Skip to content
Wool Watt

Care / Roundup

Machine washable electric blankets

All of them say washable. Only some say how. This ranks them on the specificity of the instruction, because a vague instruction is how blankets get ruined.

By Scooter M.Updated September 13, 2026Scooter M. reads the manuals, compiles the published specs, and shows the arithmetic.

We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

The stainless drum of a front-loading washing machine

Every heated blanket we track is machine washable and they do not all mean the same thing by it. Sealy publishes the most specific instruction — slow agitation, low spin, and no dry cleaning, bleaching or wringing by name — which is why it leads this page. The universal rules are the same everywhere: detach the controller first, wash cool and gentle, and make sure it is completely dry before it is powered again.

The picks, with the numbers

Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.

Heated blanket picks compared by published wattage and computed cost per night
#ProductBest forWattsPer nightPrice
1
Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual Control
Top pickSealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual ControlTen heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published.
The longest warranty on a dual controlNot publishedUncomputable$109.99 - See it on Amazon
2
Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen
Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all.
The lowest published draw100 W15 cents$84.99 - See it on Amazon
3
Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, Queen
Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, QueenThe only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers.
Two sleepers who argue about heat220 W32 cents$84.99 - See it on Amazon
4
Homemate Heated Throw
Homemate Heated ThrowOne of very few listings that names the specific standard it was tested to, UL 964, plus a published 86-122 F range.
A named safety standardNot publishedUncomputable$45.99 - See it on Amazon
5
Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, Queen
Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, QueenDual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all.
The only pad with a published wattage200 W29 cents$79.99 - See it on Amazon
6
Sunbeam Royal Posh Velvet Heated Blanket, Queen
Sunbeam Royal Posh Velvet Heated Blanket, QueenTwelve settings, a backlit display you can read at night, and the one thing no other Sunbeam blanket listing gives you: a stated 5-year warranty.
The only Sunbeam with a published warrantyNot publishedUncomputable$86.10 - See it on Amazon

Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

1

The longest warranty on a dual control

Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual Control

Sealy Electric Blanket, Queen, Dual Control

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$109.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

Ten heat levels, two controllers, a 5-year warranty and a 19-foot cord run. No wattage published.

Where the wattage comes fromSealy publishes no wattage for this model. Every Sealy listing we checked in this category, across blankets, throws and mattress pads, states certifications and cord lengths but never a watt figure.

Size
Queen, 84" x 90"
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
1-12 hours, selectable
Controllers
2 (dual control)
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
5-year warranty
Rated watts
Not published
Fabric
200 GSM double-layer flannel
Total cord length
19 ft (power cord plus controller cord)
Memory
Yes, recalls last level and timer
Model
KTHB-QATVV-Q

What it does well

  • 5-year warranty, the longest stated term of any bed blanket here
  • Dual control with 10 levels each
  • 19 ft of cord reaches an outlet that is not next to the bed
  • ETL and FCC certified with overheat protection

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • Flannel on both sides, so no sherpa face if you want the plusher side
  • Wash rules are strict: slow agitation, low spin, no dry clean, no bleach

Who this is forCouples who want a long warranty and enough cord to reach a real outlet, and who are not deciding on running cost.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want to know the running cost before you buy. Sealy publishes nothing for this blanket you could compute one from.

2

The lowest published draw

Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen

Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage

100 W

8 hours costs

15 cents

$84.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all.

Where the wattage comes fromWestinghouse states it directly in the first listing bullet: "a 100W, 60Hz heating blanket". This is a single-controller queen, so 100 W is the whole blanket rather than one side of it.

