Skip to content
Wool Watt

Heated throws / Guide

How to choose a heated throw

Throws look interchangeable and mostly are. Five things genuinely differ, and one of them explains most of the disappointment people report.

By Scooter M.Updated August 31, 2026Scooter M. reads the manuals, compiles the published specs, and shows the arithmetic.

We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

A living room sofa with cushions and a folded throw

Decide on: coverage (50 by 60 covers one seated adult, and no more), published wattage or published temperature (makers give one or the other, never both), minimum timer, fabric weight in GSM, and shape — flat, foot-pocket or wearable. Everything else on the listing is common to all of them.

1. Coverage, and the mistake almost everyone makes

Every throw here is roughly 50 by 60 inches. That is one seated adult, from shoulders to ankles, with nothing spare. It is not two people on a sofa and it is not a bed.

This single misunderstanding accounts for most of the dissatisfaction in the category. A throw is a personal item, closer in spirit to a dressing gown than to bedding. If you need to cover two people, you want a full-size electric blanket draped over the sofa, which is a genuinely good use for one.

2. Watts or degrees, because you will not get both

An odd split runs through this sub-category. Bedsure publishes 100 W on both its throws and no temperature. Sealy, Homemate and Beautyrest publish temperature ranges and no wattage. No maker publishes both.

  • Take the wattage if you want to know what it costs. 100 W is about 1.8 cents an hour, and you can compute anything else from there on cost to run.
  • Take the temperature if you have been disappointed before by a throw that was not warm enough, or if somebody who will use it should not be exposed to a high surface temperature.
  • Do not try to convert between them. There is no honest formula. How hot a throw gets depends on the element, the fabric weight, the room and what is on top of it.

3. The minimum timer, not the maximum

Everyone reads the maximum. The minimum is what you will actually live with, because most throw sessions are short.

Timer minimums matter more than maximums here
Timer minimums matter more than maximums here
BrandShortest settingLongest setting
Homemate1 hour8 hours
Bedsure1 hour10 hours
Sealy2 hours10 hours
Westinghouse2 hours10 hours

From each maker's listing, checked 2026-08-31.

If you want twenty minutes of warmth before bed, nothing here does it and you will be switching it off by hand. A one-hour minimum at least gets close; a two-hour minimum means the throw is on long after you have stopped using it, unless you remember.

4. Fabric weight

Published in GSM by most throw makers, which is unusual and useful. The range here is 200 to 280 GSM on the face with 200 GSM sherpa backing typical.

Heavier fabric is warm before you switch it on and holds the heat the element makes, so it reaches comfort at a lower setting. That is a real effect and we are not going to attach a number to it, because doing so would require measuring throws we do not have. At equal price, take the heavier one.

5. Shape

  • Flat is the default and the most versatile. Drape it, wrap it, put it over a bed.
  • Foot pocket solves cold feet specifically and gives up the versatility. See heated throws for cold feet.
  • Wearable poncho stays on your shoulders and keeps your hands free, which is the shape that actually works at a desk. Covered on cordless and battery blankets.

The picks, with the numbers

Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.

Heated blanket picks compared by published wattage and computed cost per night
#ProductBest forWattsPer nightPrice
1
Top pickBedsure Heated Throw with Preheat100 W published, a preheat cycle that steps itself down, and a 10-hour timer. The throw we would buy on the numbers.
The best-documented throw100 W15 centsCheck price
2
Sealy Heated ThrowPublishes the temperature its settings reach, 95 to 113 F, which is rarer than a wattage and more useful than a marketing adjective.
A published temperature rangeNot publishedUncomputableCheck price
3
Homemate Heated ThrowOne of very few listings that names the specific standard it was tested to, UL 964, plus a published 86-122 F range.
A named safety standardNot publishedUncomputableCheck price

Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

1

The best-documented throw

Bedsure Heated Throw with Preheat

Rated wattage

100 W

8 hours costs

15 cents

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

100 W published, a preheat cycle that steps itself down, and a 10-hour timer. The throw we would buy on the numbers.

Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states "a power rating of 100W" at 120V AC, 60Hz. Same figure as the brand's queen-size single controller, on a blanket a quarter the area, which is why a throw heats faster.

