Care / Roundup
Electric blanket not heating
Four things go wrong and only two of them are fixable. Here is how to tell which one you have, in the order that takes the least time.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

Work through it in this order: reseat the connector between the controller lead and the blanket; try a wall outlet rather than a power strip; check whether the auto shut-off simply ran out; and inspect the cord and controller for scorching, a cracked case or a hard lump in the wire. If it still does not heat, the blanket is finished. There is no repair path for a domestic heated blanket, and the manual's own instruction is to stop using it and contact the maker.
The four things that go wrong
| What you see | Most likely cause | Fixable? |
|---|---|---|
| Nothing at all, no display | Connector at the blanket end not fully seated, or a dead outlet | Yes — reseat it, try another wall socket |
| Display lights, no heat | Element or controller fault | No — this is the end of the blanket |
| Heats, then goes cold overnight | The auto shut-off did exactly what it is designed to do | Not a fault — set a longer duration, or use it as a preheat |
| One side heats, the other does not, on a dual-control blanket | One controller or one zone has failed | No — the pair is certified together and cannot be part-replaced |
Compiled from the instruction language common to the manuals in our set. Your blanket's own instructions are the authority for your model.
Start with the connector, because it is usually the connector
The plug between the controller lead and the blanket is a friction fit and it works loose — from bedding being pulled, from the blanket being remade, from a foot catching the cord. A partly seated connector reads as a completely dead blanket.
- 1Unplug from the wall first. Not optional, and not because the manual is being cautious.
- 2Separate the connector at the blanket end and look at both halves in good light. Bent pins, discoloration or melted plastic mean stop, not retry.
- 3Push it back together firmly until it seats. It should not wobble.
- 4Plug into a wall outlet, not a power strip and not an extension cord. Biddeford prohibits both outright and every other maker discourages them, so a bare wall socket is also the only test that matches the instructions.
Then rule out the timer, which is not a fault
Every product we track shuts itself off, from two hours on a wearable poncho to twelve hours on most bed products. A blanket that was warm at bedtime and cold at 4am may have done precisely what it was certified to do.
Check what duration yours is set to before you conclude anything. If the ceiling is the problem, the options and their ranges are on electric blankets with a timer, and what auto shut-off does and does not protect you from is on auto shut-off.
The inspection that decides it
Lay the blanket out flat in good light and go over it. You are looking for five things, and finding any one of them ends the process regardless of whether it still heats.
- Scorch marks or browning, anywhere on the fabric.
- A kink or a hard lump in the wire that you can feel through the fabric.
- Exposed conductor, anywhere.
- Damage to the cord or connector, including a cracked controller case.
- Any smell of hot plastic, at any point during the test.
Check the warranty before you buy a replacement
This is the step people skip. Where a term is published in our set it runs to five years, which is long enough that a blanket failing at year three is plausibly covered.
- Sealy publishes a 5-year warranty on several products.
- Beautyrest publishes 5 years on the throw and the poncho.
- Westinghouse publishes 5 years on the foot-pocket throw.
- Sunbeam publishes a limited 5 years on the Royal Posh and the quilted pad, and nothing on the rest.
- Most of the rest publish no term at all, which is itself information and is covered on how long do electric blankets last.
If it is finished: what to replace it with
Ranked the way everything on this site is ranked — on what the maker is willing to publish — rather than on price. All three picks are currently purchasable and all three publish a rated wattage, which means you can work out what the replacement costs to run before you buy it.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickWestinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all. | The lowest published draw | 100 W | 15 cents | $84.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 2 | Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, QueenThe only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers. | Two sleepers who argue about heat | 220 W | 32 cents | $84.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 3 | Bedsure Heated Throw with Preheat100 W published, a preheat cycle that steps itself down, and a 10-hour timer. The throw we would buy on the numbers. | The best-documented throw | 100 W | 15 cents | $36.98 - See it on Amazon |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
The lowest published draw
Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage
100 W
8 hours costs
15 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all.
Where the wattage comes fromWestinghouse states it directly in the first listing bullet: "a 100W, 60Hz heating blanket". This is a single-controller queen, so 100 W is the whole blanket rather than one side of it.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- Double-layer 200 GSM flannel
- Memory
- Yes, holds your last heat level
- Model
- KTHB-QAVV-Q
What it does well
- 100 W published, the lowest figure any queen here stands behind
- 10 heat levels and a timer selectable to any hour up to 12
- Memory function, so you are not resetting it every night
- Machine washable on cold, gentle
Where it falls short
- One controller only, so the whole bed runs at one temperature
- No warranty term on the listing
- Westinghouse's other queen listings do not publish a wattage, so the figure is model-specific
Who this is forA solo sleeper, or a couple who genuinely agree on temperature and want the lowest running cost on the page.
Skip it ifSkip it if you share a bed with someone who runs hot. There is one controller and no way to split the blanket.
Two sleepers who argue about heat
Bedsure GentleSoft Electric Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage
220 W
8 hours costs
32 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
The only queen here whose maker prints a wattage on the listing, and it happens to also be the one with two controllers.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure's listing states the blanket runs on 120V AC at 60Hz with dual 110W controllers. Two controllers at 110W each is 220W with both sides at full, or 110W if only one side is on, which is how most couples actually use it.