100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night

Size
Queen, 84" x 90"
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
1-12 hours, selectable
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
100 W
Voltage
120 V, 60 Hz
Fabric
Double-layer 200 GSM flannel
Memory
Yes, holds your last heat level
Model
KTHB-QAVV-Q

What it does well

  • 100 W published, the lowest figure any queen here stands behind
  • 10 heat levels and a timer selectable to any hour up to 12
  • Memory function, so you are not resetting it every night
  • Machine washable on cold, gentle

Where it falls short

  • One controller only, so the whole bed runs at one temperature
  • No warranty term on the listing
  • Westinghouse's other queen listings do not publish a wattage, so the figure is model-specific

Who this is forA solo sleeper, or a couple who genuinely agree on temperature and want the lowest running cost on the page.

Skip it ifSkip it if you share a bed with someone who runs hot. There is one controller and no way to split the blanket.

3

Two sleepers who argue about heat

Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, Queen

Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage

220 W

8 hours costs

32 cents

$84.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

The only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers.

Where the wattage comes fromBedsure's listing states the blanket runs on 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 110W controllers. Two controllers at 110W each is 220W with both sides at full, or 110W if only one side is on, which is how most couples actually use it.

220 W x 8 h = 1.76 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.32 per night

Size
Queen, 84" x 90"
Heat settings
6 levels
Auto shut-off
8 hours (6 timer settings, 1-2-4-6-8-10h)
Controllers
2 (dual control)
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
220 W (dual 110 W)
Voltage
120 V AC, 60 Hz
Fabric
240 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
Preheat
Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
Model
BS-400B-S

What it does well

  • Publishes a wattage, which almost nothing else in the category does
  • Two controllers, so one side of the bed can run cold
  • ETL and FCC certified with an 8-hour default auto shut-off
  • Preheat cycle steps itself down instead of holding full heat all night

Where it falls short

  • 6 heat levels where Sunbeam and Sealy give 10 to 12
  • No warranty term on the listing
  • 220 W with both sides up is the highest published draw of any bed blanket here

Who this is forCouples with different thermostats, and anyone who wants to know what the thing actually draws before buying it.

Skip it ifSkip it if you sleep alone. You are paying for a second controller you will never plug in, and the single-control Westinghouse publishes a lower 100 W.

4

A named safety standard

Homemate Heated Throw

Homemate Heated Throw

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$45.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

One of very few listings that names the specific standard it was tested to, UL 964, plus a published 86-122 F range.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. Homemate does name the specific test standard (UL 964, the standard for household electric heating pads and blankets) and a temperature range of 86-122 F, which is more specific than most.

Size
50" x 60"
Heat settings
10 levels, 86-122 F
Auto shut-off
8 hours stated; a second bullet on the same listing says 10
Controllers
1
Certification
ETL certified; listing names UL 964 testing
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
Not published
Temperature range
86-122 F
Fabric
220 GSM double-sided flannel
Heating wire
2.2 mm diameter, stated on the listing
Power cord
144" / 201"
Model
DJ-5060B

What it does well

  • Names UL 964 specifically instead of just saying it is certified
  • 10 heat levels on a throw
  • Publishes a temperature range, which most throws do not
  • Publishes the heating wire diameter, 2.2 mm, which nothing else in our set does

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage
  • No warranty term stated
  • The "lower electro magnetic radiation" claim is unquantified
  • The listing states 8 hours in one bullet and 10 hours in another for the same auto shut-off

Who this is forSomeone who reads certifications and wants the standard named rather than implied.

Skip it ifSkip it if you want the running cost. Naming a standard is good practice; it is still not a watt figure.

5

The only pad with a published wattage

Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Bedsure Heated Mattress Pad, Queen

Rated wattage

200 W

8 hours costs

29 cents

$79.99 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

Dual 100 W controllers stated on the listing. It is the only heated mattress pad we found that publishes a figure at all.

Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 100W controllers. Both sides at full is 200W; one side alone is 100W. This is the only heated mattress pad in our checks with any published wattage.