100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night

Size
50" x 60"
Heat settings
6 levels
Auto shut-off
Up to 10 hours (1-2-4-6-8-10h)
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Warranty card included in packaging; term not stated online
Rated watts
100 W
Voltage
120 V AC, 60 Hz
Fabric
220 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
Preheat
Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
Model
BS-100T

What it does well

  • Published wattage, so an hour on the sofa has a computable price
  • Preheat steps down automatically rather than holding peak
  • Warm without power thanks to the sherpa backing
  • ETL and FCC certified

Where it falls short

  • 6 heat levels
  • Warranty term is only in the box, not on the listing
  • 50" x 60" is a one-person throw

Who this is forAnyone who wants a sofa throw and wants to know what an evening under it costs.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want to cover two people. At 50 by 60 inches it is a personal throw, not a shared one.

2

A published temperature range

Sealy Heated Throw

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

Publishes the temperature its settings reach, 95 to 113 F, which is rarer than a wattage and more useful than a marketing adjective.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Sealy does publish the delivered temperature range (95-113 F), which is a genuinely useful spec almost no competitor states, but it cannot be converted into a running cost.

Size
50" x 60"
Heat settings
6 levels, 95-113 F
Auto shut-off
2-10 hours
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Temperature range
95-113 F
Fabric
280 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
Model
KTHT-QBHVS-W

What it does well

  • Publishes the actual delivered temperature range
  • 280 GSM flannel is the heaviest single face here
  • Detachable controller cord for washing
  • ETL and FCC certified

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Top setting of 113 F is cooler than several rivals reach
  • No warranty term stated

Who this is forSomeone who wants to know how warm it actually gets before buying, and is happy with a gentle top end.

Skip it ifSkip it if you like a genuinely hot throw. 113 F at the top is mild next to blankets that reach into the 120s.

3

A named safety standard

Homemate Heated Throw

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

Check price

#ad how we are funded - no live price right now

One of very few listings that names the specific standard it was tested to, UL 964, plus a published 86-122 F range.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Homemate does name the specific test standard (UL 964, the standard for household electric heating pads and blankets) and a temperature range of 86-122 F, which is more specific than most.

Size
50" x 60"
Heat settings
10 levels, 86-122 F
Auto shut-off
1/2/4/6/8 hours
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL certified; listing names UL 964 testing
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Temperature range
86-122 F
Fabric
220 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
Model
YZH-5060T

What it does well

  • Names UL 964 specifically instead of just saying it is certified
  • 10 heat levels on a throw
  • A 1-hour timer option, which most rivals do not offer
  • Publishes a temperature range

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • No warranty term stated
  • The "lower electro magnetic radiation" claim is unquantified

Who this is forSomeone who reads certifications and wants the standard named rather than implied.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want the running cost. Naming a standard is good practice; it is still not a watt figure.

The four things not worth comparing

Machine washable, auto shut-off, overheat protection, ETL certified. Every throw here has all four. If a listing leads with those and gives you nothing else, it has told you nothing that distinguishes it, which is worth recognizing because it is what most listings do.

The one wash detail that does matter is universal too, and it is the thing that breaks throws: detach the controller before washing. Every maker says it and it is still the most common way a heated throw dies. The sequence is on washing an electric blanket.

Questions people actually ask

What size heated throw should I buy?
They are almost all 50 by 60 inches, which covers one seated adult. There is no larger throw size; if you need to cover two people or a bed, buy a bed-size electric blanket instead.
Is a higher wattage heated throw better?
No. Higher wattage means it costs more to run, not that it is better made. Both throws that publish a figure state 100 W, and the difference between throws is fabric weight, temperature ceiling and timer rather than power.
How do I know how hot a heated throw gets?
Only if the maker publishes a temperature range, and only three of the brands here do: Beautyrest 85-105 F, Sealy 95-113 F, Homemate 86-122 F. You cannot infer it from the wattage.