Brands / Roundup
Westinghouse heated blankets
One Westinghouse listing publishes a wattage and four do not. That inconsistency is the most useful thing about this brand, because it proves the information exists.
We earn a commission on some links here, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. How we are funded.

Westinghouse publishes 100 W on its queen-size flannel blanket, which is the lowest published draw of any bed blanket we track and works out at about 15 cents for an eight-hour night. Its king, both throws and its 12V car blanket publish nothing.
The picks, with the numbers
Ranked on what the maker publishes, not on a score we invented. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing. Cost is 8 hours at the rated wattage and $0.1834/kWh.
| # | Product | Best for | Watts | Per night | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top pickWestinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all. | The lowest published draw | 100 W | 15 cents | $84.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 2 | Westinghouse Heated Blanket, KingA reversible king with 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. Westinghouse publishes a wattage on its queen but not on this one. | Flannel one side, sherpa the other | Not published | Uncomputable | $129.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 3 | Westinghouse Heated Throw, SherpaThe heaviest face fabric of the throws here at 240 GSM, with a 2-to-10-hour timer. No wattage published. | Thick 240 GSM chenille | Not published | Uncomputable | $39.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 4 | Westinghouse Heated Throw with Foot PocketTwo sewn-in foot pockets, six heat levels and a 5-year warranty. The listing claims low EMF without quantifying it. | Cold feet specifically | Not published | Uncomputable | $59.99 - See it on Amazon |
| 5 | Westinghouse 12-Volt Heated Car Blanket200 GSM flannel one side, 180 GSM Shu velveteen the other, with the same 85-inch cord reach. No wattage. | The warmest 12V fabric | Not published | Uncomputable | $35.99 - See it on Amazon |
Sources: wattage from each maker's own published listing, cited on the card below. Cost is our arithmetic at the EIA rate, shown in full on cost to run.
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
The lowest published draw
Westinghouse Heated Blanket, Queen

Rated wattage
100 W
8 hours costs
15 cents
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
100 W stated on the listing, 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. The cheapest bed blanket to run of anything here that publishes a number at all.
Where the wattage comes fromWestinghouse states it directly in the first listing bullet: "a 100W, 60Hz heating blanket". This is a single-controller queen, so 100 W is the whole blanket rather than one side of it.
100 W x 8 h = 0.80 kWh, x $0.1834/kWh = $0.15 per night
- Size
- Queen, 84" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 1-12 hours, selectable
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- 100 W
- Voltage
- 120 V, 60 Hz
- Fabric
- Double-layer 200 GSM flannel
- Memory
- Yes, holds your last heat level
- Model
- KTHB-QAVV-Q
What it does well
- 100 W published, the lowest figure any queen here stands behind
- 10 heat levels and a timer selectable to any hour up to 12
- Memory function, so you are not resetting it every night
- Machine washable on cold, gentle
Where it falls short
- One controller only, so the whole bed runs at one temperature
- No warranty term on the listing
- Westinghouse's other queen listings do not publish a wattage, so the figure is model-specific
Who this is forA solo sleeper, or a couple who genuinely agree on temperature and want the lowest running cost on the page.
Skip it ifSkip it if you share a bed with someone who runs hot. There is one controller and no way to split the blanket.
Flannel one side, sherpa the other
Westinghouse Heated Blanket, King

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
A reversible king with 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer. Westinghouse publishes a wattage on its queen but not on this one.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published for this king. The same brand's queen (KTHB-QAVV-Q) does state 100W in its listing copy, which tells you the omission here is a listing decision rather than a company policy.
- Size
- King, 100" x 90"
- Heat settings
- 10 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Up to 12 hours
- Controllers
- 1 stated
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- Flannel one face, sherpa fleece the other
- Timer
- 12-hour settings
- Model
- KTHB-QTVS-K
What it does well
- Reversible: silky flannel one side, sherpa the other
- 10 heat levels and a 12-hour timer
- ETL and FCC certified with overheat protection
Where it falls short
- No published wattage on a blanket this size
- One controller stated on a king-size blanket
- No warranty term given
Who this is forSomeone who wants the sherpa face on a king and does not need the running cost computed.
Skip it ifSkip it if you share the bed and disagree on heat. The dual-control Bedsure king also tells you its watts.
Thick 240 GSM chenille
Westinghouse Heated Throw, Sherpa

