Electric blankets / Review
Sunbeam Royal Luxe Microplush heated blanket
Sunbeam's microplush queen publishes exactly what its velvet sibling publishes, minus a warranty. That single difference is the whole review.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

The Royal Luxe Microplush queen publishes 12 heat settings, a 12-hour selectable auto shut-off, an LED-backlit digital controller, a microplush 100% polyester face and model number 32810160. It publishes no wattage, no certification mark and no warranty term. On every specification Sunbeam prints, it is the same blanket as the Royal Posh — which does state five years.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickSunbeam Royal Luxe Microplush Heated Blanket, QueenThe newest Sunbeam queen in the range, with an LED-backlit display rather than the dimming controller the older Royal Ultra Fleece uses. | A readable controller at night | Not published | Uncomputable | $68.96 - See it on Amazon |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026
A readable controller at night
Sunbeam Royal Luxe Microplush Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of October 16, 2026
The newest Sunbeam queen in the range, with an LED-backlit display rather than the dimming controller the older Royal Ultra Fleece uses.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Checked the bullets and the technical details table on 2026-09-07: Sunbeam states 12 heat settings, a 12-hour shut-off and overheat protection, and no power figure anywhere.
- Size
- Queen, 90" x 84"
- Heat settings
- 12 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- Not stated on the listing
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- Royal Luxe Microplush, 100% polyester
- Display
- LED-backlit digital controller
- Model number
- 32810160
What it does well
- LED-backlit display rather than a controller that dims away from you
- 12 heat settings and a 12-hour selectable shut-off
- Microplush face is the softer of Sunbeam's two current finishes
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- No warranty term and no certification stated
- Single controller on a queen
Who this is forA solo sleeper who checks the setting in the night and wants to see it.
Skip it ifSkip it for the Royal Posh Velvet if a written warranty matters to you. Same controller, same settings, and that one states five years.
How we ranked these
- What the maker publishes: settings, timer, display, fabric, model number.
- What it does not publish, named rather than glossed: no wattage, no certification mark, no warranty term, no temperature range.
- How it compares inside its own brand, because the interesting comparison for a Sunbeam buyer is against the other five Sunbeams rather than against Bedsure.
- Not assessed: warmth, softness or durability. We have not handled this blanket.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
The comparison that decides it
Sunbeam sells six products we track, and two of them are queen blankets with effectively identical published specifications. The Royal Luxe and the Royal Posh both give twelve heat settings, both give a twelve-hour selectable shut-off, both ship a single controller with a backlit display, both publish a 100% polyester face and neither publishes a wattage or a certification mark.
| Specification | Royal Luxe Microplush | Royal Posh Velvet |
|---|---|---|
| Size | Queen, 90" x 84" | Queen, 90" x 84" |
| Heat settings | 12 | 12 |
| Auto shut-off | 12 hours, selectable | 12 hours, selectable |
| Controller | 1, LED-backlit digital | 1, LED backlit blue display |
| Face fabric | Royal Luxe Microplush, 100% polyester | Royal Posh Velvet, 100% polyester |
| Rated wattage | Not published | Not published |
| Certification | Not named | Not named |
| Warranty | Not stated | Limited 5 years |
| Model number | 32810160 | 32810117 |
Quoted from each product's own Amazon listing, checked 2026-09-21.
One row differs. On a product class whose dominant failure mode is invisible — element insulation cracking with years of flexing, with the blanket working normally until it does not — a stated warranty term is the period the maker will carry that risk instead of you. That makes the Royal Posh the better buy inside the range unless the microplush face is specifically what you want, and the full write-up is on the Sunbeam Royal Posh Velvet review.
Twelve settings is the reason to buy Sunbeam at all
It is worth saying what this blanket does well, because the warranty gap is not the only fact about it. Twelve heat levels is the finest granularity of any bed blanket brand we track. Bedsure gives six. Sealy and Westinghouse give ten. Beautyrest gives twenty on its queens, which is the only finer figure in our whole set, and Beautyrest caps out at a mild 105 F.
Whether you need twelve is a real question and the honest answer is that most people pick a setting and leave it. If you are one of the people who adjusts — warmer to get in, cooler once you settle — six steps will annoy you every night and twelve will not. The LED-backlit display matters for the same reason: adjusting a setting at 2am should not require turning a lamp on.
The three gaps, stated plainly
- No wattage. Sunbeam publishes no rated draw on any of its six products, so there is no honest way to tell you what this costs to run. The 100 W Westinghouse queen is the alternative if that number decides the purchase, and it is on the most energy efficient heated blankets.
- No certification named. Most competitors print ETL, UL or both. This listing does not. That is not evidence the product is untested — heated bedding sold in the US is tested to UL 964 — but a mark you can read beats a mark you assume. See what the certification marks mean.
- No warranty term, which is the gap that separates it from its own sibling.
Who should skip it
- Anyone choosing between this and the Royal Posh. Same published specification, and only one of them states a warranty.
- Anyone who needs the running cost. No wattage, on any Sunbeam.
- Shared beds. One controller, one temperature for the whole bed, and twelve settings do not change that. Dual control options are a separate page.
- Anyone who wants a certification printed rather than assumed.
We have not slept under this blanket, measured its surface temperature or timed its warm-up. Everything above is quoted from what Sunbeam publishes, which is the whole method and is written out on our methodology page.
Questions people actually ask
- Is the Sunbeam Royal Luxe a good heated blanket?
- We cannot answer that on build quality, because we have not handled one. On published specifications it gives twelve heat settings and a selectable twelve-hour shut-off, which is fine control, and it states no wattage, no certification mark and no warranty term.
- Royal Luxe or Royal Posh?
- Royal Posh, unless you specifically want the microplush face. The two publish identical specifications — twelve settings, twelve-hour selectable shut-off, one backlit controller, no wattage — except that the Royal Posh states a limited 5-year warranty and the Royal Luxe states none.
- How many watts does the Sunbeam Royal Luxe use?
- Sunbeam publishes no rated wattage for it, or for any of the six Sunbeam products we track. There is no honest running-cost figure for this blanket and we will not estimate one.
- Does the Sunbeam Royal Luxe have a warranty?
- The listing states no term. That is worth weighing, because Sunbeam does state a limited 5-year warranty on the Royal Posh queen and on its quilted mattress pad.
Sources
- Sunbeam Royal Luxe Microplush Heated Blanket, Queen - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com (checked 2026-09-21)
- US CPSC recall 23157 (2023-03-16): Sunbeam Heated Blankets Recalled Due to Burn and Fire Hazards; Distributed by Star Elite
Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.
Read next
- Sunbeam Royal Posh Velvet heated blanketThe one Sunbeam with a warranty in writing, and the number it still will not print.
- Sunbeam heated blanketsTwelve settings and the best controller in the category, and no published watts anywhere.
- Caring for a Sunbeam heated blanketTwelve settings, a dimming controller, and no published wattage anywhere.
- Queen size electric blanketsFour queens, two published wattages, and a 17-cent-a-night spread.
- What the certification marks meanUL 964, why ETL is not a lesser mark, and who names no certification at all.