200 W x 8 h = 1.60 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.29 per night

Size
Queen, fits up to 18" deep
Heat settings
10 levels
Auto shut-off
12 time settings, up to 12 hours
Controllers
2 (dual control)
Certification
ETL and FCC certified
Warranty
Not stated on the listing
Rated watts
200 W (dual 100 W)
Voltage
120 V AC, 60 Hz
Pocket depth
Stretches to 18"
Preheat
Yes, with memory
Model
BS-HMQU-2

What it does well

  • The only heated mattress pad here with a published wattage
  • Dual control, so two sleepers get separate zones
  • All-round elastic to 18" keeps it from shifting
  • ETL and FCC certified

Where it falls short

  • No warranty term stated
  • No waterproof layer on this version
  • 200 W with both zones at full is the highest published draw on this site

Who this is forTwo sleepers who want the bed warm before they get into it, and want the running cost on the table.

Skip it ifSkip it if you need waterproofing. Bedsure's cotton-top version has a TPU layer; this one does not.

6

The only Sunbeam with a published warranty

Sunbeam Royal Posh Velvet Heated Blanket, Queen

Sunbeam Royal Posh Velvet Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage

Not published

8 hours costs

Uncomputable

$86.10 - See it on Amazon

#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026

Twelve settings, a backlit display you can read at night, and the one thing no other Sunbeam blanket listing gives you: a stated 5-year warranty.

Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published, consistent with every Sunbeam heated-bedding listing we have checked. We looked at the bullets, the technical details table and the product page on 2026-09-07 and found no figure.

Size
Queen, 90" x 84"
Heat settings
12 levels
Auto shut-off
12 hours, selectable
Controllers
1
Certification
Not stated on the listing
Warranty
Limited 5 years
Rated watts
Not published
Fabric
Royal Posh Velvet, 100% polyester
Display
LED backlit blue, readable at night
Model number
32810117

What it does well

  • A stated 5-year limited warranty, which Sunbeam's other blanket listings do not give
  • 12 heat settings, the finest granularity in the category
  • Backlit blue display you can actually read at 3am
  • 12-hour selectable auto shut-off and overheat protection

Where it falls short

  • No published wattage, so the running cost cannot be computed
  • No certification named in the listing copy
  • One controller on a queen, so the whole bed runs at one temperature

Who this is forSomeone who wants the Sunbeam controller and a warranty term in writing before they buy.

Skip it ifSkip it if you share the bed and disagree about temperature. It is single control, and no number of heat settings fixes that.

How we ranked these

  • How specific is the published instruction? A maker that names the cycle, the spin speed and the prohibitions has told you how to keep the blanket alive. A maker that says machine washable and stops has not.
  • Does it publish a drying rule? This is where the makers genuinely disagree, and it is the step that kinks elements.
  • Does the fabric weight suggest it will survive it? GSM is published by most brands and is the closest thing to a durability figure in this category.
  • Not ranked on how well any of them actually washes. We have not put one in a machine and we are not going to imply otherwise.

We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.

Washable is not a specification

Machine washable appears on every listing in this category. So does soft, so does auto shut-off, so does ETL certified. Claims that every product makes cannot help you choose between them, which is why this page ranks on the thing that actually varies: how much the maker is willing to tell you about the wash.

What each maker publishes about washing and drying
What each maker publishes about washing and drying
BrandInstruction as published
SealyNo dry cleaning, no bleach, no wringing; low spin wash
BiddefordDryer safe; tumble dry on a low heat setting
WestinghouseTumble dry on low or line dry
BedsureMachine washable with the controller detached
HomemateMachine washable; unplug the controller first

Quoted from each maker's own listing, checked 2026-08-31 and re-verified 2026-09-13. Where the instructions that came with your blanket differ from this table, follow yours — they are the authority for your model.

Read that table for what is missing rather than what is there. Two brands name a drying method. One names prohibitions. Two say washable and leave the rest to you. None of them publishes a water temperature in degrees.

The one rule that destroys blankets

Detach the controller before the blanket goes anywhere near water. The controller is a sealed electronic module and the manual for every product in this category says it is not waterproof and must not be immersed. Wash it and it is finished, and unlike the element it fails in a way you notice immediately.