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
The heaviest face fabric of the throws here at 240 GSM, with a 2-to-10-hour timer. No wattage published.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published for this throw, although the same brand's queen-size blanket does state 100W. Within Westinghouse the disclosure is per-listing, not per-brand.
- Size
- 50" x 60"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 2-10 hours
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL certified
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- Double-layered 240 g chenille
- Timer
- 2-10 hours auto-off
- Model
- KTHT-QCHSS-W
What it does well
- 240 g chenille traps heat on both faces
- Cycles through six presets on one button
- ETL certified with automatic overheat shut-off
- Machine washable on gentle, lukewarm
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- Minimum timer is 2 hours, so no quick 30-minute warm-up
- One-button cycling means overshooting your setting and going round again
Who this is forSomeone who wants the thickest, most blanket-like throw of the group.
Skip it ifSkip it if you are comparing running costs. Bedsure's 100 W throw is the same money and tells you what it draws.
Cold feet specifically
Westinghouse Heated Throw with Foot Pocket

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
Two sewn-in foot pockets, six heat levels and a 5-year warranty. The listing claims low EMF without quantifying it.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage published. The listing says the throw "emits low EMF energy" but gives no measurement, no unit and no test reference, so we treat it as a marketing claim rather than a spec.
- Size
- 50" x 62"
- Heat settings
- 6 levels
- Auto shut-off
- 2-10 hours
- Controllers
- 1
- Certification
- ETL and FCC certified
- Warranty
- 5-year warranty
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Feature
- Two sewn-in foot pockets
- Timer
- 2-10 hours
- Model
- KTHT-QCHVS-WF
What it does well
- Foot pockets solve the problem a throw usually does not
- 5-year warranty
- ETL and FCC certified
- Slightly longer than a standard throw at 62 inches
Where it falls short
- No published wattage
- The "low EMF" claim carries no number behind it
- Foot pockets make it awkward to use as a plain lap blanket
Who this is forPeople whose feet are the part that never warms up.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want a throw you can also drape over a bed. The foot pockets fix the orientation.
The warmest 12V fabric
Westinghouse 12-Volt Heated Car Blanket