220 W x 8 h = 1.76 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.32 per night
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 8 hours (6 timer settings, 1-2-4-6-8-10h)
- Controllers
- 2 (dual control)
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 220 W (dual 110 W)
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 240 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
- Model
- BS-400B-S
What it does well
- Publishes a wattage, which almost nothing else in the category does
- Two controllers, so one side of the bed can run cold
- ETL and FCC certified with an 8-hour default auto shut-off
- Preheat cycle steps itself down instead of holding full heat all night
Where it falls short
- 6 heat levels where Sunbeam and Sealy give 10 to 12
- No warranty term on the listing
- 220 W with both sides up is the highest published draw of any bed blanket here
Who this is forCouples with different thermostats, and anyone who wants to know what the thing actually draws before buying it.
Skip it ifSkip it if you sleep alone. You are paying for a second controller you will never plug in, and the single-control Westinghouse publishes a lower 100 W.
The best-documented throw
Bedsure Heated Throw with Preheat

Rated wattage
100 W
8 hours costs
15 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
100 W published, a preheat cycle that steps itself down, and a 10-hour timer. The throw we would buy on the numbers.
Where the wattage comes fromBedsure states "a power rating of 100W" at 120V AC, 60Hz. Same figure as the brand's queen-size single controller, on a blanket a quarter the area, which is why a throw heats faster.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Up to 10 hours (1-2-4-6-8-10h)
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Warranty card included in packaging; term not stated online
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V AC, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- 220 GSM flannel / 200 GSM sherpa
- Preheat
- Yes, 2h at level 6 then 6h at level 4
- Model
- BS-100T
What it does well
- Published wattage, so an hour on the sofa has a computable price
- Preheat steps down automatically rather than holding peak
- Warm without power thanks to the sherpa backing
- ETL and FCC certified
Where it falls short
- 6 heat levels
- Warranty term is only in the box, not on the listing
- 50" x 60" is a one-person throw
Who this is forAnyone who wants a sofa throw and wants to know what an evening under it costs.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want to cover two people. At 50 by 60 inches it is a personal throw, not a shared one.
How we ranked these
- Cheapest and most likely first. The connection at the blanket end works loose more often than anything else fails, and reseating it costs nothing.
- Then the things that are not faults at all, because a timer that did its job looks exactly like a dead blanket in the morning.
- Then the point at which it is finished. A domestic heated blanket has no repair path, so the real question is when to stop troubleshooting.
- Replacement picks are ranked on published disclosure, the same way every other page here ranks, not on price.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
If the blanket that failed was old, that is worth knowing rather than shrugging at. The dominant failure mode in this category is element insulation cracking from years of flexing, and the broad replacement guidance is around ten years regardless of how well it seems to be working.
Where each replacement pick is the wrong buy
- Westinghouse flannel queen — the lowest published draw at 100 W, on a single controller. Wrong for a shared bed.
- Bedsure GentleSoft queen — dual control and a published 220 W, but Bedsure publishes no warranty term, which is exactly the thing you just found out matters.
- Bedsure throw with preheat — 100 W and a published preheat curve, but 50 by 60 inches. A sofa throw, not a bed blanket.
Questions people actually ask
- Why is my electric blanket not heating up?
- Most often the connector between the controller lead and the blanket has worked loose. Unplug at the wall, separate and reseat the connector firmly, then try a wall outlet rather than a power strip. If the display lights but no heat arrives, the element or controller has failed and the blanket is finished.
- My electric blanket stopped working. Can it be fixed?
- No. A domestic heated blanket has no repair path: there is no splice or patch for a heating element, and the manual prohibits internal adjustments to the controller. Check the warranty first — where a term is published in our set it runs to five years.
- Why does my electric blanket go cold in the night?
- Usually because the auto shut-off ran out. Every product we track shuts itself off, most commonly at a ceiling between eight and twelve hours. Check the duration you have set before you conclude anything is broken.
- Only one side of my dual control blanket works. What now?
- That is one controller or one zone failing, and it is not repairable. The controller and element are certified as a matched pair, so a replacement controller from another blanket is not a safe substitute.
- Is it safe to keep using an electric blanket that works intermittently?
- No. Intermittent heating points at a connection or element fault, and the manual's instruction in that case is to stop using it, disconnect it and contact the maker. A blanket that has scorching, a kink in the wire or any smell of hot plastic should be retired whether or not it still heats.
Read next
- Electric blanket controllersMost of the manual is about this box, and it caused the biggest recall in the category.
- How long do electric blankets last?Five-year warranties, ten-year replacement, and the wear you cannot see.
- What actually goes wrongThree failure modes, all concentrated in old blankets, and the two-minute check.
- Auto shut-off, and what it does not protect you fromTwo to twelve hours, what it protects against, and the three things it does not.
- The most energy efficient heated blanketsThe six blankets whose makers publish a wattage, lowest draw first.