It is also the failure with the worst consequences, because a controller from another blanket is not a safe substitute: certification covers the controller and element as a matched pair. A washed controller usually means a replaced blanket. The full reason is on electric blanket controllers.

The drying disagreement, which is real

This is the one place the makers do not line up. Biddeford says dryer safe on low. Westinghouse says tumble dry on low or line dry. Sealy prohibits wringing and specifies a low spin but does not endorse a dryer at all.

The pattern that is consistent across all of them is a short low-heat tumble to knock most of the water out, then finish flat or on a line. Nobody in our set endorses drying a heated blanket to completion on high heat, because heat plus tumbling plus a wire mesh is the combination most likely to kink an element. Full sequence on how to wash a heated blanket.

Fabric weight is the closest thing to a durability number

No maker publishes a wash-cycle rating, so there is no published figure for how many washes a blanket survives. What most of them do publish is GSM, the fabric weight, and it is at least a real number.

  • 290 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa — Bedsure king, the heaviest face in our set.
  • 280 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa — Sealy throw.
  • 240 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa — Bedsure GentleSoft queen.
  • 220 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa — Bedsure full and throw. Homemate publishes 220 GSM double-sided flannel.
  • 200 GSM double-layer flannel — Westinghouse queen and Sealy queen, the lightest published faces here.

We are not going to claim that a heavier face survives more washes, because nobody has published data that would support it. What GSM does tell you is what you are buying in fabric terms, and it is one of the few numbers in this category that is comparable across brands.

How often, which is the uncomfortable part

Less often than sheets. This is the genuine tension in the category: washability is the headline feature on every listing, and washing is one of the two things that shortens a heated blanket's life. The other is folding it hard for storage.

A top sheet between you and the blanket removes most of the reason to wash it, and costs nothing. If your blanket needs washing monthly, the cheaper fix is a sheet. When it does come off for the summer, roll it rather than folding it — a crease is a stress point in the wire. That is on storing a heated blanket.

Where each pick is the wrong buy

  • Sealy queen dual — the clearest wash instructions here and no published wattage, so you cannot cost it.
  • Westinghouse flannel queen — publishes 100 W and a drying rule, but ships one controller for the whole bed.
  • Bedsure GentleSoft queen — publishes its wattage and its preheat curve; its wash instruction is the bare minimum.
  • Homemate throw — a sofa throw, not a bed blanket, and no wattage published.
  • Bedsure mattress pad queen — the pad is the format least likely to need washing, since a fitted sheet goes over it.
  • Sunbeam Royal Posh queen — the best controller here and Sunbeam publishes neither a wattage nor a detailed wash instruction.

Questions people actually ask

Can you put an electric blanket in the washing machine?
Yes, and every product we track states it. Detach the controller and power cord first, use a gentle or delicate cycle in cool to lukewarm water with a slow spin, and never wring it. The full sequence is on our washing page.
Which electric blanket has the clearest washing instructions?
Sealy. Its listing names the prohibitions explicitly — no dry cleaning, no bleaching, no wringing — and specifies a low spin. Most makers say machine washable and stop there.
Can you tumble dry a heated blanket?
The makers disagree, which is worth knowing. Biddeford states dryer safe on low. Westinghouse states tumble dry on low or line dry. Sealy prohibits wringing and specifies low spin without endorsing a dryer. What none of them endorses is drying to completion on high heat.
How often should you wash an electric blanket?
Less often than sheets. Washing is one of the two things that shortens a heated blanket's life, the other being hard folding. A top sheet between you and the blanket removes most of the reason to wash it.
What happens if you wash the controller?
It is usually destroyed. The controller is a sealed electronic module and every manual states it is not waterproof. The blanket itself is often undamaged, which makes it worse: a controller from another blanket is not a safe substitute, because certification covers the controller and element as a matched pair.