Rated wattage
Not published
8 hours costs
Uncomputable
#ad how we are funded - price as of September 19, 2026
200 GSM flannel one side, 180 GSM Shu velveteen the other, with the same 85-inch cord reach. No wattage.
Where the wattage comes fromNo wattage or current draw published. As with every 12V blanket we checked, that leaves battery runtime uncomputable.
- Size
- 59" x 43"
- Heat settings
- 3 levels
- Auto shut-off
- Stated on the listing
- Controllers
- Inline
- Certification
- Not stated on the listing
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Rated watts
- Not published
- Fabric
- 200 GSM flannel / 180 GSM Shu velveteen
- Cord length
- 85"
- Model
- KTAB-DCVS-1
What it does well
- Heavier fabric than most 12V blankets, so it holds heat between cycles
- 85-inch cord reaches rear passengers
- Full body coverage at 59 by 43 inches
- Packs down for storage in a bag
Where it falls short
- No published wattage or amp draw
- Three heat levels
- No certification named
Who this is forWinter road trips and emergency kits where fabric warmth matters as much as the element.
Skip it ifSkip it if you want the blanket to work at home too. This is 12V only and will not plug into a wall.
How we ranked these
- The one product with a published wattage leads, because it is the only Westinghouse whose running cost can be checked and it happens to be the lowest published figure of any bed blanket we track.
- Then the format-specific specs: fabric weight on the throws, cord length on the car blanket, timer range on everything.
- Then stated warranty, which Westinghouse gives on one product out of five.
- Not ranked on warmth or build. We have not handled these.
We have not handled these products and we do not claim to have. The full method, including the rubric weights and what we refuse to claim, is on our methodology page.
The inconsistency is the finding
Most brands in this category are near-uniformly silent about power. Sunbeam publishes nothing anywhere. Sealy and Westinghouse each publish a figure on exactly one listing out of eight and seven respectively, and that partial disclosure is more informative than either extreme.
| Product | Model | Rated watts | 8 hours costs |
|---|---|---|---|
| Heated blanket, queen | KTHB-QAVV-Q | 100 W | 15 cents |
| Heated blanket, king | KTHB-QTVS-K | Not published | Uncomputable |
| Heated throw, sherpa | KTHT-QCHSS-W | Not published | Uncomputable |
| Heated throw, foot pocket | KTHT-QCHVS-WF | Not published | Uncomputable |
| 12V car blanket | KTAB-DCVS-1 | Not published | Uncomputable |
Read off each product's own listing. Cost at $0.1834/kWh (EIA, US residential average, June 2026).
A company that does not know its own product's rated draw could not have printed 100 W on the queen. So the omission on the other four is a listing-copy decision rather than a manufacturing secret, which means it is fixable and worth asking about. If Westinghouse published across the range the way Bedsure does, it would be the best-documented brand in the category.
| Run time | kWh | Cost | Working |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 hour | 0.10 | 2 cents | 100 x 1 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 4 hours (an evening) | 0.40 | 7 cents | 100 x 4 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 8 hours (a night) | 0.80 | 15 cents | 100 x 8 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| 30 nights at 8 hours | 24.00 | $4.40 | 100 x 240 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
| A 120-night winter at 8 hours | 96.00 | $17.61 | 100 x 960 / 1000 x 0.1834 |
Rate: US Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 (June 2026): 18.34 cents per kWh, average US residential. Retrieved 2026-08-31.
Rated wattage is the ceiling, not the average. A thermostatic blanket cycles its element on and off once the bed is warm, so an all-night bill usually lands below the rated-watt figure. We publish the rated number because it is the only one the maker stands behind, and we do not estimate a duty cycle for a blanket we have not measured.
What the range is actually good at
Setting the disclosure question aside, Westinghouse covers more formats than any other brand in our set except Sealy, and it is unusually consistent on the specifications it does give.
- 10 heat levels and a 1-to-12-hour timer on both bed blankets, which is finer control than Bedsure's six steps.
- A memory function on the queen, so you are not resetting it every night.
- 240 g chenille on the sherpa throw, the heaviest face fabric of any throw we track.
- Two sewn-in foot pockets on the 50 by 62 inch throw, which is the only product in our whole set that actually solves cold feet rather than sliding off them.
- An 85-inch cord on the car blanket, long enough to reach a rear passenger.
- A 5-year warranty on the foot-pocket throw. The other four state no term.
The queen is the one to buy, and why
For a solo sleeper it is the strongest recommendation we can make in the whole bed-blanket category on the evidence available: 100 W published, 10 heat levels, a 12-hour selectable timer, a memory function, ETL and FCC certified, and 200 GSM double-layer flannel.
The single limitation is real and worth stating twice: one controller. On a shared bed the entire blanket runs at one temperature and no number of heat settings changes that. If two of you sleep under it and disagree, buy a dual-control blanket and accept the missing or higher wattage. Options on dual control electric blankets.
The foot-pocket throw, which solves a real problem
Worth singling out because it is the only product of its kind in our set. Most people reaching for a heated throw are cold in their feet, and a flat throw slides off feet within about a minute of you moving. Two sewn-in pockets fix that, and the throw is slightly longer than standard at 50 by 62 inches.
The trade is that it fixes the orientation: you cannot casually drape it over a bed or wrap it round your shoulders. If cold feet are the specific complaint, that trade is worth making. More on heated throws for cold feet.
Questions people actually ask
- How many watts does a Westinghouse heated blanket use?
- The queen-size flannel blanket states 100 W at 60 Hz in its first listing bullet. The king, both throws and the 12V car blanket publish no figure, so their draw is unknowable from what is published.
- Is the Westinghouse heated blanket good?
- On the evidence we can check, the queen is the strongest bed blanket in our set for a single sleeper: the lowest published draw at 100 W, 10 heat levels, a 12-hour timer and a memory function. We have not handled it, so we have no view on how it feels.
- Does Westinghouse make a dual control electric blanket?
- Not in our set. Its king states one controller, which is unusual at that size. For dual control, see dual control electric blankets.
- What is the Westinghouse heated blanket warranty?
- Five years on the foot-pocket throw. The queen, the king, the sherpa throw and the car blanket state no warranty term on their listings.
Sources
- US EIA, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3: average US residential electricity price, June 2026
- Westinghouse Heated Blanket Queen, 100W 60Hz stated - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com
- Westinghouse Heated Blanket King, no wattage published - manufacturer listing, Amazon.com
Every specification on this page traces to a published manufacturer listing or a government data source. Where a maker publishes no wattage, we say so rather than estimating one.
Read next
- BrandsSunbeam, Sealy, Westinghouse, Bedsure and Beautyrest, ranked on what each is willing to publish.
- The best electric blanketsSix bed-size blankets ranked on published wattage, controllers and warranty.
- Heated throws for cold feetFoot pockets, flat throws and the trade between pockets and published watts.
- The watts, by modelEvery sourced wattage we could find, cited, plus the 26 models that publish none.
- Bedsure heated blanketsEight products, eight published wattages, and the one thing Bedsure never states.