Backlit blue display you can actually read at 3am
  • 12-hour selectable auto shut-off and overheat protection

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage, so the running cost cannot be computed
  • No certification named in the listing copy
  • One controller on a queen, so the whole bed runs at one temperature

Who this is forSomeone who wants the Sunbeam controller and a warranty term in writing before they buy.

Skip it ifSkip it if you share the bed and disagree about temperature. It is single control, and no number of heat settings fixes that.

2

A readable controller at night

Sunbeam Royal Luxe Microplush Heated Blanket, Queen

Sunbeam Royal Luxe Microplush Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$83.47 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

The newest Sunbeam queen in the range, with an LED-backlit display rather than the dimming controller the older Royal Ultra Fleece uses.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Checked the bullets and the technical details table on 2026-09-07: Sunbeam states 12 heat settings, a 12-hour shut-off and overheat protection, and no power figure anywhere.

Size
Queen, 90" x 84"
Heat settings
12 levels
Auto shut-off
12 hours, selectable
Controllers
1
Certification
Not stated on the listing
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Fabric
Royal Luxe Microplush, 100% polyester
Display
LED-backlit digital controller
Model number
32810160

What it does well

  • LED-backlit display rather than a controller that dims away from you
  • 12 heat settings and a 12-hour selectable shut-off
  • Microplush face is the softer of Sunbeam's two current finishes

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • No warranty term and no certification stated
  • Single controller on a queen

Who this is forA solo sleeper who checks the setting in the night and wants to see it.

Skip it ifSkip it for the Royal Posh Velvet if a written warranty matters to you. Same controller, same settings, and that one states five years.

3

12 settings and a 5-year warranty

Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Sunbeam Premium Quilted Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$101.27 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

Water-resistant, dual-zone, twelve heat settings, a backlit night display and a 5-year warranty. Still no wattage.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published for this pad, consistent with every other Sunbeam heated-bedding listing we checked.

Size
Queen, 60" x 80", fits to 18" depth
Heat settings
12 levels
Auto shut-off
1-12 hours, selectable
Controllers
2 (dual zone)
Certification
Not stated on the listing
Warranty
Limited 5-year warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Water resistance
Water resistant, not stated as waterproof
Display
Backlit blue LED, readable at night
Model
MSU6SQS-T000-11A00

What it does well

  • 12 heat settings and independent control per side
  • 5-year limited warranty
  • Backlit display you can actually read at 3am
  • Built-in skirt stretches to 18 inches

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Water resistant, not waterproof, which is a real distinction with a child in the bed
  • No certification named in the listing copy

Who this is forSomeone buying on warranty and control granularity from a brand they already know.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want a genuinely waterproof pad, or if running cost is the deciding number.

4

The finest heat control

Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, Queen

Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$82.01 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

Twelve heat settings and a controller that dims itself at night. Sunbeam publishes no wattage for it, and that is the trade.

Where the wattage comes fromSunbeam publishes no wattage figure for this model: not in the listing bullets, not in the technical details table, not on the product page. We checked on 2026-08-31 and found nothing. We will not print an estimate in its place.

Size
Queen, 90" x 84"
Heat settings
12 levels
Auto shut-off
12 hours
Controllers
1
Certification
Not stated on the listing
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Fabric
100% polyester Royal Ultra Fleece
Controller
Digital, dims after 10 seconds
Model number
32810117
Item weight
5.7 lb

What it does well

  • 12 heat settings is the finest granularity of any blanket here
  • The controller dims after 10 seconds, which matters on a nightstand
  • Overheat protection plus a 12-hour auto shut-off
  • Fleece is genuinely warm with the power off

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage, so nobody can compute what it costs to run
  • No certification named in the listing copy
  • One controller on a queen, so the whole bed runs at one setting

Who this is forSomeone who wants fine temperature control from a name they recognize and does not need a running-cost figure.

Skip it ifSkip it if running cost is the deciding factor. Without a published wattage you cannot compute one, and we will not guess it for you.

5

A twin bed or a guest room

Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, Twin

Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Blanket, Twin

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$52.86 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

The same 12-setting controller as Sunbeam's queen, on a twin. Same fine control, same missing wattage.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published for the twin, exactly as with Sunbeam's queen and king. The omission is consistent across the brand's heated-bedding range.

Size
Twin, 62" x 84"
Heat settings
12 levels
Auto shut-off
1-12 hours, selectable
Controllers
1
Certification
Not stated on the listing
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Fabric
100% polyester fleece
Controller
Digital, backlit display
Model number
32810158

What it does well

  • 12 heat settings on a twin, which is unusual at this size
  • 1-12 hour selectable auto shut-off and heat-sensing technology
  • Backlit controller readable at night

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • No certification named
  • No warranty term stated

Who this is forA single bed, a guest room, or a dorm.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want a certification named in writing. The listing does not state one.

How we ranked these

  • Stated warranty leads, because it is the one hard commitment any Sunbeam listing makes and only some of them make it.
  • Then the controller, which is what the brand is actually good at: display type, settings count, shut-off range.
  • Wattage cannot be a ranking axis here because no Sunbeam product publishes one. We say so rather than substituting a guess.
  • Not ranked on warmth or fabric feel. We have not handled these.

We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.

What Sunbeam is genuinely best at

The controller, and it is not a close call. Twelve heat settings is the finest granularity of any brand in our set, where most give six or ten. On a product you adjust in the dark, half asleep, that is a real advantage.

The display is the more interesting part, because Sunbeam has evidently thought about the problem from both directions and shipped both answers.

The Sunbeam range, and what each listing states
The Sunbeam range, and what each listing states
ProductDisplaySettingsWarrantyWattage
Royal Posh Velvet, queenLED backlit blue125 yearsNot published
Royal Luxe Microplush, queenLED-backlit digital12Not statedNot published
Royal Ultra Fleece, queenDims after 10 seconds12Not statedNot published
Royal Ultra Fleece, twinBacklit display12Not statedNot published
Premium quilted mattress padLED backlit blue125 yearsNot published

Read off each product's own listing. The Royal Ultra Fleece and Royal Posh Velvet queens share model number 32810117 on their listings; the Royal Luxe is 32810160.

The dimming controller and the backlit one solve opposite problems and both are legitimate. A controller that dims after ten seconds does not light your bedroom; one with a backlit blue display can be read at 3am. Which you want depends on whether the thing sits on a nightstand next to your face or you need to check the setting in the night.

For an older user, the backlit display is usually the better answer, and it is one of the reasons Sunbeam's mattress pad comes up on heated blankets for older adults.

The gap, and how consistent it is

We have now checked Sunbeam listings on two separate research passes, a week apart, across five products spanning three product lines and two size ranges. Not one publishes a wattage. Not in the bullets, not in the technical details table, not on the product page.

That consistency is worth stating because it rules out an obvious explanation. This is not one listing that happened to be written badly. It is a brand-level decision not to publish the figure, and it means nobody can tell you what a Sunbeam heated blanket costs to run.

The warranty split

Two of the five state a five-year limited warranty: the Royal Posh Velvet queen and the premium quilted mattress pad. The other three state nothing.

That is a genuinely useful discriminator inside the range, and it is the reason the Royal Posh Velvet leads this page rather than the better-known Royal Ultra Fleece. The model has its own write-up on the Sunbeam Royal Posh Velvet review. Same twelve settings, same 12-hour shut-off, same brand, and one of them will commit to five years in writing.

The recall worth knowing about

In March 2023 the CPSC announced a recall of about 43,000 Sunbeam queen-size heated blankets distributed by Star Elite, after 13 reports of the blankets overheating. No injuries were reported and the remedy was a full refund.

We raise it because it is real, public and specific, and because it is the kind of thing a brand page should not quietly omit. We are equally clear about what it does not tell you: that recall covered a particular batch announced in 2023, and we have no evidence that any product listed on this page is affected. If you own an older Sunbeam queen, check it against the CPSC notice. Full detail and the link on heated blanket recalls.

Washing a Sunbeam

Sunbeam's listings state machine washability without giving full cycle parameters, so the printed instructions that came with your model are the authority rather than this page. The universal rules apply: detach the controller first, gentle cycle, no wringing, and completely dry before use. Brand detail on caring for a Sunbeam heated blanket.

Questions people actually ask

How many watts does a Sunbeam electric blanket use?
Sunbeam publishes no wattage for any product in our set, across five products and three product lines checked on two separate passes. Check for a rating label on the controller or plug, or measure it with a plug-in energy monitor.
Which Sunbeam heated blanket has a warranty?
The Royal Posh Velvet queen and the premium quilted mattress pad both state a 5-year limited warranty. The Royal Luxe queen, the Royal Ultra Fleece queen and the Royal Ultra Fleece twin state no term.
Why does my Sunbeam controller go dark?
By design, on the Royal Ultra Fleece line: the digital controller dims after about ten seconds so it does not light the bedroom, and it remembers your last setting. The Royal Posh and Royal Luxe use a backlit display instead.
Were Sunbeam heated blankets recalled?
A specific batch was. In March 2023 the CPSC announced a recall of about 43,000 Sunbeam queen-size heated blankets distributed by Star Elite after 13 overheating reports, with no injuries and a full-refund remedy. We have no evidence that any currently listed model is affected. See heated blanket recalls.

Sources

Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.